DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority to PCTCN2020074593 filed on 02/10/2020 and PCTCN2020113457 filed on 09/04/2020. This application is also a 371 of PCT/US2021/017219 filed on 02/02/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 04/15/2025 has been acknowledged and is considered.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 08/08/2022 are accepted by the Examiner.
Election/Restriction Requirement – Response to Arguments
Applicant argued there would not be a serious search burden on the Examiner to search all sequences.
The burden of search is not a criteria for 371 applications. The burden of search applies to US practice applications only. Any prior statements made regarding the burden of search were inadvertent and the Examiner apologizes for any inconvenience caused.
Amendments and Claim Status
Claims 5 – 19 are currently pending.
Claims 6 – 13 are withdrawn.
Claims 5 and 14 – 19 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections
Objections – Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the abstract are persuasive. Thus, the objection is withdrawn.
Maintenance of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allain et al. (WO2005069840A2, 08/04/2005) (IDS Reference) and Morlon-Guyot et al. (DNA Sequence, 07/11/2009).
Regarding claim 5, Allain et al. disclose a process for producing a fermentation product from milled starch-containing material comprising: (a) saccharifying milled starch-containing material with a glucoamylase having an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO:2, or a glucoamylase being at least 70% identical thereto, at a temperature below the initial gelatinization temperature of said starch-containing material, (b) fermenting using a fermenting organism (Claim 1). The process of any of claims 1-3, wherein an acid alpha-amylase is present (Claim 14). The starch-containing material is obtained from corn, cobs, wheat, barley, rye, milo, sago, cassava, manioc, tapioca, sorghum, rice or potatoes (Claim 31). The instant Specification notes any raw starch starting material can be used, including whole grains, corn, wheat, barley, rye, milo, sago, cassava, tapioca, sorghum, rice, peas, beans, or sweet potatoes, or mixtures thereof or starches derived there from, or cereals (Specification, Page 17, Lines 33-37). As such, the disclosure of claim 31 reads on a raw starch material.
Allain et al. does not disclose wherein the alpha-amylase has at least 85% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO:14 or SEQ ID NO: 15.
However, Morlon-Guyot et al. disclose detection of an α-amylase gene in L. manihotivorans strain LMG 18010T that had more than 98% nucleotide sequence identities with L. amylovorous and L. plantarum α-amylase genes (Abstract). The α-amylase gene in L. manihotivorans strain LMG 18010T detected by Morlon-Guyot et al. shares 92.9% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 15. The sequence alignment between the α-amylase gene in L. manihotivorans strain LMG 18010T and instant SEQ ID NO: 15 is shown below.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized an alpha-amylase with at least 85% sequence identity to the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO:15, including the strain disclosed by Morlon-Guyot et al., in the method of Allain et al. as it amounts to simple substitution of one known alpha-amylase for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Allain et al. disclose in a preferred embodiment saccharification and fermentation are carried out simultaneously (Page 3, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 17, Allain et al. disclose fermenting organisms include fungal organisms, such as yeast (Page 7, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 18, Allain et al. disclose wherein the fermentation product is an alcohol, preferably ethanol (Claim 28).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allain et al. (WO2005069840A2, 08/04/2005) (IDS Reference) and Morlon-Guyot et al. (DNA Sequence, 07/11/2009) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Olsen et al. (US20040115779A1, 06/17/2004).
The teachings of Allain et al. and Morlon-Guyot et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, neither Allain et al. nor Morlon-Guyot et al. disclose wherein the fermenting organism expresses the alpha-amylase or the glucoamylase in situ during fermentation.
However, Olsen et al. disclose a process for producing a fermentation product, comprising a fermentation step, wherein the fermentation step is carried out in the presence of all of the following enzyme activities: carbohydrate-source generating enzyme activity, alpha-amylase activity, protease activity and debranching enzyme activity (Paragraph [0009]), reading on the fermenting organism expressing the alpha-amylase and glucoamylase in situ during fermentation. Further, the term “carbohydrate-source generating enzyme” includes glucoamylases (being a glucose generator) (Paragraph [0015]). Performing the fermentation step in the presence of all of the activities of the invention have been shown to result in increased fermentation rate and ethanol yield (Paragraph [0011]).
