DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on February 17, 2026 for the application filed August 11, 2022. Claims 1-9, 13, 15-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US2014/0241297A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2022/0256618A1), Chen et al. (US2023/0030443A1), Kim et al. (US2015/0163745A1), Choe et al. (US2024/0137793A1), and Wang (US2021/0400736A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a method for transmitting an instant message, performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving configuration information related to instant message transmission from a base station (Paragraph [0016]: According to the present invention, in case of sending an instant message or the like, it is able to efficiently support a random access. Moreover, since a user equipment can inform a base station whether an instant message packet is generated in a step of transmitting a random access preamble, the base station is able to efficiently allocate an uplink resource included in a random access response.);
determining whether transmission of an instant message is allowed when the instant message occurs (Paragraph [0063]: In a contention based random access procedure, a user equipment randomly selects a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles indicated through a system information or a handover command, selects a PRACH (physical RACH) resource capable of carrying the selected random access preamble, and then transmits the corresponding random access preamble through the selected resource. Paragraph [0065]: If the user equipment receives the random access response valid for itself, the user equipment individually processes each of the informations included in the received random access response. In particular, the user equipment applies the TAC and saves the temporary C-RNTI. Moreover, the user equipment transmits a data saved in its buffer or a newly generated data to the base station using the received UL grant.);
and in response to determining that the transmission of the instant message is allowed, performing the transmission of the instant message by using a random access (RA) procedure or a pre-allocated uplink resource(s) (PUR(s)) (Paragraph [0076]: The base station receives the random access preamble transmitted from the user equipment. In this case, the base station can figure out that the random access preamble transmitted by the user equipment belongs to which random access preamble group. As mentioned in the foregoing description, the random access preamble group can be categorized into a group mapped to a radio bearer for an instant message transmission or a group not mapped thereto. Hence, the base station can recognize that the received random access preamble is provided for the instant message packet transmission. Therefore, the base station optimizes a UL grant depending on a packet type that can be confirmed from the random access preamble and is then able to transmit the UL grant to the user equipment through a random access response. So to speak, in case that the user equipment transmits the random access preamble selected from the first random access preamble group for the instant message transmission, the base station allocates a UL resource optimized for the instant message and is then able to transmit it to the user equipment as a random access response. Therefore, in the instant message transmission, a random access procedure may be performed more efficiently than an existing random access procedure.)
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared
channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme; wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure or information on a radio channel quality condition for the terminal to perform the RA procedure as the 2-step RA procedure.
However, Liu teaches wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme (Paragraph [0045]: In some aspects, the DPUR may include a dedicated random access channel (RACH) preamble, a dedicated physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and/or other suitable uplink resources that are allocated to the UE to enable the UE to initiate an uplink data transmission in the idle mode or the inactive mode. Additionally, or alternatively, a UE operating in the inactive mode may initiate an uplink data transmission independent of any RACH procedure when the UE is configured with a DPUR that includes a dedicated PUSCH. Furthermore, in some aspects, the RRC signaling used to indicate the DPUR to the UE may further include a small data radio network temporary identifier (SD-RNTI) to be used to scramble the uplink data transmission, to schedule a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission, to monitor for subsequent downlink traffic (e.g., downlink signaling or downlink data transmitted to the UE as a response to the uplink data transmission), and/or the like.)
wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows
the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure (Paragraph [0055]: As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 410, the UE 120 may receive, from the base station 110, a release message that includes a DPUR configuration assigned to the UE 120. For example, as shown, the DPUR configuration may include information related to a dedicated RACH preamble and a dedicated PUSCH assigned to the UE 120. For example, in some aspects, the dedicated RACH preamble and the dedicated PUSCH may be configured as one-time resources, periodic resources that have a validity time, and/or the like, and the DPUR configuration that includes the dedicated RACH preamble and the dedicated PUSCH may be based on an indication from the UE 120 and/or network-side information (e.g., information related to a subscription of the UE 120, information related to local RRM, and/or the like). In some aspects, the DPUR configuration may be associated with a single cell or base station. Additionally, or alternatively, as described in further detail elsewhere herein, the DPUR configuration may be included in a DPUR configuration list that is valid for certain areas. In some aspects, information related to the DPUR configuration may be stored at an application server, and the base station 110 may obtain the information related to the DPUR configuration from the application server prior to transmitting the release message to the UE 120. Furthermore, in some aspects, the release message provided to the UE may further include information related to a search space for downlink traffic and an SD-RNTI that the UE 120 is to use to scramble the uplink data transmission, schedule a HARQ retransmission, receive downlink traffic, and/or the like. Paragraph [0057]: As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 414, the UE 120 may use the dedicated RACH preamble to transmit the uplink small data over the dedicated PUSCH as Message A in the contention-free two-step RACH procedure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the UE can use the pre-allocated uplink resources (PURs) to transmit the uplink data (Liu: Paragraph [0046]); and wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the dedicated RACH preamble, and the local RRM (radio resource management) information can configure the UE to perform 2-step RA procedure (Liu: Paragraphs: [0055], [0057]).
The combination of Park and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the transmission of the instant message is determined to be allowed based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value until a predetermined timer expires or for a predetermined time window; and wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed.
However, Chen teaches wherein the transmission of the instant message is determined to be allowed based on a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station (Paragraph [0062]: For example, if one or more SSBs are configured with pre-configured PUSCH resources and one or more SSBs with the corresponding RSRP is greater than the threshold, the UE may randomly select one SSB with the corresponding RSRP greater than the threshold and transmit the UL data via pre-configured PUSCH resource(s) associated with the SSB for small data transmission. Based on the measurement result (e.g., the RSRP of the downlink reference signal), the UE may determine whether the preconfigured PUSCH resources (e.g., the PUSCH resources associated with an SSB or a CSI-RS) are valid for small data transmission.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the transmission of the instant message is determined to be allowed based on a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Park and Liu, so that the channel quality indicated by the RSRP being greater than a threshold can be used for small data transmission (Chen: Paragraph [0062]).
The combination of Park, Liu, and Chen does not explicitly teach based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value until a predetermined timer expires or for a predetermined time window.
However, Kim teaches based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value for a predetermined time window (Paragraph [0164]: Here, for example, the preset condition may be satisfied when the received signal strength measured on at least one CSI-RS resource is above or equal to a preset threshold for a given duration. Paragraph [0172]: the UE performs given measurements (e.g. Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) or path loss) on the CSI-RS resource. Paragraph [0173]: Here, for example, the preset criterion may be satisfied when the RSRP exceeds a preset threshold for a given duration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value for a predetermined time window, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Park, Liu, and Chen, so that the UE can determine the channel quality for uplink transmission resources (Kim: Paragraphs [0149], [0164], [0172]).
The combination of Park, Liu, Chen, and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed.
However, Choe teaches wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed (Paragraph [0244: In step S1402, the wireless device may detect that UL transmission using the PUR may not be performed successfully. Paragraph [0245]: For example, the UL transmission using the PUR may not be performed successfully since the size of the UL data is bigger than the each resource of the PUR. Paragraph [0247]: In step S1403, the wireless device may report, to the BS, a failure cause.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed, as taught by Choe in the combined system of Park, Liu, Chen, and Kim, so that the UE can determine a failure of the uplink data based on insufficient resources of the PUR for the large size of the uplink data (Choe: Paragraphs [0244], [0245], [0247]).
The combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, and Choe does not explicitly teach if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, transmission is determined as failed.
