DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 10/06/2025 and 12/08/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims and drawings in the submissions dated 12/08/2025 in response to the office action mailed 06/06/2025 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 2, and 7 are amended. Claims 1-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objection
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 4 on page 7 of 13 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the drawing have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawing has been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 5 on page 7 of 13 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to claims 2 and 7-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection of claims 2 and 7-16 has been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 2 on page 8 of 13 through paragraph 5 on page 10 of 13 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), and Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko).
Applicant’s arguments, see the last two lines on page 10 of 13 through paragraph 2 on page 11 of 13 of Applicant’s, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), and Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi).
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs 3-5 on page 11 of 13 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi), and Geerds, US 2014/0267596 A1 (hereinafter referred to Geerds).
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraphs 1-3 on page 12 of 13 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi), Geerds, US 2014/0267596 A1 (hereinafter referred to Geerds), and Wallace, US 2017/0059966 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Wallace).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), and further in view of Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko).
As to claim 1, Kirejevas teaches an imaging system for use in a low parallax (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, paragraph [0011]], “the present lens assembly and camera lens system enable capture of panoramic spherical or at least semi-spherical moving pictures with reduced or no parallax error”) multi-lens imaging device (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, 150, paragraph [0102], “the camera system 150 comprises a camera lens system 100 with first lens assembly 10A, second lens assembly 10B, third lens assembly 10C (not shown), fourth lens assembly 10D (not shown), and fifth lens assembly 102”), the imaging system comprising:
an objective lens (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, 10, paragraph [0083], “the lens assembly 10”) comprising a first lens element group having an outer lens element (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, 22, paragraph [0083], “a first primary lens 22”), a pre-aperture stop second lens element group (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, 24, paragraph [0083], “a first secondary lens 24,” which is located before the “aperture stop 26”), and a post aperture stop third lens element group (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, 42, paragraph [0088], “a second lens group 42,” located after the aperture stop 26), wherein the first lens element group, the second lens element group, and the third lens element group direct incident light within a field of view towards a first image plane as an image (Kirejevas, Fig. 1, paragraph [0075], “a first image plane of the first lens assembly”), and wherein the outer lens element is a polygonal shaped outer lens element (Kirejevas, Figs. 1-2, 22, paragraph [0086], “the first primary lens 22 has a first side surface 52, a second side surface 54, a third side surface 56, and optionally a fourth side surface58. The side surfaces 52, 54, 56, 58 are plane surfaces with respective first side normal, second side normal, third side normal, and furth side normal,” thus the outer lens element has a square shape).
Kirejevas does not teach the imaging system comprising:
a relay optical system configured to magnify the image onto a secondary image plane as a magnified image,
wherein the objective lens is configured to direct incident light that enters the outer lens element of the first lens element group such that projections of chief rays included in the incident light converge toward a low-parallax volume located behind the first image plane,
wherein the objective lens configuration provides a front color artifact and a first lateral color artifact at the first image, and
wherein the relay optical system reduces the first lateral color artifact such that the magnified image has a second lateral color artifact lower than the first lateral color artifact.
However, in the same field of endeavor Inoko teaches an imaging system (Inoko, Fig. 1, paragraph [0031], “the imaging optical system is a wide-angle lens”) comprising:
an objective lens (Inoko, Fig. 1, 1, paragraph [0033], “the first lens L1 through the tenth lens L10 constitute the first lens unit 1”) comprising a first lens element group (Inoko, Fig. 1, L1, L2, the first two lenses L1 and L2 are considered the first lens element group; note the reference label for lens element L2 is omitted) having an outer lens element (Inoko, Fig. 1, L1, paragraph [0033], “a first lens L1”), a pre-aperture stop second lens element group (Inoko, Fig. 1, L3, L4, L5, the lenses L3, L4, and L5 are considered the second lens element group; note the reference labels for lens elements L3, L4, and L5 are omitted), and a post aperture stop third lens element group (Inoko, Fig. 1, L6, L7, L8, L9, L10, the lenses L6, L7, L8, L9, and L10 are considered the post aperture stop third lens element group; note the object side surface of the sixth lens L6 is considered the aperture stop), wherein the first lens element group, the second lens element group, and the third lens element group direct incident light within a field of view towards a first image plane as an image (Inoko, Fig. 1, 3, paragraph [0043], “the intermediate image formed at the in-lens conjugate point 3… the wide-angle lens has a wider angle of view”); and
