DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Pursuant to the amendment dated 07/06/2026, claims 6 and 7 have been cancelled and new claim 20 has been added. Claims 5 and 14-16 have been cancelled in a previous communication.
Claims 1-4, 8-13, and 17-20 are pending and under current examination.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. as being unpatentable over Aiko et al. (JP2018193393A) in view of Li et al. (Li et al. Polymers, 9(1), 32. 2017) and further in view of Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U), and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019).
Applicant’s claims:
-- A cosmetic patch product comprising a membrane substrate suitable to be absorbed by the skin, said membrane substrate being made up of at least one electrospun fiber comprising hyaluronic acid and a spinning promoter, wherein the spinning promoter comprises pullulan or a mixture of alginate and polyethylene oxide (PEO) having a weight ratio of 1:1, wherein the membrane substrate comprises a mixture of linear hyaluronic acid with crosslinked hyaluronic acid, and wherein the hyaluronic acid has a molecular mass of less than 10000 Da.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, 10, and 13, Aiko et al. disclose a cosmetic patch that can contain cosmetic ingredients (i.e. active ingredients; limitation of instant claim 4; Paragraphs 0003 and 0040). Aiko et al. disclose that the nanofiber sheet is produced by electrospinning (Paragraph 0022). Aiko et al. disclose that, in consideration of compatibility with the skin, particularly preferred polymer compounds used in the nanofiber sheet include pullulan and hyaluronic acid. Aiko et al. also discloses that the polymers can be dissolved and mixed alone or in combination to spin a nanofiber sheet (Paragraph 0027). Aiko et al. disclose that any active agent may be used in the composition and that the active ingredient is applied to the nanofiber sheet(Paragraphs 0014 and 0039). Aiko et al. disclose that the nanofiber sheet is preferably prepared by forming nanofibers which have been spun to have a fiber diameter of 80 to 800 nm into a sheet on a support such as a nonwoven fabric. As indicated in MPEP §2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. (Paragraph 0023). Aiko et al. disclose that the nanofiber membrane is on a support (Paragraph 0015). Aiko et al. disclose that the support can be made from polyvinyl alcohol (Paragraph 0029).
Ascertainment of the Difference between the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2142-2143)
The relevant disclosure of Aiko et al. is set forth above.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Aiko et al. is silent to the use of pullulan as an electrospinning promoter. This deficiency, however, is cured by Li et al.
Li et al. disclose that using pullulan as a carrier can improve the electrospinnability of proteins and naturally occurring polyelectrolytes (abstract).
Aiko is also silent with respect to the patch product being suitable to be absorbed by the skin (instant claim 1) or having a molecular weight less than 10000 Da (instant claim 6).
Regarding claims 1, Kravchenko et al. discloses the use of low molecular weight hyaluronic acid of 5-100 kDa in a cosmetic cream. Kravchenko et al. also discloses that low molecular weight hyaluronic acid penetrates into the deep layers of the skin to moisturize the skin from the inside whereas high-molecular weight hyaluronic acid creates a film on the surface of the skin that protects it from moisture loss from the outside (Machine translation page 2, 14th and 15th full paragraphs).
Regarding claim 1, Aiko et al. is silent to the membrane substrate being made in a mixture of linear and cross-linked hyaluronic acid. This deficiency, however, is cured by Rashid et al.
Rashid et al. discloses that hyaluronic is a key ingredient in cosmetic and nutricosmetic products but that hyaluronic acid has a short half-life as it undergoes rapid degradation by enzymes present in body tissues (Introduction, Paragraph 3).
Rashid et al. also discloses that cross-linked hyaluronic acid hydrogel films can overcome can provide a more robust cosmetic platform than linear hyaluronic acid because they have lower enzymatic degradation rates and lower swelling ratios compared to linear polymers (Introduction, Paragraph 3).
