DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 06/30/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 7, 15 and 19 are amended.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-7 and 15-19 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 7-8), filed on 06/30/2026, with respect to claim 1, ‘Amended claim 1 recites … Chen fails to teach or suggest wherein when the transmission signal is used for multi-user (MU) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission … Applicant submits claim 1 is allowable over Chen and Chen 2’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches MU PPDU (transmission signal for MU MIMO) with EHT-SIG including supplemental punctured channel information in case that U-SIG cannot carry all channel punctured information (Chen: [Table 1], [0059], [0060], [0115], [0128]). Therefore, Chen teaches the subject matters as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 7-9), filed on 06/30/2026, with respect to claims 1-7 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20210045151 A1), hereinafter “Chen”.
Per claim 1 and 15:
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches ‘A communication apparatus’ (Chen: [Abstract]: “devices and systems for wireless communication”); ‘comprising: circuitry’ (Chen: [0095]: “circuitry”); ‘which, in operation, generates a transmission signal’ (Chen: [0098]: “operations related to the generation and transmission of MPDUs”);
‘comprising
a first signal field and a second signal field’ (Chen: [FIG.10]: “U-SIG”, “EHT-SIG”);
‘wherein the first signal field comprises punctured channel information (Chen: [0058]: “The U-SIG may include punctured channel information”);
‘the second signal field comprises a Common field and a User Specific field’ (Chen: [FIG.4]: “EHT-SIG”, “COMMON FIELD”, “USER SPECIFIC FIELDS”);
‘wherein the Common field comprises a first part and a second part’ (Chen: [Table 1]: “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel)
- Additional info fields overflowed from USIG
- Resource allocation information (which may be omitted for SU)”, first part (Additional info fields overflowed from USIG) and second part (Resource allocation information));
‘wherein the first part has a determined number of data bits and is the same across all content channels in the transmission signal’ (Chen: [Table 1]: “Additional signal fields common to all users ( or SU): (which may carry over into EHT-SIG)
Spatial reuse: 4 bits
GI+L TF size: 2 bits
Number of EHT-LTF symbols and midamble periodicity: ~4 bits
Doppler: 1 bit
LDPC extra symbol segment: 1 bit
STBC (space time block code): 1 bit
Pre-FEC padding factor: 2 bits
PE (packet extension) disambiguity: 1 bit
Beam Change: 1 bit”;
[0150]-0151]: “shows a conceptual diagram of EHT-SIGs in different content channels … there may be one common field per content channel. The encoded block of common field may have 44 information bits plus a 4 bit CRC and a 6 bit tail”; Additional signal fields has the same determined number of data bits across all content channels);
‘wherein the second part has a variable number of data bits depending on bandwidth, and is different between a first content channel and a second content channel in the transmission signal’ (Chen: [Table 1]: “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel”, “Resource allocation information”; [0080]: “The common field can indicate RU distributions to multiple STAs 104, indicate the RU assignments in the frequency domain, indicate which RUs are allocated for MU-MIMO transmissions and which RUs correspond to MU-OFDMA transmissions, and the number of users in allocations, among other possibilities”; RU assignment information would have a variable number of data depending on bandwidth and could be different between content channels);
‘wherein when the transmission signal is used for multi-user (MU) multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission’ (Chen: [0060]: “the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO”; [TABLE 1]: “MU PPDU”; transmission signal (PPDU) for MU MIMO);
‘the punctured channel information is able to indicate a channel puncturing pattern applied to the transmission signal, the second part does not comprise the supplemental punctured channel information’ (Chen: [0115]: “The 4-bit field may indicate spatial reuse for the entire PPDU BW … within an 80 MHz portion of the wireless channel. As indicated above, the EHT-SIG 1018 may not be present”, PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns and there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG);
‘wherein when the transmission signal is used for the MU-MIMO transmission’ (Chen: [0060]: “the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO”; [TABLE 1]: “MU PPDU”; transmission signal (PPDU) for MU MIMO);
‘the punctured channel information is not able to indicate the channel puncturing pattern applied to the transmission signal, the second part comprises the supplemental punctured channel information’ (Chen: [0128]: “the PPDU BW and punctured channel information … 160 MHz (or 160/80+80 MHz), 320 MHz”; [FIG.10]; “EHT-SIG”, “OVERFLOW FROM U_SIG”; [0059]: “The EHT-SIG may include overflow signaling information from the U-SIG”; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU when U-SIG cannot carry all channel puncturing patterns, EHT-SIG includes the supplemental punctured channel information overflown from U-SIG);