a relay optical system (Inoko, Fig. 1, 2, paragraph [0033], “the eleventh lens L11 through the final lens L20 constitute the second lens unit 2,” paragraph [0041], “the second lens unit 2, which is a relay lens unit”) configured to magnify the image (Inoko, Fig. 1, 2, paragraph [0064], “the second lens unit can have a magnification close to the unit magnification”) onto a secondary image plane as a magnified image (Inoko, Fig. 1, 2, paragraph [0041], “the final image plane,” the final image plane is located at the liquid crystal panel 5),
wherein the objective lens is configured to direct incident light that enters the outer lens element of the first lens element group such that projections of chief rays included in the incident light converge toward a low-parallax volume located behind the first image plane (Inoko, Fig. 1, 3, figure 1 shows via the ray diagram that the objective lens 1 direct the incident light such that the incident light converges toward a low-parallax volume behind the first image plane 3, the low-parallax volume is the volume of light rays provided between the intermediate image plane 3 and the final image plane 5),
wherein the objective lens configuration provides a front color artifact (Inoko, Fig. 3, paragraph [0040], “Fig. 3 illustrates longitudinal aberration graphs at the in-lens conjugate point 3 according to the present embodiment,” the spherical aberration graph showing the aberration of three wavelengths 656.27 nm (red), 587.56 nm (green), and 486.13 nm (blue) shows a front color artifact) and a first lateral color artifact at the first image (Inoko, Fig. 3, paragraph [0040], “Fig. 3 illustrates longitudinal aberration graphs at the in-lens conjugate point 3 according to the present embodiment,” the spherical aberration graph showing the aberration of three wavelengths 656.27 (red), 587.56 (green), and 486.13 (blue) in a lateral range from -0.5 mm to 0.5 mm shows a first lateral color artifact), and
wherein the relay optical system reduces the first lateral color artifact such that the magnified image has a second lateral color artifact lower than the first lateral color artifact (Inoko, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0039]-[0041], the spherical aberration is corrected by the second lens unit 2, which is a relay lens unit, and “good image forming performance illustrated in Fig. 2 is obtained in the final image plane,” the spherical aberration graph in figure 2 shows the aberration of three wavelengths 656.27 (red), 587.56 (green), and 486.13 (blue) in a lateral range from -0.150 mm to 0.150 mm, thus the magnified image has a second lateral color artifact lower than the first lateral color artifact ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the objective lens a relay optical system configured to magnify the image onto a secondary image plane as a magnified image,
wherein the objective lens is configured to direct incident light that enters the outer lens element of the first lens element group such that projections of chief rays included in the incident light converge toward a low-parallax volume located behind the first image plane,
wherein the objective lens configuration provides a front color artifact and a first lateral color artifact at the first image, and
wherein the relay optical system reduces the first lateral color artifact such that the magnified image has a second lateral color artifact lower than the first lateral color artifact, of Inoko, because it is possible to provide an imaging optical system which forms an intermediate image, the imaging optical system having a reduced size while sufficiently correcting distortion, and a projection-type image display apparatus and an image pickup apparatus using the imaging optical system (Inoko, paragraph [0015]).
As to claim 5, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach the system as in claim 1 wherein the front color is limited to an extent of less than or equal to about 0.5 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor Inoko teaches an imaging system wherein the front color is limited to an extent of less than or equal to about 0.5 mm (Inoko, Fig. 3, paragraph [0040], “Fig. 3 illustrates longitudinal aberration graphs at the in-lens conjugate point 3 according to the present embodiment,” the spherical aberration graph showing the aberration of three wavelengths 656.27 (red), 587.56 (green), and 486.13 (blue) in a lateral range from -0.5 mm to 0.5 mm shows a first lateral color artifact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein the front color is limited to an extent of less than or equal to about 0.5 mm of Inoko, because it is possible to provide an imaging optical system which forms an intermediate image, the imaging optical system having a reduced size while sufficiently correcting distortion, and a projection-type image display apparatus and an image pickup apparatus using the imaging optical system (Inoko, paragraph [0015]).
As to claim 6, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach the system as in claim 1 wherein the design of the objective lens and the relay optical system are further designed to sacrifice one or more optical performance attributes, including spherical, coma, astigmatism, field curvature, distortion, chromatic aberrations and telecentricity, at the first image plane so as to benefit performance at the secondary image plane.
