DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 11/04/2025, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_”, “L_” and “Pr_” are used to mean “column_”, “line_” and “paragraph_”.
Claims 30-35 are new. Claims 1-35 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The Applicant argues that the claim amendments distinguish the amended independent claim 1 over reference Silver (pgs. 10-12). This argument is unpersuasive because this is directed towards the amended claim.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 28-29 recite “electroactive microbes”, but such language is not present in the originally filed specification.
Dependent claims not recited above require all of the limitations of independent Claims 1 and 28-29, and therefore are rejected for the same reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 19 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claims 1-2, 19 and 28) and a method (Claim 29).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 19 and 28-29, Cheng teaches a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment ([0086]) system (abstract) comprising:
a wastewater treatment tank (Fig. 1, [0048], reaction chamber having wall 5), comprising a wastewater intake and a treated water outlet (Fig. 1, [0048], channels 20 and 22);
an electrode assembly adapted for submersion within the wastewater treatment tank between the intake and outlet (Fig. 1), the electrode assembly comprising a set of interconnectable electrode modules, each electrode module having:
a first electrode of an anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electroactive microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], anode 12) adapted to generate electrons via the consumption of organic matter ([0018]) in wastewater ([0080]);
a second electrode of the anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electromethanogenic microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], cathode 16) adapted to generate methane and accept electrons via the consumption of organic matter in wastewater ([0018] and [0033-0035]);
a body, supporting and separating the first and second electrodes (Fig. 1, [0048], optional separator); and
an interface for physically connecting the module with at least one other of the set, the interface further arranged to electrically-connect the first and second electrodes of the electrode module with respective first and second electrodes of other connected electrode modules of the set ([0052] and [0054]); and
a circuit electrically-connecting the electrodes of the set of electrode modules to an external electrical source or load (Fig. 1, [0048], conduit for electrons 17), wherein the electrode modules are membraneless ([0045] and [0048]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: each electrode is elongate, so as to define a longitudinal axis ([0052-0054]), the first and second electrodes being held by the body so that their respective longitudinal axes are substantially parallel to one another (Fig. 1).
Claim 19: the wastewater treatment tank is open at its upper end ([0064-0066], channel provided for outflow of methane, a channel defining a passage from the exterior of the reaction chamber to the interior), and the system further comprising a gas trap configured for attachment relative to the electrode assembly above the electrode modules to capture gas emitted by electrodes of the anode-cathode pair ([0064], gas collection chamber or device).
Claim 28: An electrode assembly adapted for submersion within a wastewater treatment tank for use in a wastewater treatment system (Fig. 1), the electrode assembly comprising a set of interconnectable electrode modules, each electrode module having:
a first electrode of an anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electroactive microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], anode 12) adapted to generate electrons via the consumption of organic matter ([0018]) in wastewater ([0080]);
a second electrode of the anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electromethanogenic microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], cathode 16) adapted to generate methane and accept electrons via the consumption of organic matter in wastewater ([0018] and [0033-0035]);
a body, supporting and separating the first and second electrodes (Fig. 1, [0048], optional separator); and
an interface for physically connecting the module with at least one other of the set, the interface further arranged to electrically-connect the first and second electrodes of the electrode module with respective first and second electrodes of other connected electrode modules of the set ([0052] and [0054]), wherein the electrode modules are membraneless ([0045] and [0048]).
