DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed on October 3, 2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 14-20 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 14-19 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: new independent claims 14 and 17 include distinct limitations “a controller configured to control the first and second heat exchangers, wherein the controller is configured to operate via pulse width modulation to minimize potential for material build up within the first heat exchanger” and “wherein the manifold comprises a plurality of inbound conduits in fluid communication with an inlet and a plurality of outbound conduits in fluid communication with an outlet, whereby flow from the inlet into the plurality of inbound conduits is reversible” that would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required. Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 14-19 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “plurality of resistive heater elements containing interleaved resistance zones formed from at least a high resistance zone and a low resistance zone” in claim 1 and “a plurality of inbound conduits” and “a plurality of outbound conduits” in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electric heating element” in claim 1.
In light the specification, paragraph 30, the limitation has been interpreted to cover the structure of “at least one of an etched foil or wire.”
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The written description does not provide any structural description on how the claimed function is achieved by the controller to generate flow from the inlet into the plurality of inbound conduits that is reversible, so one skilled in the art that the functional limitation recited in claim 20 fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAndrew et al. (US 2016/0107179 A1) in view of Pellin et al. (US 9,849,475 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, McAndrew discloses a system (Fig. 1; Para. (0009) regarding a multiple component spray applicator system), comprising: a spray gun (spray gun 28, Fig. 1) configured to spray a mixture (spray gun 28, Para. (0014), spray application "gun" ... mixed, Para. (00051) of a first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20) and second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22); a first component fluid source (supply tank T1) configured to supply the first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20); a second fluid source (su1:1ply tank T2) configured to supply the second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22); a first heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) configured to supply heat (heaters, Para. (0015)) to the first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20); wherein the first heat exchanger comprises an electric heating element coupled to a manifold (figure 1 shows electrically operated resistance heater H (Para. (0015) is coupled to delivery hose 29); and a second heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) configured to supply heat (heaters, Para. [0015)) to the second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22), wherein the first heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) is configured to supply heat (heaters, Para. (0015)) to the first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20) by providing heat (heaters, Para. (0015]) to a first conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1), wherein the first conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) is between the first component fluid source (supply tank T1) and the spray gun (spray gun 28), wherein the first conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) is in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 1) with the first component fluid source (supply tank T1), wherein the system (multiple component spray applicator system, Para. (0009]) is configured to mix (spray gun 28, Para. (0014). spray application "gun" ... mixed, Para. [0005)) the first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20) and second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22).
McAndrew does not disclose that the manifold to which the first heat exchanger is coupled comprises a plurality of resistive heater elements containing interleaved resistance zones formed from at least a high resistance zone and a low resistance zone configured to control a total heat output to be controlled.
Pellin teaches a sprayer comprising a manifold (Fig. 3), wherein the manifold to which the first heat exchanger (100a) is coupled comprises a plurality of resistive heater elements (104a/102a) containing interleaved resistance zones (Fig. 5 show boost heaters and primary heaters are stacked alternatively in clockwise direction) formed from at least a high resistance zone and a low resistance zone configured to control a total heat output to be controlled (“primary heaters 102a and 102b may for example draw 1000 W, and boost heaters 104a and 104b only 500 W” see Col. 5 lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of McAndrew, by incorporating the first heat exchanger as taught by Pellin, doing it would to allow the heat exchanger to run different heat modes corresponding to either high or low pressure flow (Col. 1 lines 40-47).
Regarding Claim 2, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses as best understood the system of claim 1, wherein the second heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2, Fig. 1) is configured to supply heat (heaters, Para. (00151) to the second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22) by providing heat (heaters, Para. (00151) to a second conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2), wherein the second conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) is between the second fluid source (supply tank T2) and the spray gun (spray gun 28), wherein the second conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) is in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 1) with the second fluid source (supply tank T2}.
