DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 19-20 in the reply filed on 09/02/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20are currently under examination and the subject of the present Office Action. Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from consideration without traverse.
As such, the restriction is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 03/14/2024 and 08/05/2022 have been considered here.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(a) and 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834. The examiner has noted that sequences appear in the specification on pages 17 through 21. Applicant must provide:
• A replacement “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2., as well as
• A statement that identifies the location of all additions, deletions, or replacements of sequence information in the “Sequence Listing XML” as required by 1.835(b)(3);
• A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(4);
• A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter in accordance with 1.835(b)(5); and
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “The method of Claim 19” which should read “The method of claim 19”. “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period” MPEP 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo (2015).
Yeo teaches an electrospun fibers (i.e. a yarn) comprising various biodegradable polymers, such as poly (ε-caprolactone) (PCL), and tropoelastin or elastin (i.e., cross-lined tropoelastin monomers organized around a fibrillin-rich microfibrillar structure (see Yeo, introduction, 1.1.)) (see Yeo, Table 3). It is taught that electrospun tropoelastin scaffolds are known to promote positive growth of cells on the scaffold and deposition of matrix protein such as collagen is seen (see Yeo, page 5, paragraph 3). It is worth noting that these properties are discussed in a tropoelastin only scaffold, however it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to understand that the tropoelastin and polymer scaffold would also have the same properties as "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches that the property of promoting the deposition of collagen is due to the tropoelastin, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the same property would be present in a scaffold comprising tropoelastin and a biodegradable polymer.
It is taught that the electrospun scaffolds are used for tissue engineering applications and replacement of soft tissues such as heart, lung, and blood vessels (see Yeo, page 10, paragraph 2).
Yeo does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Yeo with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the method of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the method of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise (2014).
Wise teaches electrospun tissue-engineered scaffold in the form of fibers (i.e., yarn) comprising tropoelastin and synthetic or natural polymers (see Wise, 3.1.2. electrospun materials). The electrospun tropoelastin is taught to have support the expression of ECM proteins including collagen type I (see Wise, 3.1.2. electrospun materials, final paragraph). The polymers used in the composition are taught to be polycaprolactone, collagen, and silk fibroin, which are all taught to be biodegradable (see Wise, 4.1 and 4.2.). It is taught that the scaffolds are placed on wounds to allow for healing (i.e., implanted on the tissue of an individual) (see Wise, 3.1.2. electrospun materials, final paragraph).
It is worth noting that the above properties are discussed in a tropoelastin scaffold, without specifying the polymer in the scaffold, however it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to understand that the tropoelastin and polymer scaffold comprising polycaprolactone, collagen, and silk fibroinwould also have the same properties as "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches that the property of promoting the deposition of collagen occurs when tropoelastin is in the scaffold, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the same property would be present in a scaffold comprising tropoelastin and a biodegradable polymer.
Wise does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Wise with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the method of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the method of the instant claims with predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of copending Application No. 17757693 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are drawn to a hybrid polymeric material comprising a tropoelastin and a copolymer of a polyol monomer and a polycarboxylic acid monomer (i.e., a biodegradable polymer). It is taught in the claims that the hybrid polymeric material comprises fiber and is used in a tissue scaffold (see claims 9 and 16. Further it is taught that the scaffold is made thought electrospinning (see claim 28). Finally a method of regenerating tissue using the scaffold is taught as well (see claim 34). The dependent claims further specify the components of the scaffold, methods of making the scaffold, and uses of the scaffold. As such, while the claims of the reference application are not identical, they are not patentably distinct as they cover the same composition and method of tissue repair as the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1611