DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on December 03, 2025 for the application filed August 11, 2022. Claims 1, 31, 46, and 61 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-9, 31, 33-34, 36-37, 46, 48-49, 61 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 31, 33, 34, 36, 37, 46, 48, 49, 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0329533A1) in view of Han et al. (US2020/0396722A1), Blankenship (US2017/0163396A1), and Hwang et al. (US2019/0363857A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by base unit, the method comprising: transmitting a control signal, wherein the control signal includes a resource assignment index and at least one of a transmission repetition number index, a scheduling delay index, a new data indicator (NDI), a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) resource indication, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index (Paragraph [0349]: A UE shall upon detection on a given serving cell of a NPDCCH with DCI format N1, N2 ending in subframe n intended for the UE, decode, starting in n+5 DL subframe, the corresponding NPDSCH transmission in N consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe(s) ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 according to the NPDCCH information. Paragraph [0405]: DCI format N1 is used for the scheduling of one NPDSCH codeword in one cell and random access procedure initiated by a NPDCCH order. The DCI corresponding to a NPDCCH order is carried by NPDCCH. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format N1: Paragraph [0410]: Scheduling delay (3 bits), Resource assignment (3 bits), Modulation and coding scheme (4 bits), Repetition number (4 bits), New data indicator (1 bit), HARQ-ACK resource (4 bits), DCI subframe repetition number (2 bits));
transmitting or receiving a data signal based on the control signal, wherein the data signal starts at an end of the control signal plus a first number of time slots and the data signal includes a second number of transmission repetitions of a third number of time durations, wherein the third number of time durations is a quantity of subframes determined based at least in part on the resource assignment index (Paragraph [0250]: A UE shall upon detection on a given serving cell of a NPDCCH with DCI format N0 ending in NB-IoT DL subframe n intended for the UE, perform, at the end of n+k0 DL subframe, a corresponding NPUSCH transmission using NPUSCH format 1 in N consecutive NB-IoT UL slots ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 according to the NPDCCH information. Paragraph [0349]: A UE shall upon detection on a given serving cell of a NPDCCH with DCI format N1, N2 ending in subframe n intended for the UE, decode, starting in n+5 DL subframe, the corresponding NPDSCH transmission in N consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe(s) ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 according to the NPDCCH information. Paragraph [0350]: subframe n is the last subframe in which the NPDCCH is transmitted and is determined from the starting subframe of NPDCCH transmission and the DCI subframe repetition number field in the corresponding DCI; Paragraph [0351]: subframe(s) ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 are N consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe(s) excluding subframes used for SI messages where, n0<n1< . . . , nN−1. Paragraph [0352]: N=NRepNSF, where the value of NRep is determined by the repetition number field in the corresponding DCI, and the value of NSF is determined by the resource assignment field in the corresponding DCI. Paragraph [0353]: k0 is the number of NB-IoT DL subframe(s) starting in DL subframe n+5 until DL subframen0, where k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) for DCI format N1. The value of Rm,ax is according to Subclause 16.6 in 3GPP 36.213 for the corresponding DCI format N1. Paragraph [0373]: The UE shall upon detection of a NPDSCH transmission ending in NB-IoT subframe n intended for the UE and for which an ACK/NACK shall be provided, start, at the end of n+k0−1 DL subframe transmission of the NPUSCH carrying ACK/NACK response using NPUSCH format 2 in N consecutive NB-IoT UL slots, where N=Nrep ANNslots UL, where the value of NRep AN is given by the higher layer parameter ack-NACK-NumRepetitions-Msg4);
Kim does not explicitly teach a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Han teaches a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales (Paragraph [0166]: For example, the TBS values for certain resource allocation are reduced to the integer closest to X multiplied by the TBS value in Rel-13 NB-IoT or Rel-14 eNB-IoT, where X may be any value within (0,1). For instance, values such as 0.5, 1/3 and/or other may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS. Paragraph [0168]: In some embodiments, a maximum DL TBS of 2536 bits may be supported in TDD feNB-IoT. As another option, the maximum DL TBS may be further increased.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales, as taught by Han in the system of Kim, so that path loss can be reduced, and performance can be improved (Han: Paragraph [0163], [0168]).