However, in the same field of endeavor Inoko teaches an imaging system wherein the design of the objective lens and the relay optical system are further designed to sacrifice one or more optical performance attributes, including spherical, coma, astigmatism, field curvature, distortion, chromatic aberrations and telecentricity, at the first image plane so as to benefit performance at the secondary image plane (Inoko, Fig. 3, paragraph [0040], “Fig. 3 illustrates longitudinal aberration graphs at the in-lens conjugate point 3,” Fig. 2, paragraph [0038], “Fig. 2 illustrates longitudinal aberration graphs representing an image forming performance of the wide-angle lens,” paragraph [0039], “as illustrated in Fig. 2, it can be understood that distortion is corrected well. In addition, spherical aberration and astigmatism are also corrected well,” thus Fig. 3 shows the sacrifice of the optical performance of spherical aberration, astigmatism, and distortion at the first image plane which benefits the performance of the spherical aberration, astigmatism, and distortion at the final image plane as shown in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein the design of the objective lens and the relay optical system are further designed to sacrifice one or more optical performance attributes, including spherical, coma, astigmatism, field curvature, distortion, chromatic aberrations and telecentricity, at the first image plane so as to benefit performance at the secondary image plane of Inoko, because it is possible to provide an imaging optical system which forms an intermediate image, the imaging optical system having a reduced size while sufficiently correcting distortion, and a projection-type image display apparatus and an image pickup apparatus using the imaging optical system (Inoko, paragraph [0015]).
As to claim 17, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Kirejevas further teaches the system as in Claim 1 further comprising an outer dome having concentric spherical surfaces through which light enters the objective lens (Kirejevas, Figs. 3-5, 34A-E, paragraph [0085], “the first primary lens 22 has a convex and spherical first surface 34,” paragraphs [0093]-[0098] describe a first lens assembly 10A, a second lens assembly 10B, a third lens assembly 10C, a fourth lens assembly 10D, and a fifth lens assembly 102 each having a first primary lens with a convex and spherical first surface 34A-34E, respectively. Figures 3 and 4 show the arrangement of the lens assemblies creates a dome having concentric spherical surface through which light enters the objective lens).
Claims 2-4, 7-10, 18, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), in view of Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), and further in view of Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi).
As to claim 2, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach the system as in claim 1 wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a transverse component of a spherical aberration at an entrance pupil that favors image light from peripheral fields.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches an imaging system for use in a low parallax (Ohashi, Fig. 6, 11, IR, IL, paragraph [0110], “image planes IR and IL are formed on the image pickup plane 11 in longitudinal alignment by the right- and left-optical path superwide-angle lens optical systems OSR and OSL having mutual parallaxes”) multi-lens imaging device (Ohashi, Fig. 4, OSR, OSL, paragraph [0106]-[0107], “two superwide-able lens optical systems set up as shown typically in Fig. 1 are assembled into a stereo-imaging unit as shown in Fig. 4… superwide-angle lens optical systems for the right and left optical paths are indicated at OSR and OSL”), wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a transverse component of a spherical aberration at an entrance pupil that favors image light from peripheral fields (Ohashi, Fig. 3(a), paragraph [0034], the relay lens group ensures efficient correction of aberrations of off-axis light beams, paragraph [0096], figure 3(a) shows the corrected spherical aberration, Fig. 6, IR, IL, paragraph [0110], “image planes IR and IL are formed on the image pickup plane 11 in longitudinal alignment by the right- and left-optical path superwide-angle lens optical systems OSR and OSL having mutual parallaxes,” thus the parallax is corrected by correcting the off-axis spherical aberrations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the system wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a transverse component of a spherical aberration at an entrance pupil that favors image light from peripheral fields of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 3, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 1 wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a longitudinal width of the low-parallax volume.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches an imaging system teaches the system as in claim 1 wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a longitudinal width of the low-parallax volume (Ohashi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0093], the image plane I is sized such that the longitudinal direction is 1.84 mm and the diameter of an image circle is 3.3 mm, paragraph [0110], image planes IR and IL are formed on the image pickup plane 11 in longitudinal alignment by the right- and left-optical path superwide-angle lens optical systems OSR and OSL having mutual parallaxes, thus the low-parallax volume is limited in a longitudinal width and parallax is corrected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the system wherein parallax is corrected by limiting a longitudinal width of the low-parallax volume of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 4, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 1 wherein the field of view of the objective lens and a magnification of the relay optical system provide a target optical resolution at the secondary image plane.