However, Wang teaches if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, transmission is determined as failed (Paragraph [0048]: In S11, when an uplink procedure starts, a corresponding timer is started. Paragraph [0050]: For example, the uplink procedure may be a data packet transmission process. Paragraph [0058]: In S12, when a timing duration of the timer has reached a preset timing duration, and the uplink procedure is unsuccessful, the uplink procedure is terminated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, transmission is determined as failed, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, and Choe, so that delays in uplink procedures can be avoided (Wang: Paragraphs [0038], [0048], [0050], [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park further teaches wherein the instant message is intermittently occurring data or signaling information having a size equal to or less than a predetermined size (Paragraph [0069]: An instant message is schematically described as follows. Packets generated from an instant message service have the following features. First of all, a packet is configured in a small size with 100 bytes (UL) or 300 bytes (DL) on average. A generated time difference between packets is diversely distributed between 2 seconds and 2 minutes and has a value between 10 seconds and 15 seconds on average. Thus, in case of an instant messaging service, since the generation interval between packets is very diverse, a base station can release an RRC connection of a user equipment after completion of a transmission/reception of a single instant messaging packet to/from the user equipment.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park further teaches wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state or maintains uplink physical layer synchronization, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s) (Paragraph [0065]: Moreover, the user equipment transmits a data saved in its buffer or a newly generated data to the base station using the received UL grant. In this case, the data included in the UL grant should contain an identifier of the user equipment. Paragraph [0069]: Thus, in case of an instant messaging service, since the generation interval between packets is very diverse, a base station can release an RRC connection of a user equipment after completion of a transmission/reception of a single instant messaging packet to/from the user equipment. Yet, in doing so, if a next packet is generated, since the RRC connection between the base station and the user equipment needs to be established again, a signaling overhead for the RRC connection reestablishment increases. Paragraph [0070]: In order to supplement it, the RRC connection to the user equipment can be maintained after the packet transmission/reception to/from the user equipment. Yet, since the user equipment should send such a control signal as a DL or UL channel state reporting to the base station periodically in order to maintain the RRC connection and the UL time synchronization, the power consumption of the user equipment increases.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park does not explicitly teach wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state.
However, Liu teaches wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state (Paragraph [0043]: In some cases, a UE may be communicating in a data session in which only a small amount of data is generated in a given burst. For example, instant messaging applications often include data payloads with relatively small sizes to carry a small amount of text, low-resolution images, and/or the like. Paragraph [0045]: For example, as described in further detail elsewhere herein, a UE operating in the idle or inactive mode may initiate a contention-free uplink data transmission in Message 3 of a contention-free four-step RACH procedure, when the UE is configured with a DPUR that includes a dedicated RACH preamble. Additionally, or alternatively, a UE operating in the idle or inactive mode may initiate a contention-free uplink data transmission in Message A of a contention-free two-step RACH procedure, when the UE is configured with a DPUR that includes a dedicated RACH preamble and a dedicated PUSCH. Paragraph [0047]: FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example call flow 300 enabling mobile-originated data over a DPUR while in an idle mode or an inactive mode, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. For example, as described in further detail herein, the example call flow 300 illustrated in FIG. 3 may enable a UE 120 to transmit uplink data to a base station 110 during a contention-free four-step RACH procedure while operating in the idle or inactive mode. Paragraph [0054]: For example, as described in further detail herein, the example call flow 400 illustrated in FIG. 4 may enable a UE 120 to transmit uplink data to a base station 110 during a contention-free two-step RACH procedure while operating in the idle or inactive mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the UE can transmit uplink data during instant messaging, even when the UE is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Abstract, Paragraph [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park does not explicitly teach wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, and the PUR(s) are PUR(s) in which instant message transmission of a terminal not maintaining uplink physical layer synchronization is allowed, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s).
