Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,8,13,14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2019/021325. Karles et al teach the claimed process as evidenced at pg 1:14-26; pg 8:6-pg 9:3; pg 10:12-14 and 23-26.
1. An electrospinning method, comprising:
providing a composition to be electrospun (WO2019/021325: water solution; pg 8:6-pg 9:3);
providing an electrospinning device comprising an electrospinning head and a collector, between which there is applied an electric field (WO2019/021325: pg 1:14-26; pg 8:6-pg 9:3; pg 10:12-14 and 23-26); and
feeding said composition to be electrospun through said electrospinning head, so that the electric field applied induces the formation of an electrospun fiber to form a membrane substrate able to be absorbed by the skin (WO2019/021325: pg 1:14-26; pg 8:6-pg 9:3; pg 10:12-14 and 23-26; pg 11:2-5; pg 12:3-12; the continuous fiber can be formed into a membrane can be invaded and populated by cells, absorbs wound exudates, or releases antimicrobial agents to speed up healing of wounds);
wherein said composition to be electrospun comprises a first compound to be electrospun and a spinning promoter, wherein said first compound to be electrospun comprises hyaluronic acid (WO2019/021325: hyaluronic acid is used as the glycosaminoglycan; pg 8:19-21) and said spinning promoter comprises pullulan, a mixture of alginate and poly(oxyethylene) having a weight proportion equal to 1:1, or a mixture thereof (WO2019/021325: pullulan is used as the polysaccharide; pg 8:31-9:3).
2. The method as in claim 1, wherein the electrospinning head comprises a delivery member which comprises at least one needle (WO2019/021325: pg 1:14-26).
3. The method as in claim1, wherein the electric field applied between the electrospinning head and the collector is equal to at least 8kV (WO2019/021325: pg 10:12-15).
4. The method as in claim1, wherein the electrospinning head and the collector are set in motion one relative to the other (WO2019/021325: pg 10:23-26).
8. The method as in claim 1, wherein the proportion between the firstcompound to be electrospun and the electrospinning promoter is comprised between 4:1 and 1:7 (WO2019/021325:; pg 8:10-11).
13. The method as in claim 2, wherein the electric field applied between the electrospinning head and the collector is equal to at least 8 kV (WO2019/021325:; pg 10:12-15).
14. The method as in claim 13, wherein the electrospinning head and the collector are set in motion one relative to the other (WO2019/021325:; pg 10:23-26).
18. The method as in claim 2, wherein the proportion between the first compound to be electrospun and the electrospinning promoter is comprised between 4:1 and 1:7 (WO2019/021325:; pg 8:10-11).
20. The method as in claim 1, wherein said composition to be electrospun consists essentially of the first compound (WO2019/021325: hyaluronic acid is used as the glycosaminoglycan; pg 8:19-21) to be electrospun, the spinning promoter (WO2019/021325: pullulan is used as the polysaccharide; pg 8:31-9:3), and water (WO2019/021325: water is used as the solvent; pg 8:5-18; examples using composition 1-7 recite dissolving all the components of the electrospun fiber in an aqueous solution). Since the instant specification or claims do not clearly indicate what the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention are, the transition phrase “consisting essential of” has been construed as equivalent to “comprising.” See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355 ("PPG could have defined the scope of the phrase ‘consisting essentially of’ for purposes of its patent by making clear in its specification what it regarded as constituting a material change in the basic and novel characteristics of the invention."). If an applicant contends that additional materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of "consisting essentially of," applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of the claimed invention. In re De Lajarte, 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964). See also Ex parte Hoffman, 12 USPQ2d 1061, 1063-64 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989).
Claim(s) 5,10,12,15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019/021325 as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of WO2019/021325 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 5, WO2019/021325 does not teach an electric field oriented vertically from top to bottom. The specific orientation of an apparatus is a mere obvious matter of choice dependent on apparatus availability. Since vertical electric fields are well-known in the electrospinning art for its effectiveness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to impart a vertical electric field in the electrospun apparatus of WO2019/021325 in order to efficiently form the nanofiber of WO2019/021325.
Regarding claim 10, WO2019/021325 do not teach the claimed proportion between the first component/glycosaminglycan and the promoter/polysaccharides. Since the claimed proportion is a mere matter of choice dependent on the desired combination of the components and the desired proportion would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first component/glycosaminglycan and promoter/polysaccharides of WO2019/021325 within the claimed proportion in order to achieve a fiber having desired combinability and properties.
Regarding claim 12, WO2019/021325 do not teach the claimed proportion between the first component/glycosaminglycan and the promoter/polysaccharides. Since the claimed proportion is a mere matter of choice dependent on the desired combination of the components and the desired proportion would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first component/glycosaminglycan and promoter/polysaccharides of WO2019/021325 within the claimed proportion in order to achieve a fiber having desired combinability and properties.
Regarding claim 15, WO2019/021325 does not teach an electric field oriented vertically from top to bottom. The specific orientation of an apparatus is a mere obvious matter of choice dependent on apparatus availability. Since vertical electric fields are well-known in the electrospinning art for its effectiveness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to impart a vertical electric field in the electrospun apparatus of WO2019/021325 in order to efficiently form the nanofiber of WO2019/021325.
Regarding claim 20, WO2019/021325 do not teach the claimed proportion between the first component/glycosaminglycan and the promoter/polysaccharides. Since the claimed proportion is a mere matter of choice dependent on the desired combination of the components and the desired proportion would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first component/glycosaminglycan and promoter/polysaccharides of WO2019/021325 within the claimed proportion in order to achieve a fiber having desired combinability and properties.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5,8,10,12-15,18, and 20-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues WO2019/021325 does not teach a membrane substrate able to be absorbed by the skin since the membrane of WO2019/021325 is water-insoluble. This argument is misplaced since the continuous fiber of WO2019/021325 can be formed into a membrane that can be invaded and populated by cells, absorbs wound exudates, or releases antimicrobial agents to speed up healing of wounds. The fact that the membrane of WO2019/021325 is water-insoluble does not negate the fact that the membrane, as a whole, can be invaded/populated by the cells of a wound or the antimicrobial agents of the membrane can be absorbed by the wounds.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP20100129656 and CA2396640 teach electrospinning liquids comprising a first component, and a promoter. Both WO2010074212 and JP2009041117 teach electrospinning using hyaluronic acid.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744