DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,026,829 to Samura et al. (hereinafter Samura).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 5. Samura teaches a method comprising:
a step in which a polyurethane foam undergoes flame contact (Column 3, Lines firefire64 – 66), i.e. a step of exposing a polyurethane foam to fire.
Samura further teaches the polyurethane foam has flame retardant properties (Column 3, Lines 65 – 67), corresponding to a step of retarding a flame in the polyurethane foam.
An isocyanate is included in the polyurethane foam by reacting with a polyetherpolyol (Column 1, Lines 57 – 68), i.e. at least one polyol compound. The isocyanate may be 1,6-hexamethylene diisocyanate or isophorone diisocyanate (Column 3, Lines 9 – 15), which are each set forth as one aliphatic diisocyanate compound in instant Claim 5.
Samura teaches fire proofing additives, i.e. flame retardants, are optional additives in the polyurethane foam (Column 3, Lines 42 – 43). Thus, embodiments in which the polyurethane foam has an absence of added flame retardants would be readily envisioned from the reference.
Samura does teach the inventive polyurethane foam has a reduced amount of smoke (Column 3, Lines 64 – 66), though the reference does not expressly teach inclusion of the aliphatic isocyanate component by reaction with the at least one polyol compound has the effects of suppressing a toxic fume. However, it has been held that, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) Moreover, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. Samura’s foam is produced by an identical process to that claimed and thereby forms a polyurethane foam product which is identical in chemical composition to the claimed polyurethane foam. Thus, the method of Samura a must necessarily have the same effects as the instantly claimed method of suppressing a toxic fume.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 4 – 6, filed February 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2001316445 to Katsumata have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is made in view of US 4,026,829 to Samura et al.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764