The amendment filed 9/3/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 13-14 are pending.
Claim 3, 6-12 and 15 is cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 13-14 stand rejected.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner attempted to contact Attorney Michael Monaco by voicemail on 11/4/2025 and 11/10/2025 to discuss the possibility of amending independent Claims 1, 13 and 14 to clarify what a “time offset” is offset from or between, and to correct an antecedence issue concerning “a time offset value” and “the time offset” of Claim 1. The examiner did not receive a reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to Claim 1, Claim 1 recites: “the resource allocation information further includes a time offset value, and wherein the UE determines, based on the time offset, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed within the specific time duration” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is being offset from or between as indicated by “a time offset value”. In other words, a “time offset” indicates a time difference in relation to something, or indicates a time difference between at least two different things, and it is unclear what in “time” is being “offset” from or between by “a time offset value”.
It is also unclear how a single “time offset value” is utilized to determine a “first time duration” and a “second time duration”. In other words, it is unclear how two different time durations can be determined from a single “time offset value”.
It is also unclear whether “the time offset” is the same as or different from “a time offset value”. The examiner will treat “the time offset” to be the same as “a time offset value”.
Claims 2 and 4-5 are rejected through dependence from Claim 1.
In regard to Claim 13, Claim 13 recites: “the resource allocation information further includes a time offset, and wherein the UE determines, based on the time offset, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed within the specific time duration” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is being offset from or between as indicated by “a time offset”. In other words, a “time offset” indicates a time difference in relation to something, or indicates a time difference between at least two different things, and it is unclear what in “time” is being “offset” from or between by “a time offset”.
It is also unclear how a single “time offset” is utilized to determine a “first time duration” and a “second time duration”. In other words, it is unclear how two different time durations can be determined from a single “time offset”.
In regard to Claim 14, Claim 14 recites: “the resource allocation information further includes a time offset, and wherein the UE determines, based on the time offset, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed within the specific time duration” (emphasis added). It is unclear what is being offset from or between as indicated by “a time offset”. In other words, a “time offset” indicates a time difference in relation to something, or indicates a time difference between at least two different things, and it is unclear what in “time” is being “offset” from or between by “a time offset”.
It is also unclear how a single “time offset” is utilized to determine a “first time duration” and a “second time duration”. In other words, it is unclear how two different time durations can be determined from a single “time offset”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160337108 A1) in view of Marinier et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200196343 A1) and Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200128578 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Choi, Marinier, and Park.
In regard to Claim 1, Choi teaches A method by user equipment (UE) comprising: reporting capability information (the UE sends a UECapabilityInformation message, Para. 183-184) related to a resource allocation for the UE (user equipment capability negotiation procedures for an FDR transmission between a user equipment and a network, Para. 180) to a base station (to the base station, Para. 183-184).
Choi teaches based on the capability information including information for a full duplex radio (FDR) (in case that the UE supports FDR, the UE sends the UECapabilityInformation message to the base station in a manner that an fdr-Add-UE-EUTRA-Capabilities field corresponding to a new field is contained in the UECapabilityInformation message, Para. 184), receiving, from the base station (Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), downlink control information that includes resource allocation information (The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90) for a specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23) for a downlink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PDSCH, Para. 256) and an uplink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PUSCH, Para. 256).
Choi teaches receiving the downlink data channel based on the resource allocation information (the UE receives DL data (i.e., PDSCH signal) on PDSCH assigned to a specific resource region, Para. 191, FIGS. 14, 23. PDSCH is assigned to the data region, Para. 194, FIGS. 15(a), 23).
Choi teaches transmitting the uplink data channel based on the resource allocation information (Control information for UL allocation is referred to as a UL grant and includes resource block allocation information for PUSCH transmission, Para. 100, FIGS. 7, 23).
Choi teaches the resource allocation information further includes a time value (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93).
Choi teaches wherein the UE determines (the UE may acquire more detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Para. 69, FIG. 1. Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), based on the time (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93), a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed (the rest of subframes may operate in FDR mode, Para. 256, FIG. 23. FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe, 4th subframe, 5th subframe, and 7th subframe operating in FDR mode) and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed (Subframe 7 operate as half duplex of FDD, Para. 256, FIG. 23) within the specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23).
Choi fails to teach transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information.
Marinier teaches transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel (the same HARQ-ACK information that may pertain to a downlink assignment (e.g., received in a previous slot 302) may be transmitted over multiple PUCCH instances (e.g., two PUCCH instances 306 and 308), Para. 95, FIG. 3) based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information (Information used by the WTRU for beam determination (e.g., for PUCCH) may be indicated in a DCI that may include an ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI), Para. 97, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Marinier with the teachings of Choi since Marinier provides a technique for associating modulation and coding schemes and hybrid automatic repeat requests with uplink and downlink resources, which can be introduced into the system of Choi to permit efficient modulations and ARQ retransmissions for maintaining communications.