Regarding Claim 3, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses as best understood the system of claim 2, wherein the first heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1, Fig. 1) is in thermal communication (Fig. 1 showing heaters H being in thermal communication with chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1; heaters H ... electrically operated resistance heaters ... along the length of each chemical delivery hose 29, Para. [0015), in thermal contact, Cl. 1) with the first conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) and mechanically isolated (Fig. 1 showing heaters H being mechanically isolated from first liquid chemical 20 by chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1; heaters H ... along the length, Para. [0015), in thermal contact, Cl. 1) from the first component fluid (first liquid chemical 20) by the first conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1), and wherein the second heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) is in thermal communication (Fig. 1 showing heaters H being in thermal communication with chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2; heaters H ... electrically operated resistance heaters ... along the length of each chemical delivery hose 29, Para. [0015), in thermal contact, Cl. 1) with the second conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) and mechanically isolated (Fig. 1 showing heaters H being mechanically isolated from second liquid chemical 22 by chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2; heaters H ... along the length, Para. [0015), in thermal contact, Cl. 1) from the second component fluid (second liquid chemical 22) by the second conduit (chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2).
Regarding Claim 4, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1, Fig. 1) and second heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) are independently controlled (heating elements H may be operated by the CPU ... central processor CPU ... operating respective ones of the heaters H, Para. [00181) by a control system (central processor CPU).
Regarding Claim 5, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the control system (central processor CPU, Fig. 1) is configured to control a first pump (applicator pump P1) and a second pump (applicator pump P2) independently (the central processor CPU may operate the motor(s) M, Para [0017), one motor for each respective pump, Para. [00131).
Regarding Claim 6, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the control system (central processor CPU, Fig. 1) is configured to control the first pump (applicator pump P1) by electric communication with a first pump motor controller (the central processor CPU may operate the motor(s) M, Para [0017), one motor for each respective pump, Para. (00131), wherein the control system (central processor CPU) is configured to control the second pump (applicator pump P2) by electric communication with a second pump motor controller (the central processor CPU may operate the motor(s) M, Para (0017), one motor for each respective pump, Para. [0013)).
Regarding Claim 10, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 5, further comprising a third heat exchanger (heat exchanger HE1, Fig. 1, heat exchanger HE1, HE2, Para. (00131) and fourth heat exchanger (heat exchanger HE2), wherein the first pump (applicator pump P1) is between the first (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1) and third heat exchanger (heat exchanger HE1) and the second pump (applicator pump P2) is between the second (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) and fourth heat exchanger (heat exchanger HE2).
Regarding Claim 11, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P1, Fig. 1) and second heat exchanger (heaters H along chemical delivery hose 29 from applicator pump P2) are electric heat exchangers (heaters H ... electrically operated resistance heaters, Para. [00151).
Regarding Claim 20, McAndrew as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 1, Pellin further discloses a controller configured to control the first and second heat exchangers, wherein the controller is configured to operate via pulse width modulation (Col. 6 lines 49-63) to minimize potential for material build up within the first heat exchanger and wherein the manifold comprises a plurality of inbound conduits (upstream of helical fluid lines 110) in fluid communication with an inlet (14a) and a plurality of outbound conduits (downstream of helical fluid lines 110) in fluid communication with an outlet (20a), whereby flow from the inlet into the plurality of inbound conduits is reversible (fluid flow between inlet 14a and upstream of helical fluid lines 110 are capable of being reversible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device McAndrew, by incorporating the controller as taught by Pellin in communication to the first heat exchanger, for the benefit of maintaining target fluid temperatures while ensuring that overall power draw by spray dispenser does not exceed available grid power (Col. 6 lines 1-6).