Claim 29: A bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment process comprising:
providing an electrode assembly by interconnecting a set of electrode modules (Fig. 1), each electrode module having:
a first electrode of an anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electroactive microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], anode 12) adapted to generate electrons via the consumption of organic matter ([0018]) in wastewater ([0080]);
a second electrode of the anode-cathode pair coated ([0019]) with electromethanogenic microbes (Fig. 1, [0048], cathode 16) adapted to generate methane and accept electrons via the consumption of organic matter in wastewater ([0018] and [0033-0035]);
a body, supporting and separating the first and second electrodes (Fig. 1, [0048], optional separator); and
an interface for physically connecting the module with at least one other of the set, the interface further arranged to electrically-connect the first and second electrodes of the electrode module with respective first and second electrodes of other connected electrode modules of the set ([0052] and [0054]);
submerging the electrode assembly within a wastewater treatment tank, the tank comprising a wastewater intake and a treated water outlet (Fig. 1, [0048], channels 20 and 22), and the electrode assembly being disposed between the intake and the outlet (Fig. 1); and
electrically-connecting the electrodes of the set of electrode modules, via a circuit (Fig. 1, [0048], conduit for electrons 17) to an external electrical source or load, wherein the electrode modules are membraneless ([0045] and [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8, 22 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of International Publication WO2012012647A2 (‘Silver’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 3-8, 22 and 25-27, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 1, except that each electrode module further comprises a plurality of holders that define at least in part, the body for supporting and separating the electrodes, wherein at least a pair of the holders are spaced from and secured relative to one another by at least one elongate strut to define an elongate framework within which each electrode is held so that a longitudinal axis of the elongate framework, and the longitudinal axes of the electrodes are substantially parallel to one another, wherein each holder defines a plurality of spaced connection regions, each for detachably holding a respective electrode and configured to allow the electrode module to be assembled and dissembled.
Silver also relates to a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment system (abstract), wherein each electrode module further comprises a plurality of holders that define at least in part, the body for supporting and separating the electrodes (structural frame defines cassette, Fig. 10, pg. 12, Pr2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Cheng and the plurality of holders of Silver so a rigid substrate can provide solid support (Silver, pg. 12) and to design the electrodes to minimize labor associated with cleaning and maintenance (Silver, pg. 12).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 4: at least a pair of the holders are spaced from and secured relative to one another by at least one elongate strut (structural frames are spaced from one another, see Silver, Fig. 10) to define an elongate framework (multiple structural frames, Silver, Fig. 10, pg. 12, Pr2) within which each electrode is held so that a longitudinal axis of the elongate framework, and the longitudinal axes of the electrodes are substantially parallel to one another (see Silver, Fig. 10).
Claim 5: each holder defines a plurality of spaced connection regions (see horizontal line of connection regions holding electrodes and membrane, Silver, Fig. 10), each for detachably holding a respective electrode and configured to allow the electrode module to be assembled and dissembled (reaction modules are removable/interchangeable, Silver, pg. 4, last Pr, pg. 8, Pr5, Fig. 10).
Claim 6: the connection regions of each holder comprise a plurality of slots (horizontal line of connection regions has multiple slots, Silver, Fig. 10) within which an attachment portion of a respective electrode (see Silver, Fig. 10) can be encapsulated to prevent relative movement of the electrodes.
Claim 7: the attachment portion of an electrode is slidable (see Silver, Figs. 3 and 10) into or out from a respective slot during fitment or removal of that electrode.
Claim 8: the attachment portion of an electrode is electrically-conductive (conductive material can be sprayed onto the solid support structure to achieve a desired resistance, Silver, pg. 12, Pr2. A solid support coated on at least one side with a conductive material, Silver, pg. 5, Pr3).
Claim 22: the electrode assembly comprises a plurality of electrode modules disposed between the intake and the outlet, the spacing between the anode-cathode pairs defined by the electrode modules being at their widest closest to the intake, and narrowest closest to the outlet (spacing between electrodes are illustrated as decreasing with proximity to the effluent ports, see Silver, Fig. 10).
Claim 25: actuators (Cheng, [0068], regulator device) for controlling at least the flow rate of wastewater into and/or out from the tank (Cheng, [0068]), and a controller being operatively connected to the actuators in order to control flow rate (Silver, pg. 22, Pr3) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Cheng and Silver with the controller of Silver, as demonstrated by Silver, to operate the system with dynamic control, taking parameters as input and changing operating characteristics (Silver, pg. 14, Pr2)).
Claim 26: sensors (pressure gauges, Silver, pg. 21, Pr4) communicatively connected to the controller (Silver, pg. 22, Pr3), the controller receiving signals from the sensors that indicate properties of the materials handled by the system (Silver, pg. 22, Pr3) and in response adjusts the actuators (operated with dynamic control with parameters as input and changes the operating characteristics, such as flow rate, Silver, pg. 14, Pr2).
