DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the April 1st, 2026 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The
text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior
Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received on April 1st, 2026:
Claims 1 and 4-13 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 4, and 6 are amended. Claim 13 is newly added.
Claim 1 is amended to specify that the refrigerant transfer pipe is connected to a side of each of the refrigerant introduction port and the refrigerant discharge port; and further clarifies the connection of the first and second bent pipes in relation to the refrigerant introduction port and discharge port, respectively.
Claim 4 is amended to remove “of the side frame.”
Claim 6 is amended to replace “the side frame” with “each of the pair of side frames.”
Claim 13 is newly added to further describe the structure of the refrigerant introduction port and discharge port and a connection of the refrigerant transfer pipe, first bent pipe, and second bent pipe thereto.
The rejections of Claims 1 and 4-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
No new matter has been added. Applicant’s amendment finds support in the originally filed disclosure.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 4-12 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as described below:
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), and further in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1) and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10343548 B2). The rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170059178 A) (Cited in the IDS). The rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS) and Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170309877 A1). The rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170059178 A) (Cited in the IDS). The rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 1st, 2026 have been fully considered as further described below:
Applicant presents arguments to Claim 1 in which are based on the claims as amended. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Cited Prior Art
Previously Cited Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (“Kim et al.”)
Previously Cited Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (“Ralph et al.”)
Previously Cited Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10343548 B2) (“Yokoyama et al.”)
Previously Cited Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170059178 A) (“Park et al.”)
Previously Cited Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (“Tong et al.”)
Previously Cited Wu et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170309877 A1) (“Wu et al.”)
Previously Cited Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1) (“Ito et al.”)
Kubota et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160141737 A1) (“Kubota et al.”)
Yoon et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160372805 A1) (“Yoon et al.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), and Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS), and further in view of Kubota et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160141737 A1) and Yoon et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160372805 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a battery pack comprising battery modules mounted or stacked in a multilayer (multiple stages) structure (para. 1). The battery pack (10) includes a base plate (100) formed with module receiving portions (110) forming a pack case configured to receive the at least one battery modules therein (para. 105-107, Fig. 1). The at least one battery module comprises a first battery module (210) and a second battery module (400) vertically stacked above the first battery module (para. 109, Fig. 1). The battery pack comprises a cooling member (first cooler) including a portion located at a lower portion of the first battery module assembly (200) (located between an inside upper surface of a bottom surface of the pack case and the first battery module) in which is configured to cool or discharge heat generated from the battery modules (210) (first battery modules) (para. 123, Fig. 1). A cooling plate (1100) (second cooler) is in contact with one side of the upper (second) battery module in which is configured to cool or discharge heat generated from the second battery module (para. 115, Fig. 3).
[AltContent: textbox (Ralph et al. (Fig. 7))]
Kim et al. does not specifically teach the pack case including a distinct front, rear, and side frames comprising a refrigeration circulation channel. Kim et al. does not teach the front frame provided with a refrigerant introduction port, a refrigerant discharge port, and refrigerant transfer pipe.
Ralph et al. teaches a framework (200) or pack case configured to receive the battery modules therein. The battery module includes a front frame (240), rear frame (242), and a pair of side frames (210, 220) in which are configured to connect the front frame and the rear frame to each other (para. 50, Fig. 3). Each pair of side frames is proved with a refrigerant circulation channel (215) configured to supply and collect a refrigerant to and from the cooling plates (first cooler) (270) (para. 51, Fig. 6). Ralph et al. further teaches the front frame (240) comprising a refrigerant inlet or introduction port (221) and refrigerant outlet or discharge port (222) spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (para. 50, Fig. 7).
