DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/11/2025 have been entered. Accordingly the prior 112(b) rejections have been overcome. Claims 15-28 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “Galvanically separated” in claim 15 (as defined in specifications as “a tolerable electrical conduction”, see Specs page 5 -"’Galvanically separated from one another’ may be understood as meaning that the pipelines and/or pipeline segments and the incoming and outgoing pipe- lines are separated from one another in such a way that there is no electrical conduction and/or a tolerable electrical conduction between the pipelines and/or pipeline segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines.”.) is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “tolerable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly claims 16-24 in dependence to claim 15 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant firstly argues (pages 6-7):
Claim 1 requires in part "the device (110) comprises a plurality of pipes (112) and/or pipe segments (114), wherein the pipes (112) and/or pipe segments (114) are interconnected and thus form a pipe system for receiving the fluid, wherein the pipes (112) and/or pipe segments (114) and corresponding incoming and outgoing pipes are fluid-conductingly connected to one another." This feature must be viewed in combination with the requirement for "the pipelines (112) and/or pipe segments (114) and the incoming and outgoing pipelines (112) being galvanically separated from one another." Together, these features surprisingly enable more precise control of the heating of the fluid in such a system. The person skilled in the art would not modify the device of Peter according to the invention. There is no incentive to do so from the perspective of Peter. Instead, Peter proposes an alternative heating method without such galvanic isolation. It would not be reasonably expected for the instant results be possible by the proposed combination of references.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because Peter discloses a reformer tube heating system that receives AC current directly to a tube housing for heating therein “The catalyst material may be heated by resistance heating, e.g. by electrical conduction through the reformer tube” (page 13-14, lines 29-2). Peter anticipates that different sections of the reformer tube may have additional heat exchange systems “In an embodiment, the chemical reactor further comprises heat exchange means for heating the second feed stream to a temperature of at least 700°C. Advantageously, the heat exchange means are arranged to heat the second feed stream to a temperature of about 750°C prior to addition to the second re- forming reaction zone. Such heat exchange means may comprise a separate heat exchanger arranged to heat the second feed stream upstream of the feed conduit and/or an arrangement within the chemical reactor so that heat is ex- changed between the feed conduit and the first reforming reaction zone up- stream the second reforming reaction zone” (page 12-13, lines 26-3).
As already modifying Hiroshi provides the use of independent/additional power sources resistively heating pipe sections that are electrically isolated “Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 1 (c): each heating tube may be insulated and a power supply provided for each heating tube.”(Hiroshi page 5, 3rd paragraph) “An electrically insulating washer interposed between the nut and the flange is provided. With the above configuration, the pipe joint mechanically connects the pipes and the pipes to form a flow path where fluid leakage does not occur, and electrically insulates the pipes and the pipes, It is possible to realize a fluid electric heating device without leakage.” (Hiroshi page 4, first paragraph).
Additionally Applicant acting as own stenographer, has defined the term “galvanically separated” to be inclusive of tolerable electrical conduction, see specifications (page 5) -“’Galvanically separated from one another’ may be understood as meaning that the pipelines and/or pipeline segments and the incoming and outgoing pipe- lines are separated from one another in such a way that there is no electrical conduction and/or a tolerable electrical conduction between the pipelines and/or pipeline segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines”. Because the specifications do not disclose what a tolerable electrical conduction is, the claims regarding such features are indefinite, Applicant providing that there is not electrical conduction at all between pipes would read beyond the defined “galvanically separated” as presently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter (WO 2019/110266 A1) in view of Hiroshi (JP 2000/213807 A) and Perra (US 2019/0373677).
