DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 20th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6-7 and 10-11 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-5, and 8-9 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Patent No. 10005092) in view of Haruch (WO Patent No. 9621517) and further in view of Sato (US Patent No. 20040235308), Kamiyoshi (JP Patent No. 2016163034), and Hastings (US Patent No. 4273293).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh teaches a spray nozzle device comprising (Col 1 Line 14-17, The present invention relates to apparatus that includes a nozzle): first nozzle unit including a first internal passage connected to a first spray port into which a fluid is configured to be sprayed and a first injection port through which the fluid is configured to be injected to the first internal passage (Figure 3, Showcases a First nozzle 410 unit with an internal passage connected to Discharge Port 450 which sprays liquid, Injection Port Labeled Gas but can also inject other fluids); a second nozzle unit located in the first internal passage, the second nozzle unit including a second spray port, through which plasma is sprayed, on one side adjacent to the first spray port (Figure 3, Showcases a Second Nozzle unit inside the First Nozzle Unit 410, Discharge Port 440 to spray another fluid and is adjacent to Discharge Port 450); a distribution unit located between the first nozzle unit and the second nozzle unit, the distribution unit configured to partition the first internal passage into a first partition passage connected to the first spray port and a second partition passage connected to the first injection port (Figure 3 and 13-15, A distribution unit made up of Flange 462 and Groove 464. Located between the two Nozzle Units and separates the internal passage into two with Partition 432 connected to discharge port 436 and one partition connecting to fluid injection port labeled gas), wherein the connection passages are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 15, Connection Passages 464 connecting the two partitions are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit), wherein the distribution unit includes a plurality of connection passages connecting the first partition passage and the second partition passage (Figure 15, Distribution Unit has multiple Connection Passages 464 connecting the two partitions), each of the connection passages recessed inward from an outer surface of the distribution unit to form an outer connection groove, the plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape (Figure 13-15, Showcase a connection hole passing through the distribution unit, and grooves going inward from outer surface and forming a spiral shape), and the connection passages are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 13-15, Connection Passages 464 are formed with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit). thereby establishing said plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape (Figure 13-15, Showcase a connection hole passing through the distribution unit, and grooves going inward from outer surface and forming a spiral shape), wherein the inlet of the connection passage overlaps the outlet of the connection passage in the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit so as to minimize interference of the fluid discharged from adjacent connection passages (Figure 13, Showcases that the Connection Passages 464 has inlets that overlap outlets and therefore minimize interference of the fluid discharged from adjacent connection passages), and each of the outer connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit (Figure 13, Showcases that the Connection Passages 464 extend radially from center).
Oh fails to teach that the inner connection grooves are recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit and that the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port, and the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit, and wherein each of the inner connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit.
Haruch teaches an apparatus for spraying liquid (Abstract, Apparatus with spray nozzle) where the inner connection grooves are recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 1, 5A and 6A, Showcases an atomizing cap 60 inside nozzle body 61 has grooves recessed from inner surface to outer surface along the circumference of atomizing cap 60), the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape (Figure 5A and 6A, Showcases that the inner grooves are spiral in shape), and wherein each of the inner connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit (Figure 5A, Showcases that the inner grooves are extending radially from a center).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to include inner grooves as stated in Haruch. As the liquid flow through the passages, swirling occurs to produce turbulence and further atomization which is great for mixing. (Page 10-11 Line 8-30, Inner Grooves).
Oh in view of Haruch fails to teach that the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage,
Sato teaches a two fluid substrate treatment apparatus with a nozzle (Paragraph 1-7, Nozzle Apparatus) where the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage (Figure 4-5(a-b), Flange 55B has Grooves 65 that are wider on the top shown in Figure 5(b). However the Flange 55B diameter decrease as it slants inward toward cylindrical portion 55D as shown in Figure 5(a). Therefore Grooves 65 become less wide at the bottom as they travel down the Flange 55B and toward the first partition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and decreased the width of the grooves as stated in Sato. This structure allows the grooves to help guide the fluid downward to the gas outlet port (Paragraph 109-113, Distribution Unit Structure).
