Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-25,30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner(English translation WO2020/011903A1).
Regarding claims 22,23,30, Kirchner teaches an insect puree that is formed by soaking a live black solider fly in a liquid, cleaning the black soldier fly, pureeing the black soldier fly to form a ground insect, and adjusting to a pH of 1.5 to 6.5(para 70-83). Since Kirchner teaches cleaning of the black soldier fly, it would have been obvious to degut the insect in order to remove any waste material.
Although Kirchner does not disclose the exact method of making, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Kirchner meets the requirements of the claimed degutted insect, Kirchner clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Regarding claim 24, Kirchner teaches the removal of water, thus yielding a dried insect (para 117).
Regarding claim 25, Kirchner teaches removing gut content of the black soldier fly. Therefore, the gut content would be a separate product. Furthermore, one would expect some gut content to still be present in the degutted insect since methods are rarely 100% effective.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 22-25, 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791