Claim Objections
Claim 21, 34, 37, and 40 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state” uses the words “source reference signal” twice in a row. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21, 34, 37, and 40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 20230028423 A1 (Domestic Priority March 31, 2020) in view of Cirik et al. US 20200260300 A1 (Domestic Priority February 8, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20220140954 A1 (Foreign Priority July 12, 2019).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Xu discloses an apparatus (fig. 15, a wireless device in communication with a base station that may be part of a mobile communication network, section 0213), comprising: at least one processor (see, wireless device comprising one or more processors, section 0352); and at least one memory including computer program code (see, wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions, section 0352), the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor (see, memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform any one of the above example methods or example second methods, section 0352), cause the apparatus at least to: receive at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (fig. 19, each of the plurality of reference signals may comprise of at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), section 0241) from at least one network entity (fig. 19, a wireless device receives from the base station configuration parameters that may indicate a plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0239); determine at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245); and determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245) is determined based on at least one reference signal index (fig. 21, the use of configuration parameters to indicate a plurality of reference signals (RSs) for beam failure detection, section 0245) indicated by at least one transmission configuration (fig. 23, configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, section 0250) for at least one respective control resource set (see, a wireless device may receive the PDCCH with the TCI state activated by the MAC CE where the MAC CE comprise a serving cell identify (ID), a control resource set ID (CORESET ID), and a TCI state ID; noted, fig. 18A, base station may transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals, section 0236) associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating (fig. 23, the association between an RS and a TCI state may comprise the RS being the quasi collocated RS of the TCI state, section 0250) or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value (see, cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID, section 0145; noted, UE can be configured for a cell with a default downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs and a timer value, section 0137) other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell (UE may be configured with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell where one or more of the configured BWPs for a serving cell may be active, section 0127) on at least one active downlink bandwidth part (see, base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP, section 0129; noted, UE may determine which BWP is the initial active downlink BWP based on a CORESET configuration obtained using the PBCH, section 0132), wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
Xu discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET..
However, Cirik from a similar field of endeavor discloses: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource (see, wireless device may determine a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes, section 0248 Cirik; noted, base station may configure a wireless device, for a serving cell (e.g., a primary cell, a secondary cell), with a first set of resource configuration indexes (e.g., periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes), for example, by a higher layer parameter failureDetectionResources, section 0248 Cirik), wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the apparatus of Xu with the determining of set of indexes of Cirik. The motivation would have been to improve signal reporting for next generation wireless communication systems.
The combination of Xu and Cirik discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex (see, CORESET group ID or CORESETPoolIndex as a specific index corresponding to a CORESET, section 0218 Kim); and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell (see, first control resource set group may be included in a first serving cell, and the second control resource set group may be included in a second serving cell, section 0017 Kim; noted, an index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) (or CORESET group ID) of a CORESET pool configured to a CORESET, section 0219 Kim) that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal (see, TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RS) with a corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) type, sections 0181-0198 Kim) indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET (see, a TCI state ID may be indicated in each CORESET configuration to indicate QCL reference information, section 0184 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu and Cirik with the CORESETPoolIndex of Kim. The motivation would have been to improve transmitting, HARQ-ACK information in a wireless communication system comprises receiving first downlink control information (DCI) based on a first control resource set group and second DCI based on a second control resource set group.
Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 17, configuration parameters may indicate a reference signal (RS) set for beam failure detection, section 0229) are associated with one or more of at least one of synchronization signal block (fig. 17, RS set may comprise one or more CSI-RSs, and/or one or more SSBs, section 0229) and the at least one set of channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (fig. 17, RS set may comprise one or more CSI-RSs, and/or one or more SSBs, section 0229; noted, at least one RS (or beam) may be identified by a CSI-RS resource index or an SSB index, section 0232).
