DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 01/27/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 & 4 have been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Thus, claims 1, 3-5 are pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an engagement releasing mechanism configured…” in claim 1. Presumption is rebutted because no structure is recited that can perform the limiting function. The word “mechanism” is a generic placeholder that does not denote a sufficient structure to release engagement between the plunger and the engagement member.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses in paragraph 0009 that the engagement releasing mechanism includes a rotary engaging portion provided on the plunger and a rotary engaged portion provided on the barrel to release the engagement between the plunger and the engaging member. The language in claim 1 will be interpreted as requiring the disclosed structure in paragraph 0009, or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bom et al (US 20120184917 A1) in view of Dugand et al (US 20200238010 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bom et al disclose an injection device (200) comprising: a syringe (203) including a barrel (204) provided with an injection needle (206) at a distal end thereof (fig 20a) and a plunger (207) inserted into the barrel so as to be capable of reciprocating between a proximal end side of the barrel as a start point and the injection needle as an end point (para 0148); a housing (202) formed in a tubular shape to accommodate the syringe (fig 20a), and a plunger accommodating portion (upper portion of housing 202) formed on another side relative to the barrel accommodating portion and accommodating the plunger protruding from the proximal end side of the barrel (fig 20a); an engaging member (210/290) disposed in the plunger accommodating portion (fig 20a) and configured to be retainably engaged with the plunger until the engagement between the plunger and the engaging member is released (para 0146-148); a plunger urging portion (211) engaged with the engaging member (para 0145) and urging the plunger from the start point toward the end point (para 0150); a trigger portion (205) configured to hold urging of the plunger urging portion (para 0145) and a state where the plunger resists against an urging force of the plunger urging portion and a distal end of the plunger is located at a position of the start point (fig 20a and para 0145 and 0147), and to release the holding by performing a predetermined operation (para 0149-150), and an engagement releasing mechanism (280 and teeth of plunger, see fig 20ab) configured to release engagement between the plunger (207) and the engaging member (210/290) and to cause the plunger to be located at the end point (para 0148, examiner notes: engagement between nut 280 coverts rotation of piston 207 to move toward needle 241 which is the end point) in a manner that the plunger moves from the start point toward the end point by the urging force of the plunger urging portion and the plunger and the engaging member rotate relative to each other around the central axis (para 0148 and 0150), wherein the engagement releasing mechanism includes a rotary engaging portion (teeth of piston 207) provided on the plunger (fig 20b) and a rotary engaged portion (280) provided on the barrel (fig 20a-b, nut 280 is provided on the distal end of 204), wherein the plunger (207) is configured to move from the start point toward the end point (para 0148), the rotary engaging portion and the rotary engaged portion are engaged with each other (piston teeth and nut 280, figs 20a-b), and the plunger is configured to rotate around the central axis to release the engagement between the plunger and the engaging member (para 0148-150, due to the threaded interface with the nut 280, advances the piston 208 in the cartridge 204-examiner notes: piston 207 rotates while engaging with nut 280 to move in the cartridge 204, thus engagement between the plunger and the engaging member is released when piston 207 is moved to needle 241), and the rotary engaging portion (teeth of piston 207) comprises a pair of rotary engaging portions provided in a direction orthogonal to the central axis (figs 18 and 20a-b, teeth of piston are provided in a direction orthogonal to the central axis).
Bom et al fail to teach the housing including a barrel accommodating portion formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable between a state where the injection needle is accommodated and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side and a barrel urging portion provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing; and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion.
Bom et al disclose a removable cap is adapted to be mounted on the injection device 200 to protect the cartridge 204 and to cover the drug outlet 241 when the injection device 200 is not in use (para 0144).
However, Dugand et al disclose an injection device (22) comprising: a syringe (24, fig 4) including a barrel (26) provided with an injection needle (28), a housing (92), a plunger (58), a trigger portion(47), and a plunger urging portion (128); and wherein housing including a barrel accommodating portion (portion of casing 92 accommodates barrel 26 and end sleeve 46) formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable (para 0058) between a state where the injection needle is accommodated (figs 4-5) and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side (figs 14-16) and a barrel urging portion (para 0085, retraction spring) provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing (para 0085); and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion (para 0088 and fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Bom et al and incorporate the teaching of Dugand et al to have the housing including a barrel accommodating portion formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable between a state where the injection needle is accommodated and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side and a barrel urging portion provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing; and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion. This would provide the benefit of having a barrel accommodating portion in which the barrel is movable by the urging of a barrel urging portion and replacing said cap with the barrel accommodating portion to protect said needle against any inadvertent contact with an element of its environment when the injection device is not used and moves forward for the injection needle to protrude when the device is in use. This ensures that the removable cap would never be lost after operating the injection device (para 0058 and 0085). Having the trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion is beneficial until the device is triggered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 3, Bom et al in view of Dugand et al disclose the injection device according to claim 1,
Bom et al further disclose wherein when the plunger (207) moves from the start point to a position immediately before the end point, the rotary engaging portion (teeth of piston 207) and the rotary engaged portion (280) are engaged with each other, and thus the plunger rotates around the central axis to release the engagement between the plunger and the engaging member (para 0148-150, piston 207 rotates while engaged with nut 280 to move axially before reaching end point).
