DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the response filed 12/22/2025. Claims 1-20 remain pending and under prosecution.
Claim Interpretation
No elements are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriebel (US Pat No. 3882718 – cited by applicant) in view of Samec et al (US Pub No. 20160270656), Nishi (US Pub No. 20060072215), and Iijima et al (US Pat No. 5989195).
In regard to Claims 1, 10-13, and 18, Kriebel discloses a device for detecting motion of a surface, i.e. eyeball, the device comprising:
a light/excitation source 22 configured to emit light, best seen in Figure 1 (Col.4: 25-38),
a focusing lens 20 that is aspherical and configured to focus the light, best seen in Figure 1 (Col.4: 25-38), and
a detector 30 configured to receive the focused light reflected off the surface and configured to detect motion of the received light being indicative of the motion of the surface reflecting the light – “the difference between the two signals developed on leads 32 and 34 [which are outputted from photodetector 30] can be used to provide an analog error signal proportional to the displacement of the eyeball surface” (Col.4: 60-63), which provides for noncontact intraocular pressure measurement of the eye.
However, Kriebel do not expressly disclose the detector detecting motion of a distribution pattern of the received light, the motion of the distribution pattern of the received light being indicative of the motion of the surface reflecting the light.
Samec et al teach that it is well-known in the art that a distribution pattern of reflected light from an eye from an analogous device that emits light from a light source and detected by a photodetector is an effective indicator intraocular pressure – “The pattern of backscattering or reflection of the emitted light may be an indicator of the intraocular pressure of the eye” (1739).
Samec et al teach processing device 32 is used to determine said intraocular pressure of the eye with the light sensor by measuring said distribution pattern (1738).
Since Kriebel disclose the detector already having the function of detecting the reflected light, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the functioning of said detector of Kriebel with one that provides a distribution pattern of the received light that is analyzed by a processing device as taught by Samec et al, as an updated means to determine the intraocular pressure from the reflected light, wherein in combination, the detector would thus detect motion of a distribution pattern of the received light, the motion of the distribution pattern of the received light being indicative of the motion of the surface reflecting the light and the processing device is configured to determine an estimate of the pressure of the eye based on the detected motion of the surface of the eye as taught by Samec et al.
However, Kriebel as modified do not disclose the focusing lens having a conic constant in a range from -1.5 to -0.5.
Nishi teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous optical measurement system wherein a lens that allows light to enter the eye has a conic constant in a range from -1.5 to -0.5 as an effective configuration for its use – “a far surface shape of the optical element from the eyeball has a aspherical shape of a Conic surface such that the light flux entering a pupil of the eyeball enters a far surface of the optical element from the eyeball approximately at right angles and a Conic coefficient of the Conic surface is -1 and less” (0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel such that the focusing lens is an aspherical lens having a conic constant in a range from -1.5 to -0.5 as taught by Nishi to provide an effective configuration for the focusing lens for its use.
However, Kriebel as modified do not disclose a diameter of the focusing lens is at least 60% of a distance from a light egress surface of the focusing lens to a beam waist of the focused light.
Iijima et al teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous noncontact intraocular pressure measurement device (tonometer) comprising a focusing lens 202 with a diameter that is at least 60% of a distance from a light egress surface of the focusing lens to a beam waist of the focused light, wherein the diameter of the focusing lens need to be large enough to reflect the light despite the size of the light beam, best seen in Figure 10a-c (Col.1: 63-Col.2: 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel such that a diameter of the focusing lens is at least 60% of a distance from a light egress surface of the focusing lens to a beam waist of the focused light as taught by that to effectively provide the best size for the focusing lens for its desired use, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Kriebel would not operate differently with a specific sized diameter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel such that a diameter of the focusing lens is at least 70%, 90%, or 110% of a distance from a light egress surface of the focusing lens to a beam waist of the focused light (Claims 10-12) as desired.
4. Kriebel disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the light egress surface of the focusing lens 20 is non-planar, as shown in Figure 1, and a light ingress surface of the focusing lens is non-planar, as shown in Figure 1, so that a combined optical effect of the light ingress and light egress surfaces is a same as an optical effect of a plano-convex lens whose conic constant of a convex surface is in the range from -1.5 to -0.5 when modified by Nishi above.
6. Kriebel disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the device comprises a collector lens 26 configured to direct, to the detector 30, the light reflected off the surface, best seen in Figure 1.
7. Nishi disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the conic constant is in a range from -1.3 to -0.6 (0008).
8. Nishi disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the conic constant is in a range from -1.1 to -0.7 (0008).
9. Nishi disclose the device according to claim 1, wherein the conic constant is in a range from -0.9 to -0.7 (0008).
14. Kriebel in combination with Samec et al disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processing device is capable and thus configured to measure time between a first time instant when the excitation source directs the airborne excitation to a first spot on the surface of the eye and a second time instant when the detector device detects the motion from a second spot on the surface of the eye, and to determine the estimate of the pressure of the eye based on the measured time because Kriebel already teaching magnitudes of the electrical signals designating the eyeball displacement obtained from the photodetector 30 (Col.4: 39-63), wherein it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to use a measure time between a first time instant when the excitation source directs the airborne excitation to a first spot on the surface of the eye and a second time instant when the detector device detects the motion from a second spot on the surface of the eye as an equivalent measure of displacement.