Although Choi in view of Marinier teaches the downlink data channel, the uplink data channel, and the resource allocation information further includes a time value, Choi in view of Marinier fails to teach wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel and data amount of the uplink data channel scheduled by the downlink control information, the resource allocation information further includes a time offset value.
Park teaches wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel (a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission, Para. 138) and data amount of the uplink data channel (an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138) scheduled by the downlink control information (The UE may receive scheduling information through DCI signaling from the base station. The UE may detect DCI received through a DL control channel (PDCCH), Para. 99), the resource allocation information further includes a time offset value (timing indication and timing interpretation with respect to a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission and an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138. Setting by a base station and interpreting by a UE, a timing gap, namely k1 value, between the PDSCH transmission in the NR CC #2 and the PUCCH transmission, Para. 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Choi in view of Marinier since Park provides a technique for indicating timing difference values involving transmissions of downlink slots and uplink slots, which can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier to permit more precise management of resources shared between subframes involving different duplexing types utilized across the subframes.
In regard to Claim 13, Choi teaches A method of by a base station (base station, Para. 183-184) comprising: receiving capability information (the UE sends a UECapabilityInformation message to a base station, Para. 183-184) related to a resource allocation from a user equipment (UE) (user equipment capability negotiation procedures for an FDR transmission between a user equipment and a network, Para. 180).
Choi teaches based on the capability information including information for a full duplex radio (FDR) (in case that the UE supports FDR, the UE sends the UECapabilityInformation message to the base station in a manner that an fdr-Add-UE-EUTRA-Capabilities field corresponding to a new field is contained in the UECapabilityInformation message, Para. 184), transmitting, to the UE (Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), downlink control information that includes resource allocation information (The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90) for a specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23) for a downlink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PDSCH, Para. 256) and an uplink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PUSCH, Para. 256).
Choi teaches transmitting the downlink data channel based on the resource allocation information (the UE receives DL data (i.e., PDSCH signal) on PDSCH assigned to a specific resource region, Para. 191, FIGS. 14, 23. PDSCH is assigned to the data region, Para. 194, FIGS. 15(a), 23).
Choi teaches receiving the uplink data channel based on the resource allocation information (Control information for UL allocation is referred to as a UL grant and includes resource block allocation information for PUSCH transmission, Para. 100, FIGS. 7, 23).
Choi teaches the resource allocation information further includes a time (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93).
Choi teaches wherein the UE determines (the UE may acquire more detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Para. 69, FIG. 1. Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), based on the time (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93), a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed (the rest of subframes may operate in FDR mode, Para. 256, FIG. 23. FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe, 4th subframe, 5th subframe, and 7th subframe operating in FDR mode) and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed (Subframe 7 operate as half duplex of FDD, Para. 256, FIG. 23) within the specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23).
Choi fails to teach receiving hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information.
Marinier teaches receiving hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel (the same HARQ-ACK information that may pertain to a downlink assignment (e.g., received in a previous slot 302) may be transmitted over multiple PUCCH instances (e.g., two PUCCH instances 306 and 308), Para. 95, FIG. 3) based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information (Information used by the WTRU for beam determination (e.g., for PUCCH) may be indicated in a DCI that may include an ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI), Para. 97, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Marinier with the teachings of Choi since Marinier provides a technique for associating modulation and coding schemes and hybrid automatic repeat requests with uplink and downlink resources, which can be introduced into the system of Choi to permit efficient modulations and ARQ retransmissions for maintaining communications.
Although Choi in view of Marinier teaches the downlink data channel, the uplink data channel, and the resource allocation information further includes a time, Choi in view of Marinier fails to teach wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel and data amount of the uplink data channel scheduled by the downlink control information, the resource allocation information further includes a time offset.
Park teaches wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel (a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission, Para. 138) and data amount of the uplink data channel (an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138) scheduled by the downlink control information (The UE may receive scheduling information through DCI signaling from the base station. The UE may detect DCI received through a DL control channel (PDCCH), Para. 99), the resource allocation information further includes a time offset (timing indication and timing interpretation with respect to a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission and an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138. Setting by a base station and interpreting by a UE, a timing gap, namely k1 value, between the PDSCH transmission in the NR CC #2 and the PUCCH transmission, Para. 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Choi in view of Marinier since Park provides a technique for indicating timing difference values involving transmissions of downlink slots and uplink slots, which can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier to permit more precise management of resources shared between subframes involving different duplexing types utilized across the subframes.
