DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7 April 2025 and 8 August 2022 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites the limitation “each of the piezoelectric elements” in line 7, it should be changed to “each of the first and second piezoelectric elements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “the piezoelectric element” (in singularity) in line 2 and lines 4-5, these limitations are lack of sufficient antecedent basis because claim 17 depends on claim 16 which discloses “piezoelectric elements” (in plurality) in line 2.
Claim 18 recites the limitations “the piezoelectric element” (in singularity) in line 2 and lines 4-5, these limitations are lack of sufficient antecedent basis because claim 18 depends on claim 16 which discloses “piezoelectric elements” (in plurality) in line 2.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first piezoelectric element" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second piezoelectric element" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner’s note: for the purpose of examination, two piezoelectric elements are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Piotr et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090127974).
Regarding independent claim 1, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses an ultrasonic linear motor (FIG. 5) comprising: a vibrating body (10, 20, 25) including an elastic body (20) and a first piezoelectric element (10) and a second piezoelectric element (10) which are attached to two surfaces of the elastic body (20); a first weight (25) and a second weight (25) which are disposed on two side end portions of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25); a moving shaft (30) which is coupled to a central portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25) and moves according to a displacement of each of the piezoelectric elements (10); and a moving body (40) which is fitted to the moving shaft (30) and moves on the moving shaft (30).
Regarding claim 2, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on one upper end portion of the first piezoelectric element (10); and piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 3, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on one lower end portion of the second piezoelectric element (10); and the second weight (25) is disposed on the other lower end portion of the second piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 4, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on one side surface portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25); and the second weight (25) is disposed on the other side surface portion the vibrating body (10, 20, 25).
Regarding claim 5, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on each of two side surface portions of the first piezoelectric element (10); and the second weight (25) is disposed on each of two side surface portions of the second piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 6, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first piezoelectric element (10) and the first weight (25) are disposed on one surface of the elastic body (20); and the second piezoelectric element (10) and the second weight (25) are disposed on the other surface of the elastic body (20).
Regarding claim 7, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses connection members (connection lines from top and bottom 10 and connection line from 20) through which electric signals are applied to the elastic body (20), the first piezoelectric element (10), and the second piezoelectric element (10), wherein the connection members (connection lines from top and bottom 10 and connection line from 20) include: a first connection member connected to one side of the elastic body (20); a second connection member connected to one side of the first piezoelectric element (10); and a third connection member connected to one side of the second piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 8, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the second connection member is disposed between the first weight (25) and the first piezoelectric element (10) or disposed between the second weight (25) and the first piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 9, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the third connection member is disposed on a lower portion of the second piezoelectric element (10) corresponding to the second weight (25) or disposed on a lower portion of the first piezoelectric element (10) corresponding to the first weight (25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piotr et al. (U. S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 20090127974).
Regarding claim 10, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a length of each of the first piezoelectric element and the second piezoelectric element is two or more times a width thereof; and a thickness of each of the first piezoelectric element and the second piezoelectric element is 1/10 or less of the length.
Regarding claim 11, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a length of the weight is 1/5 or less of a length of the first piezoelectric element or the second piezoelectric element.
Regarding claim 12, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the weight is less than 1 mm.
Regarding claim 14, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the elastic body is 1 to 1.5 times a thickness of the first piezoelectric element or the second piezoelectric element.
Regarding claim 15, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a length of the moving shaft (30) is 2.5 to 3.5 times a length of the elastic body.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known structures and applications of the piezoelectric linear motors for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the weight, the shaft, the elastic body, the first and second piezoelectric elements to certain proportions of width, length and thickness in order to obtain the parameters for the purpose of improving the performance of the piezoelectric linear motors. The parameters include speed, displacement, stiffness, force, resolution and electrical characteristics which are decided by the proportions and/or combinations of width, length and thickness of the weight, the shaft, the elastic body, the first and second piezoelectric elements of the piezoelectric linear motors.
Furthermore, the Applicants fail to identify the specific problems that are solved by the limitations of claims 10-12 and 14-15.
Regarding claim 13, Piotr et al. does not explicitly disclose a material of the weight is stainless.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known structures and applications of the piezoelectric linear motors for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use stainless as a material of the weight for the purpose of adding the stiffness and strength to the structure of the motor. It is well known in the art that the stainless provides advantages like corrosion resistance, durability, and hygienic properties, making it suitable for harsh or clean environments.
Regarding independent claim 16, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses an ultrasonic linear motor (FIG. 5) comprising: a vibrating body (10, 20, 25) including an elastic body (20) and piezoelectric elements (10); a first weight (25 on left or right) disposed on one side end portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25); and a second weight (25 on right or left) disposed on the other side end portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25).
Piotr et al. doesn’t explicitly disclose “sizes and weights of the first weight and the second weight are the same.”
However, Piotr et al. (see [0057]) discloses “a fixed edge 25 may be provided around the circumference of the elastic body 20 to fasten the linear motor to the support surface. The fixed edge 25 may serve to prevent the linear motor from undesirably moving due to the vibration of the piezoelectric or electrostrictive substrate 10.” Therefore would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known structures and applications of the piezoelectric linear motors for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the two fixed edges to have the same sizes and weights because in order to use the fixed edges to maintain the desired movement for the linear motor the sizes and weights of the fixed edges must be equal to provide the vibration of the piezoelectric substrate with the balance and stability.
Regarding claim 17, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25 on left or right) is disposed on one upper end portion (25 can be on either upper end or lower end of 10 based on FIG. 5) of the piezoelectric element (10); and the second weight (25 on right or left) is disposed on the other upper end portion (25 can be on either other upper end or other lower end of 10 based on FIG. 4) of the piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 18, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on one lower end portion (25 can be on either upper end or lower end of 10 based on FIG. 5) of the piezoelectric element (10); and the second weight (25) is disposed on the other lower end portion (25 can be on either other upper end or other lower end of 10 based on FIG. 5) of the piezoelectric element (10).
Regarding claim 19, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on one side surface portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25); and the second weight (25) is disposed on the other side surface portion of the vibrating body (10, 20, 25).
Regarding claim 20, Piotr et al. (e. g. see FIG. 5) discloses the first weight (25) is disposed on each of two side surface portions of the first piezoelectric element (10); and the second weight (25) is disposed on each of two side surface portions of the second piezoelectric element (10).
Examiner’s Note:
In this Office Action, Examiner has cited particular figures, column numbers, paragraph numbers, and line numbers of the prior arts applied in the rejections. However, other figures and passages of the same prior arts may anticipate the claim limitations as well. Therefore, Applicants are respectfully requested to consider the prior arts in their entirety as potentially teaching claimed invention.
For amendment purpose, Applicants are very much appreciated for indicating the portion(s) of the specification which dictates the structure(s) relied on for proper interpretation as well as for verification and determination of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Applicants’ indication of the specific figures and items of figures which represent features of the invention disclosed in the amended claims, is also expected.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art(s) is/are provided and made of record by the Examiner as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon, the examiner requests that the reference(s) be considered in any subsequent amendments, as the reference(s) is also representative of the teachings of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon et al. (U. S. Patent No. 7567017) discloses a piezoelectric linear motor for amplifying the change in at least one dimension of a piezoelectric material. A shaft is connected axial-movably to a piezoelectric actuator. The actuator includes a piezoelectric ceramic that expands or contracts in response to an applied voltage. The expansion or contraction of the piezoelectric ceramic is amplified by converting the displacement due to expansion/contraction into a greater displacement of a top plate to which the shaft is coupled.
Contact Information
7 November 2025
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837