Annotated Figure 5(a-b); Showcases How The Width of The Grooves Decreases.
Oh in view of Haruch and Sato fails to teach that the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port.
Kamiyoshi teaches a two-fluid nozzle apparatus (Paragraph 1, two-fluid nozzle apparatus) where the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed there between (Figure 10 A-B, First Partition is connected to First Spray Port and separates the First and Second Spray Port) and is located on the same virtual line as the first spray port (Figure 10 A-B, The First and Second Spray Port are located on the same virtual line).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and Sato to separate the spray ports as stated in Kamiyoshi. This structure allows the two fluid to be ejected and externally mixed or internally mixed (Paragraph 2, Nozzle Structure).
Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Kamiyoshi fails to teach that the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit.
Hastings teaches an air atomizing nozzle (Abstract, Nozzle) where the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit (Figure 7-8, Flow passages 98 in ceramic insert 94, which reads as a distribution unit, are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Kamiyoshi to include connection grooves that spans the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit as stated in Hastings. This structure allows the gas to flow uniformly through the flow passages (Paragraph Col 5 Line 27-36, Flow Passages).
Regarding Claim 6, Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Hastings fails to teach that the spray ports are separated by the first partition passage.
Kamiyoshi teaches a two-fluid nozzle apparatus (Paragraph 1, two-fluid nozzle apparatus) where the first partition passage is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, and the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage interposed therebetween (Figure 10 A-B, First Partition is connected to First Spray Port and it separates the First and Second Spray Port from each other).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Hastings to separate the spray ports as stated in Kamiyoshi. This structure allows the two fluid to be ejected and externally mixed or internally mixed (Paragraph 2 Nozzle Structure).
Regarding Claim 7, Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Hastings fails to teach that the spray ports are located on the same virtual line.
Kamiyoshi teaches a two-fluid nozzle apparatus (Paragraph 1, two-fluid nozzle apparatus) where the first spray port and the second spray port are located on the same virtual line (Figure 10 A-B, The First and Second Spray Port are located on the same virtual line).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Hastings to have the spray ports on the same virtual line as stated in Kamiyoshi. This structure allows the two fluid to be ejected and externally mixed or internally mixed (Paragraph 2 Nozzle Structure).
Regarding Claim 10, Oh teaches a spray nozzle device comprising (Col 1 Line 14-17,The present invention relates to apparatus that includes a nozzle): a first nozzle unit including a first internal passage connected to a first spray port into which a fluid is sprayed and a first injection port through which the fluid is injected to the first internal passage (Figure 3 and Paragraph 2, Showcases a First nozzle 410 unit with an internal passage connected to Discharge Port 450 which sprays liquid, Injection Port Labeled Gas but can also inject other fluids); a second nozzle unit that is located in the first internal passage and has a second spray port, through which plasma is sprayed, on one side adjacent to the first spray port (Figure 3, Showcases a Second Nozzle unit inside the First Nozzle Unit 410, Discharge Port 440 to spray another fluid and is adjacent to Discharge Port 450); a distribution unit that is located between the first nozzle unit and the second nozzle unit and partitions the first internal passage into a first partition passage connected to the first spray port and a second partition passage connected to the first injection port (Figure 3 and 13-15, A distribution unit made up of Flange 462 and Groove 464. Located between the two Nozzle Units and separates the internal passage into two with Partition 432 connected to discharge port 436 and one partition connecting to fluid injection port labeled gas), the distribution unit comprising a plurality of connection passages arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 15, Connection Passages 464 connecting the two partitions are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit) and connecting the first partition passage and the second partition passage (Figure 15, Distribution Unit has multiple Connection Passages 464 connecting the two partitions) and a plasma supply unit connected to the second nozzle unit and configured to supply the plasma (Figure 3, Gas is injected into injection gas discharge line 430 that leads to the second nozzle unit) and the connection passages are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 13-15, Connection Passages 464 are formed with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit), thereby establishing said plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape (Figure 13-15, Showcase a connection hole passing through the distribution unit, and grooves going inward from outer surface and forming a spiral shape), wherein the inlet of the connection passage overlaps the outlet of the connection passage in the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit so as to minimize interference of the fluid discharged from adjacent connection passages (Figure 13, Showcases that the Connection Passages 464 has inlets that overlap outlets and therefore minimize interference of the fluid discharged from adjacent connection passages), and each of the outer connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit (Figure 13, Showcases that the Connection Passages 464 extend radially from center).