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2143(I)(A)(C). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the fermenting organism to express the alpha-amylase and glucoamylase during the fermentation step, reading on in situ during fermentation, in the method of Allain et al. motivated by the desire to increase the fermentation rate and ethanol yield as taught by Olsen et al. as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and to improve upon a known technique to improve the method.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allain et al. (WO2005069840A2, 08/04/2005) (IDS Reference) and Morlon-Guyot et al. (DNA Sequence, 07/11/2009) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Vind et al. (WO2014177541A2, 11/06/2014).
The teachings of Allain et al. and Morlon-Guyot et al. are discussed above.
Regarding claim 19, neither Allain et al. nor Morlon-Guyot et al. disclose wherein the glucoamylase comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18, or has an amino acid sequence that is at least 85% identical to SEQ ID NO:18.
However, Vind et al. disclose a glucoamylase variant with glucoamylase activity represented by SEQ ID NO: 3 that shares 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 18.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a glucoamylase with at least 85% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 18, including the glucoamylase variant disclosed by Vind et al., in the combined method of Allain et al. and Morlon-Guyot et al. as it amounts to simple substitution of one known glucoamylase for another to obtain predictable results.
103 Rejection - Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued the relationship between instant SEQ ID NO. 15 and the sequence of Morlon-Guyot et al. is alleged because a sequence was not presented.
A sequence alignment has been added to the rejection above to prove the sequence identity between instant SEQ ID NO. 15 and the sequence of Morlon-Guyot et al.
Applicant further argued they are unclear “how a gene which is comprised of DNA can have any homology to a polypeptide that has amino acids.”
The Examiner is unclear what Applicant is referring to with this statement. The DNA sequence of a gene can be converted to an amino acid sequence easily. Additionally, the elected sequence, SEQ ID NO. 15, is represented with an amino acid sequence, as is the sequence of Morlon-Guyot et al. The Examiner made no mention of a DNA sequence, other than to cite the publisher of the non-patent literature authored by Morlon-Guyot et al. The Examiner has not compared a DNA sequence to an amino acid sequence anywhere in the rejection.
Applicant argued the rejection over claims 14 – 19 should be withdraw because those claims are dependent upon independent claim 5, and a prima facie case of obviousness over claim 5 has not been established.
Applicant’s arguments have been full considered but are not persuasive. As mentioned above, the rejection over Allain et al. and Morlon-Guyot still stands, and a sequence alignment has been provided.
Double Patenting
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. US 9879241 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a process for producing a fermentation product with a starch material using a glucoamylase, an alpha-amylase and a fermenting organism. Claims 13 and 14 of ‘241 are drawn to a process for producing a fermentation product corresponding to instant claim 5.
Claims 5, 14 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 13, 28, 30 and 31 of U.S. Patent No. US 7618795 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a starch hydrolysis process comprising subjecting the material to a temperature below the initial gelatinization temperature in the presence of a glucoamylase and an alpha-amylase. Claims 1, 6 and 13 of ‘795 are drawn to a starch hydrolysis process utilizing a glucoamylase and an-alpha amylase corresponding to instant claim 5. Claim 28 of ‘795 is drawn to a process of a fermentation product corresponding to instant claim 5. Claim 30 of ‘795 is drawn to a process for the production of fuel ethanol corresponding to instant claim 18. Claim 31 of ‘795 indicates the fermentation and hydrolysis occur simultaneously, corresponding to instant claim 14.
Claims 5, 14 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 8105801 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both encompass a starch hydrolysis process comprising subjecting the material to a temperature below the initial gelatinization temperature in the presence of a glucoamylase and/or an alpha-amylase. Claim 1 of ‘801 is drawn to a starch hydrolysis process utilizing an alpha-amylase or a glucoamylase corresponding to instant claim 5. Claim 15 of ‘801 is drawn to a process for production of a fermentation product corresponding to instant claim 5. Claim 17 of ‘801 is drawn to a process for production of fuel ethanol corresponding to instant claim 18. Claim 18 of ‘801 indicates the fermentation and hydrolysis occur simultaneously, corresponding to instant claim 14.
Double Patenting – Response to Arguments
Applicant argued double patenting rejections are premature and would not make any considerations regarding double patenting until a potential allowance.
As such, the double patenting rejections remain.
Conclusion
Claims 5 and 14 – 19 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653