A connection point (273) of the cooling plate is in communication with the connection point (217) of the circulation channel (215) forming a piping system in which is connected to each of the refrigerant introduction portion (221) and the refrigerant discharge port (222) to guide refrigerate flow (shown by arrows in Figure 7) as directed throughout the framework (para. 60, Fig. 6-7). As shown in Figure 7, the piping system, forming a refrigerant transfer pipe, is configured to communicate with the refrigerant circulation channel and is connected in the front frame. Ralph et al. teaches the configuration described provides a battery pack with an advanced integrated cooling circuit having excellent robustness without increasing the weight of the battery pack as described above (para. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pack case of Kim et al. by Ralph et al. to include a front frame, rear frame, and a pair of side frames in which are configured to connect the front frame and the rear frame to each other in which each pair of side frames is provided with a refrigerant circulation channel configured to supply and collect a refrigerant to and from the first cooler; and to further include a front frame provided with a refrigerant introduction port and a refrigerant discharge port spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, wherein a refrigerant transfer pipe configured to communicate with the refrigerant circulation channel is connected to each of the refrigerant introduction port and the refrigerant discharge port. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Ralph et al. useful in providing a battery pack with an advanced integrated cooling circuit having excellent robustness without increasing the weight of the battery pack as described above.
Kim et al. does not teach the second cooler located in a position between the first battery module and second battery module; and the second cooler having a first bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant introduction port and a second bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant discharge port.
Ito et al. teaches a first cooler (cooling unit 132) configured to discharge heat from a first battery module (32) located between an inside upper surface of a bottom surface (51) of a pack case (50) and the first battery module; a second battery module (33) vertically stacked above the first battery module; and a second cooler (cooling unit 133) configured to discharge heat generated from the second battery module (Fig. 2, para. 57-58, 67). The second cooler (cooling unit 133) includes a first bent pipe (internal piping 104i) extending downward and connected to the refrigerant introduction port (branch portion (108) in which is connected to the discharge port (102b) of cooling pump (102) and functions as a refrigerant inlet to the cooling unit (130), para. 66); and a second bent pipe (internal piping 104m) extending downward and connected to the refrigerant discharge port (branch portion (112) in which is connected to merging portion (109) and discharges the refrigerant flow to the DC-DC converter cooling units (122, 121)) (Figs. 2, 4, para. 68, 73, 82).
As shown in Fig. 2, internal pipes (104) extend from the second cooler (133) and are bent and extended downward toward the equivalent introduction portion (108) and refrigerant discharge port (merging portion (109) in which is connected to the equivalent discharge portion (112)) to form a refrigerant circulation path (para. 64, Fig. 2). Further, Ito et al. teaches advantages of the described invention such as providing a simplified fabrication process and uniform cooling of a plurality of battery modules for use in a vehicle (para. 38-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Kim et al. by Ito et al. to include the second cooler located in a position between the first battery module and second battery module; and the second cooler having a first bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant introduction port and a second bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant discharge port. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a simplified fabrication process and uniform cooling of the battery modules for use in a vehicle as taught by Ito et al.
Kim et al. does not teach the second cooler comprising a heat sink, lower protection cover, and upper protection cover.
Tong et al. teaches a heat sink (1) comprising a cover plate (upper protection cover) (11) located on the heat sink and a bottom plate (lower protection cover (120) located under the heat sink (para. 128, Fig. 1). Tong et al. teaches that the described configuration provides a battery system with a high heat dissipation effect further providing improved charging/discharge rates, and effectively reducing the volume of the sink (para. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cooler of Kim et al. to include a (second heat sink) comprising a lower protection cover located under the (second) heat sink, and an upper protection cover located on the (second) heat sink as taught by Tong et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a battery system with high heat dissipation effect further providing improved charging/discharge rates, and effectively reducing the volume of the sink.
Kim et al. does not teach that the refrigerant transfer pipe is connected to a side of each of the refrigerant introduction port and the refrigerant discharge port; and that the first and second bent pipe extend forward toward the front frame and are connected to an end of the refrigerant introduction and discharge port, respectively.
