DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Action for Request for Continued Examination (RCE) application Serial No. 17/798,698. Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9, and 14-19 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, and 14 have been amended.
Claim(s) 7, 10-13 and 20 have been previously canceled.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9, and 14-19 are pending in Instant Application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments/Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9, and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C 35 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0125887).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deyle et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0329421; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Deyle” in view of Kokkonen (Pub. No.: US 2018/0124571; previously recorded), and in view of Shengguo Wang (CN209008834U; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation, previously recorded) hereinafter, referred to as “Wang” and in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0125887), hereinafter, referred to as “Park”.
Regarding [claim 1], Deyle discloses an autonomous mobile robot (see , Abstract; “robot 100”) comprising:
a mobile robot body (see, Paragraph [0040]: “The robot 100 includes exterior fabric panels, as described below in greater detail. The fabric panels can be removably or fixedly coupled around a housing body of the robot.”; and [0081]: “FIG. 6A illustrates a view of a mobile robot with a removed fabric exterior, according to one embodiment. The robot 100 of FIG. 6 includes a head portion 602, a body portion 604, and a base portion 606”)…
at least two phased array antennas (see, Paragraph [0091]: “one or more reader antennas 730”; see also [0209]) associated with the mobile body (see, Paragraph [0277]: “As noted above, the robot 100 can include reader antennas 730 to identify or detect RFID tags, and can include direction of arrival (or "DoA") antennas 732 to determine a location of the detected RFID tags. The RFID reader antennas of the robot can be distributed along a height of the robot”), wherein the phased array antennas enable wireless communication between on-board features of the mobile robot (see, Paragraph [0106]: “The robot 100 can include one or more reader antennas 730 configured to receive signals from entities external the robot (such as components of the environment of FIG. 2). The reader antennas can include any type of antenna, such as an RFID reader antenna, WiFi antennas, radio antennas, and the like.”; and [0116]: “It should also be noted that the robot 100 includes component necessary to communicatively couple and control the components of the robot, including but not limited to: on-board computers, controllers, and processors; electric circuitry”; see also [0095]), including at least mobility hardware proximate to a base of the mobile robot body (see, [0091]), at least one first off-board sensor (see, Paragraph [0106]: “one or more entities external the robot (such as the central system 210)”) related to navigation of the mobility hardware (see, Paragraph [0093]: “The navigation system 710 can move the robot 100 in response to receiving navigation instructions, for instance from a user of the central system 210”), comprising… at least one second off-board sensor configured to provide information relevant to a confined space having a controlled environment comprising at least one of a stock level within, a temperature within, and a humidity within the controlled environment (see, Paragraphs [0049], [0063] fig. 3, disclosing inventory storage module with robot interface within central system 210, Paragraph [0063]: “The inventory storage module 344 stores information associated with objects within a building, within a floor, within a room or store, and the like. For instance, the inventory storage module can include a database detailing types of inventory, stock levels associated with each inventory type, and a location of each inventory object within a building. The inventory storage module can be updated, for instance, in response to receiving information from a robot 100 indicating that the location of one or more objects within a store has changed, that a missing object has been found, or that objects have been misplaced or lost. It should be noted that the inventory module can store locations, numbers, and types of objects in addition to retail objects or stock, for instance lab equipment, books or other reference materials, and the like. The inventory storage module can additionally store a status for objects (for instance, "misplaced", "lost", "stolen", "broken", "operational", and the like).”; and [0072]: “The inventory 426 includes objects within a building, portion of a building, store, room, or other area. Examples of inventor include store inventory (objects for sale within the store), building equipment (such as lab equipment, computer equipment, and the like), sensitive objects (such as high security objects, expensive objects, and the like), vehicles, and the like. The inventory of a building can include tags or other receivers/transmitters (such as RFID tags) that can identify the object to which the tag is affixed to a system capable of reading the tag. Each object can include a unique identifier that is transmitted to a reader system, and, as described below, a robot 100 equipped with one or more RFID readers can identify and locate inventory within a building or building portion by navigating within a proximity to the corresponding object.” And [0300]: “For example, the robot can identify the missing inventory to the central system 210, which in turn can instruct store personnel to restock the missing inventory. Alternatively, the robot or the central system can instruct another robot to retrieve replacement inventory from storage, or the robot can itself retrieve the replacement inventory from storage and can restock the retrieved replacement inventory at the location with the retail store. In some embodiments, the robot can determine that replacement inventory is not locally available, or is in low supply, and can order additional replacement inventory from a warehouse, distribution facility, or other inventory source”); .and
