DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 14 November 2025 in which claims 1 and 2 were amended to change the scope and breadth of the claims.
Claims 1-7 are pending in the current application. Claims 5-7 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-4 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation “R2 is OH, R3 is OH” in claim 1 renders the claim, and dependent claims 3 and 4 herein indefinite. The 5’-terminal ribose would contain two chemically unstable peroxy moieties if R2 and R3 were defined as “OH”. For purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted as if “R2 is H and R3 is H”.
Claim 1 also recites a definition for R4, however, R4 is not a variable recited in the compound.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 July 2014 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends a definition for R2 has now been provided.
The argument is not found persuasive, since the definition provided for R2 would result in a chemically unstable peroxy moiety.
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Modified Rejections
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicant's amendment, filed on 07 November 2025, where the limitations in pending claim 1 as amended now have been changed. Therefore, rejections from the previous Office Action, dated 14 July 2025, have been modified and are listed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogrefe et al. (WO 2017/053297, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Jemielity et al. (WO2017/130151, cited in previous Office Action).
Hogrefe et al. teach preparing 5’-capped RNAs having the general formula: m7Gppp[N2’OMe]n[N]m, wherein N is any natural, modified or unnatural nucleoside, “n” can be any integer from 0 to 4 and “m” can be an integer from 1 to 9 (abstract). In certain embodiments, the initiating capped oligonucleotide primer is a trimer, and includes m7GpppA(2’OMe)pG (p.25-26, para [00111], Table 1):
. Hogrefe et al. teach “the presence of the m7Gppp fragment on the 5’-end is essential for mRNA maturation, it protects the mRNA from degradation by exonucleases, facilitates transport of mRNAs from the nucleus to the cytoplasm and plays a key role in assembly of the translation initiation complex” (para [0006]). “Another element of eukaryotic mRNA is the presence of 2’-O-methyl nucleoside residues at transcript position 1 (Cap 1), and in some cases, at transcript positions 1 and 2 (Cap 2). The 2’-O methylation of mRNA is required for higher efficacy of mRNA translation in vivo…and further improves nuclease stability of the 5’-capped mRNA.” (para [0008]).
While Hogrefe et al. teach m7GpppA(2’OMe)pG, also referred to as m7GpppAmpG, Hogrefe et al. do not expressly disclose wherein present X3 is -S- (elected species m7Gppp5’sAmpG, present claim 2).
Jemielity et al. teach 5’-phosphorothiolate mRNA 5’-end cap analogs comprising a compound of formula 1:
, wherein B includes formula 3, adenine:
, and L1 and L2 are independently selected from the group consisting of O and S, wherein at least one of L1 and L2 is not O (p.5-6). Jemielity teach compound 22: m7Gppp5’SG:
(p.5-6; claim 2). Jemielity et al. teach the 5’-phosphorothiolate moiety increases mRNA stability and biosynthesis efficiency of protein encoded by that mRNA in the cells (p.4:28-32). Jemielity et al. teach preparing analogs wherein at least one of oxygen atoms in position 5’ was replaced by a sulfur atom (p.4:15-17). Jemielity et al. teach the relative translation efficiency of m27,2’-OGpppSG was 2.23 ± 0.31 relative to m7GpppG (table 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify m7GpppAmpG of Hogrefe et al. to include a 5’-phosphorothiolate moiety to give m7Gppp5’sAmpG, because Jemielity found replacing oxygen with sulfur at either 5’-positions increased the compound’s stability and translation efficiency relative to m7GpppG.
In the same field of invention, Hogrefe et al. and Jemielity et al. describe preparing mRNA 5’-cap analogs having improved stability relative to m7GpppG. While Hogrefe et al. recognize incorporation of a 2’-OMe at the second nucleotide improves stability, m7Gppp[N2’OMe]m[N]m, Jemielity et al. recognize substitution of an oxygen for a sulfur atom at either 5’-positions improved stability and translation efficiency.
Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting an -O- for an -S- to obtain a 5’-cap suitable for incorporation into mRNA.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify the teachings of Hogrefe with the teachings of Jemielity. Applicant argues Hogrefe is concerned with the efficient, co-transcriptional synthesis of RNA with Cap1 or Cap2 structures, wherein the oligonucleotide primers are trimers or longer. Applicant argues Jemielity is concerned with dinucleotide caps, and does not teach replacing an oxygen for a sulfur in trinucleotide caps. Applicant further argues one having ordinary skill in the art would not have combined the two references together because they are each concerned with providing solutions to different technical problems.
The above arguments are not found persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both references are concerned with preparing 5’-cap analogs that are useful for the in vitro synthesis of 5’-capped RNA molecules. Hogrefe acknowledges 2’-O-methylation improves nuclease stability (para [0008]). And while Jemielity is concerned with targeting or inhibiting DcpS, Jemielity also expressly teaches the mRNAs modified at the 5’-end with analogs containing 5’-phosphorothiolate moiety have an increased stability and translational activity in cellular conditions (abstract). Thus, both prior art references are concerned with using the 5’-cap analogs for the in vitro synthesis of 5’-capped RNA molecules.
Applicant further contends dinucleotides have opposite effects on translational properties as trinucleotides.
Applicant has not provided any specific examples or explanation of any specific properties. For example, there is no explanation as to which compounds were tested, and for what they were tested.