However, Liu teaches wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, and the PUR(s) are PUR(s) in which instant message transmission of a terminal not maintaining uplink physical layer synchronization is allowed, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s) (Paragraph [0045]: Additionally, or alternatively, a UE operating in the inactive mode may initiate an uplink data transmission independent of any RACH procedure when the UE is configured with a DPUR that includes a dedicated PUSCH. Furthermore, in some aspects, the RRC signaling used to indicate the DPUR to the UE may further include a small data radio network temporary identifier (SD-RNTI) to be used to scramble the uplink data transmission, to schedule a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission, to monitor for subsequent downlink traffic (e.g., downlink signaling or downlink data transmitted to the UE as a response to the uplink data transmission), and/or the like. Paragraph [0046]: In this way, when a small uplink data transmission is triggered at one or more upper layers (e.g., an application layer and/or the like) after the UE has been released to an idle or inactive mode, the UE may utilize the DPUR to transmit the uplink data while in the idle or inactive mode and without entering a connected mode, which conserves power at the UE because the UE can remain in a low-power (e.g., idle or inactive) mode. Paragraph [0059]: FIG. 5 is a diagram illustrating an example call flow 500 enabling mobile-originated data over a DPUR while in an idle mode or an inactive mode, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. For example, as described in further detail herein, the example call flow 500 illustrated in FIG. 5 may enable a UE 120 to transmit uplink data to a base station 110 over a dedicated PUSCH while operating in the idle or inactive mode and independent of any RACH procedure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein in the performing of the transmission of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, and the PUR(s) are PUR(s) in which instant message transmission of a terminal not maintaining uplink physical layer synchronization is allowed, the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the UE can transmit uplink data during instant messaging, even when the UE is in idle or inactive mode using pre-allocated uplink resources (Liu: Abstract, Paragraph [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park further teaches wherein an RA occasion and/or an RA preamble used in the RA procedure is configured differently from an RA occasion and/or an RA preamble of an RA procedure which is not for instant message transmission (Paragraph [0011]: The first random access preamble group may be associated with a first radio bearer for transmitting an instant message packet and the second random access preamble group may be associated with a second radio bearer for transmitting a packet other than the instant message packet. Paragraph [0013]: The method may further include selecting a random access preamble group for selecting the random access preamble depending on the packet type to be transmitted by the user equipment.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
Park further teaches wherein the RA preamble used in the RA procedure varies according to a size of the instant message and/or a channel quality between the terminal and the base station (Paragraph [0070]: ….the user equipment should send such a control signal as a DL or UL channel state reporting to the base station periodically in order to maintain the RRC connection and the UL time synchronization. Paragraph [0071]: the user equipment selects a random access preamble from the random access preamble group mapped to the radio bearer of the data and then transmits the selected random access preamble to the base station. Paragraph [0072]: Referring to FIG. 9, a user equipment receives information on a group of random access preambles from a base station. In this case, the information on the group of the random access preambles may include information on associated relationship among a random access preamble group (e.g., a first random access preamble group and a second random access preamble group), a radio bearer and a packet type. In particular, if the random access preambles (particularly, random access preambles for a contention based random access) are sorted into two groups, the first random access preamble group may be associated/mapped with a first radio bearer for transmitting an instant message packet and the second random access preamble group may be associated/mapped with a second radio bearer for transmitting a packet different from the instant message packet. In this case, the first random access preamble group and the second random access preamble group can be configured in a manner of being independent from or associated with an existing random access preamble group grouped by a size of a packet to be transmitted in the LTE/LTE-A system. For instance, groups can be provided as examples shown in FIG. 10. FIG. 10( a) shows random access preamble groups (i.e., preamble group A, preamble group B) divided by sizes of data to be transmitted in the existing LTE/LTE-A system. In addition to the two random access preamble groups divided by the existing packet sizes shown in FIG. 10( a), it is able to configure a first random access preamble group for an instant message packet and a second random access preamble group for a packet different from the instant message packet.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park does not explicitly teach further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3; receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource.