a processing system communicative with the on-board features and the off-board sensors via intercommunication over the phased antennas (see, Paragraph [0043]: “The central system 210 can be a central server or other computing system configured to provide instructions to the robots, to receive information from the robots, to access data corresponding to the robots or the other components of FIG. 2, to display the received information or accessed data (for instance, to a user of the central system), to perform one or more other functions as described herein, and to provide a communicative interface between, via the network 200, the robots and other components of FIG. 2.”) , and comprising non-transitory computing code which, when executed by at least one processor (see, Paragraph [0116]: “It should also be noted that the robot 100 includes component necessary to communicatively couple and control the components of the robot, including but not limited to: on-board computers, controllers, and processors; electric circuitry ( e.g., motor drivers); computer memory; storage media ( e.g., non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, such as flash memory, hard drives, and the like”) associated with the processing system, causes to be executed the steps of:
navigating the mobile robot along a predetermined pathway, subject to obstacle avoidance, by selectively actuating the mobility hardware (see, Paragraph [0039]: “The navigation system 710 can move the robot 100 in response to receiving navigation instructions, for instance from a user of the central system 210, from a security personnel 250, or from another robot. In some embodiments, the navigation system moves the robot as part of a patrol, routine, or security protocol. Navigation instructions can include an end location and can determine a route from a current location of the robot to the end location, for instance by detecting obstacles and/or paths from the current location to the end location, by selecting a path based on the detected obstacles and paths, and by moving the robot along the selected path until the robot arrives at the end location. In some embodiments, the navigation instructions can include a path, an ordered set of locations, an objective ( e.g., "patrol the 4th floor"), or a map, and the navigation system can move the robot based on the navigation instructions”); and
executing communication protocols between the on-board features and the off-board sensors over the phased array antennas to allow for the navigating (see, Paragraphs [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks, and the like”; and [0095]: “The communication interface 714 can communicatively couple the robot 100 to other components of the environment of FIG. 2, such as the central system 210 or other robots, either directly or via the network 200. For instance, the communication interface can include receivers, transmitters, wireless controllers, and the like, and can receive information from and transmit information to and between components of FIG. 2 and other components of the robot. Examples of communication protocols implemented by the communication interface include WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, 3G/4G, LTE, or any other suitable communication protocol. The communication interface can provide video captured by the cameras to an external monitor, or can receive instructions from an operator (for instance, via the central system).”).
Deyle does not explicitly disclose …a pathway beacon sensor… and …wherein the robot body includes a mast of at least 1 meter in height; at least two phased array antennas associated with directly printed on a surface of the mobile robot body…
However, Kokkonen teaches
…a pathway beacon sensor (see, Paragraph [0127]: “When the time gap between the peak in signal strength from the beacon A (305) and the peak in signal strength from the beacon B (303) is consistent with the expected traffic flowing through the transport corridor (309), the mobile device (301) is determined to have traveled between the locations of the beacon A (305) and the beacon B (303). Thus, the travel speed and position of the mobile device (301) during the time period between the peaks in beacon signal strength are determined in relation with the known path of the corridor (309) with great precision”; and [0168]: “the mobile device detects and/or reports the identifiers of the fixed/positional/stationary Bluetooth beacon devices it detects while the mobile device is within the communication range from the package mounted Bluetooth beacon devices, which identify the path of the package traveling with the mobile device and thus an indication that the person (or robot) carrying the mobile device is in possession of the package. When there is sufficient indication that the person (or robot) carrying the mobile device is in possession of the package, the central application and/or the application running in the mobile device can instruct the package-mounted Bluetooth beacon devices to stop their operations”; and [0172])…
Deyle teaches determining the location of the robot (see, Paragraph [0093]: “Navigation instructions can include an end location and can determine a route from a current location of the robot to the end location, for instance by detecting obstacles and/or paths from the current location to the end location, by selecting a path based on the detected obstacles and paths, and by moving the robot along the selected path until the robot arrives at the end location”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate a pathway beacon sensor into the navigation infrastructure of Kokkonen. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey to improve accuracy when providing navigation guidance to reach an item in a building (see, Paragraph [0081], abstract).