‘a transmitter, which, in operation, transmits the transmission signal’ (Chen: [0097]: “transmitter”; [0104]: “the U-SIG 1016 and EHT-SIG 1018 may be duplicated and transmitted).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the method implemented by the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information is able to indicate all channel puncturing patterns that are allowed for up to a determined bandwidth’ (Chen: [0115]: “The 4-bit field may indicate spatial reuse for the entire PPDU BW … within an 80 MHz portion of the wireless channel. As indicated above, the EHT-SIG 1018 may not be present”, PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns and there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG);
‘when a bandwidth of the transmission signal is less than or equal to the determined bandwidth, the second part does not comprise the supplemental punctured channel information’ (Chen: [0115]: “The 4-bit field may indicate spatial reuse for the entire PPDU BW … within an 80 MHz portion of the wireless channel. As indicated above, the EHT-SIG 1018 may not be present”, PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns and there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information is able to indicate all channel puncturing patterns that are allowed for up to a determined bandwidth’ (Chen: [0115]: “The 4-bit field may indicate spatial reuse for the entire PPDU BW … within an 80 MHz portion of the wireless channel. As indicated above, the EHT-SIG 1018 may not be present”, PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns and there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG);
‘a part of channel puncturing patterns for bandwidths which are larger than the determined bandwidth’ (Chen: [0128]: “the PPDU BW and punctured channel information … 160 MHz (or 160/80+80 MHz), 320 MHz”, channel puncturing patterns for bandwidth 160 MHz and 320 MHz which are larger than 80 MHz);
‘when a bandwidth of the transmission signal is less than or equal to the determined bandwidth, the second part does not comprise the supplemental punctured channel information’ (discussed in element above);
‘when (1) the bandwidth of the transmission signal is larger than the determined bandwidth and (2) the punctured channel information is able to indicate the part of channel puncturing patterns for bandwidths which are larger than the determined bandwidth, the second part does not comprise the supplemental punctured channel information’ (Chen: [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”, since U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns => there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein when the transmission signal is used for punctured SU or MU-MIMO transmission’ (Chen: [0060]: “the preamble design options may enable MU MIMO”, the punctured is on a MU-MIMO system);
‘the punctured channel information is not able to indicate the channel puncturing pattern that is applied to the transmission signal, the second part comprises the supplemental punctured channel information that, together with the punctured channel information, indicates the channel puncturing pattern that is applied to the transmission signal’ (Chen: [FIG.10]; “EHT-SIG”, “OVERFLOW FROM U_SIG”; [0058]: “The U-SIG may include punctured channel information”; [0059]: “The EHT-SIG may include overflow signaling information from the U-SIG as well as additional signaling regarding the data portion of the PPDU. For example, the EHT-SIG may include RU allocation information”, EHT-SIG may include supplemental punctured channel information such as RU allocations which could not be carried by U-SIG).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information and bandwidth information are indicated in a single signalling field of the first signal field’ (Chen: [0058]: “the U-SIG may be used to indicate a bandwidth, punctured channels”; [Table 1]: “U-SIG”, “PPDU BW and punctured channel information”, “Optiona 1: 1 subfield to include both PPDU BW and punctured channel information”, one single signaling field of U-SIG to carry both punctured channel information and bandwidth information).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information and bandwidth information are indicated in two signalling fields of the first signal field, respectively’ (Chen: [0058]: “the U-SIG may be used to indicate a bandwidth, punctured channels”; [Table 1]: “U-SIG”, “PPDU BW and punctured channel information”, “Option 2: 2 subfields as following: - PPDU BW: 3 bits – Punctured channel information: >= 4 bits”, two signaling fields of U-SIG to carry punctured channel information and bandwidth information, respectively).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein when the transmission signal is used for punctured Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) transmission’ (Chen: [0060]: “The preamble design options in this disclosure may support flexible RU allocations for OFDMA communication”, the punctured is on an OFDMA transmission system);
