DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and remarks filed on 25JUL2025 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 12-15, 18 have been amended.
No claims have been added, canceled, or withdrawn.
No new matter has been added.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the Specification Objections have been fully considered and obviates the objections. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the Drawing Objections of Figures 1 & 2 have been fully considered and obviate the objections. Therefore, these objections have been withdrawn. The drawing objections of Figures 6A-B & 3A have been maintained since they were not addressed in the response filed 25JUL2025.
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the Claim Objections have been fully considered and obviates the objections. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and obviates the rejections. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the arguments are persuasive and the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments filed 25JUL2025 regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and have been found to obviate the rejections. Therefore, the arguments are persuasive and the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
¶0013 of the Disclosure describes Figure 6A but does not disclose part 213 as seen in the drawings.
¶0014 of the Disclosure describes Figure 6B but does not disclose part 214 as seen in the drawings.
¶0009-¶0010 & ¶0033 of the Disclosure describes Figure 3A but does not disclose “voltage limiting regulator system 212” as seen in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim recites phrase “RF” in line 2. The abbreviation is used without explanation of what RF stands for prior to using.
The claim recites phrase “VDD” in line 6. The abbreviation is used without explanation of what VDD stands for prior to using.
Regarding Claim 12:
The claim is missing the word “to” in line 3. The line should instead read “…unregulated voltage VDD to the electrical load”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-14, 16-17, & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 1, Fayram discloses an apparatus, comprising: an implant (Fayram Abstract “Generally discussed herein are systems, devices, and methods for providing a therapy (e.g., stimulation) and/or data signal using an implantable device”) comprising an RF driven charge metering stimulator which includes an electrical load which generates pulses based on received RF signals (Fayram ¶0265 “There are two methods of stimulation, namely current controlled stimulation and voltage controlled stimulation. In both techniques, charge balancing can be referred to as charge metering.”; ¶0267; ¶0665 “That is, the external device 8205 can include multiple (e.g., four) subwavelength structures that can be separately excited by respective RF drive signals.”; ¶0606; ¶0391); and a duty cycled power transmitter (Fayram ¶0012 “For example, an external device can facilitate provision of intermittent stimulation by an implantable device. The external device can include at least one hardware processor, a memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor, the memory including data indicating a stimulation schedule stored thereon, the stimulation schedule indicating a time, frequency, duty cycle, and duration of stimulation to be provided by the implantable device, a timer to keep track of time between stimulation sessions and the duration of current stimulation, and a transmitter coupled to the at least one hardware processor. The at least one hardware processor can cause the transmitter to provide radio frequency (RF) first signals to the implantable device, the implantable device including an electrode and the first signals causing the implantable device to provide electrical stimulation through the electrode for a first time duration specified in the stimulation schedule.”; ¶0411; ¶0414) which transmits the RF signals to the implant as needed to produce the pulses (Fayram ¶0689 “When using a time domain multiplexing communication system between an external transmitter and an implanted receiver, the phase and amplitude can be dynamically adjusted to help focus energy (e.g., more efficiently focus energy) at an implanted receiver device, such as with or without using a power detector. One or more of a power detector and a phase detector can be used at the implantable device or at the stimulation device, such as to provide feedback regarding the operation and/or location of the implantable device.”; ¶0695).
Fayram does not disclose wherein the received RF signals are rectified to generate an unregulated voltage VDD which is applied directly to the electrical load without regulation. Perryman in a similar field of endeavor of electrode polarity control teaches wherein the received RF signals are rectified to generate an unregulated voltage VDD which is applied directly to the electrical load without regulation (Perryman ¶0097 "Polarity routing switch network 800 is configured to either individually connect each output to one of input 1 or input 2, or disconnect the output from either of the inputs. This selects the polarity for each individual electrode of electrodes 254 as one of: neutral (off), cathode (negative), or anode (positive). Each output is coupled to a corresponding three-state switch 830 for setting the connection state of the output. Each three-state switch is controlled by one or more of the bits from the selection input 850. In some implementations, selection input 850 may allocate more than one bit to each three-state switch. For example, two bits may encode the three-state information. Thus, the state of each output of polarity routing switch device 800 can be controlled by information encoding the bits stored in the register 732, which may be set by polarity assignment information received from the remote RF pulse generator module 106, as described further below.").
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram, so as to include wherein the received RF signals are rectified to generate an unregulated voltage VDD which is applied directly to the electrical load without regulation, as taught by Perryman, for the purpose of allowing current steering features with evenness while maintaining a compact chip size (Perryman ¶0035).
Regarding claim 2, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the power transmitter is only powered when required to output a pulse (Fayram ¶0267 “In voltage stimulation, a sense resistor may be used to monitor a stimulation current and measure the accumulated charge. The sense resistor can have a known resistance value. By measuring the voltage, the current can be calculated and integrated. The signal produced by charge metering (e.g., calculating accumulated charge) can be provided to a comparator that can indicate that stimulation is to be disable, such as in response to the comparator determining the accumulated charge is greater than (or equal to) a threshold value.”; ¶0411 “A power regulator receives an electrical signal at a first power and produces a signal at a generally constant second power. The power regulator 4412 generally provides a ceiling to an amount of power provided at the output thereof. The power regulator 4412 provides regulated power to a stimulator interface 4430.”).
Regarding claim 3, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the power transmitter is inductively coupled to the implant (Fayram ¶0484 “In one or more embodiments, the implantable device can include an internal inductive coil and the external device can include an external inductive coil. The coils can be configured to resonate at substantially the same frequency, such as to maximize power coupling.”; ¶0518).
Regarding claim 4, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator is connected to an electrode array (Fayram ¶0255 “A stimulation driver circuitry 556 can provide programmable stimulation through various outputs 534, such as to an electrode array.”; ¶0278) and reference ground electrode (Fayram Figures 50-53 showing Ground 4408).
Regarding claim 5, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator includes a power subsystem (Fayram ¶0395 “The circuitry 4210 as illustrated includes energy harvesting circuitry 4212, power management circuitry 4214, stimulation circuitry 4216, demodulator receive circuitry 4220, system control circuitry 4222, and capacitors 4226.”; power management circuitry 4214).
Regarding claim 9, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator includes a data subsystem (Fayram ¶0391 “FIG. 48 illustrates, by way of example, a logical block diagram of an embodiment of a system 4200. The system 4200 as illustrated includes an external device 4202 and an implantable device 4201. The external device 4202 can provide power and/or communication signals to the implantable device 4201.”; ¶0785).
Regarding claim 11, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator includes a stimulator core subsystem. (Fayram ¶0395 “The circuitry 4210 as illustrated includes energy harvesting circuitry 4212, power management circuitry 4214, stimulation circuitry 4216, demodulator receive circuitry 4220, system control circuitry 4222, and capacitors 4226.”; stimulation circuitry 4216).
Regarding claim 12, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. Fayram does not disclose wherein the stimulator core subsystem generates each pulse as a voltage pulse waveform by directly connecting the unregulated voltage VDD to the electrical load. Perryman teaches wherein the stimulator core subsystem generates each pulse as a voltage pulse waveform by directly connecting the unregulated voltage VDD to the electrical load. (Perryman ¶0097 "Polarity routing switch network 800 is configured to either individually connect each output to one of input 1 or input 2, or disconnect the output from either of the inputs. This selects the polarity for each individual electrode of electrodes 254 as one of: neutral (off), cathode (negative), or anode (positive). Each output is coupled to a corresponding three-state switch 830 for setting the connection state of the output. Each three-state switch is controlled by one or more of the bits from the selection input 850. In some implementations, selection input 850 may allocate more than one bit to each three-state switch. For example, two bits may encode the three-state information. Thus, the state of each output of polarity routing switch device 800 can be controlled by information encoding the bits stored in the register 732, which may be set by polarity assignment information received from the remote RF pulse generator module 106, as described further below."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram, so as to include wherein the stimulator core subsystem generates each pulse as a voltage pulse waveform by directly connecting the unregulated voltage VDD to the electrical load, as taught by Perryman, for the purpose of allowing current steering features with evenness while maintaining a compact chip size (Perryman ¶0035).
Regarding claim 13, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11-12. Fayram further discloses a system in which electrodes can be selectively used as an anode or cathode (Fayram ¶0024). Fayram does not disclose the use of tri-state switches that connect each terminal of the electrical load, to the unregulated voltage VDD or VSS. Perryman, in an analogous field of endeavor of electrode polarity control, teaches utilizing tri-state switches that connect each terminal of the electrical load, to the unregulated voltage VDD or VSS. (Perryman ¶0097 "Polarity routing switch network 800 is configured to either individually connect each output to one of input 1 or input 2, or disconnect the output from either of the inputs. This selects the polarity for each individual electrode of electrodes 254 as one of: neutral (off), cathode (negative), or anode (positive). Each output is coupled to a corresponding three-state switch 830 for setting the connection state of the output. Each three-state switch is controlled by one or more of the bits from the selection input 850. In some implementations, selection input 850 may allocate more than one bit to each three-state switch. For example, two bits may encode the three-state information. Thus, the state of each output of polarity routing switch device 800 can be controlled by information encoding the bits stored in the register 732, which may be set by polarity assignment information received from the remote RF pulse generator module 106, as described further below."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram combined with Perryman, so as to include utilizing tri-state switches that connect each terminal of the electrical load, to the unregulated voltage VDD or VSS, as taught by Perryman, for the purpose of allowing current steering features with evenness while maintaining a compact chip size (Perryman ¶0035).
Regarding claim 14, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11-13. Perryman further teaches wherein the three tri-state switches have impedances which reduce power consumption and voltage drop across them. (Perryman ¶0097 “Each output is coupled to a corresponding three-state switch 830 for setting the connection state of the output. Each three-state switch is controlled by one or more of the bits from the selection input 850."; ¶0087 "For neural stimulation via wireless power, transmitted through tissue, the natural inefficiency of the lossy material may lead to a low threshold voltage. In this implementation, a zero biased diode rectifier results in a low output impedance for the device. A resistor 404 and a smoothing capacitor 406 are placed across the output nodes of the bridge rectifier to discharge the electrodes to the ground of the bridge anode. The rectification bridge 402 may include two branches of diode pairs connecting an anode-to -anode and then cathode to cathode. The electrode polarity outputs, both cathode 408 and anode 410 are connected to the outputs formed by the bridge connection. Charge balancing circuitry 246 and current limiting circuitry 248 are placed in series with the outputs.”). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram combined with Perryman, so as to include impedances tri-state switches, since low impedance switches deliver highly efficient power control which provides a low impedance device (Perryman ¶0087, ¶0097). for the purpose of maintaining a compact chip size (Perryman ¶0035).
Regarding claim 16, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 11. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator core subsystem includes a reset switch. (Fayram ¶0430 “FIG. 53 illustrates, by way of example, a wiring diagram of another embodiment of circuitry 4700 that can be included in the implantable device 4201. The circuitry 4700 is similar to the circuitry 4600, with the circuitry 4700 including a switch 4208 in place of the modulator 4426. A first input of the switch 4208 can be coupled to a reference voltage (e.g., ground), such as a DC reference voltage. A second input of the switch 4208 can be coupled to the output of the SAW device 4206. The digital controller 4420 provides a signal to the switch 4208 (on the connection 4719) that determines if the switch 4208 outputs the zero line or the one line”).
Regarding claim 17, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 11. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator core subsystem includes a comparator. (Fayram ¶0267 “In voltage stimulation, a sense resistor may be used to monitor a stimulation current and measure the accumulated charge. The sense resistor can have a known resistance value. By measuring the voltage, the current can be calculated and integrated. The signal produced by charge metering (e.g., calculating accumulated charge) can be provided to a comparator that can indicate that stimulation is to be disable, such as in response to the comparator determining the accumulated charge is greater than (or equal to) a threshold value”).
Regarding claim 19, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claim 1. Fayram further discloses wherein the stimulator includes a data transmitter subsystem. (Fayram ¶0392 “The implantable device 4201 receives signals from the external device 4202 and provides signals to the external device 4202. These signals are represented by the line 4203. The implantable device 4201 can provide modulation (e.g., stimulation therapy, denervation, or other therapy to a location in a body, such as to modulate (e.g., stimulate) a nerve, muscle, or other tissue. The implantable device 4201 can provide data signals to the external device 4202”).
Regarding claim 20, Fayram in combination with Perryman teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 19. Fayram further discloses wherein the data transmitter subsystem provides transmission of uplink data from the implant to the power transmitter. (Fayram ¶0392 “The implantable device 4201 receives signals from the external device 4202 and provides signals to the external device 4202. These signals are represented by the line 4203. The implantable device 4201 can provide modulation (e.g., stimulation therapy, denervation, or other therapy to a location in a body, such as to modulate (e.g., stimulate) a nerve, muscle, or other tissue. The implantable device 4201 can provide data signals to the external device 4202”).
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited) and Pivonka et al. (US Publication No. 20190269913; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 6, Fayram in combination with Perryman discloses the limitations of claims 1 & 5. Fayram furthers discloses a system in which electrodes can be selectively used as an anode or cathode (Fayram ¶0024), and wherein the power subsystem includes a rectifier for rectifying the received RF signals, the rectifier being configured to (Fayram ¶0396 "The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can include a rectifier and one or more capacitors to help store a rectified signal. The energy harvesting circuitry 4212 can power the implantable device 4201, such as when a stimulation signal is being received from the external device 4202 and in some embodiments after a stimulation is received is received from the external device 4202."). Neither Fayram or Perryman disclose a rectifier that can operate in a predefined range of AC voltage amplitudes. However, Pivonka, in an analogous field of endeavor of neuromodulation teaches a rectifier that can operate in a predefined range of AC voltage amplitudes (Pivonka ¶0133 “Referring additionally to FIG. 11, in some embodiments, implantable device 200 comprises a rectifier that achieves an efficiency of over 50 percent when the minimum RF voltage amplitude at the rectifier input is over 300 mV. For example, when antenna 240 receives approximately 500 micro W of power, the RF input voltage to the rectifier can be approximately 350 mV. Conventional diode-capacitor ladder rectifiers suffer from low efficiency at low input voltage, especially voltages below 0.5V. To avoid this issue, integrated circuit 220 can comprise one or more charge-pump connected self-driven synchronous rectifiers with low-Vt devices. In one embodiment, the RF front end comprises four stages which are used to boost the voltage sufficiently above 700 mV to ensure proper low dropout (LDO) regulator operation and supply the active circuits of integrated circuit 220. The first stage of the rectifier can be sized larger than one or more subsequent stages (e.g. on the order of 10 times larger), because it drives the current used for recharging energy storage assembly 270, such as to provide sufficient energy for stimulation. This first stage can be configured to output an unregulated voltage of approximately 300 mV-800 mV (e.g. at node Vdriver of FIG. 11), and can supply approximately 1 mA or more of current depending on the available power and charging rate. The remaining three stages can be sized similarly with respect to each other, and output approximately 900 mV-3200 mV (e.g. at node VDC of FIG. 11) while driving approximately 10-30 micro A for the remaining digital and analog circuits of integrated circuit 220."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram combined with Perryman, so as to include a rectifier operating in a predefined range of AC voltage amplitudes, as taught by Pivonka, for the purpose of allowing the system to adapt to the changing power needs of the stimulator with a minimal change in performance (Pivonka ¶103).
Regarding claim 7, the Fayram, Perryman, and Pivonka combination further teaches wherein the rectifier includes only one type of native transistor (Pivonka ¶0132 “Integrated circuit 220 (e.g. power management assembly 235) comprises a rectifier that converts a received AC signal (e.g. a power signal transmitted by an external device 500) to a DC voltage that can be used to charge energy storage assembly 270 and/or supply power to the active circuitry of integrated circuit 220 or other active components of implantable device 200. Depending on the induced EMF at antenna 240, and the quality factor, several rectifier topologies can be employed in integrated circuit 220, for example: diode connected metal oxide semiconductor (MOS), native MOS, and/or self-driven synchronous rectifier (SDSR) topologies."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram combined with Perryman, so as to include a rectifier with only one type of native transistor, as taught by Pivonka, for the purpose of allowing the system to adapt to the changing power needs of the stimulator with a minimal change in performance (Pivonka ¶103).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited), Pivonka et al. (US Publication No. 20190269913; Previously Cited), and Kisker et al. (WO Publication No. 2012013360; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 8, the Fayram, Perryman, and Pivonka combination does not further disclose wherein the rectifier is configured to be switched by the received RF signals. However, Kisker, in an analogous field of endeavor of implantable electrode devices for capturing an intracardiac electrogram, pacing, and optimizing coupling to the electrode device, teaches wherein the rectifier is configured to be switched by the received RF signals (Kisker Page 31 Line 28 through Page 32 Line 6 "The electrical impulse P for stimulation can be a current delivered by the electrode 2, a voltage at the electrode 3 and/or across at least two electrodes 2. The electrical impulse P can be generated by providing energy to the electrode 2 directly, using a switch and/or other means. In the following, a particular operation scheme for generating an electrical impulse P using the arrangement A is described in detail. A switch 13 preferably connects and/or disconnects the output of rectifier 7 and/or buffer 9 to or from an electrode 2 and/or a pulse forming device 16 of the electrode device 1. Closing switch 13 can allow for generating at least one electrical impulse P and/or for delivering electrical impulses P via the electrodes 2. This is particularly preferred if the electrode device 1 is used for stimulation, e.g. pacing.”). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram, Perryman, and Pivonka, so as to include a switchable rectifier, as taught by Kisker for the purposes of allowing the system to avoid disturbances (Kisker Page 49 Lines 1-2).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Zdeblick et al. (US Publication No. 20100204766; Previously Cited) Rejection Maintained.
Regarding claim 10, Fayram discloses a system in which electrodes can be selectively used as an anode or cathode (Fayram ¶0024), but does not disclose wherein the data subsystem is configured to receive data signals and recover a clock of same frequency as carrier wave. Zdeblick in a similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the data subsystem is configured to receive data signals and recover a clock of same frequency as carrier wave (Zdeblick ¶0278 "Referring again to FIG. 24, data-clock-recovery circuit 2424 assesses the AC signal received by coil 2422 and extracts data and clock signals embedded therein. The clock signal is used to control the timing of data sent to and from logic and control circuit 2436. Many technologies are known in the electronic arts for performing the clock function. One such mechanism that may be used with the switching circuits of the present invention is frequency shiftkeying. Frequency shift keying changes the period of the received AC signal, e.g., a 1-MHz AC signal or a 1-msec signal period represents a one, and a 2-MHz AC signal or a 0.5-msec signa! period represents a zero. Data signal 2428 and clock signal 2430 are then fed into logic and control circuit 2436."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram, so as to include data subsystem is configured to receive data signals and recover a clock of same frequency as carrier wave as taught by Zdeblick, for the purpose of allowing the system to synchronize the apparatus and deliver accurate stimulation to the patient (Zdeblick ¶0184).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited), and Li et al. (US Publication No. 20060091917; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 15, the Fayram and Perryman combination discloses the apparatus in claim 14, but does not disclose wherein the three tri-state switches use voltage tolerant IO transistors. However, Li in an analogous field of endeavor of voltage tolerant I/O circuits using native NMOS transistor for improved performance teaches wherein the three tri-state switches use voltage tolerant IO transistors (Li ¶0015 "This invention presents a high voltage tolerant I/O circuit coupled between a low voltage circuit and a high voltage circuit. The I/O circuit has a faster switching speed when it operates ina three state mode.", ¶0005 “Switching devices are used to switch the I/O circuit among the three states. The switching devices are often a set of correlated PMOS and NMOS transistors. The performance of the I/O circuit greatly depends on the switching speed of those switching devices when the I/O circuit operates in the three state mode."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram and Perryman, so as to include voltage tolerant IO transistors, as taught by Li, for the purpose of allowing the system to improve its performance (Li ¶0006).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fayram et al. (US Publication No. 20180085593; Previously Cited) in view of Perryman et al. (US Publication No. 20160008602; Previously Cited) and Ha et al. (US Publication No. 20180169422; Previously Cited).
Regarding claim 18, Fayram in combination with Perryman disclose the limitations of claims 1 & 11. Fayram additionally discloses a system in which electrodes can be selectively used as an anode or cathode (Fayram ¶0024), but does not disclose wherein the stimulator core subsystem implements adiabatic voltage stimulation for the photosensitive or variable load using the unregulated voltage VDD while at the same time metering the delivered charge, nor does Perryman. Ha in an analogous field of endeavor of radio frequency powered adiabatic stimulation with energy replenishment teaches wherein the stimulator core subsystem implements adiabatic voltage stimulation to a photosensitive or variable load while at the same time metering the delivered charge (Ha ¶0027 "The adiabatic stimulator 120 may be configured to provide a voltage supply for one or more electrodes in the electrode array 150. For instance, the adiabatic stimulator 120 may generate the voltage supply that drives a current through one or more electrodes in the electrode array 150. The adiabatic stimulator 120 may be further configured to recycle the energy used for neural stimulation by returning the charge accumulated at the one or more electrodes (e.g., of the electrode array 150) to the power source 170. The recycled energy stored at the power source 170 may be used to power one or more other operations of the neural stimulator 100 including, for example, control, configuration, voltage bias generation, communication, and recording (e.g., of intracranial electroencephalography)."). Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Fayram combine with Perryman, so as to include adiabatic voltage stimulation, as taught by Ha, for the purpose of allowing the system to increase energy efficiency (Ha ¶0023).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796