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches an imaging system teaches the system as in claim 1 wherein the field of view of the objective lens and a magnification of the relay optical system provide a target optical resolution at the secondary image plane (Ohashi, Fig. 1, Ob, R1, paragraph [0119], the objective lens of the superwide-angle lens provides “an angle of view of about 120° in the horizontal direction and 90° in the vertical direction,” paragraphs [0059]-[0060], the condition 1<α<2 where α is the relay magnification of said relay lens group indicated the relay optical system is configured to magnify the image, paragraph [0090], “an image plane I” is the secondary image plane onto which the magnified image is magnified, paragraph [0093], the image plane I is sized such that the lateral direction x the longitudinal direction is 2.75 mm x 1.84 mm, thus the a target optical resolution at the secondary image plane is provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the system wherein the field of view of the objective lens and a magnification of the relay optical system provide a target optical resolution at the secondary image plane of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 7, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 1 wherein the relay optical system further includes a beam splitter configured to split incident light into a plurality of lights paths and a plurality of optical sensors, individual of the optical sensors being associated with individual of the plurality of light paths.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system wherein the relay optical system further includes a beam splitter configured to split incident light into a plurality of lights paths (Ohashi, Fig. 10, HM, paragraph [0128], a half-silvered mirror HM transmits light to rear lens subgroup RG21 and reflects light to rear lens subgroup RG22) and a plurality of optical sensors (Ohashi, Fig. 10, 101, 102, paragraph [0128], image pickup device 101 and image pickup device 102), individual of the optical sensors being associated with individual of the plurality of light paths (Ohashi, Fig. 10, 101, 102, paragraph [0128], the image pickup device 101 is an optical sensor associated with the light path through the rear lens subgroup RG21 and the image pickup device 102 is an optical sensor associated with the light path through the rear lens subgroup RG22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein the relay optical system further includes a beam splitter configured to split incident light into a plurality of lights paths and a plurality of optical sensors, individual of the optical sensors being associated with individual of the plurality of light paths of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 8, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and further in view of Ohashi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 7 wherein the relay optical system further includes one or more of zooming optics, focusing optics, galvo scanners, wavefront modulators, or optical filters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system wherein the relay optical system further includes one or more of zooming optics, focusing optics, galvo scanners, wavefront modulators, or optical filters (Ohashi, Fig. 1, F, paragraph [0090], “just before the image plane I, there is located a filter F”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein the relay optical system further includes one or more of zooming optics, focusing optics, galvo scanners, wavefront modulators, or optical filters of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 9, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and further in view of Ohashi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 7 wherein the plurality of optical sensors comprise at least one of a visible image sensor, an infrared image sensor, an event sensor, a neuromorphic sensor, or a light field sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system wherein the plurality of optical sensors comprise at least one of a visible image sensor, an infrared image sensor, an event sensor, a neuromorphic sensor, or a light field sensor (Ohashi, Fig. 10, 101, 102, paragraph [0120], the image pickup device is a VGA, thus the image pickup device 101 and the image pickup device 102 are VGA image sensors. Note: VGA image sensors are CMOS sensors which fall under the category of visible image sensor or infrared image sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein the plurality of optical sensors comprise at least one of a visible image sensor, an infrared image sensor, an event sensor, a neuromorphic sensor, or a light field sensor of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 10, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and further in view of Ohashi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7. Kirejevas does not teach teaches the system as in claim 7 wherein a field of view for one of the plurality of optical sensors substantially matches a field of view for the image sensor, with respect to a field of view captured by the objective lens.