‘the punctured channel information is not able to indicate a channel puncturing pattern that is applied to the transmission signal, the second part comprises the supplemental punctured channel information that, together with the punctured channel information, indicates the channel puncturing pattern that is applied to the transmission signal’ (Chen: [FIG.10]; “EHT-SIG”, “OVERFLOW FROM U_SIG”; [0058]: “The U-SIG may include punctured channel information”; [0059]: “The EHT-SIG may include overflow signaling information from the U-SIG as well as additional signaling regarding the data portion of the PPDU. For example, the EHT-SIG may include RU allocation information”; [0061]: “the content of the EHT-SIG may be modified to support OFDMA RU allocations”; EHT-SIG may include supplemental punctured channel information such as OFDMA RU allocations which could not be carried by U-SIG).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the Common field comprises another subfield comprising Resource Unit allocation information’ (Chen: [FIG.13]: “EHT-SIG”, “Common-1A”, “Common-1B”; [TABLE 1]: “EHT-SIG … includes: Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel)
Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG
Resource allocation information (which may be omitted for SU)”, Common field could comprise another subfield comprising Resource Unit allocation information).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information indicates whether at least one channel of first one or more channels is punctured’ (Chen: [FIG.10]: “U-SIG” -> “PPDU BW AND PUNCTURED CHANNEL INFO”; [0127]: “U-SIG may further include a punctured channel … he punctured channel bitmap may be a per 20 MHz bitmap in which each bit indicates puncturing (or not) of a 20 MHz subchannel”; [FIG.7]: “CH2”, “CHANNEL PUNCTURE”);
‘the supplemental punctured channel information indicates whether at least one channel of second one or more channels is punctured’ (Chen: [FIG.14]: “EHT-SIG in Ch#3”, “EHT-SIG in Ch#4”; [0059]: “The EHT-SIG may include overflow signaling information from the U-SIG”, EHT-SIG would contain overflow punctured channel information for at least one of other channel).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
Chen teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information is indicated by a fixed number of bits included in the first signal field’ (Chen: [FIG.10]: “U-SIG” -> block 1052: “PPDU BW AND PUNCTURED CHANNEL INFO”; [0127]: “the PPDU BW and punctured channel information field 1052 may be a 4-bit value that includes a value selected from a lookup table”);
‘the supplemental punctured channel information is indicated by a number of bits determined based on a bandwidth’ (Chen: [FIG.12A]-[FIG.12B]; [FIG.14]: “EHT-SIG in Ch#1”, “EHT-SIG in Ch#3”; [Table 1]: “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel”, “Resource allocation information”; [0080]: “The common field can indicate RU distributions to multiple STAs 104, indicate the RU assignments in the frequency domain, indicate which RUs are allocated for MU-MIMO transmissions and which RUs correspond to MU-OFDMA transmissions, and the number of users in allocations, among other possibilities”; supplemental punctured channel information would have a variable number of data depending on bandwidth and could be different between content channels).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chen et al. (US 20210127291 A1), hereinafter “Chen2”.
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the apparats of claim 1 (discussed above).
‘wherein the second part does not comprise supplemental punctured channel information in case a first compression mode is enabled for the second signal field’ (Chen: [0115]: “The 4-bit field may indicate spatial reuse for the entire PPDU BW … within an 80 MHz portion of the wireless channel. As indicated above, the EHT-SIG 1018 may not be present”, PPDU with bandwidth within 80 MHz, U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU when U-SIG can carry all channel puncturing patterns => there is no supplemental punctured channel information overflown to EHT-SIG). However, the PRO 62957117 of Chen fails to expressly teach in case a first compression mode is enabled for the second signal field;
‘the second part comprises the supplemental punctured channel information in case a second compression mode is enabled for the second signal field’ (Chen: [0128]: “the PPDU BW and punctured channel information … 160 MHz (or 160/80+80 MHz), 320 MHz”; [FIG.10]; “EHT-SIG”, “OVERFLOW FROM U_SIG”; [0059]: “The EHT-SIG may include overflow signaling information from the U-SIG”; [Table 1]: “MU PPDU” -> “Common field: (size depends on bandwidth of the wireless channel) Additional info fields overflowed from U-SIG”; for MU PPDU when U-SIG cannot carry all channel puncturing patterns, EHT-SIG includes the supplemental punctured channel information overflown from U-SIG). However, the PRO 62957117 of Chen fails to expressly teach in case a second compression mode is enabled for the second signal field.