Claim 27: the controller comprises a communication module for connecting via a network to a remote server (controller can rely data over the internet to a remote data server, Silver, pg. 22, Pr3), the controller communicating status data to the remote server (Silver, pg. 22, Pr3), and in response receiving configuration data from the server, the configuration data configuring the operation of the controller to control the actuators in response to signals received from the sensors (operated with dynamic control with parameters as input and changes the operating characteristics, such as flow rate, Silver, pg. 14, Pr2).
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of International Publication WO2012012647A2 (‘Silver’) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20180043361A1 (‘Vizcarra’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 9 and 12, the combination of Cheng and Silver teaches the system of Claim 3, except that at least one of the plurality of holders comprises a pair of conductor tracks, each retaining a conductor for electrical connection to a respective electrode, a first track running via the first electrode, and a second track running via the second electrode.
Vizcarra also relates to an electrochemical system (fuel cell generates electricity, [0045]), including a pair of conductor tracks (conductive tracks 22, [0063], Fig. 2a. Two conductive tracks 22 are illustrated in Fig. 2a), each retaining a conductor for electrical connection to a respective electrode (conductive tracks 22 connect the electronic circuit 23 with the anodic zone 14 and the cathodic zone 13, [0063], Fig. 2a), a first track running via the first electrode (anodic zone 14, [0063], Fig. 2a), and a second track running via the second electrode (cathodic zone 13, [0063], Fig. 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for at least one of the plurality of holders of the combination of Cheng and Silver to comprise a pair of conductor tracks, as demonstrated by Vizcarra, to allow the electronic circuit to receive electricity from the fuel cell (Vizcarra, [0063]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 12: the holders (holders, see Fig. 10 of Silver) and conductors in combination define, at least in part, the interface for physically and electrically connecting the electrode module with at least one other of the set (conductive tracks 22 go through microfluidic channel 10, which is between anodic zone 14 and cathodic zone 13 (Vizcarra, Fig. 2a)).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of International Publication WO2012012647A2 (‘Silver’) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20100224497A1 (‘Livshits’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 10-11, the combination of Cheng and Silver teaches the system of Claim 3, including that at least one of the holders comprise clamping portions that have a clamping configuration (solid support can be clamped to membrane, Silver, pg. 12, last Pr), except that at least one of the holders comprise clamping portions that have a clamping configuration in which the clamping portions are pressed towards one another to trap the electrodes in place.
Livshits also relates to an electrochemical water treatment system (abstract), wherein at least one of the holders comprise clamping portions (contact clamp 700, [0130], Fig. 9) that have a clamping configuration in which the clamping portions are pressed towards one another to trap the electrodes in place (support the anode in a desired position, [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for at least one of the holders of the combination of Cheng and Silver to comprise clamping portions, as demonstrated by Livshits, to maintain the position of the electrode with respect to the housing (Livshits, [0039]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 11: the clamping portions, in their clamping configuration, compress a first and second conductor (contact clamp is electrically conductive, opposed ends 702 of contact clamp, Livshits, [0131]) against respective first and second electrodes of multiple modules (clamped to anode 610 (Livshits, [0131], Fig. 8) and cathode 612 (Livshits, [0132], Fig. 8)).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Publication US20150076002A1 (‘Andrews’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 13-14, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 1, except that the interface of each electrode module comprises a coupling member, the coupling member including one of a plug or socket, for coupling with a complementary coupling member of other electrode modules of the set, the complementary coupling member including an other one of a socket or plug, wherein the body of each electrode module is elongate, with a first end and second end, and the interface of each electrode module comprises first and second complementary coupling members located toward respective first and second ends of the body.
