DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 14, “a gas humidifier and heat exchanger an internal passageway” should be “a gas humidifier and heat exchanger, an internal passageway” or indent line 14.
Regarding claim 8, in lines 3-4, the term “the flow of gaseous mixture” should be “the flow of the gaseous mixture”.
Regarding claim 18, in line 2, the term “gas humidifier and heat exchanger is” should be “gas humidifier and heat exchanger are”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a bubble break element arranged within the internal passageway to reduce a bubble size of the gaseous mixture flowing through the internal passageway from the inlet port to the outlet port” in claim 9
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 9 is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification as filed shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structures, materials, or acts described in the specification as filed for the following 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) limitations:
A bubble break element may comprise an element which is sized and/or shaped so that bubbles in fluid (e.g. gas) flowing past the element will be reduced in size. This may comprise use of elements which protrude into the internal passageway, e.g. which are small and/or angular enough in one region of the element to reduce bubble size.
pg. 3 of the instant specification
The bubble break up elements can be pegs or beads or plates or hemispherical or tapered projections or other such elements that operate to create a longer pathway in the internal passageway and/or provide shattering surfaces and/or define interspatial gaps that preclude transfer of large bubbles.
pg. 18 of the instant specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Tempelman discloses a container unit (paragraph [0097], Fig. 4, element 200 “container body”) for storing an organ or body tissue (paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0049] “tissue” or “organ”), wherein the container unit is configured as an insert (paragraph [0103]) for a storage apparatus (paragraph [0103], Fig. 4, element 600 “system”) for preserving said organ or body tissue (abstract), wherein the container unit comprises:
a container body (paragraph [0097], Fig. 4, element 200 “container body”) defining a storage region (paragraph [0033] “storage container” or paragraph [0108] “organ container”) configured for storing an organ or body tissue (paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0049] “tissue” or “organ”),
wherein the storage region (paragraph [0033] “storage container” or paragraph [0108] “organ container”) is arranged to receive an organ preservation liquid (paragraph [0108]) in which the organ or body tissue is to be stored (paragraphs [0033] and [0049] “for storing the biological matter comprising tissue” and paragraph [0108] “organ container”);
an inlet port for connection to an oxygen supply system (paragraphs [0033]-[0037]) of a said storage apparatus to receive a gaseous mixture from the storage apparatus (paragraphs [0033] and [0097] “a fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator”, the fluid conduit has at least a port on both sides, at least one of which is an inlet);
an outlet port configured for connection to said organ or body tissue stored in the container body to enable the gaseous mixture to be delivered to said organ or body tissue (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “the system may further comprise a quantity of a liquid, wherein the preserving gas is dissolved in the liquid to form a gas/liquid solution, the gas/liquid solution being delivered to the tissue by the fluid conduit”, the fluid conduit has at least a port on both sides, at least one of which is an outlet; and, “a fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”); and
a gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”) and pump”) an internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”) connecting the inlet port to the outlet port to enable the gaseous mixture to flow from the inlet port to the outlet port (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] both sides of the fluid conduit have ports), wherein the internal passageway comprises an organ preservation liquid (paragraph [0030] “gas/liquid solution”) inlet (paragraphs [0033] and [0097] “a fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator”, the fluid conduit has at least a port on both sides, at least one of which is an inlet) configured to enable the organ preservation liquid (paragraph [0030] “gas/liquid solution”) in the storage region (paragraph [0033] “storage container” or paragraph [0108] “organ container”) to flow into the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”).
Tempelman, Fig. 1
Tempelman, Fig. 4
Regarding claim 8, Tempelman discloses wherein the gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”) and heat exchanger (paragraph [0086] “oxygen cooler”; and paragraphs [0099] and [0104] “heat pump”) comprises at least one obstruction (paragraph [0087] and [0112] “filters”) arranged within the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”) to disrupt the flow of [the] gaseous mixture (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097]) flowing through the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0032]-[0037], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”) from the inlet port (paragraphs [0033] and [0097] “a fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator”, the fluid conduit has at least a port on both sides, at least one of which is an inlet) to the outlet port (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “the system may further comprise a quantity of a liquid, wherein the preserving gas is dissolved in the liquid to form a gas/liquid solution, the gas/liquid solution being delivered to the tissue by the fluid conduit”, the fluid conduit has at least a port on both sides, at least one of which is an outlet; and, “a fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 | 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Tempelman discloses wherein the internal passageway is arranged to define at least one bend through which the gaseous mixture (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097]) will flow when flowing from the inlet port to the outlet port (paragraph [0116] and Fig. 6, element 2103 “tubing” has a bend in the figure).