The combination of Kim and Han does not explicitly teach scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Blankenship teaches scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network (Paragraph [0051]: Thus various link adaptation methods as proposed herein may be flexible to provide a wide range of combinations of {TBS, modulation order, code rate}, where the code rate includes not only the parameters within a subframe but also the number of repetition/bundling across subframes. Here, repetition indicates simple duplication of code bits associated with a same transport block (TB) from subframe to subframe, whereas bundling indicates that code bits associated with a same transport block (TB) may vary from subframe to subframe due to rate matching mechanism. Paragraph [0053]: In this table, {Nrep,pdsch,i, Nrep,pdsch,1, Nrep,pdsch,2, Nrep,pdsch,3} is a set of integer numbers (≧1) that indicates the number of subframes used to carry a given PDSCH transmission via repetitions or bundling. Paragraph [0070]: According to one embodiment, the processing circuitry 820 is configured to determine a number of subframes used to carry a transport block via repetition or bundling, and decode the transport block according to the determined number of subframes. Paragraph [0077]: The selected subframe value indicates a number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission. Paragraph [0079]: The method 950 further comprises transmitting 952 a set indicator for indicating one of a plurality of sets. Each set comprises a plurality of subframe values. A number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission is indicated by a said subframe value. Paragraph [0104]: Those skilled in the art will appreciate that embodiments herein generally include a method implemented by a communication device (e.g., a low cost or coverage enhanced MTC device) in a wireless communication network. The method is for decoding a transport block (e.g., received by the device over a PDSCH in an LTE network). The method may comprise determining a number of subframes used to carry the transport block via repetition or bundling, and decoding the transport block according to the determined number of subframes. Paragraph [0106]: In one or more embodiments, for example, determining the number of subframes based on the DCI comprises using an index or field (e.g., referred to as a “subframe index”) within the DCI to reference a subframe table indicating the number of subframes used to carry the transport block via repetition or bundling. In some aspects, a DCI field provides an indicator for repetition or bundling across subframes. In at least one embodiment, the device receives signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), via the wireless communication network, the signaling comprising a set of subframe values indicating a plurality of potential numbers of subframes (e.g., a set) used to carry the transport block via repetition or bundling, and populates the subframe table with the set of subframe values received via the signaling. In this case, using the subframe index to reference the subframe table comprises using the subframe index to select one of the set of subframe values within the subframe table. Paragraph [0107]: In one or more embodiments, therefore, a subframe table may be dynamically populated with different sets of subframe values at different times, for different types of devices, for different cost or coverage requirements of different devices, or any combination thereof. Paragraph [0110]: Embodiments herein also include a method for encoding a transport block implemented by a communication device (e.g., a base station, e.g., eNB) in a wireless communication network. The method comprises transmitting a transport block across a plurality of subframes via repetition or bundling (e.g., over a PDSCH in LTE). The method also entails transmitting signaling (e.g., as RRC signaling or over an EPDCCH in LTE) for decoding the transport block that indicates the number of subframes and/or a set of potential numbers of subframes over which the transport block is transmitted via repetition or bundling. The transmitted signaling indicating the numbers of subframes over which the transport block is transmitted via repetition or bundling may be as described in any example. Paragraph [0111]: In some embodiments, transmitting the signaling comprise transmitting a subframe index within downlink control information (DCI). This subframe index (or field), when used as a reference into a subframe table, indicates a number of subframes in the plurality of subframes. Paragraph [0112]: Alternatively or additionally, the signaling may indicate a set of subframe values indicating a plurality of potential numbers of subframes used to carry the transport block via repetition or bundling. In this case, a subframe index in the signaling may indicate one of the set of subframe values. Also see paragraphs [0054]-[0057].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network., as taught by Blankenship in the combined system of Kim and Han, so that the transport block can be transmitted over a number of subframes via bundling, where the selected subframe value based on the DCI indicates a number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission. This will enable selecting the number of subframes that can be used to carry a given PDSCH transmission via bundling (Blankenship: Paragraphs [0051], [0053]-[0057], [0106], [0107], [0110]-[0112]).
The combination of Kim, Han, and Blankenship does not explicitly teach receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift.
