DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 20200413350 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 5, Lim discloses (see Fig. 6) a terminal (wireless device) and a capability information transmission method executed by a terminal (see Fig. 6) comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit capability information to a base station ([0157] after generating capability information including power class information, a wireless device may transmit the generated information to a serving cell) wherein the transmitter transmits, as the capability information, each power class supported for each transmission technology in a plurality of transmission technologies to the base station ([0157] the power class information may be set for each new radio access technology (NR) band. The power class information may be determined based on the minimum peak effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP), maximum output limit, and spherical coverage and [0161] The power class information may include at least one of four power classes), and
wherein the plurality of transmission technologies include one or more of Carrier Aggregation (0048] A carrier aggregation system is now described.
[0049] A carrier aggregation system aggregates a plurality of component carriers (CCs). A meaning of an existing cell is changed according to the above carrier aggregation. According to the carrier aggregation, a cell may signify a combination of a downlink component carrier and an uplink component carrier or an independent downlink component carrier), Dual-Connectivity, Supplement Uplink, and UL MIMO.
Regarding claim 4 Yang further discloses further comprising a receiver configured to receive a usable power class from the base station ([0082] There may be various types of UEs using NR, including handheld UEs, Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) devices, and vehicle mounted devices. Depending on the type of a UE, transmission power class may be set differently, which may be determined based on the minimum peak Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP) value due to beamforming supported by NR and the cumulative distribution function (CDF) value of a measured EIRP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al in view of Huawei (3GPP TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #93 R4-1915357).
Regrading claim 2, Yang discloses a terminal as described above. Yang fails to teach the transmission unit transmits, to the base station apparatus, each power class supported for each transmission technology in the plurality of transmission technologies for each RAT in dual connectivity which is one of the transmission technologies.
However, Huawei discloses the transmission unit transmits, to the base station apparatus, each power class supported for each transmission technology in the plurality of transmission technologies for each RAT in dual connectivity which is one of transmission technologies (note: EN DC stands for E-UTRA)-new radio dual connectivity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Huawei’s EN DC in Yang’s terminal for improving network performance (Huawei section 2.2).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses a terminal as described above. Takahashi fails to teach the plurality of transmission technologies include uplink MIMO.
However, Huawei discloses the plurality of transmission technologies include uplink MIMO (Huawei section 2.2 note: this reads on UL MIMO).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Huawei’s EN DC in Yang’s terminal for improving network performance (Huawei section 2.2).
Regarding claim 6, Yang in view of Huawei discloses a terminal as described above. Yang in view of Huawei further discloses the plurality of transmission technologies include uplink MIMO (Huawei section 2.2 note: this reads on UL MIMO).
In regard to claim 7, Yang in view of Huawei discloses a terminal as described above. Yang further discloses a reception unit configured to receive a usable power class from the base station apparatus (([0082] There may be various types of UEs using NR, including handheld UEs, Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) devices, and vehicle mounted devices. Depending on the type of a UE, transmission power class may be set differently, which may be determined based on the minimum peak Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP) value due to beamforming supported by NR and the cumulative distribution function (CDF) value of a measured EIRP).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Huawei discloses a terminal as described above. Yang further discloses a reception unit configured to receive a usable power class from the base station apparatus (([0082] There may be various types of UEs using NR, including handheld UEs, Fixed Wireless Access (FWA) devices, and vehicle mounted devices. Depending on the type of a UE, transmission power class may be set differently, which may be determined based on the minimum peak Effective Isotropic Radiated Power (EIRP) value due to beamforming supported by NR and the cumulative distribution function (CDF) value of a measured EIRP).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fodor et al. (US 2012/0282922 A1) discloses a method for defining UE capability group in terms of the capabilities that UEs belonging to that capability group must have such as RAT capability, transmission mode capability, power class capability, carrier aggregation capability, etc.
Huang (US 2021/0227379 A1) discloses a method for processing changes to a radio capability of a wireless terminal.
Bengtsson et al. (WO 2021/037426 A1) discloses a method for a wireless terminal to report its supported power classes.
Gupta et al. (WO 2021/091309 A1) discloses a method for handling encoding radio capability signaling information for a user equipment.
.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES N APPIAH whose telephone number is (571)272-7904. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00-5:30 M-TH.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641