Regarding claim 15, Peter discloses an apparatus for heating a fluid comprising
- at least one electrically conductive pipeline (reformer tube 20, provides resistive heating for reforming hydrocarbons “The catalyst material may be heated by resistance heating, e.g. by electrical conduction through the reformer tube” (page 13-14, lines 29-2)) and/or at least one electrically conductive pipeline segment for receiving the fluid, and
- at least one
which warms up the respective pipeline (nature of pipeline heating) and/or the respective pipeline segment by Joulean heat (nature of electric heating),
which is produced when the electrical current passes through conducting pipe material, for heating the fluid (fluid heating as part of reforming hydrocarbon fluids/steam “The invention relates to a chemical reactor comprising reformer tubes for reforming a first feed stream comprising a hydrocarbon gas and steam.” (abstract)), the return conductor (reward conductor 90, see figure 2), the apparatus comprising a plurality of pipelines (sequential duplication of pipelines/reformer tubes anticipated “comprises one or more re- former tubes 20 housing electrically conductive catalyst material 22 as shown by hatching. For the sake of simplicity, only a single reformer tube 20 is shown in Fig. 1 ; however, the reformer may comprise a multitude of such reformer tubes 20.” (page 22-23, lines 18-13)) and/or a plurality of pipeline segments, the pipelines (112) and/or pipeline segments (114) being through-connected and thus forming a pipe system for receiving the fluid (pipelines/reformer tubes are sequentially arranged for fluid conducting “The chemical reactor comprises one or more reformer tubes arranged to being heated by an electrically driven heat source. The reformer tube comprises a first inlet for feeding the first feed stream into a first reforming reaction zone of the reformer tube, and a feed conduit arranged to allow a second feed stream into a second reforming reaction zone of the reformer tube. The second reforming re-action zone is positioned downstream of the first reforming reaction zone.” (page 39, lines 1-10)), the pipelines and/or pipeline segments and correspondingly incoming and outgoing pipelines being connected to one another in a fluid-conducting manner (as disclosed above (page 39, lines 1-10)).
Peter is silent regarding the pipelines and/or pipe segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines being galvanically separated from one another.
However Hiroshi teaches the pipelines and/or pipe segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines being galvanically separated from one another (see figure 1c providing insulation 16 (having gasket 22) between independently heated pipe sections 12 “When a plurality of heating pipes 12 are connected to each other, the heating pipes 12 are connected to each other by using the above-mentioned pipe joint 16, and as shown in FIG. The tubes 12 are electrically connected to each other. Alternatively, the heating tubes 12 may be connected to each other using a flange that is mechanically connected and also electrically connected. Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 1 (c): each heating tube may be insulated and a power supply provided for each heating tube.” (emphasis added, page 5, 3rd paragraph), gaskets 22 -“In order to ensure insulation between A and B, a ring-shaped gasket 22 is interposed, and between the gasket 22 and the flange 20, in order to ensure a seal against fluid by the pipe joint 16, An O-ring 24 is interposed. The ring-shaped gasket 22 is made of a heat-resistant and pressure-resistant electric insulator,” (page 4, 6th-7th paragraph)).
The advantage of the pipelines and/or pipe segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines being galvanically separated from one another, is to isolate power supplies that individually/supplement heat energy to respective pipe sections “Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 1 (c): each heating tube may be insulated and a power supply provided for each heating tube.”(page 5, 3rd paragraph) “An electrically insulating washer interposed between the nut and the flange is provided. With the above configuration, the pipe joint mechanically connects the pipes and the pipes to form a flow path where fluid leakage does not occur, and electrically insulates the pipes and the pipes, It is possible to realize a fluid electric heating device without leakage.” (page 4, first paragraph).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art having the teaches of Peter and Hiroshi before them, to add to the multiple pipe heating zones/segments of Peter, the multiple independent AC power sources with insulators between a plurality of sectioned pipe body heaters of Hiroshi, because providing insulators between operational areas independent AC power sources isolates the power sources from electrical leakage.
Peter is silent regarding the AC heating being Single phase.
However Perra teaches The AC heating being Single phase (AC of Single or three phase or even DC power anticipated to make use of what power is available “FIG. 1 shows a subsea direct electrical heating (DEH) power supply system 100 for providing electrical power for heating a subsea pipeline section 30 arranged subsea on the seafloor 20 below waterline 10. The DEH power supply system 100 comprises an input 110 which in the example shown in FIG. 1 is a three-phase input comprising the phases A, B, C. In other embodiments the power input to DEH power supply system 100 may be a single phase AC input or a DC input.” [0082])
The advantage of AC heating being Single phase, is to make use of what power is available “FIG. 1 shows a subsea direct electrical heating (DEH) power supply system 100 for providing electrical power for heating a subsea pipeline section 30 arranged subsea on the seafloor 20 below waterline 10. The DEH power supply system 100 comprises an input 110 which in the example shown in FIG. 1 is a three-phase input comprising the phases A, B, C. In other embodiments the power input to DEH power supply system 100 may be a single phase AC input or a DC input.” [0082].
