DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status:
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 9 are pending.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 9 are amended.
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 9 are examined as follow:
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, the preamble of “The laser plotter according to claim 3…”, should change to “The laser plotter according to claim 1…”, because claim 3 had been cancelled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “control unit” in claims 1 and 7 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit" coupled with functional language “…for controlling…” or “…provided by…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “Control unit" has been described in Page 10 cited: “…in particular a computer 15a or a control unit, a graphic and/or a text is generated via a commercially available software, such as for example CoreIDRAW, Paint, etc.…”.
Claim limitation “focusing unit” in claims 1 and 7 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit" coupled with functional language “…focusing…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “focusing unit" has been described in Page 3 cited: “…a splash protection for the optical elements of the focusing unit or the laser head, respectively, in particular the lens, will be created with a correspondingly strong extraction flow, so that the focusing unit or the laser head.…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, 4 and 7, the newly amended term of “…carriage…” is not used or described in the specification in anyway or form. Such that this amendment constitute new matters.
Claims 6 and 9 are dependent claims of 1 or 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhman et al (US2009/0223944A1 previously cited from IDS and the written opinion) herein set forth as Sukhman, in view of KUROSU et al (US2014/0105238A1 previously cited) herein set forth as KUROSU, further in view of CN103170741A (newly cited) herein set forth as CN70741A. and further in view of Lindblad et al (US8940218B1 newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Sukhman discloses a laser plotter (#100, fig.1A) for processing a job for cutting, engraving, marking and/or lettering a flat workpiece (#102, fig.1A) having at least one housing (#150, fig.1A) with a processing chamber (refer to the interior space of the housing #150 in fig.1A) formed for positioning a workpiece (#102, fig.1A), at least one irradiation source (#121, fig. 1A) in the form of a laser (#122, #124a, #124b and 124c in fig.1A) and a control unit (#104, fig.1A) for controlling a carriage (#128, fig.1A), which is operated via a rail (#114a and b, fig.1A), with a focusing unit (#126d, fig.1A, refer to Paragraph 0022 cited: “…a focusing element 126d positioned to focus the laser beam 122 toward the material processing area 102…”) arranged movably (refer to X and Y – AXIS shown in fig.1A) thereon, and wherein arranged between the carriage (#112, fig.1A) and a processing surface (refer to the surface of #102 in fig. 1A) of the processing chamber (refer to the interior space of the housing #150 in fig.1A) there is an extraction bar (#132, fig. 1A) for extracting the exhaust gases or vapors (refer to “air flow” shown in fig.1A), respectively, produced during the processing of the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) by a laser beam (#122, fig. 1A), wherein one or more extraction openings (#138, fig.1A) of the extraction bar (#132, fig. 1A) are arranged or aligned, respectively, parallel to the processing surface (refer to the surface of #102 in fig. 1A) for generating a horizontal extraction flow (refer to the orientation of “air flow” shown in fig.1A), wherein the extraction bar (#132, fig.1A) is attached to the carriage (#112 and #114, fig.1A) and is formed L- shaped (refer to “L-shape” annotated in fig.1A).
Sukhman does not explicitly disclose wherein the chamber has at least one irradiation source and a control unit; the extraction openings are electronically controlled and are divided into a plurality of segments wherein the segments are not only configured to be activated to open in dependence on a position of the focusing unit, but the segments not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are configured to be deactivated to close; carriage via belt drive.
In the field of laser processing apparatus, KUROSU discloses wherein this chamber (#280, fig.4) has at least one irradiation source (#250, fig.4) and a control unit (#240, #160 and #150, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s invention with wherein this chamber has at least one irradiation source and a control unit, as taught by KUROSU, in order to provide a more compact, smaller laser plotter, such that would be less special requirement for installation.
KUROSU does not disclose the extraction openings are electronically controlled and are divided into a plurality of segments wherein the segments are not only configured to be activated to open in dependence on a position of the focusing unit, but the segments not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are configured to be deactivated to close; carriage via belt driven.