However, Liu teaches further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3 (Paragraph [0051]: As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 314, the UE 120 may transmit the dedicated RACH preamble to the base station 110 based on an upper layer (e.g., an application layer) triggering a small data transmission (e.g., an uplink data transmission having a payload size that satisfies a threshold value, which may be indicated in RRC signaling, one or more SIBs, and/or the like). Paragraph [0052]: As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 318, the UE 120 may transmit the uplink small data over the dedicated PUSCH as Message 3 in the contention-free four-step RACH procedure, and the UE 120 may scramble the uplink small data using the SD-RNTI provided in the RAR message. In some aspects, the uplink small data may be transmitted with RRC signaling (e.g., an RRC resume request, an RRC early data request, an RRC setup request, and/or the like).
receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource (Paragraph [0052]: As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 320, the UE 120 may monitor the search space indicated in the previous release message for downlink traffic (e.g., downlink signaling, downlink user plane data, and/or the like). For example, in some aspects, the UE 120 may monitor the search space for downlink traffic that is addressed to the SD-RNTI assigned to the UE 120 and indicated in the RAR message. As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 322, the UE 120 may receive the downlink signaling and/or downlink data addressed to the SD-RNTI as Message 4 in the contention-free four-step RACH procedure. In general, the downlink signaling provided in Message 4 may include RRC signaling, such as an RRC resume message, an RRC release message, and/or the like, that causes the UE 120 to enter and/or remain in the inactive or idle mode. In this way, the UE 120 may use the DPUR including the dedicated RACH preamble provided in the initial release message to initiate the contention-free four-step RACH procedure and subsequently transmit uplink data in Message 3 of the contention-free four-step RACH procedure (using the dedicated PUSCH allocation received in Message 2) without entering connected mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3; receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the 4-step RA procedure can be applied for transmission of instant messaging applications which often include small data payloads. The technique will enable the UE to perform a small data uplink transmission while it is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Paragraphs [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park does not explicitly teach further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure; receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource.
However, Liu teaches further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure (Paragraph [0057]: As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 414, the UE 120 may use the dedicated RACH preamble to transmit the uplink small data over the dedicated PUSCH as Message A in the contention-free two-step RACH procedure. For example, in some aspects, the uplink small data may be transmitted based on an upper layer triggering a small data transmission having a payload size that satisfies a threshold value. In some aspects, the uplink small data may be transmitted with RRC signaling (e.g., an RRC resume request, an RRC early data request, an RRC setup request, and/or the like).
receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource (Paragraph [0057]: As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 414, the UE 120 may use the dedicated RACH preamble to transmit the uplink small data over the dedicated PUSCH as Message A in the contention-free two-step RACH procedure. For example, in some aspects, the uplink small data may be transmitted based on an upper layer triggering a small data transmission having a payload size that satisfies a threshold value. In some aspects, the uplink small data may be transmitted with RRC signaling (e.g., an RRC resume request, an RRC early data request, an RRC setup request, and/or the like). As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 418, the UE 120 may receive the downlink signaling and/or downlink data addressed to the SD-RNTI as Message B in the contention-free two-step RACH procedure. In general, the downlink signaling provided in Message B may include RRC signaling such as an RRC resume message, an RRC release message, and/or the like that causes the UE 120 to enter and/or remain in the inactive or idle mode. In this way, the UE 120 may use the DPUR including the dedicated RACH preamble and the dedicated PUSCH provided in the initial release message to originate an uplink data transmission via the contention-free two-step RACH procedure (e.g., subject to a maximum size limit for the uplink data transmission) while in the inactive or idle mode and without entering a connected mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, transmitting information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented to the base station by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure; receiving allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message from the base station through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and transmitting the instant message to the base station using the uplink resource, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the 2-step RA procedure can be applied for transmission of instant messaging applications which often include small data payloads. The technique will enable the UE to perform a small data uplink transmission while it is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Paragraphs [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the PUR(s) are configured for each area composed of at least one base station, and the PUR(s) are configured to the terminal together with an identifier identifying an area to which the PUR(s) are applied.