Chen2 in the same field of endeavor teaches the second part of Common Field of EHT-SIG would contain punctured channel information when Compression Mode 2 is implemented and EHT-SIG would omit punctured channel information when Compress Mode 1 is implemented (Chen2: [PRO 62954260]: [Table 1]: “Compression Mode 1”, “Compressed Mode 2”; [FIG.11D]: “EHT-SIG” -> “Common Field” -> “U-SIG-Overflow”, “Punctured Channel Table”, “RU Allocation”; [Page 25-26]: “When the first compression mode is implemented, the unified PPDU 1130 may be configured for full-bandwidth SU or MU-MIMO communications, and the common field 1140 may include U-SIG overflow 1142 while omitting RU allocation information 1146. When the second compression mode is implemented, the unified PPDU 1130 may be configured for punctured SU or MU-MIMO communications, and the common field 1140 may include a punctured channel table 1144 (in lieu of RU allocation information 1146). The punctured channel table 1144 may include a number of bits ( ~8) indicating the punctured channels of the unified PPDU … The EHT-SIG compression field 1139 may be used to indicate the mode or configuration of the unified PPDU 1130. In some implementations, the EHT-SIG compression field 1139 may include 2 bits that can be used to indicate any of the 3 different configurations (such as the first compression mode, the second compression mode, or no compression)”; [Page 24]: “As shown in Table 1, a first compression mode (compression mode 1) may be used for full-bandwidth SU or MU-MIMO communications, a second compression mode (compression mode 2) may be used for punctured SU or MU-MIMO communications and no compression may be used for OFDMA (full-bandwidth or punctured) communications”).
Chen does not expressly teach, but Chen2 teaches ‘wherein the punctured channel information is included in the first signal field in both of the first compression mode and the second compression mode’ (Chen2: [PRO 62954260]: [FIG.11D]: ”U-SIG” -> block 1137: “Bandwidth and Punctured Info”; [Table 1]: “Compression Mode 1”, “Compressed Mode 2”; U-SIG includes punctured channel information for both “Compression Mode 1” and “Compressed Mode 2”);
‘the supplemental punctured channel information is not included in the common field of the second signal field in the first compression mode, and the supplemental punctured channel information is included in the common field of the second signal field in the second compression mode’ (Chen2: [PRO 62954260]: [FIG.11D]: “EHT-SIG” -> “Common Field” -> optional block 1144: “Punctured Channel Table”; [Page 25-26]: “When the first compression mode is implemented, the unified PPDU 1130 may be configured for full-bandwidth SU or MU-MIMO communications, and the common field 1140 may include U-SIG overflow 1142 while omitting RU allocation information 1146. When the second compression mode is implemented, the unified PPDU 1130 may be configured for punctured SU or MU-MIMO communications, and the common field 1140 may include a punctured channel table 1144 (in lieu of RU allocation information 1146). The punctured channel table 1144 may include a number of bits ( ~8) indicating the punctured channels of the unified PPDU … The EHT-SIG compression field 1139 may be used to indicate the mode or configuration of the unified PPDU 1130. In some implementations, the EHT-SIG compression field 1139 may include 2 bits that can be used to indicate any of the 3 different configurations (such as the first compression mode, the second compression mode, or no compression)”; [Page 24]: “As shown in Table 1, a first compression mode (compression mode 1) may be used for full-bandwidth SU or MU-MIMO communications, a second compression mode (compression mode 2) may be used for punctured SU or MU-MIMO communications and no compression may be used for OFDMA (full-bandwidth or punctured) communications”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen2’s teaching with that of Chen in order to support different compression modes based on different types of communications (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462