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system wherein a field of view for one of the plurality of optical sensors substantially matches a field of view for the image sensor, with respect to a field of view captured by the objective lens (Ohashi, Fig. 10, 101, 102, paragraph [0128], the image pickup device 101 is an optical sensor and the image pickup device 102 is an optical sensor, thus, because the image sensor is the optical sensor, the field of view of the optical sensors is substantially matched to the field of view of the image sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein a field of view for one of the plurality of optical sensors substantially matches a field of view for the image sensor, with respect to a field of view captured by the objective lens of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 18, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Kirejevas further teaches the system as in claim 1, wherein the objective lens is a first objective lens (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, 22A, paragraph [0093], the objective lens 22 is a first objective lens 22A), comprising a first image channel (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, 10A, paragraph [0102], “first lens assembly 10A”), the system further comprising: a second image channel adjacent the first image channel (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, 10B, paragraph [0102], “second lens assembly 10B”) and comprising a second objective lens (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, 22A, paragraph [0093], the second lens assembly 10B comprises a second objective lens 22A), the first and second image channels each coupled to a housing (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, paragraph [0064], “the camera lens system may comprise a frame or frame assembly supporting the different lenses in the camera lens system. The frame may comprise one or more walls, e.g. for optically separating at least parts of different lens assemblies,” thus the walls for optically separating at least parts of different lens assemblies are considered the housing), wherein the first housing and the second housing are separated by a seam width (Kirejevas, Fig. 7, as shown in the annotated figure 7 below the separation between the lens assemblies is a seam width). Kirejevas does not teach the relay optical system is a first relay optical system and a second relay optical system.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the system, wherein the objective lens is a first objective lens (Ohashi, Fig. 8, ObR, paragraph [0125], objective lens group on the right ObR), the relay optical system is a first relay optical system (Ohashi, Fig. 8, R1R, paragraph [0125], relay lens group on the right R1R), and the first objective lens and the first relay optical system comprise a first image channel (Ohashi, Fig. 8, OSR, paragraph [0125], the lens optical system on the right OSR is the first image channel), the system further comprising: a second image channel adjacent the first image channel (Ohashi, Fig. 8, OSL, paragraph [0125], the lens optical system on the left OSL is the second image channel which is adjacent to the first image channel OSR) and comprising a second objective lens (Ohashi, Fig. 8, ObL, paragraph [0125], the objective lens group on the left ObL) and a second relay optical system (Ohashi, Fig. 8, R1L, paragraph [0125], relay lens group on the left R1L).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the relay optical system is a first relay optical system and a second relay optical system of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 23, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach the imaging system as in claim 1 wherein an aperture stop of the objective lens is imaged nominally to an aperture stop of the relay optical system.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system wherein an aperture stop of the objective lens is imaged nominally to an aperture stop of the relay optical system (Ohashi, Fig. 1, S, FS, paragraph [0089], the objective lens group OB has an aperture stop S and a secondary field stop FS where the primary image-formation plane is formed by the objective lens group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system wherein an aperture stop of the objective lens is imaged nominally to an aperture stop of the relay optical system of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
As to claim 24, Kirejevas in view of Inoko teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Kirejevas does not teach the imaging system as in claim 1 further comprising a display device proximate the secondary image plane, for displaying the magnified image as a projection display.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ohashi teaches the imaging system further comprising a display device proximate the secondary image plane, for displaying the magnified image as a projection display (Ohashi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0072], “a superwide-angle electronic imaging unit incorporating such an imaging unit, and a display unit comprising any one of the aforesaid superwide-angle lens optical systems and a display device located on its image side” paragraphs [0146]-[149], “referring specifically to an arrangement comprising three inventive superwide-able lens optical systems of Example 1… if display devices are located in place of three such image pickup devices, it is then possible to achieve a so-called triple projection optical system”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging system of Kirejevas with the imaging system further comprising a display device proximate the secondary image plane, for displaying the magnified image as a projection display of Ohashi, because it is thus possible to obtain a super-latitude camera having an enlarged dynamic range (Ohashi, paragraph [0128]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), in view of Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), in view of Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi), and further in view of Geerds, US 2014/0267596 A1 (hereinafter referred to Geerds).
As to claim 19, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and further in view of Ohashi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18. Ohashi does not teach the system as in claim 18, further comprising: a polygonal-shaped frame having a hollow center, wherein the first housing is coupled to a first face of the polygonal-shaped frame and the second housing is coupled to a second face of the polygonal-shaped frame, the second face being adjacent to the first face.