15. Kriebel as modified by Samec et al disclose the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the processing device is configured to measure related to the motion of the surface of the eye, and to determine the estimate of the pressure of the eye based on the measured oscillation frequency as taught by Kriebel – “an indicator responsive to the electrical signals for indicating a resonant frequency of the container; the resonant frequency providing an indication of the internal pressure within the container” (abst of Kriebel) as elaborated above.
Claims 2-3, 5, 16, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriebel (US Pat No. 3882718 – cited by applicant) in view of Samec et al (US Pub No. 20160270656), Nishi (US Pub No. 20060072215), and Iijima et al (US Pat No. 5989195), further in view of Shaver (US Pub No. 20040080759 – cited by applicant).
In regard to Claims 2-3, Kriebel in combination with Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al disclose the invention above including the conic constant in the range from -1.5 to -0.5 but do not expressly disclose the focusing lens is a plano-convex lens with a light ingress surface of the focusing lens is planar or the light egress surface of the focusing lens is planar.
Shaver teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous eye measurement device wherein a focusing lens 18, 20 is a plano-convex lens with a light ingress surface of the focusing lens is planar or the light egress surface of the focusing lens is planar, best seen in Figure 1, as an effective configuration for the lens and desired light flow.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel as modified by Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al such that the focusing lens is a plano-convex lens with a light ingress surface of the focusing lens is planar or the light egress surface of the focusing lens is planar as taught by Shaver as an effective configuration for the focusing lens as desired.
In regard to Claims 5, 17, 19, and 20, Kriebel in combination with Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al disclose the invention but do not expressly disclose the detector comprises an array of photosensor elements, changes of differences between output signals of the photosensor elements being indicative of the motion of the distribution pattern of the received light.
Shaver teach that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous eye measurement device wherein an array of photosensor elements is used to detect reflected flight – “Reflector 24 then reflects light onto sensor 26 to sense parameters of the reflected light. For example, sensor 26 can include an appropriately small active element or any detector or detector array with proper spatial filtering for the original light configuration from light source 14” (0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel as modified by Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al such that the detector comprises an array of photosensor elements as taught by Shaver as an updated and equivalent detector to measure the reflected light already taught by Kriebel such that changes of differences between output signals of the photosensor elements being indicative of the motion of the distribution pattern of the received light as already taught by the general functioning of Kriebel.
In regard to Claim 16-17, Kriebel in combination with Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al disclose the invention but do not expressly disclose the processing device is configured to correct the estimate of the pressure of oscillation frequency the eye in accordance with a predetermined correction rule based on a location and/or a size of a light spot on a light receiving area of the detector, the location and/or the size of the light spot being indicative of a position and an orientation of the apparatus with respect to the eye, which is a predetermined rule based on a position of a pattern of the received light on the photosensor array.
Shaver teaches that it is well-known in the art to provide an analogous eye measurement device wherein a location and/or a size of a light spot on a light receiving area of the detector indicative of a position and an orientation of the apparatus with respect to the eye is corrected for – “a relative phase error between return signals sensed by the detectors can be used to determine the angle at which device 50 is held. Calculations can then be made by signal processing module 28 to correct for the angle at which the device 50 is held” (0033).
Shaver teach an array of photosensor elements is used to detect reflected flight – “Reflector 24 then reflects light onto sensor 26 to sense parameters of the reflected light. For example, sensor 26 can include an appropriately small active element or any detector or detector array with proper spatial filtering for the original light configuration from light source 14” (0023).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kriebel in combination with Samec et al, Nishi, and Iijima et al such that the processing device is configured to correct the estimate of the pressure of oscillation frequency the eye in accordance with a predetermined correction rule based on a location and/or a size of a light spot on a light receiving area of the detector, the location and/or the size of the light spot being indicative of a position and an orientation of the apparatus with respect to the eye, which constitutes a predetermined rule based on a position of a pattern of the received light on the photosensor array, wherein the light is received on a photosensor array as taught by Shaver et al to take into account said position and orientation of the apparatus with respect to the eye, and such that an array of photosensor elements is used to detect the reflected light as taught by Shaver as an updated and equivalent detector to measure the reflected light already taught by Kriebel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that “one skilled in the art would not have been led to modify the apparatus of Kriebel by the system of Nishi because Kriebel is not an image display device that is used in proximity to an eye and projects an image to the eye” (Remarks pg. 6). In other words, applicant appears to contends that Nishi is not analogous prior art. However, this is not persuasive as Nishi is considered analogous art as pertaining to applicant’s field of endeavor, which is an optical system for the eye, and includes the instant invention of intraocular pressure measurement using reflected light. The optical image system of Nishi which is concerned with reflection of light into a user’s eyes is analogous to the function of the focusing lens of the instant invention to also focus light into the subject’s eye to measure intraocular pressure. Thus, it is submitted that Nishi constitutes analogous art.
Although the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, it cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Additionally, said specific advantages (cited in Remarks pg. 7) have not been presently claimed. Thus, applicant’s contention that “the cited prior art does not disclose that the measures for providing a viewing angle ≥60 degrees and a small aberration in the image display device of Nishi would also improve robustness against deviation from an optimal positioning and/or orientation between the light source system (a light source + a focusing lens) of Kriebel and an eye under examination” (Remarks pg. 8) is not persuasive because that is not the motivation that has been set forth in the obviousness rejection. To reiterate, applicant has not refuted that combination as motivated by Nishi to provide an effective configuration for the focusing lens for its use in Kriebel as set forth. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Q.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791