In the similar field of laser processing apparatus, CN70741A discloses the extraction openings are electronically controlled and are divided into a plurality of segments wherein the segments are not only configured to be activated to open in dependence on a position of the focusing unit, but the segments not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are configured to be deactivated to close (refer to Abstract cited: “…a large-breadth laser cutter partition and dust removing device, the device adopts multi-cavity type dust removing system, controlling the corresponding air door opening and closing according to the actual position of the laser cutting head of numerical control system to the region for producing the dust of dust, and dust absorbing air door capable of opening and closing independently…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s laser plotter with the extraction openings are electronically controlled and are divided into a plurality of segments wherein the segments are not only configured to be activated to open in dependence on a position of the focusing unit, but the segments not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are configured to be deactivated to close, as taught by CN70741A, in order to provide the capability to focus and maintain dust removing efficiency into a small area and increase dust removal rate (refer to abstract).
CN70741A does not disclose carriage via belt driven.
In the similar field of laser processing apparatus, Lindblad discloses carriage via belt driven (refer to Col 3 line 30-32 cited: “…a belt-drive (not shown) moves the laser head along the carriage member, and a screw-drive moves the carriage member along the rails…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s laser plotter with belt driven carriage, as taught by Lindblad, in order to provide a fast and high rate of speed movement for the laser head, increasing the laser processing speed (refer to Col 3 line 33-35 cited: “…The laser head can be moved along the x-axis at a high rate of speed, and the x-axis may be referred to as the high-speed axis…”).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Sukhman, KUROSU, CN70741A and Lindblad discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, Sukhman further discloses wherein the extraction openings (#138, fig.1A) are formed one longitudinal channels (refer to the rectangle shape of #138 in fig.1c), which are positioned to generate the extraction flow (refer to the “air flow” shown in fig.1A) aligned parallel to the processing table (#102, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Sukhman, KUROSU, CN70741A and Lindblad discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, Sukhman further discloses wherein an extraction cap (#168 a-c, fig.1C) is arranged on the focusing unit (#128, fig.1A) or on the laser head, respectively, for controlling the extraction flow.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukhman et al (US2009/0223944A1 previously cited from IDS and the written opinion) herein set forth as Sukhman, in view of Robb et al (US5906760 previously cited) herein set forth as Robb, further in view of CN103170741A (newly cited) herein set forth as CN70741A, and further in view of Lindblad et al (US8940218B1 newly cited).
Regarding claim 7, Sukhman discloses A method for operating a flatbed laser plotter (#100, fig.1A) for processing flat workpieces (#102, fig.1A) for a job to be processed for cutting, engraving, marking and/or lettering a workpiece or a blank (#102, fig.1A), respectively, in which at least one irradiation source (#121, fig.1A) in the form of a laser (#122, #124a, #124b and 124c in fig.1A) is used, which acts on the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) to be processed, wherein the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) is deposited in a defined manner (referring the orientation of the #102 in fig.1A) in a processing chamber (refer to the interior space of the housing #150 in fig.1A) and a laser beam (#122, #124a, #124b and 124c in fig.1A) emitted by the irradiation source (#121, fig.1A) is sent via deflecting elements (#126 a-c, fig.1A) to a focusing unit (#128, fig.1A), respectively, by which the laser beam (#122, #124a, #124b and 124c in fig.1A) is deflected in the direction of the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) and focused (referring #124d in fig.1A) for processing, wherein the position control of the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) is provided by a control unit (#104, fig.1A) such that the workpiece (#102, fig.1A) is processed, line by line, by moving of a sedge (#112 and #114, fig.1A) via a rail (#114a and b, fig.1A) to in the X-Y direction (refer to X and Y – AXIS shown in fig.1A), and in that on an external component, which is transferred to the control unit (#104, fig. 1A) of the laser plotter (#100, fig.1A) and is processed by the control unit (#104, fig. 1A) in the form of one or more jobs, wherein a horizontal extraction flow is generated by an extraction bar (#132, fig. 1A) between the carriage (#112 and #114, fig.1A) and a processing table (refer the platform where #102 is on in fig.1A), wherein the extraction bar (#132, fig.1A) is attached to the carriage (#112 and #114, fig.1A) and is formed L- shaped (refer to “L-shape” annotated in fig.1A).