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art and having the teaches of Peter and Hiroshi before them, to add to the undisclosed phase of AC heating of Peter, the single phase AC heatering of Perra, because different types of power supplies may be more readily available to make use of.
Regarding claim 16, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, Peter as already modified further teaches wherein the apparatus comprises L pipelines and/or pipeline segments, where L is a natural number greater than or equal to two (multiple pipelines/segments anticipated “The chemical reactor 10 of the invention, also denoted “the reformer” or “the steam reformer”, comprises one or more re-former tubes 20 housing electrically conductive catalyst material 22 as shown by hatching.” (page 22, lines 20-27)), the pipelines and/or pipeline segments comprising symmetrical or asymmetrical pipes and/or a combination thereof (Peter provides asymmetrical pipeline/segments as shown in figure 3/4b. It is also anticipated that linear pipe sections could be broken down into smaller sections, see symmetrical pipe lengths 12 of Hiroshi as already modifying, figure 1c).
Regarding claim 17, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, Peter as already modified teaches wherein the apparatus comprises isolators (Hiroshi -gasket 22 of connection 16) which are designed for galvanic separation between the respective pipelines (Hiroshi electrical isolation, see below page 4, first paragraph) and/or pipeline segments and the incoming and outgoing pipelines, the isolators (22) being designed to ensure a free through-flow of the fluid (flow without electrical/fluid leakage “An electrically insulating washer interposed between the nut and the flange is provided. With the above configuration, the pipe joint mechanically connects the pipes and the pipes to form a flow path where fluid leakage does not occur, and electrically insulates the pipes and the pipes, It is possible to realize a fluid electric heating device without leakage.” (Hiroshi page 4, first paragraph)).
Regarding claim 18, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus (110) according to claim 15, Peter as already modified teaches wherein a number or all of the pipelines and/or pipeline segments are configured in series and/or in parallel (parallel anticipated “the reformer may comprise a multitude of such reformer tubes 20” (page 22-23, lines 18-13), series anticipated in view of the segmenting of pipe length to individual power supplies of Hiroshi, see figure 1c -“as shown in FIG. 1 (c): each heating tube may be insulated and a power supply provided for each heating tube.”(Hiroshi page page 5, 3rd paragraph)).
Regarding claim 19, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, Peter as already modified teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a plurality of single-phase AC power or single-phase AC voltage sources (plurality of power supplies 18 of Hiroshi as already modified, see figure 1c), the single-phase AC power and/or single-phase AC voltage sources being configured with or without the possibility of controlling at least one electrical output variable (with or without as necessitated to one or the other for functionality).
Regarding claim 20, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 19, Peter as already modified teaches wherein, to connect the single-phase AC power or single-phase AC voltage sources and the respective pipelines and/or with the respective pipeline segments, the apparatus comprises 2 to N forward conductors and 2 to N return conductors, where N is a natural number greater than or equal to three (either in the parallel operation of a multitude of pipelines “the reformer may comprise a multitude of such reformer tubes 20” (page 22-23, lines 18-13) and/or as already modified by the series/segment of pipelines/heating tube of Hiroshi -“Alternatively, as shown in FIG. 1 (c): each heating tube may be insulated and a power supply provided for each heating tube.”(Hiroshi, page 5, 3rd paragraph)).
Regarding claim 21, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 19, Peter as already modified teaches wherein the respective single-phase AC power or single-phase AC voltage sources are configured identically or differently (identical or different as necessitated to one or the other for functionality).
Regarding claim 22, Peter as modified teaches the apparatus according to claim 21, Peter as already modified teaches wherein the apparatus comprises 2 to M different single-phase AC power and/or single-phase AC voltage sources, where M is a natural number greater than or equal to three (see figure 1c of Hiroshi as already modifying several AC voltage sources), the single-phase AC power and/or single-phase AC voltage sources being electrically controllable independently of one another (see figure 1c of Hiroshi providing independent AC power sources, independent control to include connection of either is a method of operation).