Regarding claim 29 (Previously Presented), Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein no more than a predetermined number of reference signals (fig. 14B, a set of CCEs in the common search space set may be predefined and known to the UE, section 0207; noted, CORESET may be configured with an antenna port quasi co-location (QCL) parameter that may indicate QCL information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for PDCCH reception in the CORESET, section 0206) indicated by the transmission configuration indication state (fig. 14B, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of one or more CORESETs and one or more search space sets, section 0207) for the respective control resource sets (fig. 14B, the UE may determine a CCE-to-REG mapping (e.g., interleaved or non-interleaved, and/or mapping parameters) for the CORESET based on configuration parameters of the CORESET, section 0208) for the respective higher layer parameter (fig. 11B, one or more configuration parameters such as RRC/MAC signaling may be configured by higher layer signaling for a CSI-RS resource configuration, section 0171) are included in the determined at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (fig. 17, RS set may comprise one or more CSI-RSs and/or one or more SSBs, section 0229; noted, at least one RS (or beam) may be identified by a CSI-RS resource index or an SSB index, section 0232) when more than one higher layer parameter is configured (fig. 18a, a wireless device may activate and/or deactivate, based on the MAC CE, one or more of the multiple RSs configured by the base station via an RRC message where the multiple RSs comprise one of a CSI-RS or SSB, section 0236).
Regarding claim 30 (Previously Presented), Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: identify at least one failure detection resource based on control resource set (fig. 17, CORESET may be associated with the beam failure recovery procedure, section 0229) priority information (fig. 14B, the UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs where the DCI contains scheduling assignment, section 0208).
Regarding claim 31 (Previously Presented), Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: based on the respective control resource set configuration information, determine whether to include an associated resource index with the at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 17, 19, candidate beam selection in response to the beam failure instance counter indicated by a beam failure instance threshold and configuration parameters, sections 0229, 0232-0233, 0239-0240) based on the respective control resource set configuration information (see, wireless device may consider the beam failure recovery procedure successfully completed in response to receiving the first DCI via the PDCCH in the first CORESET before the response window expires, section 0230).
Regarding claim 35 (Previously Presented), Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resource comprises at least one failure detection resource index determined based at least in part on the higher layer parameter (fig. 11B, one or more configuration parameters such as RRC/MAC signaling may be configured by higher layer signaling for a CSI-RS resource configuration, section 0171) associated with the at least one respective control resource set (fig. 17, RS set may comprise one or more CSI-RSs and/or one or more SSBs, section 0229; noted, at least one RS (or beam) may be identified by a CSI-RS resource index or an SSB index, section 0232).
Regarding claim 37 (Currently Amended), Xu discloses a method for a user equipment, comprising: receiving at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (fig. 19, each of the plurality of reference signals may comprise of at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), section 0241) from at least one network entity (fig. 19, a wireless device receives from the base station configuration parameters that may indicate a plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0239); determining at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245); and determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245) is determined based on at least one reference signal index (fig. 21, the use of configuration parameters to indicate a plurality of reference signals (RSs) for beam failure detection, section 0245) indicated by at least one transmission configuration (fig. 23, configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, section 0250) for at least one respective control resource set (see, a wireless device may receive the PDCCH with the TCI state activated by the MAC CE where the MAC CE comprise a serving cell identify (ID), a control resource set ID (CORESET ID), and a TCI state ID; noted fig. 18A, base station may transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals, section 0236) associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating (fig. 23, the association between an RS and a TCI state may comprise the RS being the quasi collocated RS of the TCI state, section 0250) or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value (see, cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID, section 0145; noted, UE can be configured for a cell with a default downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs and a timer value, section 0137) other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell (UE may be configured with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell where one or more of the configured BWPs for a serving cell may be active, section 0127) on at least one active downlink bandwidth part (see, base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP, section 0129; noted, UE may determine which BWP is the initial active downlink BWP based on a CORESET configuration obtained using the PBCH, section 0132), wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
Xu discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Cirik from a similar field of endeavor discloses: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource (see, wireless device may determine a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes, section 0248 Cirik; noted, base station may configure a wireless device, for a serving cell (e.g., a primary cell, a secondary cell), with a first set of resource configuration indexes (e.g., periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes), for example, by a higher layer parameter failureDetectionResources, section 0248 Cirik), wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the apparatus of Xu with the determining of set of indexes of Cirik. The motivation would have been to improve signal reporting for next generation wireless communication systems.
