DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 8-18, 28 and 30. Cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Previous rejections are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s argument filed on 08/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. Claims 1, 4, 7-12 and 28 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without being integrated into a practical application and do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l, US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019)), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to two of the four statutory classes, apparatus and method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. In Claim 1 (as a representative example), we recognize that the limitations “obtaining dynamic state information for the vehicle, the dynamic state information including position information for the vehicle at a first time in a time sequence, estimating a position of the vehicle at the second time in the time sequence on the dynamic state information and the communication network information,” are abstract ideas as they involve mental process, including observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion, under the BRI. Similar rejections are made for other independent and dependent claims. With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where with additional elements and taken as a whole, we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims additionally recite “transmitting, via a transceiver of the node, a wireless data signals to the vehicle, receiving from the vehicle, via the transceiver, communication network information for the vehicle, the communication network information including a result of a measurement carried out by the vehicle on a wireless data signal at a second time in the time sequence that is after the first time,” “vehicle being operable to connect to a communication network, the communication network node,” “the dynamic state information including sensor information generated by a sensor in the vehicle”, “position information generated by a satellite positioning system,” “a communication network node, comprising a processing circuitry,” “memory coupled to the processing circuitry,” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, are merely directed to insignificant data collection activity in a generic environment involving vehicle, general purpose computer and network. Furthermore, the limitation “using a trained Machine Learning model” provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. The claims do not improve the functioning of any devices or processing circuity and do not improve other technology due to lack of sufficient detail in the claims, particularly the recited machine learning model to estimate the position of the vehicle. In short, the claims do not provide sufficient evidence to show that they are more than a drafting effort to monopolize the abstract idea. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide “inventive concept” that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims additionally recite “transmitting, via a transceiver of the node, a wireless data signals to the vehicle, receiving from the vehicle, via the transceiver, communication network information for the vehicle, the communication network information including a result of a measurement carried out by the vehicle on a wireless data signal at a second time in the time sequence that is after the first time,” “vehicle being operable to connect to a communication network, the communication network node,” “the dynamic state information including sensor information generated by a sensor in the vehicle”, “position information generated by a satellite positioning system,” “a communication network node,” comprising a processing circuitry,” “memory coupled to the processing circuitry,” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, are merely directed to insignificant data collection activity in a generic environment involving vehicle, general purpose computer and network that are well-understood, routine and conventional. Furthermore, the limitation “using a trained Machine Learning model” provide nothing more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer. As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Summary, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Note: The 101 rejection is maintained only for limitation that performs the option of “reporting an anomaly’, and not the option of “initiating retraining of the ML model.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-18 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Durand et al., US Pat No. 11,113567 (hereinafter Durand)
Regarding Claims 17 and 30. Durand discloses node of a communication network estimating a position of a vehicle, the vehicle being operable to connect to the communication network (Figs. 1-5; Abstract), comprising:
processing circuitry and memory (Figs. 1-5), obtaining dynamic state information for the vehicle, the dynamic state information including position information for the vehicle at a plurality of times forming in a time sequence over a training period generated by a satellite positioning system (Fig. 2, position data using GNSS, Col. 4, lines 25-55, to produce training data, correlate position from GNSS timestamp; Fig. 9, sensor data while in transit; Fig. 5, Col. 3, lines 3-51, aerial vehicles themselves dynamically measuring various data regarding the aerial vehicles themselves and broadcasting the data to the data processing system such as to station, in real-time over the network 580 in Figure 5; Col. 5, lines 14-23, periodically; Col. 6, lines 1-10, first training data; Col. 10, lines 65-67; Col. 11, lines 1-7, time correlated; Col. 12, lines 6-11, position and sensor data, second sensor data, third sensor data, etc., subsequent in time. Also note that the claims broadly recite “training period” without specifying any specific training period boundary, such as the beginning and end of the training period), obtaining communication network information for the vehicle, the communication network information including a result of a measurement carried out by the vehicle on a signal exchanged with the communication network at the plurality of times over the training period (Fig. 5, Col. 6, lines 52-67 and Col. 7, lines 1-14, where the communication information is exchanged between them; Fig. 6, training process; Fig. 7-9; Col. 6, lines 1- 27, second training data at later times), and using the dynamic state information and the communication network information to train the ML model for estimating a position of the vehicle at a second time based on dynamic state information associated with a first time and communication network information associated with a second time, with the second time after the first time (Figs. 6-8, training ML using the collected sensor data; Col. 4, lines 43-55; Col. 6, lines 28-43, using the first and second training data at different times to detect position of the moving vehicles as shown in Fig. 9, 906.)
Regarding Claim 18. Durand discloses the dynamic state information further includes sensor information generated by a sensor on the vehicle at the first time in the time sequence (Fig. 2, GNSS, Col. 4, lines 25-55, to produce training data, correlate position from GNSS timestamp; Fig. 9, sensor data while in transit; Col. 3, lines 43-51, in real-time; Col. 5, lines 14-23, periodically; Col. 6, lines 1-10, first training data; Col. 10, lines 65-67; Col. 11, lines 1-7, time correlated)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
7. In regard to the 101, the rejection has been updated. However, as had been explained in the previous Office Action, the 101 rejection is maintained for the limitation “reporting an anomaly,” as the claim is simply directed to obtaining various information and estimating the position of the vehicle using a generic machine learning model based on the information obtained.
8. In regard to the 102 rejection, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues the following:
In Response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Durand discloses obtaining communication network information for the vehicle, the communication network information including a result of a measurement carried out by the vehicle on a signal exchanged with the communication network at the plurality of times over the training period (specifically, the Fig. 5 and Col. 6, lines 52-67 and Col. 7, lines 1-6, discloses exchanging of communication information between the target vehicle and the communication network, with processor and various environmental and operational sensors in the target vehicle, where the processor controls any aspects of the operation of the target vehicle, including the operation of the sensors. This means the vehicle is carrying out the measurement using the sensors on the signal exchanged with the communication network.). Furthermore, Durand discloses using the dynamic state information and the communication network information to train the ML model for estimating a position of the vehicle at a second time based on dynamic state information associated with a first time and communication network information associated with a second time, with the second time after the first time (Figs. 6-8, training ML using the collected sensor data; Col. 4, lines 43-55; Col. 6, lines 28-43, using the first and second training data at different times to detect position of the moving vehicles as shown in Fig. 9, 906.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857