DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claims 1-4 and 6-8 as well as the addition of claim 18. Currently claims 1-18 are pending with claims 9-17 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelkar et al. (US 2019/0060998 A1) in view of Takakusa (US 2019/0299683).
With regards to claims 1 and 18, Kelkar teaches a method for determining a distance in a device for producing a three-dimensional object by layer-wise solidification of a building material in a working plane on a building base (Abstract, Fig. 1, ¶ 0046). Kelkar teaches that the device comprises at least one recoating element (Fig. 3A, 300) that can be moved in a recoating direction (301) across the working plane for applying a layer of building material. As seen in Figure 3A the recoating element is spaced apart from an article (302) placed on the building base thus forming a gap between the recoating element and the building base or article placed on the building base (¶ 0054 discusses the z-height difference between the recoater and the bed surface). Kelkar teaches utilizing sensors (316, 317) to determine the z-height of the recoating element in order to adjust the height of the recoater (¶ 0046, 0054). While Kelkar teaches that these sensors may be used in conjunction with known prior art non-contact sensors usable for determining a height (¶ 0046), Kelkar does not explicitly discuss a sensor comprising a beam source and beam detector placed on opposite sides of the recoating element as claimed.
Reasonably pertinent to the particular problem faced by the inventors in determining the height of a material deposition means in a non-contact manner and in the same field of endeavor of additive manufacturing, Takakusa teaches a non-contact height sensor used to determine the height difference between the 3D printed object (15) and the material deposition means (26) (Fig. 2, Fig. 18-22). Takakusa teaches that the non-contact height sensor comprises emitting a number of directed beams (L1, L2) using a number of beam sources (56a, 57a) (¶ 0167-0169). The beams are detected using at least a first detector (56b, 57b) placed on an opposite side of the recoating element from the beam emitter (¶ 0170). The emitters and sensors can be moved in the z-axis direction so that beams in the gap between the deposition means (26) and the build surface (15) traverse laterally in the gap (Fig. 20A-C). Takakusa teaches determining the distance between the deposition means and the build surface based on the signal generated from at least the first detector using an evaluation unit (5) (¶ 0180-192).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have utilized the non-contact distance determining means of Takakusa in the process of Kelkar as both relate to measuring the height between a material deposition device and a build surface in an additive manufacturing process presenting a reasonable expectation of success. Kelkar teaches that additional known non-contact height sensors can be used prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art. Doing so utilizes a known prior art height sensor to improve a similar device in the same way yielding predictable results as discussed in MPEP 2143.I.D.
With regards to claim 2, as seen in Figures 21-26 of Takakusa height determinations include comparing the measure height curve to the previous reference height curve.
With regards to claim 3, Kelkar and Takakusa both teach adjusting the height of the recoater/material deposition unit as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
With regards to claim 4, as seen in Figure 1 of Kelkar the build system includes a movable piston on which the build material is provided. Takakusa likewise as seen in Figure 18 and 20A-C discuses relative movement of the sensors and the build material with multiple measurement points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to move the base as relative movement requires one of the two objects to move presenting a finite number of predictable options. Additionally, both teach adjusting the height of the recoating element which can also be achieved by adjusting the height of the bed in the alternative as the bed also has the ability to adjust height without further modification.
With regards to claim 5, as seen in Figure 4B of Kelkar and Figure 1 of Takakusa, build chambers include a depth dimension. While Kelkar is silent with respect to a second array of sensing elements along the longitudinal length of the recoating device the mere duplication of parts has been held to present a case of prima facie obviousness in the absence of new or unexpected results as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.IV. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to duplicate the sensors along the longitudinal extension of the recoater to increase accuracy of the height in the additional dimension that already exists.
With regards to claim 6, Takakusa teaches capturing height at a plurality of positions (Fig. 18-26).
With regards to claim 7, Takakusa does not explicitly teach including a number and spacing of beams such that the cross-section of the beams is greater than the gap between the recoater and the build surface; however, this presents a case of obviousness as it is controlled by the known variables of the number of the beams and the desired gap between the recoater and the build base. Barring a showing of unexpected results it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a number of beams necessary to provide the desired span of measurement.
With regards to claim 8, Takakusa teaches a monotonic determination in that the signal is either blocked or not blocked in order to determine distance between the recoating means and the build plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743