DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: memorizing unit(s) in claims 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 in line 5 recites “a receiver” and claim 1 recites the data management device comprises “a receiver.” Claim 3 is therefore unclear if the receiver recited in claim 3 is the same or different from the receiver recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim 3 in line 5 recites “a memorizing unit” and claim 1 recites the data management device comprises “one or more memorizing units.” Claim 3 is therefore unclear if the memorizing unit recited in claim 3 is the same or different from the one or more memorizing units recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim 4 in line 8 recites “a receiver” and claim 1 recites the data management device comprises “a receiver.” Claim 3 is therefore unclear if the receiver recited in claim 3 is the same or different from the receiver recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim 4 in line 9 recites “a memorizing unit” and claim 1 recites the data management device comprises “one or more memorizing units.” Claim 3 is therefore unclear if the memorizing unit recited in claim 3 is the same or different from the one or more memorizing units recited in claim 1. For examination purposes, they are interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2018/0320127, hereinafter Cannon.
Regarding claim 1, Cannon teaches a cell culture management system (figure 5) comprising: a data management device (items 406 and 422); an output data server (item 404) provided in a first cultural device (paragraphs [0079] and [0087]) for culturing a first kind of cells (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); a customer server (item 402) provided in a second cultural device (paragraphs [0079] and [0087]) for culturing a second kind of cells (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); and a cell management server (item 414) provided in a cell management compartment (figure 5) where the second kind of cells are stored (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein: the data management device (item 406) is connected to and in bidirectional communication with each of the output data server (item 404), the customer server (item 402), and the cell management server (item 414) (figure 5 and paragraphs [0091]-[0093]); the output data server (item 404) comprises: a transmitter (paragraph [0092]) for transmitting a first protocol for culturing the first kind of cells to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0092]); the customer server (item 402) comprises: one or more transmitters (paragraph [0088]) for transmitting order information for obtaining the second kind of cells and location information of the second cultural device to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and a receiver (paragraphs [0088] and [0091])for receiving a second protocol for culturing the second kind of cells from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); the data management device (item 406) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0092]) for receiving the first protocol from the output data server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0092]); and a receiver (paragraph [0091]) for receiving the order information and the location information of the second cultural device from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and one or more memorizing units (item 422) that memorize the first protocol received from the output data server, the second protocol, the order information and the location information of the second cultural device received from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0098]); and the cell management server (item 414) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0093]) for receiving the order information and the location information of the second bioreactor from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Cannon teaches wherein the output data server (item 404) comprises a receiver (paragraph [0092]) for receiving a third protocol for culturing a third kind of cells from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Cannon teaches the customer server (item 402) comprises a transmitter (paragraph [0091]) for transmitting an estimated culture data obtained from a cell sensor disposed in the second cultural device to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0091]); and the data management device (item 406) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0088]) for receiving the estimated culture data transmitted from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and a memorizing unit (item 422) that memorizes the estimated culture data received from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 4, Cannon teaches the cell management server (item 414) comprises: a memorizing unit (item 420) for memorizing inventory information for cells present in the cell management compartment (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0094]); and a transmitter (paragraph [0093]) for transmitting the inventory information to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0093]); and the data management device (item 406) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0088]) for receiving the inventory information transmitted from the cell management server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and a memorizing unit (item 422) for memorizing the inventory information that has been received (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 5, Cannon teaches a cell culture management system (figure 5) comprising: an output data server (item 404) provided in a first cultural device (paragraphs [0079] and [0087]) for culturing a first kind of cells (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); a customer server (item 402) provided in a second cultural device (paragraphs [0079] and [0087]) for culturing a second kind of cells (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); and a cell management server (item 414) provided in a cell management compartment (figure 5) where the second kind of cells are stored (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein: the output data server (item 404), the customer server (item 402), and the cell management server (item 414) are each connected to and in bidirectional communication with a data management device (figure 5 and paragraphs [0091]-[0093]); the output data server (item 404) comprises: a transmitter (paragraph [0092]) for transmitting a first protocol for culturing the first kind of cells to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0092]); the customer server (item 402) comprises: one or more transmitters (paragraph [0088]) for transmitting order information for obtaining the second kind of cells and location information of the second cultural device to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0088]); and a receiver (paragraphs [0088] and [0091]) for receiving a second protocol for culturing the second kind of cells from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and the cell management server (item 414) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0093]) for receiving the order information and the location information of the second cultural device from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0093]).
Regarding claim 6, Cannon teaches wherein the output data server (item 404) comprises a receiver (paragraph [0092]) for receiving a third protocol for culturing a third kind of cells from the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 7, Cannon teaches the customer server (item 402) comprises a transmitter (paragraph [0091]) for transmitting an estimated culture data obtained from a cell sensor disposed in the second cultural device to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0091]); and the data management device (item 406) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0088]) for receiving the estimated culture data transmitted from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and a memorizing unit (item 422) that memorizes the estimated culture data received from the customer server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0098]). The examiner notes that the data management device is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the data management device has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claim 8, Cannon teaches the cell management server (item 414) comprises: a memorizing unit (item 420) for memorizing inventory information for cells present in the cell management compartment (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0094]); and a transmitter (paragraph [0093]) for transmitting the inventory information to the data management device (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0093]); and the data management device (item 406) comprises: a receiver (paragraph [0088]) for receiving the inventory information transmitted from the cell management server (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraphs [0088] and [0091]); and a memorizing unit (item 422) for memorizing the inventory information that has been received (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0098]). The examiner notes that the data management device is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the data management device has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796