The pack case of Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al. to include a transfer pipe configured to communicate with the refrigerant circulation channel that is connected to each of the refrigerant introduction port and the refrigerant discharge port; and the refrigerant introduction port and refrigerant discharge port are located in the front frame. The battery pack of Kim et al. is further modified by Ito et al. to include the second cooler located in a position between the first battery module and second battery module; and the second cooler having a first bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant introduction port and a second bent pipe extending downward and connected to the refrigerant discharge port. Therefore, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al. and Ito et al. to teach communication between the refrigerant introduction/discharge port and the first/second bent pipes, respectively.
[AltContent: textbox (Kubota et al. (Fig. 1))]
[AltContent: textbox (Yoon et al. (Fig. 5))]
Further, Kubota et al. teaches a cooling pipe 192 comprising a refrigerant inlet port and a refrigerant outlet port in which protrude from a front side and are positioned in parallel (Fig. 1, [0069]).
Further, Yoon et al. teaches a coolant transfer pipe 150 that is connected to a side of each of two coolant ports 130 protruding from a front side and positioned in parallel (Fig. 5, [0058]). Yoon et al. further teaches a configuration in which an upper heat sink and lower heat sink are connected in series in which the cooling water may flow toward the lower heat sinks from the upper heat sink ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the refrigerant inlet/outlet ports of Kim et al. to protrude outward from a front side as taught by Kubota et al. and to modify each port to include the refrigerant transfer pipe connected to a side as taught by Yoon et al.; and to connect the upper heat sink and lower heat sink in series as further taught by Yoon et al. Yoon et al. teaches the importance of providing a lightweight vehicle to achieve high efficiency ([0001]) and a method of effectively cooling the inside of a compact battery while minimizing added volume and maintaining a compact size ([0002]), similar to the claimed invention (the claimed invention minimizes the volume of the battery pack while providing sufficient cooling, see [0013] of spec.). "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)." When performing the described modification, it would have been obvious to modify the bent pipes of the second cooler of Kim et al. to extend forward toward the front frame to connect to an end of the refrigerant introduction/discharge ports.
Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP 2144.01(VI)(B)).
Rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP 2144.01(VI)(A)).
The described modification involves merely integrating the connection pipes of the upper and lower heat sinks and rearranging the pipes and/or connection points thereof. Performing the modification would not have modified the principle operation of the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a simplified configuration, increased stability, and improved cooling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Kim et al. does not teach an air circulation channel.
Ralph et al. teaches second cooling channels (290, 291) (air circulation channels) in which air can flow to cool the battery cells of both sides of the battery module (para. 65, Fig. 17). Connection points are provided on the pair of side frames in which connection point (292.3) can direct air flow to second channel (216) located adjacent and parallel to the refrigerant circulation channel (215) of the side frame (para. 66, Fig. 18). Ralph et al. teaches the configuration described provides a battery pack with an advanced integrated cooling circuit having excellent robustness without increasing the weight of the battery pack as described above (para. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Kim et al., to further include an air circulation channel located adjacent the refrigerant circulation channel so as to be parallel to the refrigerant circulation channel as taught by Ralph et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Ralph et al. useful in providing a battery pack with an advanced integrated cooling circuit having excellent robustness without increasing the weight of the battery pack.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Kim et al. does not teach the second cooler comprising a coupling band.
Tong et al. teaches a heat sink (1) comprising a cover plate (upper protection cover) (11) located on the heat sink and a bottom plate (lower protection cover (120) located under the heat sink (para. 128, Fig. 1). A bent upward portion (121) located along edges of the lower protection cover analogous to an upper coupling band and a bent downward portion (112) located along edges of the upper protection configured to receive the heat sink (para. 43, Fig. 4). Tong et al. teaches that the described configuration contributes to preventing the risk of leakage of the battery module and the short circuit of the heat sink and provides improved reliability of the power battery system (para. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cooler of Kim et al. to include a coupling band located along edges of the lower protection cover and the upper protection cover in a state of receiving the second heat sink as taught by Tong et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the risk of leakage of the battery module and the short circuit of the heat sink, and provide improved reliability of the power battery system.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Kim et al. does not teach the second cooler comprising a sealing gasket.
