DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 11/20/2025. Claims 1-13, 15, 18-20, 27, 37 & 44 are currently pending and addressed below. Claims 1-11 & 27 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 20, 37, & 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 states “wherein at least one of the first material property or the second material property includes a surface coating treatment.” It is unclear how one of the first material property or the second material property could include a surface treatment. The material property is inherent to the material and would not itself include a surface treatment. The examiner assumes the applicant intended to state: “wherein at least one of the first material section section
Claims 20 & 44 are similarly Indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 12, 13, 15, 18-20, 37 & 44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11-16 & 19 of copending Application No. 18/255,647 (reference application). The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 12, application claim 11 also recite a device for repairing a part of a bone in a subject, the device comprising: a first section having a first material property; a second section having a second material property; the first section being connected to the second section forming an asymmetric implant, wherein the first section and the second section are configured to optimize the bone-implant interface.
Regarding Claim 20, application claims 11 & 14 also recite a device for repairing a part of a bone in a subject, the device comprising: a first section having a first material property; a second section having a second material property, the first section being connected to the second section; and wherein at least one of the first material property or the second material property includes a surface coating treatment forming an asymmetric implant configured to optimize the bone-implant interface.
Regarding Claim 13, application claims 12 & 13 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 15, application claims 11, 14 & 15 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, application claims 12 & 13 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 19 & 37, application claim 11 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 44, application claim 11 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 18-20, 37 & 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton et al. (US 5,480,449). Please refer to the figure below in consideration of the following rejection:
Regarding Claim 12, Hamilton teaches a device (10) for repairing a part of a bone in a subject, the device comprising: a first section (14) having a first material property (Col 5: lines 46-61); a second section (13) having a second material property (Col 5: lines 22-45); the first section being connected to the second section forming an asymmetric implant (Fig 2), wherein the first section and the second section are configured to optimize the bone-implant interface (as the stem shape illustrated in Fig 2 mimics the prepared intermedullary cavity).
Regarding Claim 13, Hamilton teaches wherein the first material property includes at least one of elasticity, surface coating treatment, porosity, thickness (Fig 2), or shape, and wherein the second material property includes at least one of elasticity, surface coating treatment, porosity, thickness (Fig 2), or shape.
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hamilton teaches wherein at least one of the first material property or the second material property includes a surface coating treatment (14) of the device, and wherein the surface coating treatment corresponds to a location of uneven stress distribution (fully capable of as the surface coating is applied along the entire stem), and wherein the surface coating treatment is asymmetric on the surface of the device (Fig 2), and wherein the location of uneven stress distribution of the bone corresponds to a location of reduced bone thickness (fully capable of as the surface coating is applied along the entire stem).
Regarding Claim 18, Hamilton teaches wherein the bone is a humerus and a joint that includes the bone is a shoulder (Col 4: lines 63-64).
Regarding Claims 19 & 37, Hamilton teaches wherein the first section and the second section are configured to reduce stress shielding (Col 3: lines 51-54).
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hamilton teaches the device as set forth in the rejection of claims 11 & 15.
Regarding Claim 44, as best understood (see 112 rejection supra), Hamilton teaches the device as set forth in the rejection of claims 20 & 37.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774