However, Hwang teaches receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift (Paragraph [0009]: a disclosure of the present specification provides a method for transmitting an HARQ ACK/NACK signal for Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT) communication. The method may comprise performing modulation of one or more of a first and second HARQ ACK/NACK signals generated by two HARQ processes. The performing modulation may comprise mapping one or more of the first and second HARQ ACK/NACK signals to a constellation in the form of Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK). The first HARQ ACK/NACK signal may be a signal generated by a first HARQ process with respect to first downlink data through a first Narrowband Physical Downlink Shared Channel (NPDSCH). The second HARQ ACK/NACK signal may be a signal generated by a second HARQ process with respect to second downlink data through a second NPDSCH. Paragraph [0018]: When it fails to decode second downlink data, mapping to the QPSK constellation may be performed so that the sign of Q of the QPSK constellation is changed according to a value of the first ACK/NACK signal with respect to the first downlink. Paragraph [0142]: This method transmits ACK/NACK signals for two NPDSCHs (or NPUSCHs) by combining the ACK/NACK signals by using a QPSK symbol. Paragraph [0149]: Also, a method for representing complex-valued modulation symbols may be determined so that the case where decoding of an NPDCCH associated with the first NPDSCH has failed and the case where decoding of an NPDCCH associated with the first NPDSCH has succeeded, but decoding of the first NPDSCH has failed are handled in the same way by using a NACK signal. Paragraph [0150]: if an NB-IoT device succeeds in decoding only one NPDCCH and decodes only one NPDSCH accordingly, a complex-valued modulation symbol may be used for the same ACK/NACK signal irrespective of an actual order of the NPDSCH. At this time, the ACK/NACK transmission timing may use the ACK/NACK transmission timing specified by DCI included in the NPDCCH for which decoding has been performed. Tables 2 to 4 show an example of complex-valued modulation symbols which may be used for ACK/NACK transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift, as taught by Hwang in the combined system of Kim, Han, and Blankenship, so that bandwidth constraint problems in NB-IoT communications can be solved (Hwang: Paragraphs [0006] - [0009], [0018], [[0149], [0150]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on one of the transmission repetition number index (Paragraph [0352]: N=NRepNSF, where the value of NRep is determined by the repetition number field in the corresponding DCI. Paragraph [0359]: A repetition number (NRep) determined by the repetition number field (IRep) in the corresponding DCI according to Table 23.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang reaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on the transmission repetition number index (Paragraph [0352]: N=NRepNSF, where the value of NRep is determined by the repetition number field in the corresponding DCI. Paragraph [0359]: A repetition number (NRep) determined by the repetition number field (IRep) in the corresponding DCI according to Table 23.)
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index.
However, Han teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index (Paragraph [0109]: In some embodiments, the NPDCCH may include one or more of: the number of repetitions to be used for the transmission of the NPDSCH, time resources to be used for the transmission of the NPDSCH, schedule information, frequency resources to be used for the transmission of the NPDSCH, Configuration information and/or other information. In some embodiments, the NPDCCH may schedule transmission of the NPDSCH. Paragraph [0129]: At operation 945, the UE 102 may determine the number of repetitions for an NPDSCH. Paragraph [0155]: In some embodiments, a largest number of repetitions may be increased. For example, 3072 and/or 4096 may be used. In a non-limiting example, a set of supported number of repetitions may be a subset of {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 3072, 4090}. In another non-limiting example, one or more values may be added to an existing set. For instance, the set may be {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 3072}. Paragraph [0178]: In some embodiments, a supported repetition number of NPDCCH and/or NPDSCH may be increased. In some embodiments, more HARQ processes may be supported for DL and/or UL transmission in TDD feNB-IoT, and additional bits are added to the HARQ process ID Held in DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 4 (see rejection for claim 4);
Kim further teaches wherein the extension index is indicated by the NDI (Paragraph [0410]: Scheduling delay (3 bits), Resource assignment (3 bits), Modulation and coding scheme (4 bits), Repetition number (4 bits), New data indicator (1 bit), HARQ-ACK resource (4 bits), DCI subframe repetition number (2 bits). Paragraph [0411]: When the format N1 CRC is scrambled with an RA-RNTI, then the following fields among the fields above are reserved. Paragraph [0412]: New data indicator, HARQ-ACK resource);
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach a HARQ resource indication of the control signal.
