DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on June 2, 2026. Claims 1 and 18 have been amended. Claim 11 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 14, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanner (US 6,260,340 B1).
With regard to claim 1, Sanner discloses a spray unit (Fig. 4), comprising: an axle (S); a disc (90) having an upper surface (96) and a continuous outer edge (circumferential edge of 90 shown in Fig. 8A) extending around the upper surface (96), the outer edge arranged in a horizontal plane (Fig. 8B); a liquid applicator (“nozzle”, Col. 4 line 59 – Col. 5 line 8); and a spray direction assembly (14b housing); wherein, the disc (90) is configured to spin about the axle (S) centered on a center of the disc (92) relative to the spray direction assembly (Fig. 4); wherein, the liquid applicator (“nozzle”) is located above the disc (Fig. 4) and is configured to apply liquid to the upper surface of the disc (Col. 4 line 59 – Col. 5 line 8); and wherein the spray direction assembly (14b) partially surrounds the disc (90) and wherein an interior surface (Fig. 4) of the spray direction assembly is configured to modify a trajectory of all liquid that leaves the disc along the outer edge of the disc (Col. 4 line 59 – Col. 5 line 8).
With regard to claim 2, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that the spray direction assembly (14b) has a semi-spherical shape with opposing depending sidewalls (housing 14b exhibits a semi-spherical shape with opposing sidewalls seen in Fig. 1 and 4) and an aperture at a top region (Fig. 4) and an aperture at a bottom region (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Sanner further discloses that the axle (S) extends vertically through a central position of the aperture at the top region of the spray direction assembly (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 2 above. Sanner further discloses that a diameter of the aperture of the spray direction assembly (14b) at the bottom region is larger than a diameter of the aperture at the top region of the spray direction assembly (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that the edge of the disc (90) is located proximate to the interior surface of the spray direction assembly (14b) and proximate to a top region of the spray direction assembly (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that the interior surface (Fig. 4) is in proximity to an aperture at a bottom region of the spray direction assembly (14b) through which the liquid leaves the spray direction assembly and wherein the interior surface is disposed at an angle relative to a plane of the upper surface of the disc (Fig. 4).
With regard to claims 8 and 18, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that wherein an interior surface (Fig. 4) of the spray direction assembly (14b) is configured to modify a trajectory of all liquid that leaves the disc around the outer edge of the disc (Fig. 4) and the interior surface of the spray direction assembly comprises a plurality of walls (left sidewall and right sidewall shown in Fig. 4), wherein a direction of the plurality of walls extends in a plane at an angle of between fifty degrees and one-hundred thirty degrees relative to a lateral side of the disc and further wherein the plurality of walls are oriented at an angle of between sixty degrees and one- hundred twenty degrees relative to a plane of the upper surface of the disc (formed in a 90 degree perpendicular to the horizonal plane as shown in annotated figure).
With regard to claim 9, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 8 above. Sanner further discloses that the walls are located radially around the disc (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 14, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that a spray vehicle (10).
With regard to claim 16, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 9 above. Sanner further discloses that the walls are located at equal distances around the disc (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 17, Sanner discloses a spray unit comprising: an axle (S); a flat or cone-shaped disc (90); a liquid applicator (“nozzle”); and a spray direction assembly (14b); wherein, the disc (90) is configured to spin about the axle centered on a center of the disc relative to the spray direction assembly (14b); wherein, the liquid applicator (“nozzle”) is located above the disc (Fig. 4) and is configured to apply liquid to a surface of the disc (90); and wherein the spray direction assembly partially surrounds the disc and wherein an interior surface of the spray direction assembly is configured to modify a trajectory of all liquid that leaves the disc around an outer edge of the disc (Col. 4 line 59 – Col. 5 line 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanner in view of Bassett (US 2019/0216018 A1).
With regard to claim 10, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner further discloses that the spray direction assembly has a circular aperture at a top region (Fig. 4), except an oval shaped aperture at a bottom region.
Bassett teaches a spray unit in the same field of endeavor for the application of pesticides to crops as the claimed invention that comprises a spray direction assembly (110) has a circular aperture at a top region (Fig. 1) and an oval shaped aperture at a bottom region (Fig. 1 shows the aperture at the bottom region is in the form of oval shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sanner, by forming the bottom region in oval shape as taught by Bassett, doing that would change the scope of spraying that configured to target the rows of planted matter (Para. [0055]).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanner et al.
With regard to claim 6, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner does not disclose that a shortest distance between the edge of the disc and the interior surface of the spray direction assembly is between 100 microns and 1 mm.
It is noted by the Examiner, the specification, paragraph does not provide any criticality associated to the shortest distance between the edge of the disc and the interior surface of the spray direction assembly is between 100 microns and 1 mm. The difference between the claimed invention and the disclosure to Sanner is only relative dimensions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sanner to having the shortest distance between the edge of the disc and the interior surface of the spray direction assembly is between 100 microns and 1 mm. Furthermore, In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV. A).
With regard to claim 12, the device of Sanner discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Sanner does not disclose that a ratio between a diameter of the disc relative to a greatest diameter of an aperture of the spray direction assembly at a bottom region is between 1:2 and 1:20.
It is noted by the Examiner, the specification, paragraph does not provide any criticality associated to the ratio between a diameter of the disc relative to a greatest diameter of an aperture of the spray direction assembly at a bottom region is between 1:2 and 1:20. The difference between the claimed invention and the disclosure to Sanner is only relative dimensions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sanner to having a ratio between a diameter of the disc relative to a greatest diameter of an aperture of the spray direction assembly at a bottom region is between 1:2 and 1:20. Furthermore, In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 IV. A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752