DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/16/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 7/9/2025 and 9/25/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogan et al. (US 2018/0051243) in view of Caiafa et al. (US 10,421,956).
With respect to claim 17, the reference of Hogan et al. discloses:
A device (Figs. 7A-7C), comprising a unit for generating and emitting electric pulses (capacitor)(7020), and one treatment space (electroporation position)(7130) that can be penetrated by the emitted electric pulses and an electric field resulting therefrom, wherein the device further comprises a unit (carousel)(7080) which can be moved into and out of said treatment space (7130) such that a cell material provided within a compartment of said unit, or provided in a container (cuvette)(7040) on or in said unit, can be moved into and out of said treatment space, and wherein said treatment space (7130) is provided between two electrodes (7150 and 7180) or plates of a capacitor parallel to each other.
Claim 17 differs by reciting that the treatment space only includes two electrodes or plates of a capacitor and the unit which can be moved into and out of the treatment space does not exhibit electrodes.
The reference of Caiafa et al. discloses that it is known in the art to generate and emit electric pulses with respect to a container holding a cell material using a container (Fig. 9) (cuvette)(152) having electrodes (156A and 156B) to provide a conductive path between the container cavity (104) which is similar to the container (7040) of the reference of Hogan et al. The reference of Caiafa et al. also alternatively discloses that it is known in the art to generate and emit pulses with respect to a container holding a cell material using a container (Fig. 10B) (cuvette)(122) without electrodes (col. 6, line 62, to col. 7, line 11).
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a capacitively coupled sample holder, such as that disclosed in Fig. 10B of the reference of Hogan et al., in place of the sample holder of the primary reference for the known and expected result of providing an alternative means recognized in the art for holding a sample and generating and emitting electric pulses to the sample held within the sample container while reducing or simplifying the complexity of the sample holder (col. 5, lines 54-57). The structure resulting from the combination of the references would encompass a treatment space that only includes two electrodes or plates of a capacitor and the unit which can be moved into and out of the treatment space does not exhibit electrodes.
With respect to claims 18, 19 and 21, the reference of Hogan discloses the unit includes a motor (7090) and plate or conveying device or body (carousel)(7080) for holding at least one container or compartment (cuvette)(7040).
With respect to claims 20 and 22, the reference of Hogan discloses 8 compartments or containers (Fig. 7C).
With respect to claims 23 and 24, the reference of Hogan discloses the use of ports (7060 and 7070) for filling and emptying the cuvettes/compartments/containers using automated syringes (¶[0088]-[0090]) which are considered to be functional equivalents of the filling and emptying structures of the instant disclosure.
With respect to claim 25, while the reference of Hogan et al. discloses a unit for generating and emitting electric pulses that includes the use of two electrodes (7150 and 7180) or plates, the reference is silent with respect to the operating conditions recited in claim 25.
However, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been well within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to optimize the electroporation parameters within the device based merely on the specifics of the cells to be treated, the volumes of the samples and/or the containers, etc. while maintaining the electroporation efficiency of the device.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 112
The rejections of claims 18-22 and 25 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 18, 19, 21 and 25 and related comments on page 6 of Applicants’ response dated 8/12/2025.
35 USC 102 and 103
The rejection of claims 18-25 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 18 and related comments on pages 6-9 of Applicants’ response dated 8/12/2025. Additionally, note the structure encompassed by the combination of the references of Hogan et al. (US 2018/0051243) in view of Caiafa et al. (US 10,421,956) would be structurally capable of producing any number of types of electric pulses as discussed by Applicants.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB