DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-22 are currently pending. Claims 1-6, 8, 10 and 12-13 are currently under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 02/13/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 02/13/2026, it is noted that claims 1-2 and 13 have been amended and no new matter or claims have been added.
New Objection/Rejections:
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites “concentration solution of additive or additives or a fine powder…” wherein the fine powder is not clearly stated to be the additive or additives, e.g. fine power of additive or additives. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the outer protective sheath of host cells" in third line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 does previously recite an outer protective sheath.
Claim 13 has unclear metes and bounds as claim 13 recites “a method of treating a subject at risk of infection from a virus” and additionally recites “where a virus is present”, thus rendering it unclear if the subject is at risk of an infection or if the virus is required to be present, leading to unclear metes and bounds of the instant claim.
Modified Rejection:
The following rejections are modified based on Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0093948 (Applicant provided).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of a method of treating a virus in a patient comprising administering a dose of nitric oxide (NO) for a single breath to the patient, followed by a period of approximately 5 to 12 breaths of fresh air, where the dose of NO in the single breath is no less than about 1,500 ppm is met by the ‘948 publication teaching portable and pure nitric oxide delivery systems that can be used to treat a variety of patient conditions (abstract). NO is taught to be carried out at concentrations of No2 in air of from about 2ppm NO2 to 100 ppm NO2, and even to over 1,000 ppm NO2 [0091]. The term effective concentration is taught to mean nitric oxide that will elicit the biological or medical response of a tissue system or human that is being sought and may be administered at a specific region continuous or intermittent delivery [0182]. The intermittent means that the nitric oxide is delivered and then temporarily delivery of nitric oxide is reduced or stopped before resuming the delivery again. The first second and third periods of time can be equivalent of different wherein a period of time can be less than 1 second [0186] and can addition include pulses such as every third inhalation [0187], which read on approximal 5-12 breaths. NO can play an important role in host defense through its potent antiviral properties and inhibit viral replication and reduce the pro-inflammatory consequences of such infections. Inhaled NO can prevent the growth of the influence virus and is an antiviral treatment for influenza ([0258]-[0259]). Nitric oxide in cigarette smoke is taught to be 50 ppm for the first puff to over 2,000 ppm for the last puff, wherein single breath of NO followed by the breaths of room air can be repeated [0262].
That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the dosage concentration and time period can be viewed as a variable which achieves the recognized result of successfully treating a specific patient. The optimum or workable range of dosing can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of dosage nonobvious.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation of wherein the NO concentration that is delivered to the lung is sufficient for NO to enter through the protective wall of a host cell to where the virus is lurking inside the cell, thereby disrupting the virus inside the cell and slowing down or stopping the infection is met by the ‘948 publication teaches the administration of NO to a patient in the claimed concentrations, and thus would inherently meet the outcome claimed absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, the ‘948 publication teaching portable and pure nitric oxide delivery systems that can be used to treat a variety of patient conditions (abstract). NO is taught to be carried out at concentrations of No2 in air of from about 2ppm NO2 to 100 ppm NO2, and even to over 1,000 ppm NO2 [0091]. The term effective concentration is taught to mean nitric oxide that will elicit the biological or medical response of a tissue system or human that is being sought and may be administered at a specific region continuous or intermittent delivery [0182]. The intermittent means that the nitric oxide is delivered and then temporarily delivery of nitric oxide is reduced or stopped before resuming the delivery again. The first second and third periods of time can be equivalent of different wherein a period of time can be less than 1 second [0186] and can addition include pulses such as every third inhalation [0187], which read on approximal 5-12 breaths. NO can play an important role in host defense through its potent antiviral properties and inhibit viral replication and reduce the pro-inflammatory consequences of such infections. Inhaled NO can prevent the growth of the influence virus ([0258]-[0259]). Nitric oxide in cigarette smoke is taught to be 50 ppm for the first puff to over 2,000 ppm for the last puff, wherein single breath of NO followed by the breaths of room air can be repeated [0262].
That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the dosage concentration and time period can be viewed as a variable which achieves the recognized result of successfully treating a specific patient. The optimum or workable range of dosing can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of dosage nonobvious. The ‘948 publication teaches administration of intermittent doses of NO gas at a dose range of at least 1500ppm for a single breath only followed by multiple breaths of fresh air, and thus would inherently “break through the outer protective sheath of host cells where the virus is present” and not cause of high levels of methemoglobin and clear some or all of the methemoglobin as the administration in concentration and the time frame claimed is taught.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that cigarette smoking could be used for medicinal purposes such as treating virus as the ‘948 publication teaches the desire for NO to be used to treat viruses and additionally teaches the use of cigarettes to introduce nitric oxide levels. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use cigarettes to treat virus as the ‘948 publication teaches the use of intermittent doses as a NO treatment such as for viruses and additionally teaches methods of administered intermitted doses to a subject through the use of cigarettes, thus providing motivation and an expectation of success.
It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of disclosed ingredients (for example, treating a virus by administering high dose of nitric oxide in a single breath followed by fresh air) from within the prior art disclosure of the ‘948 patent, to arrive at the instantly claimed method of treating a viral pandemic comprising administering a high dose of nitric oxide “yielding no more than one would have expected from such an arrangement”.