However, in the same field of endeavor Geerds teaches a camera system (Geerds, Fig. 10, paragraph [0066], “camera system”) comprising: a polygonal-shaped frame having a hollow center (Geerds, Fig. 1, 100, paragraph [0019], “the camera mounting frame may take the form of a polyhedron,” paragraph [0049], “100 is the mounting frame, comprised of six individual panels 101-106,” Fig. 10, paragraph [0066], “the mounting frame takes the form of an external support structure”), wherein the first housing is coupled to a first face of the polygonal-shaped frame (Geerds, Fig. 1 and Fig. 10, 101, 110, 901, 910, 911, paragraph [0049], the individual panel 101 is the first face of the polygonal-shaped frame, paragraphs [0066]-[0067], “the individual cameras 110 are mounted according to the same pattern as Fig. 1,” thus camera 110 located at the first face 101 is the first housing coupled to the first face 101 of the frame via two prongs 910 and 911 that slide into the three prong holder 901) and the second housing is coupled to a second face of the polygonal-shaped frame (Geerds, Fig. 1 and Fig. 10, 102, 110, 901, 910, 911, paragraph [0049], the individual panel 102 is the second face of the polygonal-shaped frame, paragraphs [0066]-[0067], “the individual cameras 110 are mounted according to the same pattern as Fig. 1,” thus camera 110 located at the second face 102 is the second housing coupled to the second face 102 of the frame via two prongs 910 and 911 that slide into the three prong holder 901), the second face being adjacent to the first face (Geerds, Fig. 1, 101, 102, paragraph [0049], the individual plane 102 representing the second face of the frame is adjacent to the individual plane 101 representing the first face of the frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kirejevas with the system comprising: a polygonal-shaped frame having a hollow center, wherein the first housing is coupled to a first face of the polygonal-shaped frame and the second housing is coupled to a second face of the polygonal-shaped frame, the second face being adjacent to the first face of Geerds, because the disclosed camera system is capable of providing a lightweight and compact solution to capture spherical and/or panoramic images and/or video, and the small, compact size decreases or reduces parallax errors to a manageable minimum (Geerds, paragraph [0070]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirejevas et al., US 2019/0235214 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kirejevas), in view of Inoko, US 2014/0036142 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Inoko), in view of Ohashi, US 2005/0088762 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 05/31/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Ohashi), in view of Geerds, US 2014/0267596 A1 (hereinafter referred to Geerds), and further in view of Wallace, US 2017/0059966 A1 (referenced in IDS dated 04/15/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Wallace).
As to claim 20, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and Ohashi, and further in view of Geerds teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19. Kirejevas does not teach the system as in claim 19 wherein at least one of the first housing is coupled to the first face or the second housing is coupled to the second face using at least one of magnets, vee groves, flats, and alignment balls.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wallace teaches a camera system (Wallace, Fig. 1A, 100, 102, paragraph [0029], “apparatus 100 comprises a camera array 102”) wherein at least one of the first housing is coupled to the first face or the second housing is coupled to the second face using at least one of magnets, vee groves, flats, and alignment balls (Wallace, Fig. 1, 152, 154, 156, paragraph [0035], camera retaining element 152 is moveably and detachably coupled to an adjacent camera retaining element 154 via a coupling element 156… various coupling elements such as but not limited to magnetic elements, snap fit, dove tail, ball and socket and the like can be used to attached the adjacent camera retaining elements to each other”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ohashi with the system wherein at least one of the first housing is coupled to the first face or the second housing is coupled to the second face using at least one of magnets, vee groves, flats, and alignment balls, because doing so provides adaptable, shape-changeable structures that can be used for assembling camera arrays which can be employed for generating images of a real-world environment (Wallace, paragraph [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-16 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 11, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and further in view of Ohashi teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7. However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest the imaging system wherein the relay optical system further includes a depth sensing optical system including a laser range finding system including both a laser light source, one of the plurality of optical sensors, and beam shaping optics, in combination with the other limitations of claim 7.
In particular, Kirejevas teaches the imaging system for use in a low parallax multi-lens imaging device.
Although Inoko and Ohashi teach the relay optics, there is insufficient structural similarities between Kirejevas, Inoko, and Ohashi to motivate an ordinary skilled artisan to include a depth sensing optical system including a laser range finding system including in the optical system of Kirejevas using the relay optics of Inoko or Ohashi.
Claims 12-16 are dependent on claim 11 and are allowable over the prior art of record for at least the same reasons as claim 11.
As to claim 21, Kirejevas in view of Inoko and Ohashi, and further in view of Geerds teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19. However, the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest the imaging system, wherein the first relay optical system extends at least partially into the hollow center and through an opening in a face of the polygonal-shaped frame opposite the first face, in combination with the other limitations of claim 21.
In particular, Kirejevas teaches the imaging system for use in a low parallax multi-lens imaging device.
Although Inoko and Ohashi teach he relay optical system, and Geerds teaches the polygonal-shaped frame, there is insufficient structural similarities between Kirejevas, Inoko, Ohashi, and Geerds to motivate an ordinary skilled artisan to extends the relay optical systems of Inoko or Ohashi at least partially into and through an opening in a face of the polygonal shaped frame of Geerds.
Claim 22 is dependent on claim 21 and is allowable over the prior art of record for at least the same reasons as claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/JENNIFER A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872