DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9 and 12 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (Genomics 112.1 (2020): 703-711, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 04/03/2025) in view of Kim (US 10,406,184 B2, published 09/10/2019), and Le (Toxicol Rep 5: 314–317." 2018, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 08/20/2025).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Huang teaches Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 isolated from plant-associated niches (e.g. pear and kimchi) (page 708 left column last line).
Huang does not teach administering Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 to treat chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).
However, Kim teaches administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising Lactobacillus plantarum extracellular vesicles to treat chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), rhinitis, and asthma (Claim 1). Kim teaches that the Lactobacillus plantarum is isolated from kimchi (column 16 line 55). Applicant discloses that instant Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 is isolated from kimchi (page 9 para.4). While Kim teaches the composition does not contain the cells of Lactobacillus plantarum, Kim teaches EVs are secreted from the Lactobacillus plantarum cells into the culture (column 16 lines 55-59). Thus, administering cells of Lactobacillus plantarum or a culture of Lactobacillus plantarum would inherently also administer the bacteria’s secreted extracellular vesicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to administer the whole cell or culture instead of only the extracellular vesicles in order to simplify the process and remove the extra step of filtering out and isolating the extracellular vesicles.
Huang and Kim do not teach administering Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 to ameliorate intestinal inflammation.
However, Le teaches effect of Lactobacillus plantarum on inflammatory bowel disease (Title, Abstract) (i.e., intestinal inflammation) and teaches administration of Lactobacillus plantarum decreases the expression of proinflammatory cytokines TNF-α, IL-1β, in vivo and in vitro using intestinal epithelial cells (Tables 1 and 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Huang by administering Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 to subjects with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) and intestinal inflammation, as suggested by Kim and Le. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, as suggested by Kim, and to ameliorate the intestinal inflammation, as suggested by Le. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of these references since Huang teaches the strain is isolated from Kimchi (i.e., safe for consumption), Kim teaches safe administration of Lactobacillus plantarum EVs to treat COPD, and Le teaches safe administration of Lactobacillus plantarum strain to subjects with intestinal inflammation. MPEP 2144.06 II states that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. Since all three references teach strains of the same species, Lactobacillus plantarum, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a Lactobacillus plantarum strain for another Lactobacillus plantarum strain.
Double Patenting
Claims 9 and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 10 of copending Application No. 17/915306 in view of Le.
Regarding instant claims 9 and 12, copending claim 1 recites a pharmaceutical composition for preventing or treating a respiratory disease, the pharmaceutical composition comprising, as active ingredients, one or more selected from the group consisting of a Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 strain (Accession No: KCTC13375BP), a culture thereof, a fermentation solution thereof, a lysis solution thereof, an extract thereof, and a concentrate of the culture and a Leonurus japonicus extract. Copending claim 10 recites a method for preventing or treating a respiratory disease, the method comprising administering a composition to a subject in need thereof, the composition comprising, as active ingredients, one or more selected from the group consisting of a Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 strain (Accession No: KCTC13375BP), a culture thereof, a fermentation solution thereof, a lysis solution thereof, an extract thereof, and a concentrate of the culture and a Leonurus japonicus extract. Co-pending claim 5 recites the respiratory disease is chronic pulmonary disease, rhinitis, otitis media, viral respiratory disease, sore throat, tonsilitis, pneumonia, asthma, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Co-pending claims 1, 5, and 10 do not recite administering the strain, a culture thereof, a concentrate of the culture, or a dried material of the culture to ameliorate intestinal inflammation. However, Le teaches effect of Lactobacillus plantarum on inflammatory bowel disease (Title, Abstract) and teaches administration of Lactobacillus plantarum decreases the expression of proinflammatory cytokines TNF-α, IL-1β, in vivo and in vitro (Tables 1 and 2). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition and method recited in co-pending claims 1, 5, and 10 by administering the composition to a subject with intestinal inflammation, as suggested by Le. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in in order to decrease the expression of proinflammatory cytokines and ameliorate the intestinal inflammation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the examiner did not address Applicant’s prior argument.
In response to the argument, the examiner did address Applicant’s prior argument as shown on page 9 of the office correspondence mailed on 08/20/2025.
Applicant argues that Koning and Le do not teach the specific KC3 strain and that different strains can have different effects. Applicant argues Koning does not teach a therapeutic effect on COPD and that Le demonstrates that the effects of L. plantarum are strain-specific and unpredictable.
In response to the argument, Koning is not relied upon in this rejection. Huang teaches Lactobacillus plantarum KC3. New reference Kim teaches Lactobacillus plantarum derived extracellular vesicles, which are secreted from whole cells and are found in the culture, are administered to treat COPD, asthma, and rhinitis. Le teaches Lactobacillus plantarum strains are used to treat intestinal inflammation. Since Kim and Le teach a correlation between Lactobacillus plantarum and treating COPD and intestinal inflammation, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use other Lactobacillus plantarum strains for the same purpose. While the reported specific mechanism might be different, Le teaches several strains of Lactobacillus plantarum have an effect on the intestinal inflammation disease.
Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have a reasonable expectation that administering the specific KC3 strain would successfully treat both
COPD and intestinal inflammation.
The cited references teach using Lactobacillus plantarum to treat COPD, asthma, rhinitis, and intestinal inflammation. Lactobacillus plantarum KC3 is not novel as discussed above. Huang and Kim teach that the Lactobacillus plantarum is isolated from kimchi, similar to the instant claim as disclosed by Applicant (specification page 9). Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success, and obviousness does not require absolute predictability (See MPEP 2143.02(I) and MPEP 2143.02(II)).
Conclusion
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699