Tong et al. teaches a heat sink (1) comprising a cover plate (upper protection cover) (11) located on the heat sink and a bottom plate (lower protection cover (120) located under the heat sink (para. 128, Fig. 1). A bent upward portion (121) located along edges of the lower protection cover and a bent downward portion (112) located along edges of the upper protection configured to receive the heat sink and are connected (para. 43, Fig. 4). Fixation methods include welding, adhesive bonding, and mechanical fixing in which a skilled artisan would consider the welding, adhesive, or fixation material to form a sealing gasket (defined as a mechanical seal between two surfaces) between the edges of the lower protection cover and the upper protection cover (para. 30). The described fixation methods can ensure the reliability of the fixed connection (para. 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cooler of Kim et al. to include a sealing gasket formed by adhesive bonding or welding between edges of the lower and upper protection cover as taught by Tong et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to ensure the reliability of a fixed connection.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Further, Kim et al. teaches a device comprising the battery pack of Claim 1 (para. 98).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Kim et al. teaches a plurality of first battery modules (210) in a spaced-apart relationship (para. 57) as further evident by Ito et al. in which teaches a plurality of first battery modules (32) arranged in a spaced a part relationship (Ito et al., Fig. 3). Therefore, as shown in annotated Fig. 1 of Kim et al. above, one of the three (first) battery modules (210) can be considered a third battery module spaced from the first battery module in a first direction wherein the second battery module (400) extends across the first battery module and the third battery module in the first direction (para. 107, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1 above, the refrigerant inlet/outlet ports of Kim et al. are modified to protrude outward from a front side (corresponding to a position of the front frame, wherein the port comprises a front end, rear end, and sidewall) as taught by Kubota et al. and to modify each port to include the refrigerant transfer pipe connected to a sidewall as taught by Yoon et al.; and establishing connection between the upper heat sink and lower heat sink in series as further taught by Yoon et al. Therefore, it is deemed obvious to further modify the bent pipes of the second cooler of Kim et al. to extend forward toward the front frame to connect to an end of the refrigerant introduction/discharge ports (in which the first bent pipe is connected to the rear end of the refrigerant introduction port, and wherein the second bent pipe extending downward and forward toward the front frame is connected to the rear end of the refrigerant discharge port) (see MPEP 2144.01(VI)(B) & MPEP 2144.01(VI)(A)). Therefore, all claim limitations are met.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS), Kubota et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160141737 A1), and Yoon et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160372805 A1) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 10343548 B2).
Regarding Claim 5, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above.
Kim et al. does not teach the air circulation channel provided with at least one incision portion configured to allow external air to pass therethrough.
Yokoyama et al. teaches a battery pack comprising a flow duct or air circulation channel including an opening or incision in which is configured to allow outside or external air to pass therethrough (para. 67). The design configuration as taught by Yokoyama et al. provides a battery housing with improved cooling performance with no increase in manufacturing cost (para. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Kim et al. to include a flow duct or air circulation channel including an opening or incision in which is configured to allow outside or external air to pass therethrough as taught by Yokoyama et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification as taught by Yokoyama et al. to provide a battery housing with improved cooling performance with no increase in manufacturing.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS), Kubota et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160141737 A1), and Yoon et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160372805 A1) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Park et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170059178 A) (Cited in the IDS).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Kim et al. teaches an assembly cooling member (300) (first cooler) comprising a first lower plate (320) and a first upper plate (310) configured to provide a space in which a refrigerant flow or is circulated therebetween (para. 124, Fig. 5).
Kim et al. does not teach a first heat sink comprising a first refrigerant inlet and first refrigerant outlet coupled to the refrigerant circulation channel, and wherein a bottom surface of each of the pair of side frames is provided with fastening holes connected to the first refrigerant inlet and the first refrigerant outlet.