In regard to Claim 14, Choi teaches A user equipment (UE) (UE, Para. 183-184) UE comprising: a radio frequency (RF) transceiver (the UE may include a Transmission (Tx) module 2540 and a Reception (Rx) module 2560, Para. 262, FIG. 25); and a processor connected to the RF transceiver (the UE may further include a processor 2520, Para. 263, FIG. 25), wherein the processor is configured to control the RF transceiver to: report capability information (the UE sends a UECapabilityInformation message, Para. 183-184) related to a resource allocation for the UE (user equipment capability negotiation procedures for an FDR transmission between a user equipment and a network, Para. 180) to a base station (to the base station, Para. 183-184).
Choi teaches based on the capability information including information for a full duplex radio (FDR) (in case that the UE supports FDR, the UE sends the UECapabilityInformation message to the base station in a manner that an fdr-Add-UE-EUTRA-Capabilities field corresponding to a new field is contained in the UECapabilityInformation message, Para. 184), receive, from the base station downlink (Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), control information that includes resource allocation (The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90) information for a specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23) for a downlink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PDSCH, Para. 256) and an uplink data channel (FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe including a PUSCH, Para. 256).
Choi teaches receive the downlink data channel based on the resource allocation information (the UE receives DL data (i.e., PDSCH signal) on PDSCH assigned to a specific resource region, Para. 191, FIGS. 14, 23. PDSCH is assigned to the data region, Para. 194, FIGS. 15(a), 23).
Choi teaches transmit the uplink data channel based on the resource allocation information (Control information for UL allocation is referred to as a UL grant and includes resource block allocation information for PUSCH transmission, Para. 100, FIGS. 7, 23).
Choi teaches the resource allocation information (The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90) further includes a time (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93).
Choi teaches wherein the UE determines (the UE may acquire more detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), Para. 69, FIG. 1. Control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), Para. 90), based on the time (A slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain, Para. 77. The DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, Para. 90. An RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, Para. 93), a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed (the rest of subframes may operate in FDR mode, Para. 256, FIG. 23. FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe, 4th subframe, 5th subframe, and 7th subframe operating in FDR mode) and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed (Subframe 7 operate as half duplex of FDD, Para. 256, FIG. 23) within the specific time duration (The frame arrangement structure shown in FIG. 23, Para. 255, FIG. 23).
Choi fails to teach transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information.
Marinier teaches transmit hybrid automatic repeat request feedback information for the downlink data channel (the same HARQ-ACK information that may pertain to a downlink assignment (e.g., received in a previous slot 302) may be transmitted over multiple PUCCH instances (e.g., two PUCCH instances 306 and 308), Para. 95, FIG. 3) based on hybrid automatic repeat request feedback timing information included in the downlink control information (Information used by the WTRU for beam determination (e.g., for PUCCH) may be indicated in a DCI that may include an ACK/NACK resource indicator (ARI), Para. 97, FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Marinier with the teachings of Choi since Marinier provides a technique for associating modulation and coding schemes and hybrid automatic repeat requests with uplink and downlink resources, which can be introduced into the system of Choi to permit efficient modulations and ARQ retransmissions for maintaining communications.
Although Choi in view of Marinier teaches the downlink data channel, the uplink data channel, and the resource allocation information further includes a time, Choi in view of Marinier fails to teach wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel and data amount of the uplink data channel scheduled by the downlink control information, the resource allocation information further includes a time offset.
Park teaches wherein, based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel (a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission, Para. 138) and data amount of the uplink data channel (an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138) scheduled by the downlink control information (The UE may receive scheduling information through DCI signaling from the base station. The UE may detect DCI received through a DL control channel (PDCCH), Para. 99), the resource allocation information further includes a time offset (timing indication and timing interpretation with respect to a difference between a DL slot length corresponding to the PDSCH transmission and an UL slot length corresponding to the PUCCH transmission, Para. 138. Setting by a base station and interpreting by a UE, a timing gap, namely k1 value, between the PDSCH transmission in the NR CC #2 and the PUCCH transmission, Para. 142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Choi in view of Marinier since Park provides a technique for indicating timing difference values involving transmissions of downlink slots and uplink slots, which can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier to permit more precise management of resources shared between subframes involving different duplexing types utilized across the subframes.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of References Responsive to the Amendment
Choi teaches in Para. 69 and FIG. 1, that a UE may acquire detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), and Choi teaches in Para. 90, that control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), and this is substantively the same as the UE determines of Claim 1.
