DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on September 17th, 2025:
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 1 has been amended to include “wherein each of the pair of end plates is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the battery cell stack; and”.
Status of Objections and Rejections Pending from the Office Action of July 16th, 2025
The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) have been overcome in view of the amendments and remarks filed on September 17th, 2025.
The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C 103 have been overcome in view of the amendments and remarks filed on September 17th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 17th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under Egashira et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of
Atsushi et al (as cited in the IDS) and Liu et al (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation).
Atsushi et al teaches a power storage module comprising a plurality of power storage cells stacked in a staking direction, a pair of insulating end power storage cell holder on opposite ends in the stacking direction of the power storage cells, wherein the end plates comprising a first drainage channel extending vertically downwardly and then bending outwardly in the stacking direction [Atsushi, 0006]. However, Atsushi is silent to teach on a drainage channel in bother lower corners.
Liu teaches a drainage and ventilation structure in the battery stack, which can effectively remove condensed water, while preventing hydrogen from accumulating inside the battery and effectively improving battery life [Liu, 0006].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi et al, US 20150140408 A1 (as cited in IDS) and Liu et al, CN 210167432 U (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation).
Regarding Claim 1, Atsushi teaches a power storage module (Atsushi, M; figure 1) including a plurality of power storage cells (Atsushi, 11; figure 1) that are stacked in a stacking direction [Atsushi, 0054], a housing that comprises the upper frames (Atsushi, 15; figure 1), the lower frames (Atsushi, 16; figure 1), the busbar frame (Atsushi, 28; figure 1) and a pair of end plates (Atsushi, 14; figure 1). The pair of end plates are at opposite ends of the stacking direction, corresponding to the front and rear surfaces of the claim, and are stacked in the stacking direction of the power storage cells [Atsushi, 0058], corresponding to claimed requirement of the pair of end plates being perpendicular in a longitudinal direction of the battery stack, this is also shown in figure 1 of Atsushi. Condensed water formed on the surface of the end plate goes through the first drainage channel (Atsushi, 31; figure 9) [Atsushi, 0089] and out first drainage channel outlet (Atsushi, 31a; figure 9), and shown in figure 9 of Atsushi to be in the lower corner of the end plate, and while not shown in figure 9, figure 2 of Atsushi, shows the connection of the lower frame fastening portion (Atsushi, 16a; figure 2) connects with the bolts (Atsushi, 17; figure 2), corresponding to the claimed requirement of where the at least one of the pair of end plates meets the housing. Furthermore, figure 9 of Atsushi shows the first drainage channel extends from and inside corner of at least the one pair of end plates to an outside corner of at least one pair of end plates, shown by the arrows depicting flow. However, Atsushi is silent to teach a drainage channel in both lower corners of at least one pair of end plates.
Liu teaches a drainage and ventilation structure in the battery stack [Liu, 0006], wherein at least two water outlets (Liu, 4; figure 3), corresponding to the drainage channels of the claim, are provided on the bottom of the sealing plate (Liu, 2; figure 3), corresponding to the end plate of the claim, wherein figure 3 of Liu depicts two water outlets at the lower corners of the sealing plate.
Liu and Atsushi are considered analogous arts in the area of batteries and power storage devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Atsushi to include the at least two water outlets on the bottom of the sealing plate as taught by Liu, because such modification would result in a battery stack that can effectively remove condensed water while preventing hydrogen accumulation inside the battery and improve the battery life and safety [Liu, 0006].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the drainage channel (Atsushi, 31; figure 9) has a first and second slope, shown by the flow arrows in figure 9 of Atsushi, wherein the first slope is toward the outside corner of the lower end of at least one of the pair of end plates, shown in the annotated figure 9 below as “1” and depicted as the “first slope”, and an inside lower end part of the at least one of the pair of end plates with a second slope, shown in the annotated figure 9 below as “2” and depicted as the “second slope”.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 3, wherein the annotated close up of the first drainage channel (Atsushi, 31; figure 9) and the first drainage outlet (Atsushi, 31a; figure 9), shows the inclination angle of the first slope is larger than an inclination angle of the second slope, as shown by the double sided arrows to show the inclination angles.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the end plates (Atsushi, 14; figure 2) comprise a rim part protruding towards the housing and the rim comprises the drainage channel, as shown in the annotated close up figure 2 of Atsushi below.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the end plates (Atsushi, 14; figure 2) are stacked with end power storage cell holders (Atsushi, 12a/12b; figure 2) [Atsushi, 0057], corresponding to the insulating cover of the claim, and the end power storage cell holders are made of a synthetic resin [Atsushi, 0057], and said to be insulating [Atsushi, 0014], and figure 2 of Atsushi depicts an inside lower end part of the end plate is on a lower side of the insulating cover.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 1, wherein the bus bar frame (Atsushi, 28; figure 1), is formed in a U-shape, therefore, creates two sides of the frame, corresponding to the pair of busbar frames of the claim, and figure 1 of Atsushi, shows the frame extends from the front surface of the battery cell stack, and connects to the front of the end plate, shown by the dashed lines of figure 1, and extends to the rear surface of the battery cell stack.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 8, wherein the bus bar frame (Atsushi, 28; figure 1), shown in figure 1 to be comprises of multiple busbars, covers a plurality of electrodes (Atsushi, 11e; figure 1) [Atsushi, 0063], and the bus bar frame extends from the front surface of the battery cell stack, and connects to the front of the end plate (Atsushi, 14; figure 1), shown by the dashed lines of figure 1.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Atsushi teaches a power pack (Atsushi, P; figure 3) including the power storage module (Atsushi, M; figure 3) of claim 1, wherein the first drainage channel (Atsushi, 31; figure 9) comprises guide ribs, corresponding to the drainage device connected to the drainage channel of the claim, connected to the first drainage channel to reliably discharge non-galvanic water on the first face to the first drainage channel and prevent leaking [Atsushi, 0015].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsushi et al, US 20150140408 A1 (as cited in IDS) and Liu et al, CN 210167432 U (as cited in IDS and English translation provided for citation) as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Park et al, EP 2849261 B1 (already on the record).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Atsushi teaches the battery module of claim 1, but is silent to teach on the pair of end plates being welded to the housing, excluding a portion where the drainage channel is formed.
Park teaches a battery module (Park, 100a; Figure 2), wherein the end plate (Park, 140; Figure 2) is disposed at the outside of the battery cell, and may be a pair of end plates, that form a housing with the side plates (Park, 160; Figure 2), and the end plates may be coupled to the side plate via welding [Park, 0029].
While Park does not explicitly teach the limitation “excluding a portion where the drainage channel is formed”, it would be obvious for the portion where the drainage portion is formed to be open to the outside, and therefore not welded. Furthermore, modified Atsushi teaches an outlet (Atsushi, 31a; figure 9), for the first drainage channel (Atsushi, 31; figure 9), further indicating the portion where the drainage channel is formed would not be welded, therefore, it can be assumed the end plates are welded to the housing excluding a portion with the drainage channel. There are a finite number of identified predictable solutions for the welding of the end plate, such that the portion where the drainage channel is formed would not be welded or it would be welded. Therefore, absences of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from the finite number of identified predictable solution disclosed above, wherein the portion where the drainage channel is formed on the end plate would not be welded, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so, see MPEP 2143 (E).
Conclusion
/LILIAN ALICE ODOM/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722