However, Liu teaches wherein the PUR(s) are configured for each area composed of at least one base station, and the PUR(s) are configured to the terminal together with an identifier identifying an area to which the PUR(s) are applied (Paragraph [0067]: As further shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 616, the UE 120 may move from the coverage area of base station 110-1 and into the coverage area of another base station, such as base station 110-2. In some aspects, based at least in part on one or more upper layers triggering an uplink small data transmission, the UE 120 may check the DPUR allocation list to determine whether the current serving base station appears in the DPUR allocation list or is otherwise associated with one or more of the cells, RNAs, and/or the like indicated in the DPUR allocation list. Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 618, the UE 120 may transmit the uplink small data transmission via the DPUR associated with the base station 110-2 (e.g., the DPUR associated with the cell provided by the base station 110-2) based at least in part on the base station 110-2 appearing in the DPUR allocation list. Additionally, or alternatively, where the DPUR associated with the base station 110-2 includes a dedicated PUSCH only, the UE 120 may initiate the uplink small data transmission independent of any RACH procedure, as described in further detail above with respect to FIG. 5. Paragraph [0086]: …..the information related to the DPUR includes a list of cells associated with the one or more uplink resources allocated to the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide teaches wherein the PUR(s) are configured for each area composed of at least one base station, and the PUR(s) are configured to the terminal together with an identifier identifying an area to which the PUR(s) are applied, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the UE can check the pre-allocated uplink resources allocation list (PURs allocation list) and transmit uplink small data based on whether the current serving base station appears in the allocation list (Liu: Paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Park reaches a method for receiving an instant message, performed by a base station, the method comprising: transmitting configuration information related to instant message transmission to a terminal (Paragraph [0016]: According to the present invention, in case of sending an instant message or the like, it is able to efficiently support a random access. Moreover, since a user equipment can inform a base station whether an instant message packet is generated in a step of transmitting a random access preamble, the base station is able to efficiently allocate an uplink resource included in a random access response.);
and in response to determining that the terminal in which an instant message occurs is allowed to transmit the instant message, receiving the instant message by using a random access (RA) procedure or a pre-allocated uplink resource(s) (PUR(s)) (Paragraph [0063]: In a contention based random access procedure, a user equipment randomly selects a random access preamble from a set of random access preambles indicated through a system information or a handover command, selects a PRACH (physical RACH) resource capable of carrying the selected random access preamble, and then transmits the corresponding random access preamble through the selected resource. Paragraph [0065]: If the user equipment receives the random access response valid for itself, the user equipment individually processes each of the informations included in the received random access response. In particular, the user equipment applies the TAC and saves the temporary C-RNTI. Moreover, the user equipment transmits a data saved in its buffer or a newly generated data to the base station using the received UL grant. Paragraph [0076]: The base station receives the random access preamble transmitted from the user equipment. In this case, the base station can figure out that the random access preamble transmitted by the user equipment belongs to which random access preamble group. As mentioned in the foregoing description, the random access preamble group can be categorized into a group mapped to a radio bearer for an instant message transmission or a group not mapped thereto. Hence, the base station can recognize that the received random access preamble is provided for the instant message packet transmission. Therefore, the base station optimizes a UL grant depending on a packet type that can be confirmed from the random access preamble and is then able to transmit the UL grant to the user equipment through a random access response. So to speak, in case that the user equipment transmits the random access preamble selected from the first random access preamble group for the instant message transmission, the base station allocates a UL resource optimized for the instant message and is then able to transmit it to the user equipment as a random access response. Therefore, in the instant message transmission, a random access procedure may be performed more efficiently than an existing random access procedure.);
Park does not explicitly teach wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme; wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure or information on a radio channel quality condition for the terminal to perform the RA procedure as the 2-step RA procedure.