Applicant also argues modifying Hogrefe’s already DcpS-resistant ARCA primer with modifications taught by Jemielity that increase resistance to DcpS would either be redundant, or exacerbate the risk of cellular toxicity, thereby teaching away from the combination.
The above argument is not found persuasive. It’s not clear how Applicant is arguing the references are directed towards solving fundamentally different problems, and yet redundant at the same time.
Both references are concerned with preparing 5’-capped RNAs that are stable to in vitro transcription. One having ordinary skill in the art would have looked to different analogs for how stability has been improved upon.
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hogrefe et al. (cited above) in view of Kuhn et al. (WO 2019/175356, cited above).
Hogrefe et al. teach as discussed above, including specifically m7GpppA(2’OMe)pG, which can also be written as m7GpppAmpG:
. Furthermore, Hogrefe et al. teach the compounds have better capping efficiency than with the ARCA analog m7G3’OMepppG (Anti-Reverse Cap Analogs (ARCA)), (Example 17).
While Hogrefe et al. teach m7GpppAmpG, Hogrefe et al. do not expressly disclose wherein present X2 is -S-, i.e. m7GppSpAmpG.
Kuhn et al. teach preparing 5’-cap trinucleotide compounds, wherein the 5’-cap compounds contain at least one phosphorothioate, phosphorselenoate and/or boranophosphate moiety in the phosphate bridge between the first and second nucleotide, and wherein the second nucleotide is blocked at its 2’-position (abstract, title, p.1:5-17). The aforementioned chemical modifications improve the stability of RNA having these 5’-cap compounds and translation efficiency (Example 4, p.120).
Kuhn et al. teach a compound of formula (I):
, wherein R2 and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of H, halo, OH, and optionally substituted alkoxy; R4 and R6 are independently selected from the group consisting of O and S; and R5 is selected from the group consisting of S, Se, and BH3 (p.69-70; claim 1).
Kuhn et al. exemplify
(fig. 2): m7,2-OMeGppspGpG.
It would have been obvious to prepare a 5’-cap where R1 is CH3; R2 and R3 are H; X2 is S; X1, X5, X3, X4 are oxygen; and Base1 is G or A, because Kuhn et al. teach 5’-cap trinucleotide compounds containing at least one phosphorothioate, phosphoroselenoate and/or boranophosphate moiety between the first and second nucleotide showed improved mRNA stability and translation efficiency.
It also would have been obvious to substitute G in m27,3-OGppspGmpG with A to give m7GppspAmpG with a reasonable expectation of success in preparing an RNA molecule having a stable 5’-trinucleotide cap.
Starting from Hogrefe et al., one having ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the teachings of Kuhn, because they are both concerned with improving the translation efficiency compared to known ARCA analogs. While the compounds exemplified in Kuhn are blocked at the 2’-position, Kuhn is still relevant for teaching it need not be blocked. Hogrefe et al. also demonstrate one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success using compounds without blocking at the 2’-position and 3’-position for in vitro RNA transcription.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teaching of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Kuhn, Applicant contends the presently claimed compounds possess a surprising and advantageous property not taught by Kuhn. Applicant contends Kuhn’s invention is directed to ARCA-type trinucleotides, wherein the second nucleotide is blocked at its 2’-position. The blocking of the 2’- or 3’-OH groups of the 7-methylguanosine is an essential feature in the compounds taught by Kuhn, to prevent reverse incorporation and enhance stability. Applicant argues the presently amended claims define R2 is OH and R3 is OH (i.e. R2 and R3 is H). Applicant argues the claimed compounds as amended are fundamentally different from Kuhn’s ARCA-based compounds. And Applicant argues one having ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to arrive at the claimed invention.
The above arguments are not found persuasive because Kuhn expressly teaches a genus of compounds which would include the presently claimed compounds where R2 and R3 are H (i.e. hydroxyl groups). Furthermore, Hogrefe et al. is now cited in combination with Kuhn for expressly teaching 5’-cap trinucleotide analogs wherein R2 and R3 are H.
Starting from Hogrefe et al., one having ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the teachings of Kuhn, because they are both concerned with improving the translation efficiency compared to established ARCA analogs. While the compounds exemplified in Kuhn are blocked at the 2’-position, Kuhn is still relevant for teaching it need not be blocked. Hogrefe et al. also demonstrate one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success using compounds without blocking at the 2’-position and 3’-position for in vitro RNA transcription.
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 17/798,099 in view of Hogrefe et al. (cited above).
The claims of the reference application are directed towards a compound of formula:
(claim 1).
The difference between the claims of the reference application and the present application, is the reference application has defined R5 as a benzyl or substituted benzyl group. The present claims do not require a benzylated adenosine moiety.
Hogrefe et al. teach in certain embodiments, the initiating capped oligonucleotide primer is a trimer, and includes m7GpppA(2’OMe)pG (p.25-26, para [00111], Table 1):
.
It would have been obvious to modify the compound of the reference application wherein the adenine base is not benzylated, because Hogrefe et al. teach trinucleotide compounds which function as a 5’cap for RNA having an unmodified adenine base.
Thus, the present claims are prima facie obvious over the claims of the reference application in view of Hogrefe et al.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the claims of the current compound are not exactly the same as the compounds of the reference Application.
The above arguments are not found persuasive because Hogrefe et al. teach trinucleotide compounds which function as a 5’cap for RNA having an unmodified adenine base.
The rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections to the pending claims set forth above, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAHAR CRAIGO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1699