Additionally, the pertinent art, Wang teaches
…wherein the robot body includes a mast of at least 1 meter in height (see, Paragraph [0048]: “remotely control the lifesaving robot, the remote-controlled life-saving robot has a fast speed and is equipped with a triangular identification flagpole (***i.e., a mast***) with a height of more than one meter”);
…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to incorporate wherein the robot body includes a mast of at least 1 meter in height of Wang and by combining autonomous mobile robot as taught by Deyle with a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey robot, so as to facilitate the formulation of a scientific and reasonable plan see at least Paragraph [0016]).
Further, it would have also been obvious in one ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of the application wherein the robot body includes a mast of at least 1 meter in height. As a design choice “Changes in Size/Proportion” [see MPEP 2144.04], In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), and/or In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)]. Knowledge well known in the art that doing so would achieve the same end result which is to improve the accuracy of the ranging and angle of arrival information.
Additionally, Park teaches
…antennas associated with directly printed on a surface of the mobile robot body (see, Paragraph [0137]: “The antenna pattern 350 of the antenna part A2 is electromagnetically coupled to the top side metal member 313 or the left and right side metal members 311 and 312, which may be utilized as parasite antenna radiators. When the antenna pattern 350 is independently connected to the circuit board without being electrically coupled to the top side metal member 313 or the left and right side metal members 311 and 312, the antenna pattern 350 may be utilized as an independent antenna radiator.”; and [0138]: “The antenna patterns 340 and 350 may be arranged in a manner in which they overlap the connectors 341 and 351 that are exposed to the housing. The antenna patterns 340 and 350 may be direct printing antennas that are directly formed on an outer Surface of the housing.”; and [0236]: “According to an embodiment, at least a portion of the housing of the electronic device may be formed of a conductive material, and the second pattern of the antenna radiator may be spaced apart from at least a portion of the housing to be coupled to the at least a portion of the housing.”)…
As Deyle discloses robot can perform a number of functions and operations in a variety of categories, including but not limited to security operations, infrastructure or maintenance operations, navigation or mapping operations, inventory management operations, and robot/human interaction operations include one or more direction of arrival (or DOA) antennas 732, the DoA antenna array can include a first set of antennas.
And in combination of Park teaches where an electronic device for a vessel (e.g., a navigation device for vessels and/or a gyro compass), avionics, a security device, a vehicular head unit, an industrial or home robot (see, Paragraph [0043]) printing antennas that are directly formed on an outer Surface of the housing of the robot; and mobile communication and antenna technologies are accompanied by an increase of the number of antennas included in electronic devices. However, as electronic devices are generally small-sized, the available spaces for mounting the antennas is limited, see Paragraph [0005].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to implement an antenna structure, and more particularly to an electronic device including the antenna structure as taught by Park. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to the electronic device may also include a new electronic device produced due to the development of technology (see, Paragraph [0047]).
As to [claim 2], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Kwak teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the mobile robot body comprises a housing (see at least Paragraph [0040]: “The robot 100 includes exterior fabric panels, as described below in greater detail. The fabric panels can be removably or fixedly coupled around a housing body of the robot. The robot also includes a plurality of sensors and other components enclosed within the housing body”).
Regarding [claim 3], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 3 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above. Deyle discloses an autonomous mobile robot (see , Abstract; “robot 100”), comprising: a mobile robot body (see, Paragraph [0040]: “The robot 100 includes exterior fabric panels, as described below in greater detail. The fabric panels can be removably or fixedly coupled around a housing body of the robot.”; and [0081]: “FIG. 6A illustrates a view of a mobile robot with a removed fabric exterior, according to one embodiment. The robot 100 of FIG. 6 includes a head portion 602, a body portion 604, and a base portion 606”)…
…
wherein the association of the phased array antennas comprises association inside the mobile robot body housing (see, Paragraph [0277]: “As noted above, the robot 100 can include reader antennas 730 to identify or detect RFID tags, and can include direction of arrival (or "DoA") antennas 732 to determine a location of the detected RFID tags. The RFID reader antennas of the robot can be distributed along a height of the robot…Likewise, the RFID DoA antennas can be fixed at various locations along a height of the robot, for instance at a top of the robot, on an exterior of the robot, or within the robot body. In other embodiments, the location of the DoA antennas can be changed dynamically. In embodiments where the robot can adjust a height of the reader antennas or DoA antennas, the reader or DoA antennas can be located on a moveable or extendible arm, or can be located on a moving surface within or on the outside of the robot.”) ; and wherein the processing system resides principally off-board the mobile robot (see, Paragraphs [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks, and the like”; and [0095]: “The communication interface 714 can communicatively couple the robot 100 to other components of the environment of FIG. 2, such as the central system 210 or other robots, either directly or via the network 200. For instance, the communication interface can include receivers, transmitters, wireless controllers, and the like, and can receive information from and transmit information to and between components of FIG. 2 and other components of the robot. Examples of communication protocols implemented by the communication interface include WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, 3G/4G, LTE, or any other suitable communication protocol. The communication interface can provide video captured by the cameras to an external monitor, or can receive instructions from an operator (for instance, via the central system).”).