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donaldson (US 2019/0022683 A1) in view of Pellin et al. (US 9,849,475 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Donaldson discloses a system (Figs. 1-3; Para. [0018) regarding a spray application system), comprising: a spray gun (spray gun system 28, Fig. 1) configured to spray a mixture (mix, Para. [00211) of a first component fluid (chemical compound A) and second component fluid (chemical compound B); a first component fluid source (tank 16) configured to supply the first component fluid (chemical compound A); a second fluid source (tank 18) configured to supply the second component fluid (chemical compound B); a first heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 30, Fig. 1, compound A may traverse ... through a heated conduit 30, Para. [0020), l3ctuators 44 may include ... heating elements, Para. [00231) configured to supply heat (heating, Para. (0020)) to the first component fluid (chemical compound A); and a second heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 32, Fig. 1, compound B may traverse ... through a heated conduit 32, Para. [0020), actuators 44 may include ... heating elements, Para. [0023)) configured to supply heat (heating, Para. [0020)) to the second component fluid (chemical compound B), wherein the first heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 30) is configured to supply heat (heating, Para. (00201) to the first component fluid (chemical compound A) by providing heat (heating, Para. [00201) to a first conduit (heated conduit 30), wherein the first conduit (heated conduit 30) is between the first component fluid source (tank 16) and the spray gun (spray gun system 28), wherein the first conduit (heated conduit 30) is in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 1) with the first component fluid source (tank 16), wherein the system (spray application system 10) is configured to mix (mix, Para. [0021)) the first component fluid (chemical compound A) and second component fluid (chemical compound B).
However, Donaldson does not disclose that the first heat exchanger comprises an electric heating element coupled to a manifold, wherein the manifold to which the first heat exchanger is coupled comprises a plurality of resistive heater elements containing interleaved resistance zones formed from at least a high resistance zone and a low resistance zone configured to control a total heat output to be controlled.
Pellin teaches a sprayer comprising a manifold (Fig. 3) and a first heat exchanger (100a) comprises an electric heating element coupled to the manifold (Col. 5 lines 60-65), wherein the manifold to which the first heat exchanger (100a) is coupled comprises a plurality of resistive heater elements (104a/102a) containing interleaved resistance zones (Fig. 5 show boost heaters and primary heaters are stacked alternatively in clockwise direction) formed from at least a high resistance zone and a low resistance zone configured to control a total heat output to be controlled (“primary heaters 102a and 102b may for example draw 1000 W, and boost heaters 104a and 104b only 500 W” see Col. 5 lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Donaldson, by incorporating the first electric heat exchanger as taught by Pellin, doing it would to allow the heat exchanger to run different heat modes corresponding to either high or low pressure flow (Col. 1 lines 40-47).
Regarding Claim 2, Donaldson in view of Pelin discloses as best understood the system of claim 1, wherein the second heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 32, Fig. 1) is configured to supply heat (heating, Para. [00201) to the second component fluid (chemical compound B) by providing heat (heating, Para. [00201) to a second conduit (heated conduit 32), wherein the second conduit (heated conduit 32) is between the second fluid source (tank 18) and the spray gun (spray gun system 28), wherein the second conduit (heated conduit 32) is in fluid communication (as shown in Fig. 1) with the second fluid source (tank 18).
Regarding Claim 4, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first heat exchanger (100a taught by Pellin) and second heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 32) are independently controlled by a control system (control system 36, Fig. 1, the control system 36 may be ... operatively coupled to one or more actuators 44 ... heating elements, Para. (00231).
Regarding Claim 5, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the control system (control system 36, Fig. 1) is configured to control a first pump (liquid pump 12) and a second pump (liquid pump 14) independently (the pumps 12 and 14 may be independently controlled, Para. [0018)).
Regarding Claim 6, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the control system (control system 36, Fig. 1) is configured to control the first pump (liquid pump 12) by electric communication (as shown in Fig. 2) with a first pump motor controller (master motor controller 27), wherein the control system (control system 36, Fig. 1) is configured to control the second pump (liquid pump 14) by electric communication (as shown in Fig. 2) with a second pump motor controller (slave motor controller 29).
Regarding Claim 7, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the control system (control system 36, Fig. 1) is configured to detect a first pump slip (at liquid pump 12, Fig. 1, detecting pump 12, 14 slip, Para. [00221) and a second pump slip (at liquid pump 14, Fig. 1, detecting pump 12, 14 slip, Para. [00221).