However, Han teaches a HARQ resource indication of the control signal (Paragraph [0178]: In some embodiments, a supported repetition number of NPDCCH and/or NPDSCH may be increased. In some embodiments, more HARQ processes may be supported for DL and/or UL transmission in TDD feNB-IoT, and additional bits are added to the HARQ process ID Held in DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a HARQ resource indication of the control signal, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on the transmission repetition number index and an index offset (Paragraph [0352]: N=NRepNSF, where the value of NRep is determined by the repetition number field in the corresponding DCI. Paragraph [0359]: A repetition number (NRep) determined by the repetition number field (IRep) in the corresponding DCI according to Table 23. Paragraph [0423]: An NPDCCH search space NSk (L′,R) at aggregation level L′∈{1,2} and repetition level R ∈{1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048} is defined by a set of NPDCCH candidates where each candidate is repeated in a set of R consecutive NB-IoT downlink subframes excluding subframes used for transmission of SI messages starting with subframe k. Paragraph [0424]: The locations of starting subframe k are given by k=kb where kb is the bth consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe from subframe k0, and where subframe k0 is a subframe satisfying the condition (10nf+└ns/2┘ mod T)=└αoffset·T┘, where T=Rmax·G, T≥4. G and αoffset are given by the higher layer parameters.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the control signal is configured with a fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions (Paragraph [0350]: subframe n is the last subframe in which the NPDCCH is transmitted and is determined from the starting subframe of NPDCCH transmission and the DCI subframe repetition number field in the corresponding DCI; Paragraph [0351]: subframe(s) ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 are N consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe(s) excluding subframes used for SI messages where, n0<n1< . . . , nN−1. Paragraph [0352]: N=NRepNSF, where the value of NRep is determined by the repetition number field in the corresponding DCI, and the value of NSF is determined by the resource assignment field in the corresponding DCI. Paragraph [0353]: k0 is the number of NB-IoT DL subframe(s) starting in DL subframe n+5 until DL subframen0, where k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) for DCI format N1. The value of Rm,ax is according to Subclause 16.6 in 3GPP 36.213 for the corresponding DCI format N1.)
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions.
However, Han teaches the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions (Paragraph [0155]: In some embodiments, a largest number of repetitions may be increased. For example, 3072 and/or 4096 may be used. In a non-limiting example, a set of supported number of repetitions may be a subset of {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 3072, 4090}. Paragraph [0164]: In some embodiments, a largest number of repetitions may be increased. For example, 3072 and/or 4096 may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 8, the Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the first number of time slots is based at least in part on the scheduling delay index (Paragraph [0254]: value of k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) in the corresponding DCI according to Table 7. Paragraph [0353]: k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) according to Table 20. The value of Rm,ax is according to Subclause 16.6 in 3GPP 36.213 for the corresponding DCI format N1.)
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach a second scaling factor that scales the first number of time slots.
However, Han teaches a second scaling factor that scales the first number of time slots (Paragraph [0155]: In some embodiments, a largest number of repetitions may be increased. For example, 3072 and/or 4096 may be used. In a non-limiting example, a set of supported number of repetitions may be a subset of {1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048, 3072, 4090}. Paragraph [0164]: In some embodiments, a largest number of repetitions may be increased. For example, 3072 and/or 4096 may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second scaling factor that scales the first number of time slots, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced, and performance can be improved (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim further teaches wherein the first number of time slots is based at least in part on the scheduling delay index and an index offset (Paragraph [0254]: value of k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) in the corresponding DCI according to Table 7. Paragraph [0353]: k0 is determined by the scheduling delay field (IDelay) according to Table 20. The value of Rm,ax is according to Subclause 16.6 in 3GPP 36.213 for the corresponding DCI format N1. Paragraph [0423]: An NPDCCH search space NSk (L′,R) at aggregation level L′∈{1,2} and repetition level R ∈{1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, 2048} is defined by a set of NPDCCH candidates where each candidate is repeated in a set of R consecutive NB-IoT downlink subframes excluding subframes used for transmission of SI messages starting with subframe k. Paragraph [0424]: The locations of starting subframe k are given by k=kb where kb is the bth consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe from subframe k0, and where subframe k0 is a subframe satisfying the condition (10nf+└ns/2┘ mod T)=└αoffset·T┘, where T=Rmax·G, T≥4. G and αoffset are given by the higher layer parameters.)