Finding a case of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use pullulan as a spinning promoter in the cosmetic patch of Aiko et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because pullulan improves the electrospinnability of proteins and naturally occurring polyelectrolytes. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail electrospinning both hyaluronic acid and pullulan to make the cosmetic patch of Aiko et al. Regarding the ratio of pullulan to hyaluronic acid required by claim 20, it would have been a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine the requisite amount of pullulan to add to achieve the recognized effect of improving the electrospinning of the mixture. Please refer to MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hyaluronic acid of Aiko et al. to be of a low molecular weight because low molecular weight hyaluronic acid allows for penetration into deeper layers of the skin than high molecular weight hyaluronic acid and therefore allows for deep moisturization, as disclosed by Kravchenko et al. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail the electrospinning of low molecular weight hyaluronic acid instead of high molecular weight hyaluronic acid.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the hyaluronic acid of Aiko et al. to have an optimized degree of cross-linking. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that cross-linking hyaluronic acid lowers its enzymatic degradation rates and lowers its swelling ratios compared to the linear polymer, as disclosed by Rashid et al. Varying the degree of crosslinking in the nonwoven membrane of Aiko et al. could be done in order to optimize the degradability and physical characteristics of the hyaluronic acid in the nanofiber membrane to serve a desired purpose. (See MPEP 2144.05.) The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail the addition of cross-linked hyaluronic acid to the mixture to be electrospun.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. as being unpatentable over Aiko et al. (JP2018193393A), Li et al. (Li et al. Polymers, 9(1), 32. 2017), Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U), and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 13 and 20 above, and further in view of Yaqin (CN110105729A).
Applicant’s claims:
The scope and content of the scope and content of the claimed invention is discussed above.
Claim 10 adds the further limitation of the support base being made of PLA or PBSA.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 10, the relevant disclosure of Aiko et al. is set forth above.
Ascertainment of the Difference between the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2142-2143)
The relevant disclosure of Aiko et al. and Li et al. is set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Aiko et al. is silent to the support base being made of PBSA or PLA. This deficiency, however, is cured by Yaqin.
Yaqin discloses that polylactic acid is useful in preparing composite packaging material for cosmetics. Polylactic acid is a biodegradable polymer. Polylactic acid is non-toxic and non-irritating and has excellent biocompatibility, biodegradability and absorption, high strength, good plasticity, and easy processing and molding. Yaquin also discloses that using polylactic acid as a base material to prepare cosmetic packaging materials can effectively enhance the mechanical strength of the packaging materials. Its non-toxicity and oil resistance ensure that the cosmetics inside will not be contaminated by the migration of toxic and harmful substances, thereby improving the shelf life and safety of the cosmetics.
Finding a case of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the support base of Aiko et al. to be made of PLA as required by the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because polylactic acid is non-toxic and non-irritating, biocompatible, biodegradable, absorptive, has high strength, has good plasticity, and has easy processing and molding. Polylactic acid functions as a good base material to prepare cosmetic packaging materials and can effectively enhance the mechanical strength of the packaging materials. Its non-toxicity and oil resistance ensure that the cosmetics inside will not be contaminated by the migration of toxic and harmful substances, thereby improving the shelf life and safety of the cosmetics. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail using PLA to make the support base.
Claims 9, 11, 12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aiko et al. (JP2018193393A), Li et al. (Li et al. Polymers, 9(1), 32. 2017), Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U), and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 13 and 20 above, and further in view of Halla et al. (Molecules, 23(7), 1571. (2018)) and Kuribayashi et al. (JP2011006094A).
Applicant’s Claim:
The scope and content of the claimed invention is discussed above.
Claims 9, 11, 12, and 17-19 add the further limitation of a wrapping for the cosmetic patch product.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 9, 11, 12, and 17-19, the relevant disclosure of Aiko et al. is set forth above.
Ascertainment of the Difference between the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.01
Aiko et al. is silent to a wrapping for the cosmetic patch product. This deficiency, however, is cured by Kuribayashi et al. and Halla et al.