Choi teaches in Para. 90, that the DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, and Choi teaches in Para. 77 and 90, that a slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain and an RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, and this is substantively the same as the UE determines, based on the time of Claim 1.
Choi teaches in Para. 256 and FIG. 23, that subframes may operate in FDR mode, and FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe, 4th subframe, 5th subframe, and 7th subframe operating in FDR mode, and this is substantively the same as a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed of Claim 1.
Choi teaches in Para. 256 and FIG. 23, that Subframe 7 operate as half duplex of FDD, and this is substantively the same as a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed of Claim 1.
Choi teaches in Para. 255 and FIG. 23, a frame arrangement structure, and this is substantively the same as within the specific time duration of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that That is, Applicant’s claimed invention defines a DCI for scheduling related to an FDR operation to also perform scheduling related to an HDR operation through the time offset, thereby ensuring efficient resource allocation even when the DL data amount and the UL data amount differ. This argument is not persuasive. Choi teaches in Para. 69 and FIG. 1, that a UE may acquire detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), and Choi teaches in Para. 90, that control information carried on the PDCCH is called Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the DCI transports UL resource assignment information, DL resource assignment information, and this is substantively the same as the UE determines of Claim 1.
Choi teaches in Para. 256 and FIG. 23, that subframes may operate in FDR mode, and FIG. 23 shows 3rd subframe, 4th subframe, 5th subframe, and 7th subframe operating in FDR mode, and this is substantively the same as a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed of Claim 1. Choi teaches in Para. 256 and FIG. 23, that Subframe 7 operate as half duplex of FDD, and this is substantively the same as a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed of Claim 1. As a result, a UE of Choi determines a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed.
Choi teaches in Para. 77 and 90, that a slot includes a plurality of OFDM symbols in the time domain and an RE is a minimum unit of a time-frequency resource, and this is substantively the same as UE determines, based on the time, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed of Claim 1.
Park teaches in Para. 142, a timing gap between a PDSCH transmission and a PUCCH transmission, and this is substantively the same as a time offset value of Claim 1. A person of ordinary skill would see that a timing gap between a downlink transmission and an uplink transmission of Park can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier involving subframes containing respective uplink channels and downlink channels.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that For example, even when the DL data amount and the UL data amount differ, if the specific time duration for the FDR operation alone is configured through the DCI, unnecessary resources may be allocated to the channel with a relatively smaller data amount. This problem of unnecessary resource allocation can be effectively solved by defining the DCI, through the time offset, to schedule not only the IDR time duration but also the HDR time duration. This argument is not persuasive. The examiner notes that it is unclear what is being offset from or between as indicated by “a time offset value”. In other words, a “time offset” indicates a time difference in relation to something, or indicates a time difference between at least two different things, and it is unclear what in “time” is being “offset” from or between by “a time offset value”. It is also unclear how a single “time offset value” is utilized to determine a “first time duration” and a “second time duration”. In other words, it is unclear how two different time durations can be determined from a single “time offset value”.
Pages 8-9 of the Remarks present the argument that Applicant’s claimed invention is supported at least by the following paragraphs of Applicant’s specification…. This argument is not persuasive. If there are clarifying features in the Specification of the Application concerning what is being offset from or between as indicated by “a time offset value”, and concerning how two different time durations can be determined from a single “time offset value”, such clarifying features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that However, Park does not disclose or suggest a configuration in which a single DCI is defined to schedule both an FDR time duration and an HDR time duration within the same specific time duration, based on a time offset. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 presents Choi as teaching the UE determines, based on the time, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed within the specific time duration of Claim 1. The rejection of Claim 1 presents Park as teaching a time offset value of Claim 1, among other limitations. A person of ordinary skill would see that a timing gap between a downlink transmission and an uplink transmission of Park can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier involving subframes containing respective uplink channels and downlink channels.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that In particular, Park does not disclose scheduling that distinguishes the FDR time duration (for both DL and UL channels) and the HDR time duration (for the remaining channel) when the DL and UL data amounts differ. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 1 presents Choi as teaching the UE determines, based on the time, a first time duration in which the FDR operation is performed and a second time duration in which a half-duplex radio (HDR) operation is performed within the specific time duration of Claim 1. The rejection of Claim 1 presents Park as teaching based on a difference in data amount of the downlink data channel and data amount of the uplink data channel, the resource allocation information further includes a time offset value of Claim 1, among other limitations. A person of ordinary skill would see that a timing gap between a downlink transmission and an uplink transmission of Park can be introduced into the system of Choi in view of Marinier involving subframes containing respective uplink channels and downlink channels.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
11-12-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477