Oh fails to teach that the inner connection grooves are recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit, the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape and a fluid supply unit configured to inject the fluid to the first internal passage through the first injection port, wherein the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage, the inner connection grooves and the connection passages are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit, and the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port, and wherein each of the inner connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit.
Haruch teaches an apparatus for spraying liquid (Abstract, Apparatus with spray nozzle) where the inner connection grooves are recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 1, 5A and 6A, Showcases an atomizing cap 60 inside nozzle body 61 has grooves recessed from inner surface to outer surface along the circumference of atomizing cap 60 ), the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape (Figure 5A and 6A, Showcases that the inner grooves are spiral in shape), and wherein each of the inner connection grooves are located on a virtual line extending radially from a center of the distribution unit (Figure 5A, Showcases that the inner grooves are extending radially from a center).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to include inner grooves as stated in Haruch. As the liquid flow through the passages, swirling occurs to produce turbulence and further atomization which is great for mixing. (Page 10-11 Line 8-30, Inner Grooves).
Oh in view of Haruch fails to teach that the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage,
Sato teaches a two fluid substrate treatment apparatus with a nozzle (Paragraph 1-7, Nozzle Apparatus) where the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage (Figure 4-5(a-b), Flange 55B has Grooves 65 that are wider on the top shown in Figure 5(b). However the Flange 55B diameter decrease as it slants inward toward cylindrical portion 55D as shown in Figure 5(a). Therefore Grooves 65 become less wide at the bottom as they travel down the Flange 55B and toward the first partition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and decreased the width of the grooves as stated in Sato. This structure allows the grooves to help guide the fluid downward to the gas outlet port (Paragraph 109-113, Distribution Unit Structure).
Annotated Figure 5(a-b); Showcases How The Width of The Grooves Decreases.
Oh in view of Haruch and Sato fails to teach a fluid supply unit configured to inject the fluid to the first internal passage through the first injection port.
Kamiyoshi teaches a two-fluid nozzle apparatus (Paragraph 1, two-fluid nozzle apparatus) where a fluid supply unit configured to inject the fluid to the first internal passage through the first injection port (Figure 10, Liquid Channel 103 reads as supply unit and inject liquids into flow path 104) where the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed there between (Figure 10 A-B, First Partition is connected to First Spray Port and separates the First and Second Spray Port) and is located on the same virtual line as the first spray port (Figure 10 A-B, The First and Second Spray Port are located on the same virtual line).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and Sato to have the structure of the Liquid Supply Units as stated in Kamiyoshi. This structure allows the liquid and the gas fluid to be ejected and externally mixed or internally mixed (Paragraph 2, Nozzle Structure).
Oh in view of Haruch, Sato, and Kamiyoshi fails to teach that the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit.
Hastings teaches an air atomizing nozzle (Abstract, Nozzle) where the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit (Figure 7-8, Flow passages 98 in ceramic insert 94, which reads as a distribution unit, are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Kamiyoshi to include connection grooves that spans the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit as stated in Hastings. This structure allows the gas to flow uniformly through the flow passages (Paragraph Col 5 Line 27-36, Flow Passages).