Regarding claim 31, Kim teaches a base unit for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base unit to: (Paragraph [0097]: Referring to FIG. 1, the terminal 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180. Paragraph [0911]: The base station 3010 includes a processor 3011, memory 3012, and a radio frequency (RF) unit 3013. The processor 3011 may be configured to implement the functions, processes and/or methods proposed in FIGS. 1 to 29. The layers of a wireless interface protocol may be implemented by the processor 3011. The memory 3012 is coupled with the processor 3011 and stores various kinds of information to operate the processor 3011. The RF unit 3013 is coupled with the processor 3011 and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. Paragraph [0912]: A UE 3020 includes a processor 3021, a memory 3022, and an RF unit 3023. The processor 3021 may be configured to implement the functions, processes, and/or methods proposed in FIGS. 1 to 29. The layers of the wireless interface protocol may be implemented by the processor 3021. The memory 3022 is coupled with the processor 3021, and stores various kinds of information to operate the processor 3021. The RF unit 3023 is coupled with the processor 3021 to transmit and/or receive a radio signal.)
transmit a control signal, wherein the control signal includes a resource assignment index and at least one of a transmission repetition number index, a scheduling delay index, a new data indicator (NDI), a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) resource indication, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index; transmit or receive a data signal based on the control signal, wherein the data signal starts at an end of the control signal plus a first number of time slots and the data signal includes a second number of transmission repetitions of a third number of time durations, wherein the third number of time durations is a quantity of subframes determined based at least in part on the resource assignment index (see rejection for claim 1).
Kim does not explicitly teach a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Han teaches a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales (Paragraph [0166]: For example, the TBS values for certain resource allocation are reduced to the integer closest to X multiplied by the TBS value in Rel-13 NB-IoT or Rel-14 eNB-IoT, where X may be any value within (0,1). For instance, values such as 0.5, 1/3 and/or other may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS. Paragraph [0168]: n some embodiments, a maximum DL TBS of 2536 bits may be supported in TDD feNB-IoT. As another option, the maximum DL TBS may be further increased.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales, as taught by Han in the system of Kim, so that path loss can be reduced, and performance can be improved (Han: Paragraph [0163, [0168]).
The combination of Kim and Han does not explicitly teach scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Blankenship teaches scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network, as taught by Blankenship in the combined system of Kim and Han, so that the transport block can be transmitted over a number of subframes via bundling, where the selected subframe value based on the DCI indicates a number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission. This will enable selecting the number of subframes that can be used to carry a given PDSCH transmission via bundling (Blankenship: Paragraphs [0051], [0053]-[0057], [0106], [0107], [0110]-[0112]).
The combination of Kim, Han, and Blankenship does not explicitly teach to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift.
However, Hwang teaches to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift, as taught by Hwang in the combined system of Kim, Han, and Blankenship, so that bandwidth constraint problems in NB-IoT communications can be solved (Hwang: Paragraphs [0006] - [0009], [0018], [[0149], [0150]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the base unit of claim 31 (see rejection for claim 31);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on one of the transmission repetition number index (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the base unit of claim 31 (see rejection for claim 31);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on the transmission repetition number index (see rejection for claim 4);
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index.
However, Han teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the base unit of claim 31 (see rejection for claim 31);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on the transmission repetition number index and an index offset (see rejection for claim 6).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the base unit of claim 31 (see rejection for claim 31);
Kim further teaches wherein the control signal is configured with a fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions (see rejection for claim 7);
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions.