Claim(s) 2-6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0093948 as applied to claims 1 and 12-13 above, and further in view of WO 2010/148262 (previously applied) and US 2011/0104240 (previously applied).
As mentioned in the above 103(a) rejection, all the limitations of claims 1 and 12-13 are taught by the ‘948 publication.
The ‘948 publication teaches the soaking paper in inorganic nitrogen (nitrates). This could be used as a very simple and cheap method to deliver inhaled nitric oxide to patients [0263].
The ‘948 publication does not specifically teach chemical compound or additive has been added to boost the NO concentration in the inhaled smoke (claim 2).
The ‘262 publication teaches a cigarette being impregnated with corticosteroid used to treat pulmonary inflammation. The active ingredient can be impregnated in the tobacco, paper, the filer or any combination thereof (abstract). The active ingredient is drawn into the smoker’s lungs when the cigarette is smoked (page 4, first paragraph). A patient may inhale their cigarette far more deeply than they will inhale their metered dose inhaler (page 5, second paragraph). The tobacco or cigarette paper can be soaked in solution then dried to impregnate with active ingredient (page 6, last paragraph). Powder coating is additionally taught page 8, third paragraph). The amount of drug is taught to be varied per cigarette according to use as a prophylactic device which has a low dosage of present inflammation which may require a higher dosage of active agent (page 9, third-fourth paragraph).
The ‘240 publication teaches a device have nitric oxide precursors which maybe used to treat infections (abstract). The NO is taught to be produced in the range of from 1 to 1000 ppm [0042]. The term nitric oxide gas precursor means any substrate that may be converted into nitric oxide gas. Nitric oxide gas precursor is a nitrate or salt thereof, such as potassium nitrate, sodium nitrate or other nitrate [0104].
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of wherein NO is delivered form a cigarette to which a chemical compound or additive has been added to boost the NO concentration in the inhaled smoke is met by the ‘262 publication teaching additional active agent being added to cigarette paper (abstract) and the ‘948 publication teach adding nitrates to cigarette paper [0263].
Regarding claim 3, the limitation of wherein the NO is formed when the cigarette is smoked and the NO is inhaled into the lungs is met by the ‘948 publication teaching nitric oxide is formed in the flame in the front from inorganic nitrates that are present in tobacco wherein the inhalation is taught [0262].
Regarding claims 4-6, 8, the limitation of wherein the additive is widely and cheaply available and used in nitrate fertilizers, or in food preparations and perseveration is met by the ‘240 publication teaching the elected sodium nitrate, wherein other nitrates and any substrate is taught [0104] and cigarette as taught by the ‘948 publication includes nitrates ([0262]-[0263]), thus making obvious mixtures or combinations thereof. See 112(b) rejection above.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of wherein the additives are sprayed on the cigarette or the cigarette is dipped in a concentrated solution of the additive is met by the ‘948 publication teaching soaking paper in inorganic nitrates [0263] and the ‘262 publication teaching The tobacco or cigarette paper can be soaked in solution then dried to impregnate with active ingredient (page 6, last paragraph). Powder coating is by spray additionally taught (page 8, third paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include nitrate salts to the cigarette taught by the ‘948 publication because the ‘948 publication teaches NO to be used to treat viruses and teaches the administration of cigarettes to administer NO and the ‘262 publication teaches the addition of agents to cigarettes to treat diseases, thus it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art that additional nitric oxide producing components may be added to cigarettes to obtain the desired dosage range of nitric oxide. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to add additional nitrates as the ‘262 publication teaches the amount of active added to a cigarette may be optimized to obtain the desired dosage. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success because the ‘948 publication teaches the addition of nitrates to cigarette paper and the ‘262 publication teaches actives may be added to cigarette paper for administration. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated and have an expectation of success in adding sodium nitrate to the cigarettes of the ‘948 publication because the ‘948 publication teaches the addition of nitrates to cigarette paper and the ‘240 publication specifically teaches sodium nitrate to be a nitrate salt used to administer nitric oxide.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues none of the cited references teach or suggest a method of treating a virus in a patient in need of treatment for the virus, the method comprising administering a dose of nitric oxide for a single breath to the patient form a cigarette configured to deliver excess NO or treating a subject at risk of infection form a virus comprising exposing the subject to an intermittent dose of NO gas from a cigarette. There is no teaching or suggestion that a patient in need of treatment for a virus can receive NO from a cigarette configured to deliver excess NO in any of the cited references.
In response, the ‘948 publication teaches NO plays a role in host defense through its potent antiviral properties. NO is taught to inhibit viral replication and reduce the post-inflammatory consequences of such infections. Inhaled NO may be universally effective against all influenza strains, presenting a significant breakthrough in the control of viral pandemics and can prevent the growth of the influence virus wherein puff can be from a cigarette with a puff over 2000 ppm and wherein preferably 10 to 20 room air puffs follow a single breath of NO ([0258]-[[0262]). NO is taught to both treat and prevent growth of influence and inhibit viral replication and reduce the inflammatory consequence of such infection thus teaching treatment from the infected and those at risk of infection wherein the administration concentration and use of cigarettes is taught.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/LYNDSEY M BECKHARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 1613