Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,7-8,12,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taiyo(English translation of JP 2015204823 and original JP 2015204823 provided by the applicant) in view of Zemel(US 2016/0073659), Villagran(US 2016/0198742), and Ban(JP2009207366).
Regarding claims 1,6, Taiyo teaches a dry food composition comprising, by weight relative to the total weight of said composition:
a. protein in an amount ranging from 25% mass or more([0006])
wherein the food composition is comprised of discrete elements, each discrete element defining a total volume and comprising, within said total volume, at least one empty cavity comprising at least one aperture, and said cavity representing a volume of 5 to 90% of the total volume
and wherein said empty cavity is in a central or a substantially central position in the kibble and is substantially cylindrical shaped(each piece of pet food has a cylindrical structure and a central hollow cylindrical cavity, see pictures on original Taiyo document provided by the applicant and [0006] of translation).
Taiyo teaches that the composition and comprise starch and fiber(barley)([0016) but does not specifically teaches the amounts of each component. Zemel discloses a dry food composition (Para. [0029], dry pet food composition) for preventing obesity the food composition comprising, by weight relative to the total weight of said composition:
a. a protein in an amount ranging from about 20% to about 36% (Para. [0017]. pet food composition comprising, on a dry matter basis, about 35 to 70% by weight of a protein),
b. a total dietary fiber in an amount ranging from about 15% to about 30% (Para. [0015], 20 to 30 wt.% of total dietary fiber on a dry matter basis), and
c. a starch in an amount ranging from about 15% to about 32% (Para. [0017], about 10 to 35% by weight of a carbohydrate; Para. [0273], Examples of such carbohydrate sources include a starch such as corn starch or wheat starch or mixtures).
It would have been obvious to include 20 to 30 wt.% of total dietary fiber on a dry matter basis and about 10 to 35% by weight of starch in with the pet food of Taiyo since these components form a nutritionally complete composition that prevents obesity as taught in Zemel.
Taiyo and Zemel do not teach a total porosity of about 40% to about 70%.
However, Villagran is also in the field of pet food compositions (Abstract) and teaches comprising, within said total volume, at least one empty cavity comprising at least one aperture and said cavity representing a volume of at least 20% of the total volume (Para. [0038], During extrusion cooking and/or drying, the water in the bubbles evaporates, leaving pores in the dried kibble which contribute to a light, airy texture; Para. (0070], Percent porosity is defined as the percent of voxels below a fixed threshold divided by the total number of voxels in the 3D region of interest. The 3D region of interest was manually selected as the largest single, rectangular. 3D volume that would fit entirely within the kibble. Since kibbles are different sizes, the volume of the region of interest varies with each kibble: Para. [0057]. Villagran teaches that the kibble has a porosity of between 60% and 75%(paragraph 59), which overlaps the claimed range and renders it obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Taiyo and Zemel to have a porosity of between 60% and 75%. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a texture that is easy to chew (Para. (0030]).
Taiyo, Zemel, and Villagran do not teach that the starch has an amylose to amylopectin ratio not exceeding 30:70. However, Ban teaches a pet food composition for preventing obesity that comprises an amylopectin to starch ratio of 0.76. Therefore, the remaining portion of the starch would be 24%, for an amylose to amylopectin ratio of 24:76, i.e. a ratio not exceeding about 30:70 as claimed. It would have been obvious to use an amylose to amylopectin ratio of 24:76 in the kibble of Taiyo, Zemel, and Villagran as taught in Ban in order to help prevent obesity in a pet.
In regards to having a caloric density ranging from about 500 kCal/L to about 900 kCal/L and a breakage rate of equal or less than 7%, the composition of Taiyo in view of Zemel, Villagran, and Ban is the same as the instantly claimed composition. As a product and its properties are inseparable, the composition of Taiyo in view of Zemel, Villagran, and Ban would be expected to possess the properties of having a caloric density ranging from about 500 kCal/L to about 900 kCal/L and a breakage rate of equal or less than about 7%(see Para. (02811).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to ensure proper packaging and handling so that the amount of breakage in the composition is reduced to a minimum of less than about 7%. The instant claims do not recite the conditions of said breakage. Therefore, the instant claims do not preclude effective packaging or require the breakage to be measured under a set of conditions.
Regarding claim 4, Taiyo teaches the use of proteins but does not specifically teach that the proteins are at least partially hydrolyzed. However, Zemel discloses a dry pet food composition comprising proteins, characterized in that said it comprises proteins at least partially hydrolyzed (Para. [0203], The protein can be intact, almost completely hydrolyzed, or partially hydrolyzed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include at least partially hydrolyzed proteins in the pet food composition of Taiyo since they are palatable and desirable in pet food compositions as taught in Zemel.
Regarding claim 7, Taiyo teaches that the dry food composition has a volume density of 0.1 to 0.6g/cm^3(100 to 600g/L)([0010])
Regarding claim 8, Taiyo teaches that the dry food composition consists of a nutritionally complete food([0001]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Taiyo teaches that the composition is fed to an animal in order to decrease food intake and control the weight of the animal([0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Ban does not teach a 24:76 ratio of amylose to amylopectin. However, Ban teaches a mass ratio of amylopectin to starch of 0.76. As evidenced by Shrestha(top of p.3), starch is made up of two main components amylose and amylopectin in amounts of 20-30% and 70-80%. Therefore in Ban, for every 1 part starch, 0.76 parts of amylopectin are present. This also equates to 76% amylopectin being present in the starch. Since starch contains mainly amylopectin and amylose, the balance of 76% of out 100% is 24%. This equates to an amylose to amylopectin ratio of 0.24:0.76.
Furthermore, even if other components such as are present, the amount of amylose would decrease to less than 24%(since the 76% of amylose would remain constant). This equates to a ratio of amylose to amylopectin of less than 30:70 as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791