However, Liu teaches wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme (Paragraph [0045]: In some aspects, the DPUR may include a dedicated random access channel (RACH) preamble, a dedicated physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and/or other suitable uplink resources that are allocated to the UE to enable the UE to initiate an uplink data transmission in the idle mode or the inactive mode. Additionally, or alternatively, a UE operating in the inactive mode may initiate an uplink data transmission independent of any RACH procedure when the UE is configured with a DPUR that includes a dedicated PUSCH. Furthermore, in some aspects, the RRC signaling used to indicate the DPUR to the UE may further include a small data radio network temporary identifier (SD-RNTI) to be used to scramble the uplink data transmission, to schedule a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) retransmission, to monitor for subsequent downlink traffic (e.g., downlink signaling or downlink data transmitted to the UE as a response to the uplink data transmission), and/or the like.)
wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows
the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure (Paragraph [0055]: As shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 410, the UE 120 may receive, from the base station 110, a release message that includes a DPUR configuration assigned to the UE 120. For example, as shown, the DPUR configuration may include information related to a dedicated RACH preamble and a dedicated PUSCH assigned to the UE 120. For example, in some aspects, the dedicated RACH preamble and the dedicated PUSCH may be configured as one-time resources, periodic resources that have a validity time, and/or the like, and the DPUR configuration that includes the dedicated RACH preamble and the dedicated PUSCH may be based on an indication from the UE 120 and/or network-side information (e.g., information related to a subscription of the UE 120, information related to local RRM, and/or the like). In some aspects, the DPUR configuration may be associated with a single cell or base station. Additionally, or alternatively, as described in further detail elsewhere herein, the DPUR configuration may be included in a DPUR configuration list that is valid for certain areas. In some aspects, information related to the DPUR configuration may be stored at an application server, and the base station 110 may obtain the information related to the DPUR configuration from the application server prior to transmitting the release message to the UE 120. Furthermore, in some aspects, the release message provided to the UE may further include information related to a search space for downlink traffic and an SD-RNTI that the UE 120 is to use to scramble the uplink data transmission, schedule a HARQ retransmission, receive downlink traffic, and/or the like. Paragraph [0057]: As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 414, the UE 120 may use the dedicated RACH preamble to transmit the uplink small data over the dedicated PUSCH as Message A in the contention-free two-step RACH procedure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the PUR(s) are composed of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource(s) allocated to the terminal in a CG (configured grant) scheme, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the UE can use the pre-allocated uplink resources (PURs) to transmit the uplink data (Liu: Paragraph [0046]); and wherein the configuration information includes information on whether the base station allows the RA procedure to be performed as a 2-step RA procedure, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the dedicated RACH preamble, and the local RRM (radio resource management) information can configure the UE to perform 2-step RA procedure (Liu: Paragraphs: [0055], [0057]).
The combination of Park and Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the terminal is allowed to transmit the instant message based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value until a predetermined timer expires or for a predetermined time window; and wherein when the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the receiving of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the receiving of the instant message transmission is determined as failed.
However, Chen teaches wherein the terminal is allowed to transmit the instant message based on a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the terminal is allowed to transmit the instant message based on a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station, as taught by Chen in the combined system of Park and Liu, so that the channel quality indicated by the RSRP being greater than a threshold can be used for small data transmission (Chen: Paragraph [0062]).
The combination of Park, Liu, and Chen does not explicitly teach based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value until a predetermined timer expires or for a predetermined time window.
However, Kim teaches based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value for a predetermined time window (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide based on whether a channel quality of a radio link between the terminal and the base station remains above a first reference value for a predetermined time window, as taught by Kim in the combined system of Park, Liu, and Chen, so that the UE can determine the channel quality for uplink transmission resources (Kim: Paragraphs [0149], [0164], [0172]).
The combination of Park, Liu, Chen, and Kim does not explicitly teach wherein when the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the receiving of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the receiving of the instant message transmission is determined as failed.
