DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 12 January 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 30, line 2, the phrase “at the least one” should be changed to “the at least one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 37 recites “wherein one or more process steps for producing the threaded hole are carried out by a receptacle in which the tool can be mechanically controlled”. However, the specification does not disclose a receptacle or any element that could be considered to be a receptacle.
Claims 22, 24, 34-35, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "a radial offset" in line 3. However, there is already antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making it unclear whether this limitation refers to the same radial offset or a different radial offset. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that this limitation refers to a different radial offset.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “and so having an axial distance corresponding to the radial offset”. It is unclear how the axial distance corresponds to the radial offset. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that the axial distance and the radial offset are identical.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "at cutting edge corners" in line 4. However, there is already antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, making it unclear whether this limitation refers to the same cutting edge corners or different cutting edge corners. For the purposes of examination, it has been assumed that this limitation refers to the same cutting edge corners.
Claim 35 depends from claim 34, claim 39 depends from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 24, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turchan (US 5,413,438).
Regarding claim 20, Turchan discloses a method for producing a workpiece threaded hole by a tapping tool 10, with a drilling stroke (see figure 3), comprising: driving a rotating tapping tool into the workpiece 18 in a drilling direction to a nominal drilling depth, and so forming a thread-free pilot hole (see column 3, lines 32-38), and with a tapping stroke in which the tapping tool produces an internal thread in the pilot hole with a tapping feed rate and a tapping speed synchronized therewith (see column 3, lines 39-50), wherein for preparing the tapping stroke, a reversing stroke takes place after the drilling stroke (see column 3, lines 39-40), in which the tapping tool is guided out of the pilot hole in a reversing direction opposite to the drilling direction to such an extent (see column 3, lines 39-43), wherein the tapping tool is radially displaced in an offset stroke by a radial offset (orbital motion), wherein in the tapping stroke, the radially controlled, rotating tapping tool is guided in a circular rotary motion along a circular path 36 about the hole axis 32 (see figure 4), and wherein, in the tapping stroke, the tool rotation and the tool circular motion take place in the same direction of rotary motion and at the same rotational speed, wherein the tapping tool has a thread generating section, wherein the thread generating section 24 has at least one, or several, thread teeth (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 24, Turchan discloses wherein in the drilling stroke a tool axis (W) and the hole axis are coaxial to each other (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 36, Turchan discloses wherein the process steps for producing the threaded hole are carried out by a CNC control (see column 3, lines 10-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 23, 25-27, and 29-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22, 34-35, 37, and 39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the phrase “wherein one or more process steps for producing the threaded hole are carried out by a receptacle in which the tool can be mechanically controlled” would be understood by a person skilled in the art. This is not persuasive because it is not clear how a receptacle can carry out one or more process steps for producing the threaded hole, as a receptacle is defined as an object or space used to contain something. The term “receptacle” does not imply any kind of control system that could be used to carry out the process steps, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand how a receptacle could provide this function.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) that remain in the office action have not been amended or addressed by the Applicant.
Applicant argues that Turchan does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 28 (now incorporated into claim 20). This does not overcome the rejection of claim 20 because these additional limitations are incorporated into the claim using “and/or” statements, such that these additional limitations have been treated using the “or” alternative, and as such are considered optional limitations in the claim.
For the reasons set forth above, the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 5 March 2026