Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted on 08/20/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 13, 17, and 29:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the DMRS is part of the PDCCH and used for channel estimation before demodulating PDCCH. While the TRS is used for synchronization” … “the DMRS having the tracking performance used after synchronization process is NOT used for synchronization process. In fact, Kim is totally silent on how to perform synchronization before the DMRS-based channel estimation, much less the solution of how to receive the TRS in present application”. See Remarks 7) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The combination of Kim and Wu, particularly Kim discloses a tracking reference signal (i.e. DMRS) transmitted in a frequency domain resource of a CORESET with CORESET index that is the lowest index or the highest index larger than 0 among CORESET indexes configured for an active DL BWP, such as a CORESET with index 0 (Kim; [0752-0754]).
Wu discloses that the DMRS (tracking reference signal) may be transmitted in an idle state or in an inactive state (Wu; [0090-0091]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 11-14, 17-19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220132342) in view of Wu et al. (US 20210266776).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a signal communication method, comprising:
determining a reference signal transmission resource configured for a terminal (DM-RS may be configured to occupy a frequency band made up of a specific number of or more RBs (e.g., 50 RBs) in consideration of the tracking performance and/or transmission power of the DM-RS; [0752]);
sending a Tracking Reference Signal, TRS to the terminal through the reference signal transmission resource, to allow the terminal to receive the TRS in the reference signal transmission resource (DM-RS may be transmitted in a specific REG or total REGs of the CORESET; [0753]),
which is comprised in a frequency domain resource of a CORESET#0, or a frequency offset between which and the CORESET#0 is less than a preset value (The CORESET satisfying the specific condition may be determined by parameters such as a specific CORESET index (e.g., the lowest index or the highest index larger than 0 among CORESET indexes configured for an active DL BWP) and/or pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID (e.g., when it is set only by a function of cell-specific information such as a cell ID). For example, a CORESET associated with CORESET index 0 and/or a CORSET associated with a DM-RS with pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID configured only by a function of cell-specific information may be the CORESET satisfying the specific condition; [0754]).
Kim does not expressly disclose sending DMRS (i.e. Tracking Reference Signal) to the terminal in an idle state or in an inactive state to allow the terminal in the idle state or in the inactive state to receive the DMRS (i.e. Tracking Reference Signal).
In an analogous art, Wu discloses sending DMRS to the terminal in an idle state or in an inactive state to allow the terminal in the idle state or in the inactive state to receive the DMRS (DMRS for performing RRM measurement includes: a DMRS of a paging PDCCH and/or a DMRS of a PDCCH for scheduling system information; or the DMRS for performing RRM measurement includes: a DMRS of a PDCCH that higher layer signaling instructs to monitor. It should be noted that the DMRS for performing RRM measurement can include: the DMRS of the PDCCH that needs to be monitored in the idle state; [0090-0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wu into the system of Kim in order to reduce the number of times the user equipment wakes up due to radio measurements, thus saving terminal power consumption (Wu; [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Wu particularly Kim discloses wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through pre-appointment and/or high-layer signaling and/or dynamic signaling (the DM-RS may be configured to occupy a frequency band made up of a specific number of or more RBs (e.g., 50 RBs) in consideration of the tracking performance and/or transmission power of the DM-RS. For example, a transmission periodicity (e.g., 7 symbols (7-symbol periodicity)) may be additionally configured; [0752]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Wu particularly Kim discloses wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal when the terminal is in a connected state; or configuration information of the reference signal transmission resource is scheduled through a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, carried by a control resource set CORESET#0 or a search space #0 (a PDCCH DM-RS in every search space set (or search space, this may also be applied to this subclause and various embodiments of the present disclosure) associated with the CORESET may be configured as an initial signal. In another example, for a search space set satisfying a specific condition (e.g., the index of a specific search space set such as the lowest of CORESET indexes configured for an active DL BWP and/or a monitoring occasion interval of k or fewer slots/symbols and/or a specific aggregation level and/or a CSS and/or a specific DCI format such as DCI format 2_0 and/or configuration of a CORESET at a specific symbol position in a slot) among search space sets associated with the CORESET, a PDCCH DM-RS in a CORESET associated with the search space set may be configured as an initial signal. In another example, when the PDCCH DM-RS in the CORESET associated with the search space set satisfying the specific condition is configured, the UE may determine the PDCCH DM-RS as an initial signal).