Sukhman does not explicitly disclose the laser source is in the housing of the laser plotter and an external component transfer control information; the extraction bar ahs a plurality of electronically controllable extraction openings wherein the extraction openings are divided into several segments and wherein the segments are not only activated to open in dependence on the position of the focusing unit, but the segments which are not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are deactivated to close; via belt driven.
In the field of laser machining apparatus, Robb discloses the laser source (#19, fig.1) is in the housing (#21, fig.1) of the laser plotter (#10, fig.1) and external component (refer to “C” shown in fig.1) transfer control information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s invention with the laser source is in the housing of the laser plotter and an external component transfer control information, as taught by Robb, in order to provide a more lean and compacted invention, and also able to utilize network for control information to transfer.
Robb does not explicitly disclose the extraction bar has a plurality of electronically controllable extraction openings wherein the extraction openings are divided into several segments and wherein the segments are not only activated to open in dependence on the position of the focusing unit, but the segments which are not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are deactivated to close; via belt driven.
In the similar field of laser processing apparatus, CN70741A discloses the extraction bar has a plurality of electronically controllable extraction openings wherein the extraction openings are divided into several segments and wherein the segments are not only activated to open in dependence on the position of the focusing unit, but the segments which are not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are deactivated to close (refer to Abstract cited: “…a large-breadth laser cutter partition and dust removing device, the device adopts multi-cavity type dust removing system, controlling the corresponding air door opening and closing according to the actual position of the laser cutting head of numerical control system to the region for producing the dust of dust, and dust absorbing air door capable of opening and closing independently…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s laser plotter with the extraction bar has a plurality of electronically controllable extraction openings wherein the extraction openings are divided into several segments and wherein the segments are not only activated to open in dependence on the position of the focusing unit, but the segments which are not located in a vicinity of the position of the focusing unit are deactivated to close, as taught by CN70741A, in order to provide the capability to focus and maintain dust removing efficiency into a small area and increase dust removal rate (refer to abstract).
CN70741A does not disclose via belt driven.
In the similar field of laser processing apparatus, Lindblad discloses via belt driven (refer to Col 3 line 30-32 cited: “…a belt-drive (not shown) moves the laser head along the carriage member, and a screw-drive moves the carriage member along the rails…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sukhman’s laser plotter with belt driven laser head, as taught by Lindblad, in order to provide a fast and high rate of speed movement for the laser head, increasing the laser processing speed (refer to Col 3 line 33-35 cited: “…The laser head can be moved along the x-axis at a high rate of speed, and the x-axis may be referred to as the high-speed axis…”).
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Sukhman, Robb , CN70741A and Lindblad discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 7, Sukhman further discloses wherein an extraction cap (#168 a-c, fig.1C) is arranged on the focusing unit (#128, fig.1A) or on the laser head, respectively, for controlling the extraction flow (refer to “air flow” shown in fig.1A).
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Claim Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on September 18th 2025 that overcame the Claim Objection in the previous office action. However, the newly amended claim raised new Claim Objection.
With respect to the Rejection 112b: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on September 18th 2025 that overcame the Rejection 112b in the previous office action. However, the newly amended claim has raised another issue of 112b Rejection.
the applicant’s amendment filed on September 18th 2025 has raised new issue of 112a Rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 18th 2025 have been fully considered but moot in view of the new grounds of rejection with the newly cited secondary Prior art CN103170741A(newly cited) and Lindblad et al (US8940218B1 newly cited).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 January 6th 2026
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761