Regarding Claim 12, Oh teaches a spray nozzle device comprising (Col 1 Line 14-17,The present invention relates to apparatus that includes a nozzle). a first nozzle unit including a first internal passage connected to a first spray port into which a fluid is configured to be sprayed and a first injection port through which the fluid is configured to be injected to the first internal passage (Figure 3 and Paragraph 2, Showcases a First nozzle 410 unit with an internal passage connected to Discharge Port 450 which sprays liquid, Injection Port Labeled Gas but can also inject other fluids); a second nozzle unit that is located in the first internal passage, the second nozzle unit including a second spray port, through which plasma is sprayed, on one side adjacent to the first spray port (Figure 3, Showcases a Second Nozzle unit inside the First Nozzle Unit 410, Discharge Port 440 to spray another fluid and is adjacent to Discharge Port 450); a distribution unit located between the first nozzle unit and the second nozzle unit, the distribution unit configured to partition the first internal passage into a first partition passage connected to the first spray port and a second partition passage connected to the first injection port, (Figure 3 and 13-15, A distribution unit made up of Flange 462 and Groove 464. Located between the two Nozzle Units and separates the internal passage into two with Partition 432 connected to discharge port 436 and one partition connecting to fluid injection port labeled gas), and wherein the distribution unit includes a plurality of connection passages connecting the first partition passage and the second partition passage (Figure 15, Connection Passages 464 connecting the two partitions are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit),wherein the connection passages are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 15, Connection Passages 464 are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit), each of the connection passages recessed inward from an outer surface of the distribution unit to form an outer connection groove Figure 13-15, Showcase a connection hole passing through the distribution unit, and grooves going inward from outer surface), the plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape (Figure 13-15, Showcase a connection hole passing through the distribution unit, and grooves going inward from outer surface and forming a spiral shape); and wherein the inlet of the connection passage overlaps the outlet of the connection passage in the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit so as to minimize interference of the fluid (Figure 13, Showcases that the Connection Passages 464 has inlets that overlap outlets and therefore minimize interference of the fluid discharged from adjacent connection passages).
Oh fails to teach that the inner connection grooves recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit, the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape, and the inner connection grooves and the connection passages are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit, and the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port, thereby establishing said plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape,
Haruch teaches an apparatus for spraying liquid (Abstract, Apparatus with spray nozzle) where the inner connection grooves recessed from an inner surface of the distribution unit toward the outer surface of the distribution unit and arranged along an inner circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 1, 5A and 6A, Showcases an atomizing cap 60 inside nozzle body 61 has grooves recessed from inner surface to outer surface along the circumference of atomizing cap 60 ), the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape (Figure 5A and 6A, Showcases that the inner grooves are spiral in shape).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh to include inner grooves as stated in Haruch. As the liquid flow through the passages, swirling occurs to produce turbulence and further atomization which is great for mixing. (Page 10-11 Line 8-30, Inner Grooves).
Oh in view of Haruch fails to teach that wherein the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage.
Sato teaches a two fluid substrate treatment apparatus with a nozzle (Paragraph 1-7, Nozzle Apparatus) where the outer connection groove has a width that is decreased as the outer connection groove goes from the second partition passage to the first partition passage (Figure 4-5(a-b), Flange 55B has Grooves 65 that are wider on the top shown in Figure 5(b). However the Flange 55B diameter decrease as it slants inward toward cylindrical portion 55D as shown in Figure 5(a). Therefore Grooves 65 become less wide at the bottom as they travel down the Flange 55B and toward the first partition).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and decreased the width of the grooves as stated in Sato. This structure allows the grooves to help guide the fluid downward to the gas outlet port (Paragraph 109-113, Distribution Unit Structure).
Annotated Figure 5(a-b); Showcases How The Width of The Grooves Decreases.
Oh in view of Haruch and Sato fails to teach the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port, thereby establishing said plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape,
Kamiyoshi teaches a two-fluid nozzle apparatus (Paragraph 1, two-fluid nozzle apparatus) where the second spray port is spaced apart from the first spray port with the first partition passage, which is connected to the first spray port and the second spray port, interposed therebetween (Figure 10 A-B, First Partition is connected to First Spray Port and separates the First and Second Spray Port) and is located on a same virtual line as the first spray port (Figure 10 A-B, The First and Second Spray Port are located on the same virtual line), thereby establishing said plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape (Figure 2a-b, inclined groove 20 form a spiral).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch and Sato to have the structure of the first and second spray port as stated in Kamiyoshi. This structure allows the liquid and the gas fluid to be ejected and externally mixed or internally mixed (Paragraph 2, Nozzle Structure).