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a packaging bag for placing a face mask (i.e. a cosmetic patch product). Kuribayashi et al. discloses that the material of the packaging bag, in which the face mask is placed, can be selected from a group of resins including polylactic acid (PLA) (Section 0015).
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a mounting member that is part of the face packaging body and on which the face mask is placed (i.e. a support base that is part of the wrapper) (Section 0014).
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a packaging bag for placing a face mask (i.e. a cosmetic patch product). The packaging bag serves the purpose of a protective coating layer (Section 0015).
Kuribayashi et al. also discloses that the face mask packaging seal is sealed by heat sealing or ultrasonic bonding (Section 0008).
Halla et al. discloses that cosmetics are exposed to microbial contamination and should be protected in packaging (Section 2.3 Paragraph 1). Halla et al. discloses that two levels of protection can be provided by the packaging of cosmetics including protection against contamination during use and protection against accumulation of contamination in the distribution system (Section 3.2.1).
Finding a case of prima facie obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify nanofiber sheet of Aiko et al. by placing it in a packaging bag such as that disclosed by Kuribayashi et al. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it protects the nanofiber sheet against contamination as disclosed by Halla et al. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the modification would simply entail placing the nanofiber sheet in the packaging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5, Applicant points out that the membrane itself is skin-absorbable and asserts that the cited prior art does not teach a membrane substrate suitable to be absorbed by the skin. Applicant points to the specification as describing why the limitation on molecular weight less than 10KDa is advantageous for absorbability of the hyaluronic acid and electrospun HA having the claimed molecular mass is completely absorbable and able to penetrate the stratum corneum where it exhibits its benefits. On page 5, Applicant argues that the skin-absorbable membrane substrate is a critical feature of the present invention and is repeatedly emphasized in the specification. The claimed absorbability is not a generic property of hyaluronic acid in any cosmetic composition. Rather, it is tied to the particular claimed structure: hyaluronic acid of the recited molecular mass in an electrospun membrane substrate. On pages 5-6, Applicant argues that Kravchenko is directed to a cream, Kravchenko does not disclose an electrospun fiber, and that Kravchenko’s teaching is confined to the behavior of HA in an emulsion cream, and one having ordinary skill would not have understood that HA having molecular weight below 10KDa could also be absorbed from an electrospun fiber.
This argument is not persuasive because the fact that HA having molecular weight less than 10KDa is advantageous for absorbability had been recognized as of the instant effective filing date. Applicant argues that one having ordinary skill would not have had the ability to extrapolate the teaching in Kravchenko that HA of molecular weight less than 10KDa can penetrate skin because the HA is in a cream emulsion; however, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Aiko directs the artisan of ordinary skill to take advantage of HA’s humectant (i.e. moisturizing) properties and Kravchenko teaches that moisturizing effect is enhanced due to penetration of lower molecular weight HA polymers. A motivation exists in the art to take advantage of HA’s moisturizing effect, and therefore this is not a situation where the rejection is a statement that it would have been “obvious to try” without more. Here there was a reasonable expectation of success. “Obviousness does not require absolute predictability of success.” Id. at 903, 7 USPQ2d at 1681."
Moreover, insomuch as this may be an assertion of unexpected results, please refer to MPEP 716.02(b) which details the burden on Applicant to establish that results in a side-by-side comparison to the closest prior art are unexpected and significant. Specifically, Applicant must establish that differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and are of both practical and statistical significance. Additionally, evidence of unexpected properties must be commensurate in scope with the claims.
The examiner does not consider the burden on Applicant to overcome an obviousness rejection with a persuasive showing of unexpected results to have been met because the data in the specification do not appear to have been unexpected as of the instant effective filing date. The instant specification indicates that the electrospun fibers according to the invention are absorbed when applied to wet skin. One having ordinary skill in the art, e.g. an individual with a Ph.D. in polymer chemistry, would have understood that hyaluronic acid is soluble in water (and thus the aqueous phase of a cream emulsion), therefore would have recognized that aqueous hyaluronic acid can penetrate the skin. It would have been routine to the artisan of ordinary skill to explore other formulations that contain hyaluronic acid or that such a water soluble substance would dissolve in the layer of water on wet skin and absorb much as it does from the aqueous phase of a cream emulsion.