…
As to [claim 4], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 4 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Regarding [claim 5], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 5 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above. Deyle discloses an autonomous mobile robot (see , Abstract; “robot 100”), comprising: a mobile robot body (see, Paragraph [0040]: “The robot 100 includes exterior fabric panels, as described below in greater detail. The fabric panels can be removably or fixedly coupled around a housing body of the robot.”; and [0081]: “FIG. 6A illustrates a view of a mobile robot with a removed fabric exterior, according to one embodiment. The robot 100 of FIG. 6 includes a head portion 602, a body portion 604, and a base portion 606”)…
…
wherein the association of the phased array antennas comprises a housing on an outer face of the mobile robot body housing (see, Paragraph [0277]: “As noted above, the robot 100 can include reader antennas 730 to identify or detect RFID tags, and can include direction of arrival (or "DoA") antennas 732 to determine a location of the detected RFID tags. The RFID reader antennas of the robot can be distributed along a height of the robot…Likewise, the RFID DoA antennas can be fixed at various locations along a height of the robot, for instance at a top of the robot, on an exterior of the robot, or within the robot body. In other embodiments, the location of the DoA antennas can be changed dynamically. In embodiments where the robot can adjust a height of the reader antennas or DoA antennas, the reader or DoA antennas can be located on a moveable or extendible arm, or can be located on a moving surface within or on the outside of the robot.”); and wherein the processing system resides principally off-board the mobile robot (see, Paragraphs [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks, and the like”; and [0095]: “The communication interface 714 can communicatively couple the robot 100 to other components of the environment of FIG. 2, such as the central system 210 or other robots, either directly or via the network 200. For instance, the communication interface can include receivers, transmitters, wireless controllers, and the like, and can receive information from and transmit information to and between components of FIG. 2 and other components of the robot. Examples of communication protocols implemented by the communication interface include WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, 3G/4G, LTE, or any other suitable communication protocol. The communication interface can provide video captured by the cameras to an external monitor, or can receive instructions from an operator (for instance, via the central system).”).
…
As to [claim 6], the combination of Deyle , Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses a beacon sensor (see, Paragraph [0115]: “The robot 100 can also include one or more of: a spotlight or other lighting system for illuminating a room or area, strobe lights or other flashing lights to ward off intruders or otherwise deter particular behaviors of individuals, GPS receivers, sirens or alarms (which may be included within the audio system 724), beacon components configured to alert other robots, non-lethal deterrent components (such as tasers, tranquilizers, nets, tear gas, and the like), force or torque sensors (to detect the position and strength of contact between the robot and the environment or individuals within a proximity of the robot)”).
And as Kokkonen teaches … pathway beacon sensor comprises a plurality of pathway beacon sensors place periodically or sporadically around a space such that the robot can triangulate its position (see, Paragraphs, [0120]-[0121], [0148] and [0172]-[0174]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further a pathway beacon sensor by combining Kokkonen. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey to improve accuracy; and when the volume of items sold in a store (225) is small, the frequency is decreased to improve communication efficiency, and improves the accuracy of the determined position (see, Paragraph [0081]. And [0121]).
As to [claim 15], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the processing system resides principally within the mobile robot body (see, Paragraph [0043]: “The central system 210 can be a central server or other computing system configured to provide instructions to the robots, to receive information from the robots, to access data corresponding to the robots or the other components of FIG. 2, to display the received information or accessed data (for instance, to a user of the central system), to perform one or more other functions as described herein, and to provide a communicative interface between, via the network 200, the robots and other components of FIG. 2.”; see also [0091], [0116] ).
