DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13-15 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 9, 11, 13-15 herein acted on the merits.
Priority
This application filed 08/05/2022 is a 371 of PCT/KR2020/011962 filed on 09/04/2020 which claims foreign priority to KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2019-0125775 filed on 10/11/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed on 11/18/25 and 12/19/25, is in compliance with the provisions of S7 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection is persuasive in view of amendments made to the claims. The rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-15 Angelova et al. (Liquid Crystalline Nanostructures as PEGylated Reservoirs of Omega-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids: Structural Insights toward Delivery Formulations against Neurodegenerative Disorders. American Chemical Society. 2018/03/3. doi: 10.1021/acsomega.7b01935), is persuasive in view of amendments made to the claims. The rejection is herewith withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments over the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 9, 11, 13-15 Angelova et al. (Liquid Crystalline Nanostructures as PEGylated Reservoirs of Omega-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids: Structural Insights toward Delivery Formulations against Neurodegenerative Disorders. American Chemical Society. 2018/03/3. doi: 10.1021/acsomega.7b01935), in view of Aqeel et al. (ES 2713157 T3) is persuasive in view of amendments made to the claims. The rejection is herewith withdrawn.
The newly modified rejections are as below addressing the claim amendments:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (KR 20070065996 A).
Wang et al. teaches a liquid crystal membrane emulsion composition comprises 10-80 parts by weight of fat and oil containing highly unsaturated fatty acid; 10-80 parts by weight of fat and oil containing a middle chain fatty acid; 1-10 parts by weight of the lecithin containing 25-85 wt% of phospholipid; and 1-15 parts by weight of a glycerin fatty acid ester. Preferably, the highly unsaturated fatty acid is DHA, EPA, gamma-linolenic acid or arachidonic acid (claim 9). The glycerin fatty acid ester is preferably selected from the group consisting of glycerin monolaurate, glycerin monooleate, polyglycerine-2-oleate, polyglycerine-2-stearate, and mixtures thereof. The composition of the present invention is a fat or oil containing polyunsaturated fatty acid is encapsulated in the micro-liquid crystal film, the oxidation stability is ensured, long-term storage is possible, and easy handling (reads on soft capsule). The fats and oils containing polyunsaturated fatty acids in the present invention are vegetable oils and animal fats.
While the reference teaches the composition of the claims, the reference fails to teach the weight ratios or omega-3-fatty acid amount, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use liquid crystal formers or omega-3-fatty acid claimed amounts. The motivation to use liquid crystal formers or omega-3-fatty acid in the amounts claimed is because Wang teaches an amount of less than 1 part by weight is difficult to form a sufficient liquid crystal film and that the emulsion is added to foods. Hence, a skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of successfully achieving similar efficacy and results. Additionally, since the general conditions of the claim are taught in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable amounts of liquid crystal formers or omega-3-fatty acid involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (KR 20070065996 A), as applied to claims 1, 5, 9, and 13-15, in view of Rychen et al. (Safety and efficacy of butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) as a feed additive for all animal species. EFSA J. 2018;16:e05215.)
Wang et al. is as discussed above.
Wang et al. fails to teach the use of antioxidants in the formulation.
Rychen et al. teaches of butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) as a feed additive for all animal species.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA). The motivation to incorporate butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) is because Rychen et al. teaches of butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) as a feed additive for all animal species. Therefore, a skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation in success to encapsulated in soft gelatin capsules a lipid or lipophilic vehicle.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/LAYLA SOROUSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622