Regarding claim 23, Peter as modified discloses an installation (fluid flow source, power connections etc.) comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 15.
Regarding claim 24, Peter as modified discloses the installation according to claim 23, Peter further discloses wherein the installation is selected from the group consisting of:
a steam cracker,
a steam reformer (“The chemical reactor of the invention is preferably a steam reformer or steam methane reformer.” (page 5, lines 4-6)),
a device for alkane dehydrogenation,
a device for dry reforming.
Regarding claim 25, Peter as modified discloses a method for heating a fluid by using an apparatus according to claim 15 relating to an apparatus, Peter further discloses the method comprising the following steps:
-providing at least one electrically conductive pipeline (20) and/or at least one electrically conductive pipeline segment for receiving the fluid (reformer tube 20, provides resistive heating for reforming hydrocarbons “The catalyst material may be heated by resistance heating, e.g. by electrical conduction through the reformer tube” (page 13-14, lines 29-2));
- receiving the fluid in the pipeline and/or the pipeline segment (nature of steam reformer “The chemical reactor of the invention is preferably a steam reformer or steam methane reformer.” (page 5, lines 4-6));
- providing at least one single-phase AC power source (single phase AC as already modified by Perra to the device of claim 15) and/or at least one single-phase AC voltage source (80), each pipeline and/or each pipeline segment being assigned a single-phase AC power source and/or a single-phase AC voltage source (see figure 2, resistive heating power source 80 having AC symbo) which is connected to the respective pipeline and/or to the respective pipeline segment (Fig-2, AC leads 90 to pipeline “The catalyst material may be heated by resistance heating, e.g. by electrical conduction through the reformer tube” (page 13-14, lines 29-2)),
- generating by the respective single-phase AC power source and/or single-phase AC voltage source an electrical current in the respective pipeline and/or in the respective pipeline segment, which warms up the respective pipeline and/or the respective pipeline segment by Joulean heat (nature of electric heating), which is produced when the electrical current passes through conducting pipe material, for heating the fluid (nature of resistance heating), the single-phase AC power source and/or the single-phase AC voltage source being connected to the pipeline and/or the pipeline segment in an electrically conducting manner in such a way that the alternating current generated flows into the pipeline and/or the pipeline segment (nature of resistance heating) via a forward conductor (forward instance of lead 90, Fig-2) and flows back to the AC power source and/or AC voltage source via a return conductor (rearward instance of lead 90, Fig-2).
Claims 26, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter (WO 2019110266) in view of Hiroshi (JP 2000213807A) and Perra (US 20190373677) and in further view of Peter (WO 2019228798A1, herein after Peter B).
Regarding claim 26, Peter as modified discloses the method according to claim 25, Peter is silent regarding wherein, as the fluid, a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, is heated
However Peter B teaches wherein, as the fluid, a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, is heated (steam reformer may be used cracking apparatus with modification to catalyst “Preferably, the electrical power supply and the structured catalyst are dimensioned so that at least part of the structured catalyst reaches a temperature of 850-1100°C when the endothermic reaction is the steam reforming reaction, a temperature of 700-1200°C when the endothermic reaction is the hydrogen cyanide synthesis, a temperature of 500-700°C when the endothermic reaction is dehydrogenation, a temperature of 200-300°C when the endothermic reaction is the methanol cracking, and a temperature of ca. 500°C when the endothermic reaction is the ammonia cracking reaction. The surface area of the electrically conductive material, the fraction of the electrically conductive material coated with a ceramic coating, the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28)).
The advantage of wherein, as the fluid, a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, is heated, is to perform cracking from an apparatus that steam reforms “the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art having the teaches of Peter and Peter B before them, to add to the steam reformer of Peter, the additional function of cracking of Peter B, because changes the catalyst and heat of a steam reformer may enable the reformer to provide cracking processing of hydrocarbons.
Regarding claim 27, Peter as modified discloses the method according to claim 25, Peter further discloses relating to a method, wherein, as the fluid, water or steam is heated, with said water or said steam being heated in particular to a temperature in the range of 550°C to 700°C (temperature of fluids heated to ranges “in a part of the chemi- cal reactor close to the inlet, the catalyst material may be heated to a tempera- ture of e.g. 450°C or 500°C; and in a part of the chemical reactor close to the outlet, the catalyst material may be heated to a temperature of more than 950°C, such as e.g. 1000°C.” (page 20, lines 7-19)).
