Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted on 07/12/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Independent claims 1, 13, 17, and 29:
Applicant submitted that the cited art fails to disclose or suggest “sending a Tracking Reference Signal… to the terminal in an idle state or in an inactive state,” and “wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through pre-appointment and/or dynamic signaling.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Iyer ([0125-0126], Fig. 2b) discloses that the UE may monitor aperiodic TRS through a DCI. Aperiodic TRS may trigger the UE for waking up and reacquiring fine timing and frequency using the aperiodic TRS. The UE may switch to micro-sleep while periodically monitoring PDCCH for the wake-up trigger providing an aperiodic TRS. When the UE receives the trigger, it may use the aperiodic TRS to fine tune its timing and frequency. Fig. 2B clearly shows that the Wake-up trigger (e.g., TRS) is received while the UE is in the micro-sleep state, and uses the TRS for waking up and acquiring synchronization information. (i.e. “sending a Tracking Reference Signal… to the terminal in an idle state or in an inactive state,”).
Iyer ([0126]) discloses that the gNB may configure the sequences used for indicating micro-sleep and sleep duration, the sequences for wake-up, or the corresponding transmission resources through RRC to the UE. (i.e., “wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through pre-appointment and/or dynamic signaling”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11-13, 17, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (US 20220039009) in view of Abdoli et al. (US 20210127450).
Regarding claim 1, Iyer discloses a signal communication method, comprising:
determining a reference signal transmission resource configured for a terminal (Micro-sleep may imply a low-power state with minimal monitoring on a narrow BWP. UE may monitor PDCCH or a trigger on a narrow BWP; [0008].
UE may monitor aperiodic TRS triggered through a DCI. gNB may configure the sequences used for indicating micro-sleep and sleep duration, the sequences for wake-up, or the corresponding transmission resources through RRC to the UE; [0125-0126]);
sending a Tracking Reference Signal, TRS for fine synchronization to the terminal in an idle state or in an inactive state through the reference signal transmission resource, to allow the terminal in the idle state or in the inactive state to receive the TRS in the reference signal transmission resource, which is comprised in a frequency domain resource (UE may monitor aperiodic TRS triggered through a DCI. The trigger for waking up the UE may be in the form of an aperiodic Tracking Reference Signal (TRS). On waking up, the UE can reacquire fine timing and frequency using the aperiodic TRS; [0125].
Fig. 2B, UE may switch to BWPD and micro-sleep with minimal monitoring; it periodically monitors PDCCH for the wake-up trigger providing an aperiodic TRS. When the UE receives the trigger, it may switch back to BWP.sub.W and use the aperiodic TRS to fine tune its timing and frequency; [0126]);
wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through pre-appointment and/or dynamic signaling (gNB may configure the sequences used for indicating micro-sleep and sleep duration, the sequences for wake-up, or the corresponding transmission resources through RRC to the UE; [0126]).
Iyer discloses that periodic TRS is transmitted using PDCCH. However, Iyer does not expressly disclose receive the PDCCH, (thus TRS), in the reference signal transmission resource, which is comprised in a frequency domain resource of a CORESET#0, or a frequency offset between which and the CORESET#0 is less than a preset value.
In an analogous art, Abdoli discloses receive the PDCCH, (thus TRS), in the reference signal transmission resource, which is comprised in a frequency domain resource of a CORESET#0, or a frequency offset between which and the CORESET#0 is less than a preset value (A first DL BWP is CORESET 0 610, which is shown to include a PDCCH 612. A second DL BWP is an INACTIVE DL BWP 620, which is shown to include a PDSCH 622. A further occurrence of CORESET 0 630 is also shown in the figure; [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Abdoli into the system of Kim in order to avoid a numerology change by a user equipment in the RRC INACTIVE state, and thus, limit the complexity of operation of the user equipment in RRC INACTIVE state (Abdoli; [0191]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli, particularly Iyer discloses wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal when the terminal is in the connected state; or configuration information of the reference signal transmission resource is scheduled through a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH (UE may switch to BWPD and micro-sleep with minimal monitoring; it periodically monitors PDCCH for the wake-up trigger providing an aperiodic TRS. When the UE receives the trigger, it may switch back to BWP.sub.W and use the aperiodic TRS to fine tune its timing and frequency; [0126]).