However, Han teaches the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions based at least in part on a second scaling factor that scales the fourth number of maximal transmission repetitions, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 46, Kim teaches a remote unit for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the remote unit to (Paragraph [0097]: Referring to FIG. 1, the terminal 100 may include a communication unit 110, an input unit 120, a learning processor 130, a sensing unit 140, an output unit 150, a memory 170, and a processor 180. Paragraph [0911]: The base station 3010 includes a processor 3011, memory 3012, and a radio frequency (RF) unit 3013. The processor 3011 may be configured to implement the functions, processes and/or methods proposed in FIGS. 1 to 29. The layers of a wireless interface protocol may be implemented by the processor 3011. The memory 3012 is coupled with the processor 3011 and stores various kinds of information to operate the processor 3011. The RF unit 3013 is coupled with the processor 3011 and transmits and/or receives a radio signal. Paragraph [0912]: A UE 3020 includes a processor 3021, a memory 3022, and an RF unit 3023. The processor 3021 may be configured to implement the functions, processes, and/or methods proposed in FIGS. 1 to 29. The layers of the wireless interface protocol may be implemented by the processor 3021. The memory 3022 is coupled with the processor 3021, and stores various kinds of information to operate the processor 3021. The RF unit 3023 is coupled with the processor 3021 to transmit and/or receive a radio signal.);
receive a control signal, wherein the control signal includes a resource assignment index and at least one of a transmission repetition number index, a scheduling delay index, a new data indicator (NDI), a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) resource indication, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index (Paragraph [0349]: A UE shall upon detection on a given serving cell of a NPDCCH with DCI format N1, N2 ending in subframe n intended for the UE, decode, starting in n+5 DL subframe, the corresponding NPDSCH transmission in N consecutive NB-IoT DL subframe(s) ni with i=0, 1, . . . , N−1 according to the NPDCCH information. Paragraph [0405]: DCI format N1 is used for the scheduling of one NPDSCH codeword in one cell and random access procedure initiated by a NPDCCH order. The DCI corresponding to a NPDCCH order is carried by NPDCCH. The following information is transmitted by means of the DCI format N1: Paragraph [0410]: Scheduling delay (3 bits), Resource assignment (3 bits), Modulation and coding scheme (4 bits), Repetition number (4 bits), New data indicator (1 bit), HARQ-ACK resource (4 bits), DCI subframe repetition number (2 bits));
transmit or receive a data signal based on the control signal, wherein the data signal starts at an end of the control signal plus a first number of time slots and the data signal includes a second number of transmission repetitions of a third number of time durations, wherein the third number of time durations is a quantity of subframes determined based at least in part on the resource assignment index (see rejection for claim 1).
Kim does not explicitly teach a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Han teaches a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales (Paragraph [0166]: For example, the TBS values for certain resource allocation are reduced to the integer closest to X multiplied by the TBS value in Rel-13 NB-IoT or Rel-14 eNB-IoT, where X may be any value within (0,1). For instance, values such as 0.5, 1/3 and/or other may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS. Paragraph [0168]: n some embodiments, a maximum DL TBS of 2536 bits may be supported in TDD feNB-IoT. As another option, the maximum DL TBS may be further increased.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales, as taught by Han in the system of Kim, so that path loss can be reduced, and performance can be improved (Han: Paragraph [0163], [0168]).
The combination of Kim and Han does not explicitly teach scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Blankenship teaches scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network., as taught by Blankenship in the combined system of Kim and Han, so that the transport block can be transmitted over a number of subframes via bundling, where the selected subframe value based on the DCI indicates a number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission. This will enable selecting the number of subframes that can be used to carry a given PDSCH transmission via bundling (Blankenship: Paragraphs [0051], [0053]-[0057], [0106], [0107], [0110]-[0112]).
The combination of Kim, Han, and Blankenship does not explicitly teach to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift.
However, Hwang teaches to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift, as taught by Hwang in the combined system of Kim, Han, and Blankenship, so that bandwidth constraint problems in NB-IoT communications can be solved (Hwang: Paragraphs [0006] - [0009], [0018], [[0149], [0150]).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the remote unit of claim 46 (see rejection for claim 46);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on one of the transmission repetition number index (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches the remote unit of claim 46 (see rejection for claim 46);
Kim further teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based at least in part on the transmission repetition number index (see rejection for claim 4);
The combination of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang does not explicitly teach wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index.
