DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 15, and 16 and Group II, claims 10-14 in the reply filed on 09/11/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant asserts the "matrix holder has a single central opening or cavity and the matrix holder is also horizontally oriented when retained by the well strip…". This is not found persuasive because as cited in the Election/Restriction requirement mailed on 06/20/2025, the reference cited in the restriction pertained to the claim set (dated 08/05/2022) by applicant, at the time the restriction was mailed. Therefore, the reference relied upon addressed technical feature noted in the requirement and therefore, it stands and is final.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cell culture units, transport unit, uptake unit, centering unit in claims 1, 6-9, and 16.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the support rail" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In particular, the term “the support rail (20)” is not cited in the dependent claim 6, but rather it is cited in claim 7. Also, the term “the rail support (20)” has a different element number than the term “the rail support (22)” recite din claim 7.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the spacer (24)" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In particular, the term “spacer (24)” is not recited in claim 6, from which claim 8 depends on.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2022 and 11/30/2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 9 , and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “optionally” in claims 7 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optionally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “approximately” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan).
Regarding claim 1, Tuan discloses a cell culture device (3-dimensional (3D) microsystem that models the structure and biology of tissues that are adjacent or contiguous in the body, para. [0009], lines 1-4) for three-dimensional cell culture (tissue culture, para. [0068], lines 7-8) comprising one or more cell culture units (bioreactors 100 in array 200, para. [0052], lines 1-3, Fig. 2 and shell 300 and inner body 302, para. [0053], lines 1-2, Fig. 3), wherein each cell culture unit (21) comprises: i. at least one matrix holder (12)—(shell 300 and inner body 302, para. [0053], lines 1-2, Fig. 3) with a single, central opening or cavity (13)—(cylindrical space 330, para. [0054], line 6, Fig. 3) for uptake of a matrix; ii. a support (10)—(protruding ring 320, para. [0053], line 13, Fig. 3) which is fixedly or reversibly connected to the at least one matrix holder (12);
Tuan discloses and iii. a well strip (11)—(a well strip of array 200 is shown below in annotated Fig. 2) consisting of a vessel with at least one cavity, wherein the cavity can retain at least one matrix holder (12) up to at least an upper end of the central opening (13), wherein the matrix holder (12) is vertically oriented (the matrix holder discussed above is disposed horizontally in well strip—array 200, shown in annotated Fig. 2), and wherein the matrix holder is horizontally oriented when retained by the well strip.
Regarding claim 2, Tuan discloses wherein the central opening (13)—(cylindrical space 330, para. [0054], line 6, Fig. 3) of the matrix holder (12) is a continuous opening (13a and 13c)—(the space 320 is a continuous opening as shown in Fig. 3) or a cavity with a wall (13b), wherein the central opening (13) comprises a matrix, and wherein the matrix is a solid porous support, a hydrogel, or a combination thereof (“chondrocyte” refers to cells found in healthy cartilage, which help to produce and maintain the cartilaginous matrix, para. [0043], lines 1-3; para. [0043], lines 12-14).
Regarding claim 3, Tuan discloses wherein the matrix consists of natural, semi-synthetic or synthetic material, or a combination thereof (“matrix” can include any of various suitable biological or synthetic materials, para. [0043], lines 13-14), wherein the natural material is selected from the group consisting of collagen, fibrin, glycosamine glycans, and hyaluronic acid, and wherein the synthetic or semi-synthetic material is selected from the group consisting of polymethyl methacrylate, polylactic acid, polyglycol, polystyrene, hydroxyapatite and tricalcium phosphate (para. [0070], lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 5, Tuan discloses wherein the device comprises at least 5, or at least 10 matrix holders (12)—(shell 300 and inner body 302 can be used in array 200, which comprises 96 bioreactors 100, Fig. 3, para. [0054], lines 9-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of a different embodiment of US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan, referring to Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Tuan teaches the invention discussed above in claim 1. Further, Tuan teaches one or more cell culture units. However, Tuan does not explicitly teach a transport unit.
For claim 6, a different embodiment of Tuan teaches a transport unit (mount 506, para. [0061], line 5), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a transport unit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the device of Tuan and include a transport unit as taught by a different embodiment of Tuan. Further, a different embodiment of Tuan teaches mount 506 can move array 502 and mount 506 can be actuated to move plate 508 (para. [0061], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Tuan discloses wherein the well strip (11) comprises a position (25) for attachment to the support rail (20), or wherein the cell culture units are arranged in parallel in the spacer (24)—(all well strip is discussed above in annotated Fig. 2), and the culture units (bioreactors 100 are in a parallel orientation, as shown in Fig 2, further, spacer is shown in Fig. 2, where there are spaces between each bioreactor 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein an interior surface of the side wall comprises: a first interior surface segment; a second interior surface segment parallel or substantially parallel to the first interior surface segment; and a third interior surface segment between the first and second interior surface segments, wherein each of the first and second interior surface segments is planar or substantially planar, and the third interior surface segment is curved in accordance with the vessel, where this is in combination with the claim as a whole.
The closet prior art is US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan). Tuan discloses various bioreactor devices and systems for growing cellular material, and related methods of growing cellular material. However, Tuan does not explicitly teach wherein the support comprises an element for connection with the matrix holder and the matrix holder comprises notches at its upper end, wherein the matrix holder can be reversibly connected to the element of the support by the notches.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 7, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the transport unit comprises: i. a support rail for attachment of one or more cell culture units to the transport unit, ii. an uptake unit for the support rail, iii. a cover, and iv. two spacer elements, wherein the spacer elements are optionally directly connected to each other for uptake in an orderly manner of at least two or more supports (10) of a matrix holder, v. optionally at least one identification element, the identification element being a RFID chip or a barcode, and vi. optionally a centering unit, where this is in combination with the claim as a whole.
The closet prior art is US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan). Tuan discloses various bioreactor devices and systems for growing cellular material, and related methods of growing cellular material. However, Tuan does not explicitly teach wherein the transport unit comprises: i. a support rail for attachment of one or more cell culture units to the transport unit, ii. an uptake unit for the support rail, iii. a cover, and iv. two spacer elements, wherein the spacer elements are optionally directly connected to each other for uptake in an orderly manner of at least two or more supports (10) of a matrix holder, v. optionally at least one identification element, the identification element being a RFID chip or a barcode, and vi. optionally a centering unit.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the transport unit comprises: i. a first plate forming the underside of the transport unit, ii. openings in the first plate for centering the transport unit on the plate, iii. openings in the first plate for screw fittings (50),iv. a second plate mounted approximately at a middle height of the transport unit, v. magnetizable metal bars, vi. a centering holder, vii. openings in the second plate for the centering holder ,viii. and a centering object, where this is in combination with the claim as a whole.
The closet prior art is US 2016/0201037 A1-Tuan et al. (hereinafter Tuan). Tuan discloses various bioreactor devices and systems for growing cellular material, and related methods of growing cellular material. However, Tuan does not explicitly teach wherein the transport unit comprises: i. a first plate forming the underside of the transport unit, ii. openings in the first plate for centering the transport unit on the plate, iii. openings in the first plate for screw fittings (50),iv. a second plate mounted approximately at a middle height of the transport unit, v. magnetizable metal bars, vi. a centering holder, vii. openings in the second plate for the centering holder ,viii. and a centering object.
Conclusion
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799