Wu discloses the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state. (DMRS for performing RRM measurement includes: a DMRS of a paging PDCCH and/or a DMRS of a PDCCH for scheduling system information; or the DMRS for performing RRM measurement includes: a DMRS of a PDCCH that higher layer signaling instructs to monitor. It should be noted that the DMRS for performing RRM measurement can include: the DMRS of the PDCCH that needs to be monitored in the idle state; [0090-0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wu into the system of Kim in order to reduce the number of times the user equipment wakes up due to radio measurements, thus saving terminal power consumption (Wu; [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim and Wu particularly Kim discloses wherein there is a preset relationship between the reference signal transmission resource and a signal transmission resource of the terminal in the idle state or inactive state (a signal proposed in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be transmitted/received by beamforming. In RRC_IDLE mode, beam alignment may be performed based on a synchronization signal block (SSB or SS/PBCH block), whereas in RRC_CONNECTED mode, beam alignment may be performed based on a CSI-RS (in DL) and an SRS (in UL); [1059]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Wu particularly Kim discloses wherein when the reference signal transmission resource is not comprised in the frequency domain resource of the CORESET#0 or an initial Bandwidth Part, BWP, the reference signal transmission resource satisfies one or a combination of: there is an overlap of at least one Resource Element, RE, between the reference signal transmission resource and the CORESET#0 or initial BWP; the reference signal transmission resource is located in a dedicated BWP configured by a base station for the terminal in a connected state; the reference signal transmission resource is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, of the terminal in the idle state or inactive state (When an RRC connection is established between the BS and the UE in the RACH procedure, beam alignment may subsequently be performed based on an SSB/CSI-RS (in DL) and an SRS (in UL). For example, the UE may receive an SSB/CSI-RS (S2714). The SSB/CSI-RS may be used for the UE to generate a beam/CSI report; [1061]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Wu particularly Kim discloses when the terminal is in a connected state, notifying the terminal of whether the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal in the idle state or inactive state through explicit signaling or implicit signaling (a PSS/SSS and/or a PDCCH may be defined/configured as an initial signal for an RRC-connected UE, and a CSI-RS for tracking may be defined/configured as an initial signal for other UEs (e.g., an RRC-inactive and/or RRC-idle UE). PDCCH DM-RS may be defined/configured as an initial signal for a UE operating for DL only in an unlicensed-band NR cell, and a PDCCH (indicating a DL/UL direction and/or a COT structure) may be defined/configured as an initial signal for a UE operating for both DL and UL in the unlicensed-band NR cell; [0842-0843]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220132342) in view of Wu et al. (US 20210266776) and in view of Lin et al. (US 20190297577).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim and Wu does not expressly disclose wherein a preset rule is determined through negotiation with the terminal in advance; and the method comprises: sending the TRS to the terminal on the reference signal transmission resource when the preset rule is satisfied.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses wherein a preset rule is determined through negotiation with the terminal in advance; and the method comprises: sending the TRS to the terminal on the reference signal transmission resource when the preset rule is satisfied (UE is provided with a configuration for PoSS reception, including the parameters described in the aforementioned embodiment, such as a monitoring periodicity, bandwidth, and an associated PDCCH at step 1701. The UE determines whether or not the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion to detect the PoSS at step 1702. When the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion and detects the PoSS, the UE decodes the PoSS to get information for triggering dynamic adaptation or indication of any functionalities at step 1703. The UE then decodes an associated PDCCH to get additional power saving information for power saving purpose if indicated by the PoSS; [0253]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Kim and Wu in order to reduce overhead by transmitting DMRS only in the BW of a respective PDSCH or EPDCCH and a UE can use the DMRS to demodulate data or control information in a PDSCH or an EPDCCH, respectively (Lin; [0116]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim, Wu, and Lin, particularly Lin discloses wherein the preset rule comprises: when there is a signal to be sent by a base station in a periodic sending opportunity, sending a reference signal corresponding the signal to be sent (UE is provided with a configuration for PoSS reception, including the parameters described in the aforementioned embodiment, such as a monitoring periodicity, bandwidth, and an associated PDCCH at step 1701. The UE determines whether or not the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion to detect the PoSS at step 1702. When the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion and detects the PoSS, the UE decodes the PoSS to get information for triggering dynamic adaptation or indication of any functionalities at step 1703. The UE then decodes an associated PDCCH to get additional power saving information for power saving purpose if indicated by the PoSS; [0253]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Kim and Wu in order to reduce overhead by transmitting DMRS only in the BW of a respective PDSCH or EPDCCH and a UE can use the DMRS to demodulate data or control information in a PDSCH or an EPDCCH, respectively (Lin; [0116]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220132342) in view of Wu et al. (US 20210266776) and in view of He et al. (US 20190254110).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Wu, particularly Kim discloses wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through dedicated RRC signaling configured for the terminal (pdcch-DMRS-ScramblingID is an IE included in the RRC parameter ControlResourceSet used to configure a time and/or frequency CORESET for DCI detection. pdcch-DMRS-ScramblinglD may be an RRC parameter for PDCCH DMRS scrambling initialization; [0729]).
The combination of Kim and Wu does not expressly disclose wherein the dedicated RRC signaling takes effect when the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state.
In an analogous art, He discloses wherein the dedicated RRC signaling takes effect when the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state (CSI-RS based beam management is configured by RRC signaling as a periodic beam management. When a UE is in an inactive state, the UE does not perform CSI-RS based beam measurement and beam reporting. When the UE is waken up by a WUS, the UE starts to perform CSI-RS beam measurement and beam reporting. The periodicity of the periodic beam management needs to be aligned with the WUS timing. This implies that beam management is to be completed before the start of a next DRX cycle; [0326]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by He into the system of Kim and Wu in order to enable maximum power saving at the UE by turning on the RF and baseband processing units only for detecting a WUS on the PCell or on a SCell associated with a subset of configured SCells (He; [0258]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kim and Wu does not expressly disclose wherein in response to the reference signal being detected, a signal detection in the idle state or inactive state is performed; otherwise, the signal detection in the idle state or inactive state associated with the reference signal transmission resource is abandoned.
In an analogous art, He discloses wherein in response to the reference signal being detected, a signal detection in the idle state or inactive state is performed; otherwise, the signal detection in the idle state or inactive state associated with the reference signal transmission resource is abandoned (When a UE detects a wake-up signal before the start of a next DRX cycle, the UE starts measurements on the CSI-RS resources configured by RRC. CSI-RS based beam management is configured by RRC signaling as a periodic beam management. When a UE is in an inactive state, the UE does not perform CSI-RS based beam measurement and beam reporting; [0325-0326]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by He into the system of Kim and Wu in order to enable maximum power saving at the UE by turning on the RF and baseband processing units only for detecting a WUS on the PCell or on a SCell associated with a subset of configured SCells (He; [0258]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20180206129), “METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING CONTROL SIGNAL AND CHANNEL IN MOBILE COMMUNICATION SYSTEM USING UNLICENSED BAND.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413