Abdoli discloses PDCCH carried by a control resource set CORESET#0 or a search space #0 when the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state (A first DL BWP is CORESET 0 610, which is shown to include a PDCCH 612. A second DL BWP is an INACTIVE DL BWP 620, which is shown to include a PDSCH 622. A further occurrence of CORESET 0 630 is also shown in the figure; [0217]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Abdoli into the system of Kim in order to avoid a numerology change by a user equipment in the RRC INACTIVE state, and thus, limit the complexity of operation of the user equipment in RRC INACTIVE state (Abdoli; [0191]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli, particularly Iyer discloses wherein there is a preset relationship between the reference signal transmission resource and a signal transmission resource of the terminal in the idle state or inactive state (If the UE misses to decode a PDCCH, it may not go to micro-sleep. Other than the micro-sleep duration, the parameters associated with the indication could be following offsets as shown in FIG. 6A or FIG. 6B. First, offset from the start of the micro-sleep duration from the PDCCH monitoring occasion as shown in FIG. 6A. The offset may be in terms of slots or mini-slots. Second, offset from the start of the granted resources as shown in FIG. 6B. The offset may be in terms of slots or mini-slots; [0136]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli, particularly Iyer discloses wherein when the reference signal transmission resource is not comprised in the frequency domain resource of the CORESET#0 or an initial Bandwidth Part, BWP, the reference signal transmission resource satisfies one or a combination of: there is an overlap of at least one Resource Element, RE, between the reference signal transmission resource and the CORESET#0 or initial BWP; the reference signal transmission resource is located in a dedicated BWP configured by a base station for the terminal in a connected state; the reference signal transmission resource is associated with a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, of the terminal in the idle state or inactive state (the micro-sleep occurs on the narrow BWP which may be the default BWP and referred to as BWPD. The UE may monitor the PDCCH at the rate of once every 2 slots. When it receives a grant from the DCI, it switches to a wide BWP referred to as BWP.sub.W. It receives PDSCH or transmits PUSCH on BWP.sub.W. On completion, the UE returns to micro-sleep on BWPD. So, the UE may not wait for a deactivation DCI or for the bwpInactivitytimer to expire on the BWP.sub.W when it switches back to BWPD; [0124]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli, particularly Iyer discloses when the terminal is in a connected state, notifying the terminal of whether the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal in the idle state or inactive state through explicit signaling or implicit signaling (UE may have semi-static configuration of micro-sleep duration during which it need not monitor its PDCCH monitoring occasions. UE has a valid-monitoring-window when it monitors for PDCCH. UE has micro-sleep window when it micro-sleeps. UE has alternating valid-monitoring-window and micro-sleep window. No explicit indication is required for sleep/wake-up; [0010].
When the UE receives the trigger, it may switch back to BWP.sub.W and use the aperiodic TRS to fine tune its timing and frequency. In this scenario, the UE may rely on an explicit wake-up signal to wake-up; [0126]).
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (US 20220039009) in view of Abdoli et al. (US 20210127450) and in view of Lin et al. (US 20190297577).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli does not expressly disclose wherein a preset rule is determined through negotiation with the terminal in advance; and the method comprises: sending the TRS to the terminal on the reference signal transmission resource when the preset rule is satisfied.