Park et al. teaches a battery module including a (first) heat sink (1) at a lower surface in which comprises a (first) refrigerant inlet pipe (3) and a (first) refrigerant outlet pipe (4) in which are securely coupled to the battery module and a refrigerant circulation channel (para. 9, Fig. 1). Park et al. teaches the battery module as described provides improved cooling efficiency (para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Kim et al. to include a first heat sink comprising a first refrigerant inlet and a first refrigerant outlet coupled to the refrigerant circulation channel as taught by Park et al. Further, when performing the described modification it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrate the heat sink of Park et al. with the pair of side frames as taught by Ralph et al. by providing fastening holes to connect the first refrigerant inlet and the first refrigerant outlet. The use of a one-piece, integrated construction instead of the structure disclosed or taught in the prior art would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965,968, 144 USPQ 347,349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Further, when performing the described modifications, it would have been obvious to include the same refrigerant throughout the modifications where “a refrigerant” is analogous to “the refrigerant” and refers to a single refrigerant material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification as taught by Park et al. to provide a battery module with improved cooling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 10, “second” is interpreted as a portion located on or adjacent to the upper (second) battery module as suggested by the language of Claim 1. Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Kim et al. does not teach the second heat sink comprising a second heat sink body; a second L-shaped refrigerant inlet configured to supply the refrigerant to the second heat sink body; and a second L-shaped refrigerant outlet configured to discharge the refrigerant, wherein the lower protection cover is provided with a pair of bent pipes configured to receive the second refrigerant inlet and the second refrigerant outlet, respectively.
Park et al. teaches a battery module including a heat sink and a heat sink body (1) comprising a refrigerant inlet pipe (3) configured to supply a refrigerant to the heat sink body and a refrigerant outlet pipe (4) configured to discharge a refrigerant (para. 9, Fig.1). The inlet and outlets can be considered U-shaped; however, Park et al. also teaches L-shaped pipe configurations (124, 134) (Fig. 3). The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 4 7 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.04). Park et al. teaches the battery module as described provides improved cooling efficiency (para. 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack of Kim et al. to include a second heat sink comprising a (second) heat sink body, a (second) refrigerant inlet configured to supply the refrigerant to the (second) heat sink body, and a (second) refrigerant outlet configured to discharge the refrigerant as taught by Park et al. Further, Park et al. teaches L-shaped pipe configurations in which it would have been an obvious engineering design to modify the shape of the refrigerant inlet and outlet to have an L-shape configuration. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 4 7 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP §2144.04). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the shape of the pipe to improve structural stability and connection.
Further, when modifying the battery pack of Kim et al to include the heat sink provided with an upper and lower protection cover as taught by Tong et al. and to further include the refrigerant inlet/outlet pipes of Park et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an opening in the lower protection cover configured to receive the bent pipes of Park et al. in which the lower protection cover is provided with a pair of bent channels or pipes configured to receive the second refrigerant inlet and the second refrigerant outlet, respectively, in which also have a bent orientation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification as taught by Park et al. to provide a battery module with improved cooling efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170085681 A) (Cited in the IDS) in view of Ralph et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20190131415 A) (Cited in the IDS), Ito et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170271727 A1), Tong et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20170057465 A) (Cited in the IDS), Kubota et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160141737 A1), and Yoon et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20160372805 A1) as applied to Claim 7 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20170309877 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. is modified by Ralph et al., Ito et al., Tong et al., Kubota et al., and Yoon et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 7 above.
Kim et al. does not teach cold metal transfer welding.
Wu et al. teaches fixing two surfaces of a battery module analogous to a coupling band using cold metal transfer welding (para. 62). Wu et al. further teaches the described configuration allows a firm connection without damaging or inhibiting battery function (para. 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the battery pack of Kim et al. to include fixing the coupling band as taught by Tong et al. in Claim 7 by cold metal transfer welding as taught by Wu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to provide a manner of fixing portions of a battery module together in which allows a firm connection without damaging or inhibiting battery function as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729