Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1-3, the claim limitation “a rotary drive unit configured to rotate the cavity about an axis of the cylinder-like shape…” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to rotate the cavity about an axis of the cylinder-like shape…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier; the term “rotary drive” does not provide further clarity as to the structure. Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-3 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appear to be the corresponding structures described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph limitation: [para. 0056, line 2, Detailed Description, cited:[ "the rotary drive unit may be, for example, a motor or the like…].
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
If applicant does not wish to have the claim limitation treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim so that it will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance with 35 U.S.C. § 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishibashi (US 10,349,471) cited by applicant. Regarding claims 1 and 4, Oishibashi discloses microwave heating apparatus (10) comprising a cavity (11) that has a cylinder-like shape (Figure 1), is rotatably supported on a base, and includes an internal space for accommodating a microwave irradiation object (F); a rotary drive unit (motor, col. 3, lines 37-39) configured to rotate the cavity about an axis of the cylinder-like shape (Figure 1); and a microwave generator (not shown) configured to generate microwaves (through microwave irradiator 12), wherein the cavity (11) includes at least one microwave transmission area (13a) in a partial region of the cavity in an axial direction, the microwaves generated by the microwave generator are introduced into the internal space from a circumferential surface of the cavity (11) through the at least one microwave transmission area (13a), the cavity is lined with a microwave transmitting member (13), and part of the microwave transmitting member (13) constitutes the at least one microwave transmission area (13a, col. 4, lines 48-57, Figure 1). However, Oishibashi does not disclose the cavity is rotatably supported on a fixed base. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the cavity is rotatably supported on a fixed base in order to stabilize the cavity while applies microwave with the rotary motor running. Regarding claims 2-3, Oishibashi discloses a cover member (col. 2, lines 62-64) that is provided on an outer circumferential side of the at least one microwave transmission area (13a, Figure 1) while covering the entire portion of the cavity (11) in a circumferential direction, the cover member forming a wave guide path for the microwaves introduced from the microwave generator (through microwave irradiator 12) on an outer circumferential side of the cavity (col. 2, lines 62-64).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Fang (US 8,847,131) discloses microwave oven with rotary cooking apparatus. Lee (US 6,998,593) discloses microwave oven with inner container.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 November 6, 2025