Andrews also relates to an electrochemical wastewater treatment system (abstract), wherein the interface of each electrode module comprises a coupling member (Fig. 5, [0111], bulkhead member 320), the coupling member including one of a plug or socket, for coupling with a complementary coupling member of other electrode modules of the set, the complementary coupling member including an other one of a socket or plug (Fig. 5, [0111], bulkhead member 320 defines electrode apertures and (Fig. 29, [0143]) one or more flange apertures 430 to help releasably couple and create a seal between bulkhead member 320 and fitting flange 420 (Fig. 29, [0142])),
wherein the body of each electrode module is elongate (Figs. 2-4), with a first end and second end (Fig. 1, [0090]), and the interface of each electrode module comprises first and second complementary coupling members located toward respective first and second ends of the body (Fig. 5, [0111], bulkhead member 320 defines electrode apertures and (Fig. 29, [0143]) one or more flange apertures 430 to help releasably couple and create a seal between bulkhead member 320 and fitting flange 420 (Fig. 29, [0142])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the interface of Cheng to comprise a coupling member, as demonstrated by Andrews, to improve ease of removal of system components (Andrews, [0147]).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Patent US4072798A (‘Sisler’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 15-18, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 1, except for a buoy for floating within the wastewater treatment tank, the buoy having a connector configured and arranged for connection with the interface of an electrode module of the set of interconnectable electrode modules thereby, in use, to hang the set of electrode modules from the buoy.
Sisler also relates to a bio-electrochemical wastewater (C2/L19-22) treatment system (abstract), further comprising a buoy (buoy 18, C4/L22-31, Fig. 1) for floating within the wastewater treatment tank (C4/L30-31, Fig. 1), the buoy having a connector configured and arranged for connection with the interface of an electrode module of the set of interconnectable electrode modules thereby, in use, to hang the set of electrode modules from the buoy (electrode 20 is suspended from buoy 18, C4/L22-31, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to hang the set of electrode modules of the combination of Cheng and Silver from a buoy, as demonstrated by Sisler, in order to enable the treatment of bodies of water (Sisler, C1, L55-63).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 16: further comprising a weight (barbed hook 40, Sisler, C4/L39-41, Fig. 1) having a connector (connected by conductor 22, Sisler, Fig. 1, C4/L26-41) configured and arranged for connection with the interface of an electrode module of the set of interconnectable electrode modules (Sisler, C4/L26-41) thereby, in use, to draw the electrode assembly into a vertical position between the buoy and the weight (Sisler, Fig. 1).
Claim 17: the electrode assembly comprises at least two sets of interconnectable electrode modules (see electrodes 220, Sisler, Fig. 3 and C4/L63-C5, L2), and the buoy comprises at least two corresponding connectors for connection with a respective set of electrode modules (connected by conductor 222, Sisler, Fig. 3, C4/L67-C5, L2), the at least two connectors being positioned and spaced from one another on the buoy to separate each set of electrode modules from one another in use (Sisler, Fig. 3).
Claim 18: wherein the buoy is inflatable, at least in part (buoys 18, 118 are illustrated as partially filled with air (see Sisler, Figs. 1 and 2). Thus, the buoys of Sisler are being interpreted as being inflatable, at least in part).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Publication US20100051450A1 (‘Murahara’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claims 20-21, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 19, except that the gas trap and/or buoy supports the external electrical source or load.
Murahara also relates to an electrochemical water treatment system (metal sodium 54 produced via electrolysis from seawater, [0122], Fig. 16), where the external electrical source or load (electric power obtained by wind power generation 107, [0122], Fig. 16) is supported by a buoy (floated on ocean, [0122], Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a buoy to support the external electrical source or load of the combination of Cheng and Silver, as demonstrated by Murahara, so that renewable sources of energy are not limited by natural and geographical conditions (Murahara, [0009]) as external power sources such as solar panels are insufficiently reached underwater (Murahara, [0014]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 21: the external electrical source comprises solar panels (sunlight power generation can be used to produce metal sodium by molten-salt electrolysis, Murahara, [0069]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Publication US20060127734A1 (‘McLean’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 23, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 23, except that the electrode assembly is switchable between an unexpanded and an expanded configuration, the electrode modules of the electrode assembly occupying a smaller volume in the unexpanded configuration than in the expanded configuration, and the electrode assembly comprises a support that is inflatable, at least in part, so that when inflated, the electrode assembly is in the expanded configuration, and when deflated, the electrode assembly is in the unexpanded configuration.
McLean also relates to an electrochemical system (abstract), where the electrode assembly (fuel cells 16, [0052], Fig. 1A. Plenum 13 is defined between flexible sheets 14, 15 and fuel cells 16 may be formed on sheet 14 or both 14 and 15, [0052], Fig. 1A) is switchable between an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration (when a pressurized reactant is introduced into plenum 13, sheets 14, 15 deform outwardly, letting plenum 13 expand, [0061]), the electrode modules of the electrode assembly occupying a smaller volume in the unexpanded configuration than in the expanded configuration (when a pressurized reactant is introduced into plenum 13, sheets 14, 15 deform outwardly, letting plenum 13 expand, [0061]), and the electrode assembly comprises a support that is inflatable (Plenum 13 is defined between flexible sheets 14, 15, [0052], Fig. 1A), at least in part, so that when inflated, the electrode assembly is in the expanded configuration (when a pressurized reactant is introduced into plenum 13, sheets 14, 15 deform outwardly, letting plenum 13 expand, [0061]), and when deflated, the electrode assembly is in the unexpanded configuration (it is being interpreted that, without introduction of pressurized reactant, plenum 13 would not deform outwardly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the electrode assembly of the combination of Cheng to be switchable between an unexpanded configuration and an expanded configuration, as demonstrated by McLean, so that the fuel cell can conform to the interior shape (McLean, [0080]) of devices of a wide variety of descriptions (McLean, [0105]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Publication US20200036029A1 (‘Babanova’).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards an apparatus.
Regarding Claim 24, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 1, except that the electrode assembly comprises a shell for isolating the electrode assembly from others, the shell comprising resilient rods that are wound around the electrode modules of the electrode assembly.
Babanova also relates to a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment system (abstract and [0003]), wherein the electrode assembly (anode assembly 120, [0053], Figs. 3A and 3B) comprises a shell for isolating the electrode assembly from others, the shell comprising resilient rods that are wound around the electrode modules (sheets 127 around a conductive core, [0054], Fig. 4) of the electrode assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wind resilient rods around the electrode modules of Cheng, as demonstrated by Babanova, to improve surface area, such as for microbial adhesion and ion mass transport (Babanova, [0068]).
Claims 30, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) in view of U.S. Publication US20090087690A1 (‘la O’’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claims 30 and 32) and a method (Claim 34).
Regarding Claims 30, 32 and 34, Cheng teaches the system of Claim 1, the electrode assembly of Claim 28 and the process of Claim 29, except that the interface of each electrode module comprises first and second quick-release coupling members, the first and second quick release coupling members being complementary and providing a push-fit connection between adjacent electrode modules.
La O’ also relates to a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment ([0016]) system (abstract), an electrode assembly ([0011] and [0016]) and a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment process ([0021]), including first and second quick-release coupling members ([0020], suitable quick-release locking mechanisms), the first and second quick release coupling members being complementary and providing a push-fit connection between adjacent electrode modules ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system, electrode assembly and process of Cheng and the quick-release coupling members of la O’ to allow easy access to the chamber for replenishing organic fuel and bacteria (la O’, [0020]).
Claims 31, 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication US20090317882A1 (‘Cheng’) and U.S. Publication US20090087690A1 (‘la O’’) as applied to claim 30, 32 and 34 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication US20150076002A1 (‘Andrews’).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards an apparatus (Claims 31 and 33) and a method (Claim 35).
Regarding Claims 31, 33 and 35, the combination of Cheng and la O’ teaches the system of Claim 30, the electrode assembly of Claim 32 and the process of Claim 34, except that the interface further comprising a latch portion to prevent unintentional disconnection between the adjacent electrode modules.
Andrews also relates to an electrochemical wastewater treatment system (abstract), an electrode assembly (Figs. 5-7, [0095], reactor assembly 250) and a bio-electrochemical wastewater treatment process (abstract), including a latch portion to prevent unintentional disconnection between the adjacent electrode modules ([0144-0147], clamp 550 includes a secondary latch 555 to prevent inadvertent or unintended release of clamp 550).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the system, electrode assembly and process of the combination of Cheng and la O’ and the latch portion of Andrews to prevent inadvertent or unintended release (Andrews, [0144]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779