DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 9/11/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 20, 21, and 26-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-25 were filed on 8/9/2022. In a preliminary amendment filed on the same day, claims 3-5, 7, and 20 were amended, claims 8-19 and 22-25 were canceled, and claims 26-34 were newly added. In the response filed 9/11/2025, claim 20 was amended. Claims 1-7, 20, 21, and 26-34 are pending. Claims 20, 21, and 26-34 are withdrawn. Claims 1-7 are under examination.
Priority
See filing receipt dated 12/1/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “pharmaceutical” in claim 7 is interpreted as an intended use. Paragraphs [0056-0057] of the specification as filed further give examples of “pharmaceutically acceptable carriers”. Therefore, if a composition is found to meet the structural limitations of the claim, then it will be interpreted to fulfill the intended use of the claim. Also see MPEP 2111.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oguri (“Amino acids and peptides. XXVIII. A new synthesis of alpha-amino acid derivatives by alkylation of Schiff bases derived from glycine and alanine” Chem. Pharm. Bull, 25, 1977, p. 2287, of record in the IDS filed on 8/9/2022).
Oguri teaches compound (S-Vb): (S)-alpha-methyl-beta-(3,4-dimethoxyphenyl)alanine tert-butyl ester, which is a compound of the following structure:
. The structure was generated using the “Convert Name to Structure” feature of ChemDraw®. See abstract and “3,4-dimethoxybenzylation of the Schiff Base (IV)” on p. 2291. This compound corresponds to a compound of instant formula (1) wherein R1 and R2 are methyl, a C1 alkyl, and R3 is -OR4, wherein R4 is a tert-butyl group. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Further regarding claim 7, the work-up of compound S-Vb includes a step of being solubilized in an aqueous solution comprising citric acid. This composition meets the limitations of the claimed composition. See MPEP 2111.02. See experimental procedure of compound S-Vb on p. 2291, which refers to the work-up procedure of compound S-Va on p. 2291-2292.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS registry no. 1565206-30-5, entered into STN on 3/10/2014.
RN 1565206-30-5 REGISTRY
ED Entered STN: 10 Mar 2014
CN Benzenepropanamide, α-amino-3,4-dihydroxy-α-methyl-N-(2-methylpropyl)-, (αS)- (CA INDEX NAME)
OTHER CA INDEX NAMES:
CN (αS)-α-Amino-3,4-dihydroxy-α-methyl-N-(2-methylpropyl)benzenepropanamide
FS STEREOSEARCH
MF C14 H22 N2 O3
INCH InChI=1S/C14H22N2O3/c1-9(2)8-16-13(19)14(3,15)7-10-4-5-11(17)12(18)6-10/h4-6,9,17-18H,7-8,15H2,1-3H3,(H,16,19)/t14-/m0/s1
INKY SSHBYLMMDKWGDH-AWEZNQCLSA-N
SR Chemical Catalog
Supplier: Aurora Fine Chemicals
LC STN Files: CHEMCATS
**PROPERTY DATA AVAILABLE IN THE 'PROP' FORMAT**
The compound corresponds to a compound of instant claims 1 and 6 wherein R1 and R2 are H, R3 is -NHR5, and R5 is iso-butyl.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hajos (“Germinate Aminocarbinols, I” Acta Chimica Academiae Scientiarum Hungaricae, 695, 1966, p. 417-425, including a Google Image generated English translation).
Hajos teaches the sec-butyl ester of alpha-methyl dopamine (referred to as alpha-methyl dopa throughout the publication). See entry 5 of Table 1 on p. 419 and structures on p. 7, wherein the ester above would correspond to a compound of either formula wherein the NH2 group is not further substituted; R1 is methyl (C1 alkyl); and R2 is sec-butyl:
. Thus, the compound of Hajos corresponds to a compound of instant claims 1-3, wherein R1 and R2 are H; R3 is -OR4 and R4 is sec-butyl. Further regarding claim 3 is it noted that a racemic mixture of the compound will contain both enantiomers. Further regarding, claim 7, the experimental procedure for producing the esters, as exemplified by the alpha-Methyldopa-n-butyl ester experimental procedure on p. 423 (p. 7 of the translation), teaches that the compounds are dried after reaction and dissolved in water. This composition meets the limitations of claim 7 as water is a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Also see MPEP 2131.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hajos (“Germinate Aminocarbinols, I” Acta Chimica Academiae Scientiarum Hungaricae, 695, 1966, p. 417-425, including a Google Image generated English translation) optionally in view of GB 1077443 (GB ‘443, published 7/26/1967).
Applicant Claims
Determining the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Hajos teaches the sec-butyl ester of alpha-methyl dopamine (referred to as alpha-methyl dopa throughout the publication). See entry 5 of Table 1 on p. 419 and structures on p. 7, wherein the ester above would correspond to a compound of either formula wherein the NH2 group is not further substituted; R1 is methyl (C1 alkyl); and R2 is sec-butyl:
. Thus, the compound of Hajos corresponds to a compound of instant claims 1-3, wherein R1 and R2 are H; R3 is -OR4 and R4 is sec-butyl (branched C4 alkyl). Further regarding claim 3 is it noted that a racemic mixture of the compound will contain both enantiomers. Additionally, Hajos teaches that L-dopa is known to be biologically active in the paragraph bridging p. 6-7 of the translation, thus providing further motivation to obtain the enantiomer of claim 3 in a purified form.
Further regarding, claim 7, the experimental procedure for producing the esters, as exemplified by the alpha-Methyldopa-n-butyl ester experimental procedure on p. 423 (p. 7 of the translation), teaches that the compounds are dried after reaction and dissolved in water. This composition meets the limitations of claim 7 as water is a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Hajos further teaches analogous compounds to those of instant formula (I), which correspond to instant R4 being isopropyl (branched C3 alkyl); and n-butyl ester (linear C4 alkyl). See Table 1, entries 4-5.
GB ‘443 is also directed toward the synthesis of geminate amino-carbinols. See abstract. GB ‘443 teaches that the amino-carbinols are produced from phenylalanine esters of formula II:
. See p. 1, line 25-p. 2, line 3 and claims 1-2. When R2 is a lower alkyl of 4 carbon atoms, the compounds of GB ‘443 correspond to compounds of instant formula (1), wherein R1 and R2 are H, R3 is -OR4 and R4 is a C4 alkyl. C4 alkyl groups include sec-butyl (claim 3), tert-butyl (claim 4), and iso-butyl (claim 5) groups.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02-03)
Hajos does not explicitly teach compounds of formula I of claims 1-2, 4, and 5, wherein R4 is a tert-butyl (claim 4) or isobutyl (claim 5) group. Hajos teaches structural isomers of these embodiments wherein R4 is sec-butyl or n-butyl; and a one-carbon homolog of the isobutyl embodiment wherein R4 is isopropyl.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation (MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the instantly claimed compounds based on the teachings of Hajos with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute the sec-butyl group of Hajos with a tert-butyl or iso-butyl group because both are structural isomers of the sec-butyl and n-butyl compounds of Hajos and all C4 alkyl groups. The Hajos compound possessing an isopropyl ester group is also a one-carbon homolog of the isobutyl embodiment. Structural isomers and homologs are presumed to possess similar properties because of their sufficient close structural similarity. See MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, replacing one with another would predictably produce a compound having similar properties as those explicitly described and used in the process of Hajos. Also see MPEP 2143 (B). Additionally, GB ‘443 is additionally cited as an optional reference to provide further support that any C4 group at the instant R4 position would be expected to possess significantly the same properties.
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692