However, Han teaches wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second number of transmission repetitions is based on an extension index, as taught by Han in the combined system of Kim, Blankenship, and Hwang, so that path loss can be reduced (Han: Paragraph [0163]).
Regarding claim 61, Kim teaches a method performed by a remote unit, the method comprising: receiving a control signal, wherein the control signal includes a resource assignment index and at least one of a transmission repetition number index, a scheduling delay index, a new data indicator (NDI), a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) resource indication, or a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) index; transmitting or receiving a data signal based on the control signal, wherein the data signal starts at an end of the control signal plus a first number of time slots and the data signal includes a second number of transmission repetitions of a third number of time durations, wherein the third number of time durations is a quantity of subframes determined based at least in part on the resource assignment index (see rejection for claim 1);
Kim does not explicitly teach a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Han teaches a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales (Paragraph [0166]: For example, the TBS values for certain resource allocation are reduced to the integer closest to X multiplied by the TBS value in Rel-13 NB-IoT or Rel-14 eNB-IoT, where X may be any value within (0,1). For instance, values such as 0.5, 1/3 and/or other may be used. Paragraph [0167]: In a non-limiting example, a scaling factor S may be predefined or indicated by the eNB 104/gNB 105 via RRC signaling or DCI. The TBS would equal to floor(X/S), round(X/S) or ceil (X/S ), wherein X is the indicated TBS. Paragraph [0168]: n some embodiments, a maximum DL TBS of 2536 bits may be supported in TDD feNB-IoT. As another option, the maximum DL TBS may be further increased.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a scaling factor, and wherein the scaling factor scales, as taught by Han in the system of Kim, so that path loss can be reduced, and performance can be improved (Han: Paragraph [0163, [0168]).
The combination of Kim and Han does not explicitly teach scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network.
However, Blankenship teaches scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide scales the quantity of subframes and is configured based on a type of network., as taught by Blankenship in the combined system of Kim and Han, so that the transport block can be transmitted over a number of subframes via bundling, where the selected subframe value based on the DCI indicates a number of subframes used to carry the downlink transmission. This will enable selecting the number of subframes that can be used to carry a given PDSCH transmission via bundling (Blankenship: Paragraphs [0051], [0053]-[0057], [0106], [0107], [0110]-[0112]).
The combination of Kim, Han, and Blankenship does not explicitly teach receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift.
However, Hwang teaches receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift, as taught by Hwang in the combined system of Kim, Han, and Blankenship, so that bandwidth constraint problems in NB-IoT communications can be solved (Hwang: Paragraphs [0006] - [0009], [0018], [[0149], [0150]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 03, 2025 with respect to claims 1, 3-9, 31, 33, 34, 36, 37, 46, 48, 49, and 61 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2021/0329533) in view of Han et al. (US2020/0396722), and further in view of Blankenship (US2017/0163396A1), have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the combination of the cited references Kim, Han, and Blankenship does not teach or suggest “receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift," as recited in amended independent claim 1. However, Hwang et al. (US2019/0363857A1) teaches “receiving a downlink transmission indication and an acknowledgment (ACK) or a negative acknowledgment (NACK) of the data signal based at least in part on a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) repetition sequence with a sequence element phase shift." Hwang teaches a method for transmitting an HARQ ACK/NACK signal for Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT) communication, by mapping one or more of the first and second HARQ ACK/NACK signals to a constellation in the form of Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK). The HARQ ACK/NACK signals may be a signal generated by a HARQ process with respect to downlink data through a Narrowband Physical Downlink Shared Channel (NPDSCH). The method transmits ACK/NACK signals for NPDSCHs (or NPUSCHs) by combining the ACK/NACK signals by using a QPSK symbol. The complex-valued modulation symbols may be used for ACK/NACK transmission, for cases where decoding of an NPDCCH associated with the NPDSCH has failed and where decoding of an NPDCCH associated with the NPDSCH has succeeded. Thus, the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang teaches amended independent claim 1, and amended independent claims 31, 46, and 61, which recite similar limitations.
Dependent claims 3-9, 33-34, 36-37, and 48-49 dependent from one of the amended independent claims 1, 31, and 46 are also taught by the combination of Kim, Han, Blankenship, and Hwang.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461