DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Arguments
With respect to the rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 under 35 USC 102, Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection set forth herein as necessitated by Applicant's amendments.
With respect to the rejection of claims 4, 11 and 18 under 35 USC 103, Applicant's arguments filed 09/01/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection set forth herein as necessitated by Applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (KR 20170093282 A) in view of Poirier (US 2022/0256775 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ha teaches a computer-implemented method of assessing lighting conditions within a facility in which plants are grown, the computer-implemented method comprising:
measuring, using at least one light sensor (Fig. 1, 130, page 3, para. 4, an illuminance sensor 130), a set of lighting conditions (Fig. 6, page 6, para. 2, reference illuminance) at a location of the facility (page 7, para. 2, “the first controller 310 collects…illuminance…from each sensor”);
comparing, by a computer processor, the set of lighting conditions to a set of intended lighting conditions to determine that the set of lighting conditions differs from the set of intended lighting conditions by a threshold amount (Fig. 6, page 7, para. 3, “The first controller 310 compares .. current illumination level to correspond to the reference illuminance… it determines whether or not .. illuminance differs by more than a certain level from the reference environment level”, para. 4, “a predetermined level”);
generating, by the processor, a communication indicating that the set of lighting conditions differs from the set of intended lighting conditions by the threshold amount (page 7, para. 4, “If the current environment level differs from the reference environment level… provides the indoor state information..”); and
availing, by the processor, the communication for access by an electronic device (page 7, para. 6, “… converts … into a wireless signal and provides .. to the user terminal 400”).
Ha does not explicitly teach the method, comprising:
the set of lighting conditions comprises an emitted power at a wavelength of light;
the set of intended lighting conditions comprises an intended emitted power at the wavelength of light; and
determining, by the processor, an action to adjust operation of a lighting component to cause the lighting component to emit more light at the wavelength when the emitted power at the wavelength is less than the intended emitted power at the wavelength, and to emit less light at the wavelength when the emitted power at the wavelength is greater than the intended emitted power at the wavelength.
Poirier teaches a method comprising:
a set of lighting conditions comprises an emitted power at a wavelength of light ([0056] spectral power distribution of an illumination);
a set of intended lighting conditions comprises an intended emitted power at the wavelength of light (0056] spectral power distribution of an illumination, Fig. 8, the first step, [0106] receiving lighting scenario; [0119]); and
determining, by the processor, an action to adjust operation of a lighting component to cause the lighting component to emit more light at the wavelength when the emitted power at the wavelength is less than the intended emitted power at the wavelength, and to emit less light at the wavelength when the emitted power at the wavelength is greater than the intended emitted power at the wavelength (Fig. 8, the last step, Adjusting the lighting scenario; [0099] Adjusting the lighting scenario may allow reaching or approaching the integral indicators…. This approach may ensure that the plants or crops receive light that matches their lighting requirements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply the method of Poirier to the teachings of Ha in order to provide appropriate illumination to the plant or crop over a relatively short period of time and evolve during their growth and thus to promote the growth of the plants or crops (Poirier, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein the processor is part of the electronic device (Fig. 3, 300, 400, page 4, para. 5, para. 6), and wherein availing the communication for access by the electronic device comprises: displaying the communication in a user interface of the electronic device (Fig. 5, page 5. para. 9, the user terminal 400, a tablet PC or a smart phone).
Regarding claim 3, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein generating the communication comprises: generating, by the processor, a visualization illustrating a set of differences between the set of lighting conditions and the set of intended lighting conditions (page 7. para. 6).
Regarding claim 4, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein measuring the set of lighting conditions comprises:
measuring using the at least one light sensor (), a spectral power distribution (SPD) at the location of the facility ([0073]);
wherein the set of intended lighting conditions comprises an intended SPD (Fig. 8, [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, all the limitations of claim 1 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha in view of Poirier further teaches the method, further comprising: causing the lighting component to implement the action (Ha, page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”; Poirier, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 6, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein causing the lighting component to implement the action comprises: transmitting, by the processor, a command associated with the action to the lighting component, wherein the lighting component executes the command to cause the lighting component to implement the action (page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”).
Regarding claim 7, all the limitations of claim 5 are taught by Ha in view of Poirier.
Ha further teaches the method, wherein determining the action to adjust the operation of the lighting component comprises: receiving, via the electronic device, a selection to adjust the operation of the lighting component; and generating, by the processor based on the selection, the action to adjust the operation of the lighting component (page 8, para. 3 and 4, “…lighting device 230 to illuminate…”).
Regarding claim 8, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 2. Therefore, claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 10, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 6. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 7. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 3. Therefore, claim 1is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, this claim has substantially the same subject matter as that in claim 6. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEOKJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845