Finally, as explained previously, Applicant is reminded that the claims are directed to the cosmetic product and not the method of use, where the cosmetic product is applied to the skin, e.g., "once placed in contact with the skin is completely absorbable and is able to penetrate the stratum corneum. With respect to the cosmetic product of the prior art being capable or suitable to be absorbed by the skin, Kravchenko as cited, teaches the use of low molecular weight hyaluronic acid penetrates deep into the layers of the skin whereas high molecular weight hyaluronic acid creates a film on the surface of the skin. Further, as evidenced by applicants specification at par. [0061] as noted by Applicant, hyaluronic acid with a molecular mass lower than or equal to 10,000 Da in the electrospun form will necessarily be absorbed by the skin once placed in contact with the skin.
On page 5 Applicant points out that Aiko does not teach the limitation regarding the molecular mass of HA nor the suitability to be absorbed by the skin.
This argument is not persuasive because both of these features are taught by a secondary reference. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, Kravchenko teaches that lower molecular weight HA can be absorbed by the skin, and when it does so that it moisturizes the skin from the inside; however, Aiko does direct the artisan of ordinary skill to the moisturizing benefits of HA in general (Aiko teaches that HA has humectant properties). Therefore, it would have been all the more obvious to actualize the full effects of HA by taking advantage of the known relationship between its molecular weight and its ability to penetrate the skin.
With regard to Applicant’s argument on page 6 that the modification proposed in the obviousness rejection would require “taking a hyaluronic-acid ingredient from Kravchenko's cream, removing it from the emulsion system in which Kravchenko teaches it, incorporating it into Aiko's electrospun nanofiber patch, and then assuming that the resulting electrospun membrane substrate would itself be skin-absorbable” and that the examiner has improperly extrapolated from the penetration behavior of a cream to the absorbability of a materially different electrospun fiber, this is not persuasive because the argument overstates the extent of modification required. Aiko already discloses an electrospun HA fiber. One merely would have had to select the molecular weight of the HA employed in Aiko’s method to be lower than 10KDa. No “removal from a cream” is required. See discussion above regarding reasonable expectation of success.
On page 7, Applicant argues that Aiko teaches a list of polymers for electrospun masks that includes hyaluronic acid and pullulan, and that this is insufficient to render obvious the claimed hyaluronic acid.
The examiner points out that Aiko provides a very short list of polymers to select from and suggests blends in teaching: “mixing single or two or more natural components such as chitosan, collagen, pullulan, cellulose, hyaluronic acid, alginic acid, and silk protein.” Aiko also points out the humectant properties of hyaluronic acid, therefore the primary reference recognized the benefit of hyaluronic acid to the skin and directs the artisan of ordinary skill to also take advantage of this. Finally, the Examiner directs attention to Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Circ. 1989), which states with regards to its more than 1200 combinations: that the prior art “discloses a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious. This is especially true because the claimed composition is used for the identical purpose taught by the prior art.” Furthermore, it is noted that Applicants do not identify any secondary consideration demonstrating criticality or anything unexpected about the combination of two known prior art polymers that been listed by Aiko.
On page 8, Applicant argues that Li does not disclose a cosmetic patch or a skin-absorbable electrospun membrane and Aiko does not disclose that pullulan is a spinning promoter.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 8, Applicant argues that the rejection does not provide an articulated rationale to make the proposed modifications to Aiko. On pages 9-10, Applicant asserts that the Office has used impermissible hindsight.
