Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0161287 Yoo et al.
1. Referring to claim 12, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device comprising: a plurality of conductive traces, (Figures 1 & 2 #100); one or more electrical contacts, (Figures 1 & 2 #170), in electrical communication with the plurality of conductive traces, (Figures 1 & 2 #100); one or more surface mounted components, (Figures 1 & 2 #200), mounted to the one or more electrical contacts, (Figures 1 & 2 #170); and a stretchable substrate, (Figures 1 & 2 #910 & 920), surrounding, (the term surrounding is read in its broadest reasonable manner and not limited to completely encasing), the plurality of conductive traces, (Figures 1 & 2 #100), and the one or more surface mounted components, (Figures 1 & 2 #200).
2. Referring to claim 13, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 12, wherein the stretchable substrate is flexible, (Figures 1 & 2 #910 & 920 and Paragraph 0069).
3. Referring to claim 14, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of conductive traces is stretchable, (Figures 1 & 2 #100 and Paragraph 0045 and where the term stretchable is read in its broadest manner and is not limited to an specific amount of stretchability that would limit the claim further than being flexible).
4. Referring to claim 15, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of conductive traces is flexible, (Figures 1 & 2 #910 & 920 and Paragraph 0069).
5. Referring to claim 16, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of conductive traces has an undulating, meandering, sawtooth, or serpentine geometry, (Figures 1 & 2 #100 where the claim is not limited to the entire length of the traces have the undulating, meandering, sawtooth, or serpentine geometry, hence the end sections which are bent can read on the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0161287 Yoo et al. in view of over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0356957 Sawada et al.
6. Referring to claim 17, Yoo et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 12, wherein the stretchable substrate is made out of urethane rubber, (Paragraph 0048), but silent to wherein the stretchable substrate is transparent.
Sawada et al. teaches a similar device where the stretchable material is made out of a transparent urethane rubber, (Paragraph 0043). The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Sawada et al. with Yoo et al. because having the stretchable substrate being transparent will increase light output as a waveguide, (Sawada et al. Paragraph 0064), and also since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
7. Referring to claim 18, Yoo et al. in view of Sawada et al. teaches a stretchable electronic device of claim 17, wherein the one or more surface mounted components are optoelectronic devices, (Figures 1 & 2 #200 and Paragraph 0040).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
8. Claim 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the stretchable electronic device of claim 18, wherein the optoelectronic devices include a photo generation device and a photo detector device; and/or a stretchable electronic assembly, comprising: two stretchable electronic devices according to claim12, wherein the two stretchable electronic devices are stacked on one another and wherein conductive traces in the two stretchable electronic devices are connected by one or more conductive vias extending between the two stretchable electronic devices.
10. The prior art, (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0161287 Yoo et al.), teaches a stretchable electronic device comprising: a plurality of conductive traces; one or more electrical contacts in electrical communication with the plurality of conductive traces; one or more surface mounted components mounted to the one or more electrical contacts; and a stretchable substrate surrounding the plurality of conductive traces and the one or more surface mounted components, but is silent to the combination of a method of manufacturing a stretchable electronic device, comprising: depositing a release layer on a temporary rigid substrate; depositing a sacrificial layer on the release layer; fabricating a plurality of conductive traces and electrical contacts on top of the sacrificial layer; mounting one or more surface mount components to the electrical depositing a first stretchable polymer layer on top of the conductive traces and surface mount components to form a stretchable substrate; separating the temporary rigid substrate and release layer from the sacrificial layer and the stretchable substrate at an interface between the release layer and the sacrificial layer; removing the sacrificial layer from the stretchable substrate; and depositing a second stretchable polymer layer on a surface of the stretchable substrate exposed by removing the sacrificial layer.
1. These combinations have been found to not be anticipated or render obvious over the prior art, hence claims 1-11 are allowed.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 2/26/26