As to [claim 16], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the processing system resides principally off-board the mobile robot (see, Paragraphs [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks, and the like”; and [0095]: “The communication interface 714 can communicatively couple the robot 100 to other components of the environment of FIG. 2, such as the central system 210 or other robots, either directly or via the network 200. For instance, the communication interface can include receivers, transmitters, wireless controllers, and the like, and can receive information from and transmit information to and between components of FIG. 2 and other components of the robot. Examples of communication protocols implemented by the communication interface include WiFi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, 3G/4G, LTE, or any other suitable communication protocol. The communication interface can provide video captured by the cameras to an external monitor, or can receive instructions from an operator (for instance, via the central system).”).
As to [claim 17], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the phased array antennas comprise wifi antennas (see, Paragraph [0106]: “The robot 100 can include one or more reader antennas 730 configured to receive signals from entities external the robot (such as components of the environment of FIG. 2). The reader antennas can include any type of antenna, such as an RFID reader antenna, WiFi antennas”).
As to [claim 18], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the phased array antennas comprise Bluetooth antennas (see at least Paragraph [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks”).
As to [claim 19], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park the robot of claim 1. Deyle discloses wherein the phased array antennas comprise cellular antennas (see at least Paragraph [0048]: “The network 200 may be the Internet, a local area network (such as a building-wide or site-wide network), a wireless network, a mesh network, or any other network or combination thereof that allows communication between the components of FIG. 2. The connecting network 200 may use standard communications technologies and/or protocols, such as WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, cellular networks”).
Claim(s) 8-9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park, and in view of Epstein (US 2022/0264425; previously recorded).
As to [claim 8], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle, Kokkonen and Wang does not explicitly teaches wherein the phased array antennas comprise printed traces.
However, Epstein teaches
wherein the phased array antennas comprise printed traces (see at least Paragraph [0061]: “The antennas may be arranged in different directions, in two-dimensional or three-dimensional space. They may be independent wires, or they may be printed on plastic or solid circuit boards such as microstrip antennas”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify elements of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park and combining wherein the phased array antennas comprise printed traces as taught by Epstein. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to dynamically configure and reconfigure this highly flexible antenna architecture to provide optimized coverage patterns for a variety of deployments and under a variety of circumstances (see at least Paragraph [0010]).
As to [claim 9], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park teaches the robot of claim 1. Deyle, or Kokkonen nor Wang explicitly teaches wherein the phased array antennas further comprise subtractively processed.
However, Epstein teaches
wherein the phased array antennas further comprise subtractively processed (see at least Paragraph [0143]: “the conductive layers may be stretchable (such as a flexible elastic conductive polymer, including metal-doped polymers and carbon conductive polymers). In some embodiments, the antenna backhaul traces may be flexible, but the antennas may be affixed (e.g., preprinted or die cut) or printed onto the strip after molding”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify elements of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park and combining wherein the phased array antennas comprise subtractively processed traces as taught by Epstein. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to dynamically configure and reconfigure this highly flexible antenna architecture to provide optimized coverage patterns for a variety of deployments and under a variety of circumstances (see at least Paragraph [0010]).
As to [claim 14], the combination of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Epstein the robot of claim 1. Epstein further teaches wherein the phased array antennas further comprise[[s]] surface mount technology components (see at least Paragraphs [0067]: “For interplane shielding, since now there are mounted components, some embodiments leave holes in the shielding layer for the solder pads of the active components on the layers below”; [0143]: “For example, a solid object with the desired shape may be pressed into the antenna section as support for an elastic surface. In some embodiments, the antennas might not be printed on the molded or elastic area but may be surface-affixed at one or more points to the substrate”) further comprises surface mount technology components (see at least Paragraph [0067]: “For interplane shielding, since now there are mounted components, some embodiments leave holes in the shielding layer for the solder pads of the active components on the layers below”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify elements of Deyle, Kokkonen, Wang and Park by combining wherein the phased array antennas comprise a substrate as taught by Epstein. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to dynamically configure and reconfigure this highly flexible antenna architecture to provide optimized coverage patterns for a variety of deployments and under a variety of circumstances (see at least Paragraph [0010]).
Conclusion
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663