Regarding Claim 8, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 7 wherein the control system (control system 36, Fig. 1) is configured to maintain a ratio (providing ratio control actions to continue providing as desired ratio (e.g., 1:1) for compounds A and B, Para. [0022)) of the first component fluid (chemical compound A) and the second component fluid (chemical compound B), wherein the ratio (desired ratio, Para. [00221) of the first component fluid (chemical compound A) and the second component fluid (chemical compound B) is preset at a control system interface (through industrial controller 104, Fig. 2, as desired ratio, Para. [00221).
Regarding Claim 9, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 8, wherein ratio (desired ratio, Para. (0022)) of the first component fluid (chemical compound A, Fig. 1) and the second component fluid (chemical compound B) can be selectively maintained (providing ratio control actions to continue providing ·as desired ratio (e.g., 1:1) for compounds A and B, Para. [0022)) based on weight or volume (a controlled delivery ratio ... by weight or volume, Para. (0013)).
Regarding Claim 11, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first heat exchanger (100a taught by Pellin) and second heat exchanger (at actuators 44 along heated conduit 32) are electric heat exchangers (a heated conduit 30 ... a heated conduit 32, Para. [0020], actuators 44 ... voltage, amperage, resistance, capacitance, inductance ... heating elements, Para. (0023)).
Regarding Claim 13, Donaldson in view of Pellin discloses as best understood the system of claim 2, wherein the first component fluid (chemical compound A, Fig. 1) comprises an isocyanate (compound A may include isocyanates, Para. (0021)), and wherein the second fluid component (chemical compound B) comprises at least one of a polyols (compound B may include polyols, Para. (00211), a flame retardant, a blowing agent, an amine, a metal catalyst, or a surfactant.
Regarding Claim 20, Donaldson as modified by Pellin discloses the system of claim 1, Pellin further discloses a controller configured to control the first and second heat exchangers, wherein the controller is configured to operate via pulse width modulation (Col. 6 lines 49-63) to minimize potential for material build up within the first heat exchanger and wherein the manifold comprises a plurality of inbound conduits (upstream of helical fluid lines 110) in fluid communication with an inlet (14a) and a plurality of outbound conduits (downstream of helical fluid lines 110) in fluid communication with an outlet (20a), whereby flow from the inlet into the plurality of inbound conduits is reversible (fluid flow between inlet 14a and upstream of helical fluid lines 110 are capable of being reversible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Donaldson, by incorporating the controller as taught by Pellin in communication to the first heat exchanger, for the benefit of maintaining target fluid temperatures while ensuring that overall power draw by spray dispenser does not exceed available grid power (Col. 6 lines 1-6).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAndrew in view of Pellin as applied in claim 11, and further in view of Motz (US 2003/0086701 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, McAndrew in view of Pellin discloses the system of claim 11. McAndrew fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first heat exchanger comprises at least one of an etched foil or wire in thermal communication with at least one first heating element, wherein the second heat exchanger comprises at least one of an etched foil or wire in thermal communication with at least one second heating element.
Motz is in the art of heaters (Para. (0001)) and teaches wherein a first heat exchanger (heat transfer surface 74 of one of heating elements 80, Fig. 4, heating elements 80, Para. [0031)) comprises at least one of an etched foil (heating elements 80 can comprise ... etched metal foils, Para. [00311) in thermal communication with at least one first heating element (one of heating elements 80), wherein a second heat exchanger (heat transfer surface 74 of another one of heating elements 80, Fig. 4, heating elements 80, Para. (0031)) comprises at least one of an etched foil (heating elements 80 can comprise ... etched metal foils, Para. [0031)) in thermal communication with at least one second heating element (another one of heating elements 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify McAndrew with the teaching of Motz for the purpose of forming the heating elements with a film along a length and thereby ensure that the watt densities are adjusted to provide different heating characteristics along the length of the tubes (Motz, Para. (0031]).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752