Alternatively, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shape of the internal passageway of Tempelman to have at least one bend in order to coil the internal passageway to make the length of the passageway more compact spatially for storage during transport, but also allow for extended lengths of tubing so that the internal components of the apparatus can be assembled and/or taken apart for operative and sterilizing steps.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, in view of De Muylder (US 20210076668) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 19, Tempelman discloses wherein the container unit comprises a first venting port operable to enable pressure within the container unit and/or storage region to be reduced (paragraph [0095]).
Regarding the limitation “operable to enable pressure within the container unit and/or storage region to be reduced”, the manner of operating or intended use of a claimed apparatus does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. MPEP § 2114(II). The device of Tempelman would be fully capable of operating in this manner given its reservoir vent port.
If it is deemed that Tempelman does not disclose a venting port, De Muylder discloses wherein the container unit comprises a first venting port operable to enable pressure within the container unit and/or storage region to be reduced (paragraph [0061]).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tempelman’s container unit with the venting port of De Muylder in order to allow for gas transfer in order to maintain pressure equilibrium (De Muylder, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 20, Tempelman discloses wherein the container unit comprises an outer lid for sealing the container unit (paragraph [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Tempelman discloses wherein at least one surface of the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”), heat exchange (paragraph [0086] “oxygen cooler”), the organ preservation liquid (paragraph [0030] “gas/liquid solution”) in the storage region (paragraph [0033] “storage container” or paragraph [0108] “organ container”), and the gaseous mixture (paragraph [0067]) in the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”).
However, Templeman does not disclose the limitation: the internal passageway is arranged to provide heat exchange between organ preservation liquid.
Nevertheless, regarding the limitation “wherein at least one surface of the internal passageway is arranged to provide heat exchange between organ preservation liquid in the storage region and gaseous mixture in the internal passageway”, rearrangement of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious matter of design choice and would not have modified the operation of the device. MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the internal passageway of Tempelman with the provision of heat exchange of Tempelman in order to keep the temperature between the organ preservation liquid in the storage region and gaseous mixture in the internal passageway at a suitable level to either cool the organ for transport (Tempelman, see example in paragraph [0076]) or heat the organ (Tempelman, paragraph [0099]), such as for transplant.
Regarding claim 7, Tempelman discloses wherein the gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”) and heat exchanger (paragraph [0086] “oxygen cooler”) is configured to provide humidifying and cooling of the gaseous mixture (paragraph [0067]) prior to supplying (Fig. 2, element 100 contains element 121 “oxygen cooler” and can omit element 125 “oxygen drier or desiccant” according to paragraph [0089] to produce a gas that is humidified – this element 100 in Figs. 1-2 leads to Fig. 1, element 550 “fluid conduit”, which leads to Fig. 1, element 200 “container”) said cooled and humidified gaseous mixture to said organ or body tissue (paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0049] “tissue” or “organ”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 8, in view of Baker (US 20060121439) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Tempelman discloses the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”) and the gaseous mixture (paragraph [0050] for definition of persufflation according to Tempelman; paragraph [0097] for one or more fluid conduits in the persufflator system; Fig. 1, elements 550 “fluid conduits” and 100 “persufflator system”) flowing through the internal passageway from the inlet port to the outlet port (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] both sides of the fluid conduit have ports).
Tempelman does not disclose wherein the at least one obstruction comprises at least one (i) a bubble break element arranged within the internal passageway to reduce a bubble size of the persufflation fluid and (ii) a baffle.
Baker discloses wherein the at least one obstruction comprises at least one (i) a bubble break element arranged within the internal passageway to reduce a bubble size of the persufflation fluid (paragraphs [0024] and [0067] “gas bubbler”).
In the analogous art of organ preservation and transportation apparatuses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Tempelman with the obstruction of Baker in order to produce small gas bubbles to perfuse the liquid medium (Baker, paragraph [0067]).
Regarding the limitation, “and (ii) a baffle”, this limitation is listed in the alternative and is not required to be rejected at this time.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Tempelman discloses the internal passageway (paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0097] “fluid conduit fluidly coupled to the gas generator and insertable into tissue”).
Tempelman does not disclose wherein the internal passageway has a serpentine shape.