In an analogous art, Lin discloses wherein a preset rule is determined through negotiation with the terminal in advance; and the method comprises: sending the TRS to the terminal on the reference signal transmission resource when the preset rule is satisfied (UE is provided with a configuration for PoSS reception, including the parameters described in the aforementioned embodiment, such as a monitoring periodicity, bandwidth, and an associated PDCCH at step 1701. The UE determines whether or not the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion to detect the PoSS at step 1702. When the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion and detects the PoSS, the UE decodes the PoSS to get information for triggering dynamic adaptation or indication of any functionalities at step 1703. The UE then decodes an associated PDCCH to get additional power saving information for power saving purpose if indicated by the PoSS; [0253]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Iyer and Abdoli in order to reduce overhead by transmitting DMRS only in the BW of a respective PDSCH or EPDCCH and a UE can use the DMRS to demodulate data or control information in a PDSCH or an EPDCCH, respectively (Lin; [0116]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Iyer, Abdoli, and Lin, particularly Lin discloses wherein the preset rule comprises: when there is a signal to be sent by a base station in a periodic sending opportunity, sending a reference signal corresponding the signal to be sent (UE is provided with a configuration for PoSS reception, including the parameters described in the aforementioned embodiment, such as a monitoring periodicity, bandwidth, and an associated PDCCH at step 1701. The UE determines whether or not the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion to detect the PoSS at step 1702. When the UE is in PoSS monitoring occasion and detects the PoSS, the UE decodes the PoSS to get information for triggering dynamic adaptation or indication of any functionalities at step 1703. The UE then decodes an associated PDCCH to get additional power saving information for power saving purpose if indicated by the PoSS; [0253]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lin into the system of Iyer and Abdoli in order to reduce overhead by transmitting DMRS only in the BW of a respective PDSCH or EPDCCH and a UE can use the DMRS to demodulate data or control information in a PDSCH or an EPDCCH, respectively (Lin; [0116]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (US 20220039009) in view of Abdoli et al. (US 20210127450) and in view of He et al. (US 20190254110).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli, particularly Iyer discloses wherein the reference signal transmission resource is configured for the terminal through dedicated RRC signaling configured for the terminal (gNB may configure the sequences used for indicating micro-sleep and sleep duration, the sequences for wake-up, or the corresponding transmission resources through RRC to the UE; [0126]).
The combination of Iyer and Abdoli does not expressly disclose wherein the dedicated RRC signaling takes effect when the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state.
In an analogous art, He discloses wherein the dedicated RRC signaling takes effect when the terminal is in the idle state or inactive state (CSI-RS based beam management is configured by RRC signaling as a periodic beam management. When a UE is in an inactive state, the UE does not perform CSI-RS based beam measurement and beam reporting. When the UE is waken up by a WUS, the UE starts to perform CSI-RS beam measurement and beam reporting. The periodicity of the periodic beam management needs to be aligned with the WUS timing. This implies that beam management is to be completed before the start of a next DRX cycle; [0326]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by He into the system of Iyer and Abdoli in order to enable maximum power saving at the UE by turning on the RF and baseband processing units only for detecting a WUS on the PCell or on a SCell associated with a subset of configured SCells (He; [0258]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Iyer and Abdoli does not expressly disclose wherein in response to the reference signal being detected, a signal detection in the idle state or inactive state is performed; otherwise, the signal detection in the idle state or inactive state associated with the reference signal transmission resource is abandoned.
In an analogous art, He discloses wherein in response to the reference signal being detected, a signal detection in the idle state or inactive state is performed; otherwise, the signal detection in the idle state or inactive state associated with the reference signal transmission resource is abandoned (When a UE detects a wake-up signal before the start of a next DRX cycle, the UE starts measurements on the CSI-RS resources configured by RRC. CSI-RS based beam management is configured by RRC signaling as a periodic beam management. When a UE is in an inactive state, the UE does not perform CSI-RS based beam measurement and beam reporting; [0325-0326]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by He into the system of Iyer and Abdoli in order to enable maximum power saving at the UE by turning on the RF and baseband processing units only for detecting a WUS on the PCell or on a SCell associated with a subset of configured SCells (He; [0258]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng (US 20180110085), “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR HANDLING DRX (DISCONTINUOUS RECEPTION) OPERATION IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413