DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) filed 11/26/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 19 and 35, the idea of a tooth adaptor is known in the art. For example, Jakubisin and Jones (prior art of record) both present different designs of tooth adaptors with slots that define a flaring section. However, neither of these references, nor any other reference, provide adequate teachings for a boss at a junction of the legs that is received in the leading edge. In view of the prior art of record, any obvious combination to include a boss at a junction of the legs as currently claimed would require improper hindsight reasoning and render the prior unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. For this reason, the claims are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 15-18, 29, 31-34, 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakubisin et al. (US 20190040608).
Regarding claim 13, Jakubisin discloses a tooth adaptor for a leading edge of excavation equipment, comprising a body having legs defining a cavity, the legs being commonly part of a monoblock portion of the body, the legs having contact surfaces delimiting the cavity (Fig 7A; body 118 with legs 120/122 are considered a monoblock portion of the body; contact surfaces 710 and 610 delimiting cavity in Fig 7A), the body adapted to be mounted to the excavation equipment by the leading edge received in the cavity, a tooth interface at a leading end of the body (Fig 11 depicts leading edge 102 of excavation equipment; tooth interface 124), wherein the contact surfaces each include a slot extending in a leading-to-trailing direction of the tooth adaptor, the slot defining a flaring section in which at least one sidewall of the slot diverges from the leading-to-trailing direction (Figs 7B and 7C depict contact surfaces 610 and 710 each with a slot 615 and 702; both slots define flaring sections; see Annotated Figure 1).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 15, Jakubisin discloses the tooth adaptor wherein both of the sidewalls of the slot diverge from the leading-to-trailing direction (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Jakubisin discloses the tooth adaptor wherein the slot extends and opens to a trailing end of the tooth adaptor (claim language is broad; the slot is considered to extend and open to the trailing end of the adaptor).
Regarding claim 17, Jakubisin discloses the tooth adaptor wherein the flaring section has a constant depth (the flaring section is considered to have a constant depth; Fig 7A).
Regarding claim 18, Jakubisin discloses the tooth adaptor wherein the flaring section is adjacent to at least one straight section in which the sidewalls are parallel to the leading-to-trailing direction (see Annotated Fig 1; there is considered to be a straight section where the sidewalls are parallel).
Regarding claim 29, Jakubisin discloses an assembly for a leading edge of excavation equipment, the assembly comprising:
the tooth adaptor according to claim 13 (see rejection for claim 13); and
excavation equipment having a leading edge between a pair of main surfaces, abutment members projecting from the main surfaces and each having at least one lateral surface flaring away from the leading edge and accommodated in the flaring section of the slots when the tooth adaptor is mounted onto the leading edge (Fig 4 and Fig 5A depict the leading edge; see Annotated Figure 2).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 31, Jakubisin discloses the assembly wherein both of the sidewalls of the slot diverge from the leading-to-trailing direction (see Annotated Figure 1; both sidewalls are considered to diverge).
Regarding claim 32, Jakubisin discloses the assembly wherein the slot extends and opens to a trailing end of the tooth adaptor (claim language is broad; the slot is considered to extend and open to the trailing end of the adaptor).
Regarding claim 33, Jakubisin discloses the assembly wherein the flaring section has a constant depth (the flaring section is considered to have a constant depth; Fig 7A).
Regarding claim 34, Jakubisin discloses the assembly wherein the flaring section is adjacent to at least one straight section in which the sidewalls are parallel to the leading-to-trailing direction (see Annotated Fig 1; there is considered to be a straight section where the sidewalls are parallel).
Regarding claim 36, Jakubisin discloses the tooth adaptor wherein the legs have a similar length (Fig 7A depicts the legs of the adaptor having similar length).
Regarding claim 37, Jakubisin discloses the assembly wherein the legs have a similar length (Fig 7A depicts the legs of the adaptor having similar length).
Regarding claim 38, Jakubisin discloses a tooth adaptor for a leading edge of excavation equipment, comprising a body having legs defining a cavity, the legs being commonly part of a monoblock portion of the body, the legs having contact surfaces delimiting the cavity (Fig 7A; body 118 with legs 120/122 are considered a monoblock portion of the body; contact surfaces 710 and 610 delimiting cavity in Fig 7A), the body adapted to be mounted to the excavation equipment by the leading edge received in the cavity, a tooth interface at a leading end of the body (Fig 11 depicts leading edge 102 of excavation equipment; tooth interface 124), wherein at least one of the contact surfaces includes a slot extending in a leading-to-trailing direction of the tooth adaptor, the slot defining a flaring section in which at least one sidewall of the slot diverges from the leading-to- trailing direction, and wherein the legs have a similar length (Figs 7B and 7C depict contact surfaces 610 and 710 each with a slot 615 and 702; both slots define flaring sections; see Annotated Figure 1; Fig 7A depicts the legs of the adaptor having similar length).
Claim(s) 14, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jakubisin.
Regarding claim 14, Jakubisin appears to disclose the tooth adaptor wherein the at least one sidewall diverges at an angle ranging between 1 and 15 degrees (see Annotated Figure 1).
However, for the sake of argument that Jakubisin does not expressly disclose that the diverging angle is between 1 and 15 degree, it does disclose that the angle could be adjusted in order for the slot 702 to fit over the boss 302 (para [0045]). As a result of the angle controlling the fit against a corresponding boss structure, the divergent angle is considered to be a results effective variable in so far as the angle may be adjusted in order to fit on a boss given a specific proportion of slot to boss size. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the relative angle to be between 1 and 15 degrees, as it has been held that the optimization of a results effective variable would have been obvious so as to achieve an optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding claim 30, Jakubisin appears to disclose the assembly wherein the at least one sidewall diverges at an angle ranging between 1 and 15 degrees (see Annotated Figure 1).
However, for the sake of argument that Jakubisin does not expressly disclose that the diverging angle is between 1 and 15 degree, it does disclose that the angle could be adjusted in order for the slot 702 to fit over the boss 302 (para [0045]). As a result of the angle controlling the fit against a corresponding boss structure, the divergent angle is considered to be a results effective variable in so far as the angle may be adjusted in order to fit on a boss given a specific proportion of slot to boss size. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the relative angle to be between 1 and 15 degrees, as it has been held that the optimization of a results effective variable would have been obvious so as to achieve an optimum or workable range (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAKE E SCOVILLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671