This ignores the express rationale specifically articulated in the obviousness rejection and in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
On page 9, Applicant argues that the specification explains the technical significance of the mixture and that it modulates the rigidity of the yarn and the three dimensional structure of the non-woven fabric. Applicant argues that at most Rashid suggests using crosslinked hyaluronic acid as an alternative to linear and provides no reason to combine linear and crosslinked HA.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with this position for the reasons expressly articulated in the obviousness rejection above. The cited mechanical effects of crosslinked HA had been recognized as of the instant effective filing date. See above regarding the burden on Applicant to overcome an obviousness rejection with a persuasive showing of unexpected results.
On page 10, Applicant argues that Aiko does not disclose the pullulan HA ratio and Li does not disclose a cosmetic patch product, does not disclose HA as the first compound of Applicant’s claimed electrospun membrane substrate and does not disclose the claimed pullulan ratio. On page 11, Applicant argues that Kravchenko does not disclose or suggest claim 20.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With regard to the ratio recited in claim 20, this limitation has been addressed in the rejection of this claim above. See MPEP 2144.05.
On page 11, Applicant argues that the present specification reports electrospinning examples using pullulan and HA at the claimed ratios and that this verified the effect of the proportions.
This arguments is not persuasive because the ability of pullulan to improve the electropinnability of other polymers had been recognized as of the instant effective filing date. Determining the optimal amount to achieve this recognized effect would have been merely routine for the artisan of ordinary skill, e.g. a highly intelligent individual with a Ph.D. in polymer science. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."). See MPEP 2141.03 and 2144.05(II)(A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17798002 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 8, 9-13, 16-18, and 20-25 of copending Application No. 17798008 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 87, 10, 12-15, 18, 20, and 21 of copending Application No. 17798010 (reference application)
claims 1, 4-10, 15, and 16 of copending Application No. 17798028 (reference application)
claims 1, 4, 5-7, 8, 11-13, and 21-23 of copending Application No. 17798029 (reference application)
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18844848 (reference application); and
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19101023 (reference application)
in view of Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U; publication date: 1/10/2020; of record) and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019); publication date: 10/01/2019; of record).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the copending applications embrace an electrospun mat (i.e. nonwoven fiber) or method for making a electrospun mat comprising fibers electrospun of hyaluronic acid having either pullulan or a 1:1 by weight mixture of alginate and PEO.
The relevant limitations of the copending claims are set forth above and do not recite any limitation requiring a molar mass of less than 10000 Da.
Kravchenko et al. discloses the use of low molecular weight hyaluronic acid of 5-100 kDa in a cosmetic cream. Kravchenko et al. also discloses that low molecular weight hyaluronic acid penetrates into the deep layers of the skin to moisturize the skin from the inside whereas high-molecular weight hyaluronic acid creates a film on the surface of the skin that protects it from moisture loss from the outside (Machine translation page 2, 14th and 15th full paragraphs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use low molecular weight hyaluronic acid because low molecular weight hyaluronic acid allows for penetration into deeper layers of the skin than high molecular weight hyaluronic acid and therefore allows for deep moisturization, as disclosed by Kravchenko et al. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail the electrospinning of low molecular weight hyaluronic acid instead of high molecular weight hyaluronic acid.
The relevant limitations of the copending claims are set forth above and also do not recite a limitation requiring a mixture of linear and crosslinked hyaluronic acid.