Oh in view of Haruch, Sato, and Kamiyoshi fails to teach that the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit.
Hastings teaches an air atomizing nozzle (Abstract, Nozzle) where the inner connection grooves and the connection passages are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the distribution unit (Figure 7-8, Flow passages 98 in ceramic insert 94, which reads as a distribution unit, are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and are arranged along a circumference of the ceramic insert 94).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato and Kamiyoshi to include connection grooves that spans the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit as stated in Hastings. This structure allows the gas to flow uniformly through the flow passages (Paragraph Col 5 Line 27-36, Flow Passages).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Patent No. 10005092) in view of Haruch (WO Patent No. 9621517) and further in view of Sato (US Patent No. 20040235308), Kamiyoshi (JP Patent No. 2016163034), Hastings (US Patent No. 4273293), and Kitamura (JP Patent No. 6111477).
Regarding Claim 11, Oh in view of Haruch, Sato, Kamiyoshi and Hastings teaches that the plasma supply unit includes a gas supply part configured for supplying a plasma gas (Oh: Figure 3, Gas is injected into injection gas discharge line 430 that leads to the second nozzle unit).
Oh in view of Haruch, Sato, Kamiyoshi and Hastings fails to teach a power supply and an electrode.
Kitamura teaches a plasma spraying device (Paragraph 1, Plasma Spraying Device) with an electrode member located on a passage through which a plasma gas is supplied to the second nozzle unit (Paragraph 27 and Figure 1, Main Anode 3 comes in contact with a main plasma gas 6 from the main plasma gas introduction port 5 and creates an plasma arc and flame 23 from out the nozzle), and a power supply part configured for supplying power to the second nozzle unit and the electrode member (Paragraph 27, Main power supply 7 supplies power to the Main Anode 3 and the apparatus).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oh in view of Haruch, Sato, Kamiyoshi and Hastings to include a power source and an electrode as stated in Kitamura. Even after the superposition of the high-frequency voltage is stopped, thermal electrons are emitted from the main jacket, so that the plasma arc and Flame are maintained. (Paragraph 27 Power supply and Electrode).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-10, filed June 23rd, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the combination of Oh, Haruch, Kamiyoshi and Sato fails to teach that the inner connection grooves that connects a first surface to a second surface and are inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the distribution unit and that Hastings fails to teach the applicant claims of spiral or inclined configuration relative to the longitudinal direction. Furthermore, Applicants states that the combination achieves a critical, non-obvious technical effect: balancing vortex generation while minimizing fluid interference between adjacent channels.
However, the applicants fails to provide any evidence that the combination achieves a critical, non-obvious technical effect. Furthermore, because the combination of Oh, Haruch, Kamiyoshi and Sato with Hastings teaches the claimed structure, then the gas flow behaves as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed June 23rd, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the combination of Oh, Haruch, Kamiyoshi and Sato fails to meet the KSR test because the combination does not teach that the inclined connection passages arranged so that the spray ports are spaced apart, the inner connection grooves formed in a spiral shape, and the inner connection grooves are formed to be inclined with respect to a longitudinal direction to establish a plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape. However, Oh, Haruch, Kamiyoshi and Sato with Hastings teaches those limitation as stated in the office action. Furthermore, the applicant simply states that the prior art does not teach the limitation but fails to explain the difference between what is claimed and the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-11, filed June 23rd, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Sato and hastings are incompatible with the Oh, Haruch and Kamiyoshi references because it fails to teach that the distribution unit includes a plurality of connection passages connecting the first partition passage and the second partition passage, each of the connection passages recessed inward from an outer surface of the distribution unit to form an outer connection groove, the plurality of connection passages formed in a spiral shape. These are taught by Haruch, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references (MPEP 2145(V)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761