Regarding claim 4, Bom et al disclose an injection device (200) comprising: a syringe (203) including a barrel (204) provided with an injection needle (206) at a distal end thereof (fig 20a) and a plunger (207) inserted into the barrel so as to be capable of reciprocating between a proximal end side of the barrel as a start point and the injection needle as an end point (para 0148); a housing (202) formed in a tubular shape to accommodate the syringe (fig 20a), and a plunger accommodating portion (portion of 202 that accommodate piston 207) formed on another side relative to the barrel accommodating portion and accommodating the plunger protruding from the proximal end side of the barrel (fig 20a); an engaging member (210/290) disposed in the plunger accommodating portion and engaged with the plunger (fig 20a); a plunger urging portion (211) engaged with the engaging member and urging the plunger from the start point toward the end point (para 0145-148); a trigger portion (205) configured to hold urging of the plunger urging portion and a state where the plunger resists against an urging force of the plunger urging portion and a distal end of the plunger is located at a position of the start point (fig 20a and para 0145 and 0147), and to release the holding by performing a predetermined operation (para 0149-150), and an engagement releasing mechanism (280 and teeth of plunger, see fig 20ab) configured to release engagement between the plunger (207) and the engaging member (210/290) and to cause the plunger to be located at the end point (para 0148, examiner notes: engagement between nut 280 coverts rotation of piston 207 to move toward needle 241 which is the end point) in a manner that the plunger moves from the start point toward the end point by the urging force of the plunger urging portion and the plunger and the engaging member rotate relative to each other around the central axis (para 0148 and 0150), wherein the plunger urging portion (211) is configured to urge the engaging member in a direction in which the engaging member rotates around the central axis by circumferential urging force of the plunger urging portion (para 0150) and the engagement releasing mechanism is configured to release the engagement between the plunger and the engaging member by rotating the engaging member around the central axis with respect to the plunger by the circumferential urging force of the plunger urging portion (para 0150).
Bom et al fail to teach the housing including a barrel accommodating portion formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable between a state where the injection needle is accommodated and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side and a barrel urging portion provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing; and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion.
Bom et al disclose a removable cap is adapted to be mounted on the injection device 200 to protect the cartridge 204 and to cover the drug outlet 241 when the injection device 200 is not in use (para 0144).
However, Dugand et al disclose an injection device (22) comprising: a syringe (24, fig 4) including a barrel (26) provided with an injection needle (28), a housing (92), a plunger (58), a trigger portion(47), and a plunger urging portion (128); and wherein housing including a barrel accommodating portion (portion of casing 92 accommodates barrel 26 and end sleeve 46) formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable (para 0058) between a state where the injection needle is accommodated (figs 4-5) and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side (figs 14-16) and a barrel urging portion (para 0085, retraction spring) provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing (para 0085); and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion (para 0088 and fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Bom et al and incorporate the teaching of Dugand et al to have the housing including a barrel accommodating portion formed on one side in a direction of a central axis and accommodating the barrel to be movable between a state where the injection needle is accommodated and a state where the injection needle protrudes from one side of the housing at a predetermined distance from the accommodated state to one side and a barrel urging portion provided in the barrel accommodating portion and urging the barrel from the one side to the other side of the housing; and wherein said trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion. This would provide the benefit of having a barrel accommodating portion in which the barrel is movable by the urging of a barrel urging portion and replacing said cap with the barrel accommodating portion to protect said needle against any inadvertent contact with an element of its environment when the injection device is not used and moves forward for the injection needle to protrude when the device is in use. This ensures that the removable cap would never be lost after operating the injection device (para 0058 and 0085). Having the trigger potion to hold urging of the plunger urging portion so as not to release the urging in a state where the barrel accommodates the injection needle by the barrel urging portion is beneficial until the device is triggered and ready for use.
Regarding claim 5, Bom et al in view of Dugand et al disclose the injection device according to claim 4,
Bom et al further disclose wherein the plunger urging portion is a torsion spring (para 0145, line 16), and is configured to rotate the engaging member by an urging force generated by twisting of the torsion spring (para 0150).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bom et al (US 20120184917 A1) in view of Dugand et al (US 20200238010 A1).
Conclusion
/FATIMATA SAHRA DIOP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783