Peter is silent regarding and the fluid additionally comprising a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, in particular a mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked, the fluid to be heated being a preheated mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked and steam.
However Peter B teaches and the fluid additionally comprising a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, in particular a mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked, the fluid to be heated being a preheated mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked and steam (steam reformer may be used cracking apparatus with modification to catalyst “Preferably, the electrical power supply and the structured catalyst are dimensioned so that at least part of the structured catalyst reaches a temperature of 850-1100°C when the endothermic reaction is the steam reforming reaction, a temperature of 700-1200°C when the endothermic reaction is the hydrogen cyanide synthesis, a temperature of 500-700°C when the endothermic reaction is dehydrogenation, a temperature of 200-300°C when the endothermic reaction is the methanol cracking, and a temperature of ca. 500°C when the endothermic reaction is the ammonia cracking reaction. The surface area of the electrically conductive material, the fraction of the electrically conductive material coated with a ceramic coating, the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28)).
The advantage of and the fluid additionally comprising a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked, in particular a mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked, the fluid to be heated being a preheated mixture of hydrocarbons to be thermally cracked and steam, is to perform cracking from an apparatus that steam reforms “the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art having the teaches of Peter and Peter B before them, to add to the steam reformer of Peter, the additional function of cracking of Peter B, because changes the catalyst and heat of a steam reformer may enable the reformer to provide cracking processing of hydrocarbons.
Regarding claim 28, Peter discloses the method according to claim 25, Peter further discloses relating to a method, wherein, as the fluid, combustion air of a reformer furnace (temperature controls the reaction, Optimization of the temperatures would be obvious to try within a finite range of temperatures based known chemistry determining when cracking/reforming can occur, see MPEP 2144.05 II.B. temperature range is managed accordingly to reactions desired “In an embodiment, the second feed stream is conducted along the longitudinal axis of the reformer tube from a first and/or a second end of the reformer tube to the second reforming reaction zone. When the second feed stream is con- ducted in heat exchange contact with some of the second reforming reaction zone and optionally also the third reforming reaction zone prior to being inlet into the second reforming reaction zone, the temperature of the second feed stream is increased. The heat exchange may increase the temperature of the second feed stream to a higher temperature than the catalyst material within the first reforming reaction zone; this reduces the risk of carbon formation in the addition point of the second feed stream to the second reforming reaction zone and improves the overall operation of the chemical reactor. For example, the feed conduit may extend along most of or substantially all of the length of the reformer tube, and the second feed stream may thus be in heat exchange with the most of or substantially all of the length of the second reforming reaction zone.” (page 18, lines 8-22)).
Additionally Peter B teaches a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked is heated by a system that also does steam reforming with modification to catalyst, the range of temperature being larger, “Preferably, the electrical power supply and the structured catalyst are dimensioned so that at least part of the structured catalyst reaches a temperature of 850-1100°C when the endothermic reaction is the steam reforming reaction, a temperature of 700-1200°C when the endothermic reaction is the hydrogen cyanide synthesis, a temperature of 500-700°C when the endothermic reaction is dehydrogenation, a temperature of 200-300°C when the endothermic reaction is the methanol cracking, and a temperature of ca. 500°C when the endothermic reaction is the ammonia cracking reaction. The surface area of the electrically conductive material, the fraction of the electrically conductive material coated with a ceramic coating, the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28)).
The advantage of a hydrocarbon to be thermally cracked is heated by a system that also does steam reforming with modification to catalyst, the range of temperature being larger, is to provide additionally to steam reforming, steam cracking temperature ranges/ability -“the type and structure of the ceramic coating, and the amount and composition of the catalytically active catalyst material may be tailored to the specific endothermic reaction at the given operating conditions.” (page 3, lines 11-28).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art having the teaches of Peter and Peter B before them, to add to the steam reformer of Peter, the additional function of cracking of Peter B, because changes to the catalyst and heat levels of a steam reformer can enable the reformer to provide cracking processing of hydrocarbons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761