However, Choe teaches wherein when the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the receiving of the instant message is not completed, the receiving of the instant message transmission is determined as failed (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein when the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the receiving of the instant message is not completed, the receiving of the instant message transmission is determined as failed, as taught by Choe in the combined system of Park, Liu, Chen, and Kim, so that the UE can determine a failure of the uplink data based on insufficient resources of the PUR for the large size of the uplink data (Choe: Paragraphs [0244], [0245], [0247]).
The combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, and Choe does not explicitly teach if the receiving of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the receiving is determined as failed.
However, Wang teaches if the receiving of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the receiving is determined as failed (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that if the receiving of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the receiving is determined as failed, as taught by Wang in the combined system of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, and Choe, so that delays in uplink procedures can be avoided (Wang: Paragraphs [0038], [0048], [0050], [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Park further teaches wherein in the receiving of the instant message, when the terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state or maintains uplink physical layer synchronization, the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s) (see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Park does not explicitly teach wherein in the receiving of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state.
However, Liu teaches wherein in the receiving of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein in the receiving of the instant message, when the terminal is in an RRC inactive or RRC idle state, or does not maintain uplink physical layer synchronization, the receiving of the instant message is performed by using the RA procedure without transition of the terminal to an RRC connected state, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the base station can receive uplink data during instant messaging, even when the UE is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Abstract, Paragraph [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Park further teaches wherein an RA occasion and/or an RA preamble used in the RA procedure is configured differently from an RA occasion and/or an RA preamble of an RA procedure which is not for instant message transmission (see rejection for claim 6).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Park does not explicitly teach further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for reception of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource.
However, Liu teaches further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for reception of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the RA procedure is performed as a 4-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA MSG3 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a control message after the RA MSG 3; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for reception of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG 4 according to the 4-step RA procedure or a separate control message; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that the 4-step RA procedure can be applied for transmission of instant messaging applications which often include small data payloads. The technique will enable the UE to perform a small data uplink transmission while it is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Paragraphs [0043], [0044]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang teaches the method according to claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Park does not explicitly teach further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource.
However, Liu teaches further comprising, when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource (see rejection for claim 9);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide when the RA procedure is performed as a 2-step RA procedure, receiving information indicating a size of the instant message and whether the instant message is transmitted one-time or as segmented from the terminal by using an RA payload of an RA MSG-A according to the 2-step RA procedure; transmitting allocation information of an uplink resource for transmission of the instant message to the terminal through an RA MSG-B according to the 2-step RA procedure; and receiving the instant message from the terminal using the uplink resource, as taught by Liu in the system of Park, so that, the 2-step RA procedure can be applied for transmission of instant messaging applications which often include small data payloads. The technique will enable the UE to perform a small data uplink transmission while it is in idle or inactive mode (Liu: Paragraphs [0043], [0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026 with respect to claims 1-9, 13, and 15-20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US2014/0241297A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2022/0256618A1), Chen et al. (US2023/0030443A1), Kim et al. (US2015/0163745A1), and Choe et al. (US2024/0137793A1), have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Choe et al. (US2024/0137793A1) does not teach “wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed”. Choe teaches “wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed”. Choe teaches that the wireless device may detect that the uplink transmission using the PUR may not be performed successfully since the size of the uplink data is bigger than the PUR resources, and the wireless device detects a failure in the uplink transmission. Wang (US2021/0400736A1) teaches “if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, transmission is determined as failed”. Wang teaches that when an uplink procedure starts, a corresponding timer is started, and when a timing duration of the timer has reached a preset timing duration, and the uplink procedure is not successfully completed, the uplink procedure is terminated. Thus, the combination of Choe and Wang teaches “wherein when the transmission of the instant message is performed by using the PUR(s), if the transmission of the instant message is not completed within a predetermined instant message transmission period, the transmission of the instant message transmission is determined as failed”, as recited in independent claim 1 and also in independent claim 15 which recites similar features.
Dependent claims 2-9, 13, and 16-20 are taught by the combination of Park, Liu, Chen, Kim, Choe, and Wang.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461