However, the claim limitation is obvious, as the configuration of the claimed shape is a matter of choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shape of the internal passageway of Tempelman to have a serpentine shape in order to coil the internal passageway to make the length of the passageway more compact spatially for storage during transport, but also allow for extended lengths of tubing so that the internal components of the apparatus can be assembled and/or taken apart for operative and sterilizing steps.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, in view of Woodard (US 20160113269) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 13, Tempelman discloses wherein the gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”) and [heat] exchanger (paragraph [0086] “oxygen cooler”; and paragraphs [0099] and [0104] “heat pump”) further comprises a valve arranged to inhibit flow of the gaseous mixture from the internal passageway through the preservation liquid inlet into the storage region (paragraph [0097] “valves”).
Tempelman does not disclose: a one-way valve.
However, regarding the limitation “a one-way valve”, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve of Tempelman to be a one-way valve so that no fluid flow would be reversed back into the fluid processing device from the storage region.
Nevertheless, Woodard discloses a one-way valve (paragraph [0059]).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion systems and devices, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the valve of Tempelman to be a one-way valve of Woodard so that no fluid flow would be reversed back into the fluid processing device from the storage region (Woodard, paragraph [0059]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Tempelman discloses at least one surface of the gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”) and heat exchanger (paragraph [0086] “oxygen cooler”; and paragraphs [0099] and [0104] “heat pump”); and the storage region (paragraph [0033] “storage container” or paragraph [0108] “organ container”).
Tempelman does not disclose: the gas humidifier and heat exchanger is integral with the storage region.
However, regarding the limitation “at least one surface of the gas humidifier and heat exchanger is integral with the storage region”, integration of parts would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of obvious engineering choice. MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tempelman’s connections to be integral in order to facilitate ease of use of the invention so that the user does not need to assemble the connections.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 20, in view of De Muylder (US 20210076668) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 21, Tempelman discloses the outer lid (paragraph [0103]) and the first venting port (paragraph [0095]).
If it is deemed that Tempelman does not disclose wherein the outer lid comprises the first venting port, De Muylder discloses wherein the outer lid comprises the first venting port (paragraph [0061]).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tempelman’s container unit with the venting port of De Muylder in order to allow for gas transfer in order to maintain pressure equilibrium (De Muylder, paragraph [0061]).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tempelman (US 20120178150) (previously cited) as applied to claim 1, in view of De Muylder (US 20210076668) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, Tempelman discloses wherein the container unit comprises a lid (paragraph [0103]) and the organ or body tissue (paragraphs [0012]-[0013] and [0049] “tissue” or “organ”) within the storage region (paragraphs [0042] and [0103], Fig. 4, element 600 “system”).
Tempelman does not disclose wherein the container unit comprises an inner lid arranged to seal the organ or body tissue within the storage region.
De Muylder discloses wherein the container unit comprises an inner lid arranged to seal the organ or body tissue within the storage region (paragraph [0061]).
In the analogous art of organ containers with an oxygenation option, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the container unit of Tempelman with the inner lid of De Muylder in order to create a substantially fluid-tight seal with the container and to prevent contamination (De Muylder, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 23, Tempelman discloses a lid (paragraph [0103]), a venting port (paragraph [0095]), and the storage region (paragraph [0103], Fig. 4, element 600 “system”).
Tempelman does not disclose wherein the inner lid comprises a venting port operable to enable pressure within the storage region to be reduced.
De Muylder discloses wherein the inner lid comprises a venting port operable to enable pressure within the storage region to be reduced (paragraph [0061]).
In the analogous art of organ perfusion systems, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tempelman’s container unit with the venting port of De Muylder in order to allow for gas transfer in order to maintain pressure equilibrium (De Muylder, paragraph [0061]).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Anderson (US 20210392873) – This invention is a system for the transport of organs and samples.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant arguments, pg. 8 of 10, Tempelman discloses the limitations presented in the independent claim 1.
Tempelman discloses delivering a gaseous mixture to the organ or body tissue and a preservation liquid flowing in the internal passageway (Tempelman, paragraph [0048] wherein a fluid can be a mixture of a gas and a liquid; and importantly, paragraphs [0030], [0033], [0067], and [0097] “The preserving gas used to perfuse the tissue may be dissolved in a liquid and then administered to the tissue as a gas/liquid solution or may be dissolved in ambient air or in one or more other gases and then administered to the tissue as a gas/gas mixture”).
Tempelman already discloses increased humidification and increased heat exchange (Tempelman, paragraph [0089]).
For relevant disclosures to a fluid system: see a gas humidifier (paragraph [0089] inherent to “producing gas that is humidified”).
Regarding the dependent claims, these claims are rejected as the independent claim is still rejected and no further arguments were made regarding the dependent claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799