DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 12/01/2025.
Claims 1-12 and 35-51 are pending. Claims 1-10 are being examined. Claims 13-34 are canceled. Claims 11-12 and 35-51 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1 and 3 are amended with no new subject matter being introduced.
New grounds of rejection are made in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lv et al. (Lv et al., "A simple method for detecting and quantifying microplastics utilizing fluorescent dyes – Safranine T, Fluorescein isophosphate, Nile red based on thermal expansion and contraction property”, Environmental Pollution, 55 (2019), 11 pages) in view of Qu et al. (Qu et al., “Using acs-22 mutant Caenorhabditis elegans to detect the toxicity of nanopolystyrene particles”, Science of the Total Environment 643 (2018) 119-126).
Considering claims 1 and 3, Lv teaches a nanoplastic or microplastic particle comprising a nanoplastic or microplastic polymer/polymer composite/polymeric matrix (i.e., polyethylene, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride and polyethylene terephthalate plastic particles) and a fluorescent tag (i.e., fluorescent dyes to stain four common plastic particles) (Lv, abstract).
Lv teaches the fluorescent tag is Fluorescein isophosphate (FITC), Nile Red, or Safranine T (Lv, section 2.2 on page 2), he does not explicitly teach that it is rhodamine-B.
However, Qu teaches labeling particles of nanopolystyrene with rhodamine-B to assess the potential toxicity of nano plastics on environmental organisms (Qu, section 2.1 and 3.2). Thus, Qu teaches tagging nanopolystyrene particles with rhodamine-B to track the distribution and location of the nanopolystyrene particles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use rhodamine-B as the fluorescent tag for the nanoplastic polymer. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so because rhodamine-B is known to be suitable as a fluorescent tag for a nanoplastic polymer.
Considering claim 2, Lv teaches the microplastic polymer, polymer composite, or polymer matrix is polystyrene (PS), polyethylene (PE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), or polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Lv, abstract, section 2.1 on page 2).
Considering claims 4 and 6-7, Lv teaches the fluorescent tag comprises a bioconjugate, the nanoplastic/microplastic particle comprises a functionalized surface selected from the claimed chemical groups wherein the fluorescent tag is associated with the functionalized surface by teaching that the amino group at one end of the silane reagent can be bonded to the isothiocyano group on the FITC dye, and the siloxy group at the other end can be bonded to the hydroxyl group on the plastic, thereby allowing the plastic to be fluorescently labeled (Lv, section 2.3 on page 2).
Considering claim 5, Lv teaches the fluorescent tag is distributed throughout the polymer matrix by teaching the dye molecules can enter inside the microplastics (Lv, 1st column, 2nd paragraph on page 2).
Considering claims 8-10, Lv teaches particle sizes of less than 100 microns (Lv, section 2.1 on page 2). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges of about less than one micron, less than about 500 nm, and less than about 100 nm overlap the range taught by Lv (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Lv does not teach the fluorescent tag is rhodamine-B have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration and in light of the amendments, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Qu.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734