Rashid et al. discloses that hyaluronic is a key ingredient in cosmetic and nutricosmetic products but that hyaluronic acid has a short half-life as it undergoes rapid degradation by enzymes present in body tissues (Introduction, Paragraph 3). Rashid et al. also discloses that cross-linked hyaluronic acid hydrogel films can overcome can provide a more robust cosmetic platform than linear hyaluronic acid because they have lower enzymatic degradation rates and lower swelling ratios compared to linear polymers (Introduction, Paragraph 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a mixture of hyaluronic acid with an optimized degree of cross linking in the ‘848 composition because cross-linking hyaluronic acid lowers its enzymatic degradation rates and lowers its swelling ratios compared to the linear polymer, as disclosed by Rashid et al.. Varying the degree of crosslinking in the composition could be done in order to optimize the degradability and physical characteristics of the nonwoven membranes to serve a desired purpose. (See MPEP 2144.05.) The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success because the modification would simply entail the addition of cross-linked hyaluronic acid to the composition mixture.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17798002 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 8, 9-13, 16-18, and 20-25 of copending Application No. 17798008 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 87, 10, 12-15, 18, 20, and 21 of copending Application No. 17798010 (reference application)
claims 1, 4-10, 15, and 16 of copending Application No. 17798028 (reference application)
claims 1, 4, 5-7, 8, 11-13, and 21-23 of copending Application No. 17798029 (reference application)
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18844848 (reference application); and
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19101023 (reference application);
Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U; publication date: 1/10/2020; of record) and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019); publication date: 10/01/2019; of record) as applied to claims 1-3 and 20 above, and further in view of Garcia et al. (US2015/0072008A1; publication date: 03/12/2015; of record).
The relevant limitations of the copending claims are set forth above and do not recite any limitation requiring the presence of an active ingredient.
Garcia et al. discloses a nonwoven membrane comprising at least one therapeutic or cosmetic active agent entangled between the nanofibers, i.e. a membrane substrate comprising at least one active ingredient (Paragraph 0060). The Artisan of skill would have been motivated to add an active agent or cosmetic agent to the composition embraced by the copending claims in order for composition to function as a cosmetic.
Claims 8-12 and 17-17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 17798002 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 8, 9-13, 16-18, and 20-25 of copending Application No. 17798008 (reference application)
claims 1-5, 87, 10, 12-15, 18, 20, and 21 of copending Application No. 17798010 (reference application)
claims 1, 4-10, 15, and 16 of copending Application No. 17798028 (reference application)
claims 1, 4, 5-7, 8, 11-13, and 21-23 of copending Application No. 17798029 (reference application)
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18844848 (reference application); and
claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19101023 (reference application);
Kravchenko et al. (UA139601U; publication date: 1/10/2020; of record) and Rashid et al. (Cosmetics, 6(4), 59. (2019); publication date: 10/01/2019; of record) as applied to claims 1-3 and 20 above, and further in view of, and further in view of Kuribayashi et al. (JP2011006094A; publication date: 01/13/2011) and Halla et al. (Molecules, 23(7), 1571. (2018); publication date: 06/28/2018).
The relevant limitations of the copending claims are set forth above and do not recite a limitation requiring the packaging structures recited in instant claims 8-12 and 17-19.
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a packaging bag for placing a face mask (i.e. a cosmetic patch product). Kuribayashi et al. discloses that the material of the packaging bag, in which the face mask is placed, can be selected from a group of resins including polylactic acid (PLA) (Section 0015).
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a mounting member that is part of the face packaging body and on which the face mask is placed (i.e. a support base that is part of the wrapper) (Section 0014).
Kuribayashi et al. discloses a packaging bag for placing a face mask (i.e. a cosmetic patch product). The packaging bag serves the purpose of a protective coating layer (Section 0015).
Kuribayashi et al. also discloses that the face mask packaging seal is sealed by heat sealing or ultrasonic bonding (Section 0008).
Halla et al. discloses that cosmetics are exposed to microbial contamination and should be protected in packaging (Section 2.3 Paragraph 1). Halla et al. discloses that two levels of protection can be provided by the packaging of cosmetics including protection against contamination during use and protection against accumulation of contamination in the distribution system (Section 3.2.1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ‘848 electrospun composition by placing it in a packaging bag such as that disclosed by Kuribayashi et al. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it protects the nonwoven membrane against contamination as disclosed by Halla et al.. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the modification would simply entail placing the electrospun composition in the packaging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s comment that they will consider filing an appropriate terminal disclaimer, if necessary, once at least one claim is otherwise found allowable is noted. t
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617