DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 12/17/2025
Claim 1 has been amended
Claims 1-13, 17-18, 20 and 22-25 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 11,142,383) in view of Currie (US 3,221,876).
Claim 17. Thompson discloses a package comprising a carrier for carrying one or more objects, the carrier comprising:
a plurality of panels including a handle panel 23 and opposed side panels 51, 53 connected to opposing ends of the handle panel (fig. 2),
wherein the first side panel is hingedly connected to the handle panel by a first fold line 61 and the second side panel is hingedly connected to the handle panel by a second fold line 63,
wherein the carrier further comprises a first relief crease 156 formed in the handle panel and extending from the first fold line at an angle with respect to the first fold line; and
a second relief crease 156 formed in the handle panel and extending from the second fold line at an angle with respect to the second fold line (col. 5, ll. 16-23).
Thompson teaches the panels are connected/adhered to one another to form a closed configuration (col. 5, ll. 51-67). Although an adhesive is not positively claimed and only a portion of the side panels are configured to receive an adhesive, Thompson fails to teach the use of an adhesive that connects the panels to the product.
Currie represents evidence of an adhesive-receiving portion wherein a first side panel 22 of the opposed side panels comprises a first adhesive- receiving portion @A such that the first side panel is adhered to one side or edge of one object at the first adhesive-receiving portion and a second side panel 22 of the opposed side panels comprises a second-adhesive receiving portion @A such that the second side panel is adhered to one side or edge of one object at the second adhesive-receiving portion (fig. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the panels of Thompson to include the adhesive and receiving portions of Currie to assist in further reinforcing the secured position of the products when stored inside of the package.
Claim 18. Thompson-Currie discloses the package according to claim 17 comprising at least one additional object secured to the one object to which at least one of the opposed side panels is adhered (Currie; fig. 2-3).
Claim 20. Thompson-Currie discloses the package according to claim 18 wherein the carrier comprises a first relief cut, the first relief cut comprising a first portion 150 extending along the first fold line and a second portion 144 extending in the first side panel at an angle with respect to the first fold line (Thompson; fig. 1); and
a second relief cut, the second relief cut comprising a first portion 152 extending along the second fold line and a second portion 148 extending in the second side panel at an angle with respect to the second fold line (Thompson; fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 22-25 are allowed.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735