DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/07/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha (KR 20170093282 A, see the attached machine translated document).
Regarding claim 1, Ha teaches a computer-implemented method of assessing lighting conditions within a facility in which plants are grown, the computer-implemented method comprising:
measuring, using at least one light sensor (Fig. 1, 130, page 3, para. 4, an illuminance sensor 130), a set of lighting conditions (Fig. 6, page 6, para. 2, reference illuminance) at a location of the facility (page 7, para. 2, “the first controller 310 collects…illuminance…from each sensor”);
comparing, by a computer processor, the set of lighting conditions to a set of intended lighting conditions to determine that the set of lighting conditions differs from the set of intended lighting conditions by a threshold amount (Fig. 6, page 7, para. 3, “The first controller 310 compares .. current illumination level to correspond to the reference illuminance… it determines whether or not .. illuminance differs by more than a certain level from the reference environment level”, para. 4, “a predetermined level”);
generating, by the processor, a communication indicating that the set of lighting conditions differs from the set of intended lighting conditions by the threshold amount (page 7, para. 4, “If the current environment level differs from the reference environment level… provides the indoor state information..”); and
availing, by the processor, the communication for access by an electronic device (page 7, para. 6, “… converts … into a wireless signal and provides .. to the user terminal 400”).
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein the processor is part of the electronic device (Fig. 3, 300, 400, page 4, para. 5, para. 6), and wherein availing the communication for access by the electronic device comprises: displaying the communication in a user interface of the electronic device (Fig. 5, page 5. para. 9, the user terminal 400, a tablet PC or a smart phone).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein generating the communication comprises: generating, by the processor, a visualization illustrating a set of differences between the set of lighting conditions and the set of intended lighting conditions (page 7. para. 6).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, further comprising: determining, by the processor based at least on the set of lighting conditions, an action to adjust operation of a lighting component; and causing the lighting component to implement the action (page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein causing the lighting component to implement the action comprises: transmitting, by the processor, a command associated with the action to the lighting component, wherein the lighting component executes the command to cause the lighting component to implement the action (page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein determining the action to adjust the operation of the lighting component comprises: receiving, via the electronic device, a selection to adjust the operation of the lighting component; and generating, by the processor based on the selection, the action to adjust the operation of the lighting component (page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”).
Regarding claim 8, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 1is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 6. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (KR 20170093282 A, see attached machine translation) in view of Ashdown (US 2021/0088382 A1).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein measuring the set of lighting conditions comprises: measuring, using the at least one light sensor, an illumination level at the location of the facility (page 7, para. 2, “the first controller collects…illuminance detection information”); wherein the set of intended lighting conditions is an illumination level (page. 7, para. 3, the reference level).
However, Ha does not explicitly teach the illumination level is a spectral power distribution (DPD).
Ashdown teaches a method of automating the spectral power distribution (SPD) of luminaires for horticultural lighting systems (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the SPD automation method of Ashdown to the teachings of Ha in order for optimal growth and health of plants (Ashdown, [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 4. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4 above.
Conclusion
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845