The combination of Xu and Cirik discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex (see, CORESET group ID or CORESETPoolIndex as a specific index corresponding to a CORESET, section 0218 Kim); and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell (see, first control resource set group may be included in a first serving cell, and the second control resource set group may be included in a second serving cell, section 0017 Kim; noted, an index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) (or CORESET group ID) of a CORESET pool configured to a CORESET, section 0219 Kim) that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal (see, TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RS) with a corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) type, sections 0181-0198 Kim) indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET (see, a TCI state ID may be indicated in each CORESET configuration to indicate QCL reference information, section 0184 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu and Cirik with the CORESETPoolIndex of Kim. The motivation would have been to improve transmitting, HARQ-ACK information in a wireless communication system comprises receiving first downlink control information (DCI) based on a first control resource set group and second DCI based on a second control resource set group.
Regarding claim 40 (Currently Amended), Xu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see, wireless device comprising one or more processors, section 0352) comprising program instructions stored thereon (see, wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions, section 0352), which when executed, cause an apparatus at least to: receive at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (fig. 19, each of the plurality of reference signals may comprise of at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), section 0241) from at least one network entity (fig. 19, a wireless device receives from the base station configuration parameters that may indicate a plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0239); determine at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245); and determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources (fig. 21, wireless device may detect beam failure instances based on the one or more first reference signals of the plurality of reference signals for beam failure detection, section 0245) is determined based on at least one reference signal index (fig. 21, the use of configuration parameters to indicate a plurality of reference signals (RSs) for beam failure detection, section 0245) indicated by at least one transmission configuration (fig. 23, configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, section 0250) for at least one respective control resource set (see, a wireless device may receive the PDCCH with the TCI state activated by the MAC CE where the MAC CE comprise a serving cell identify (ID), a control resource set ID (CORESET ID), and a TCI state ID; noted fig. 18A, base station may transmit the MAC CE to a wireless device for activation and/or deactivation of multiple reference signals, section 0236) associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal (fig. 23, the association between an RS and a TCI state may comprise the RS being the quasi collocated RS of the TCI state, section 0250) indicating (fig. 23, the association between an RS and a TCI state may comprise the RS being the quasi collocated RS of the TCI state, section 0250) or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value (see, cell, comprising a downlink carrier and optionally an uplink carrier, may be assigned with a physical cell ID, section 0145; noted, UE can be configured for a cell with a default downlink BWP in a set of configured downlink BWPs and a timer value, section 0137) other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell (UE may be configured with one or more downlink BWPs and one or more uplink BWPs per serving cell where one or more of the configured BWPs for a serving cell may be active, section 0127) on at least one active downlink bandwidth part (see, base station may configure a UE with a common search space, on a PCell or on a primary secondary cell (PSCell), in an active downlink BWP, section 0129; noted, UE may determine which BWP is the initial active downlink BWP based on a CORESET configuration obtained using the PBCH, section 0132), wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
Xu discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Cirik from a similar field of endeavor discloses: determine one or more of the at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes and at least one synchronization signal block index failure detection resource (see, wireless device may determine a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes, section 0248 Cirik; noted, base station may configure a wireless device, for a serving cell (e.g., a primary cell, a secondary cell), with a first set of resource configuration indexes (e.g., periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes), for example, by a higher layer parameter failureDetectionResources, section 0248 Cirik), wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is determined based on at least one reference signal index indicated by at least one transmission configuration for at least one respective control resource set associated with at least one quasi colocation source reference signal indicating or associated with at least one physical cell identifier value other than at least one physical cell identifier of a serving cell on at least one active downlink bandwidth part, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the apparatus of Xu with the determining of set of indexes of Cirik. The motivation would have been to improve signal reporting for next generation wireless communication systems.
The combination of Xu and Cirik discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex; and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex (see, CORESET group ID or CORESETPoolIndex as a specific index corresponding to a CORESET, section 0218 Kim); and wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell (see, first control resource set group may be included in a first serving cell, and the second control resource set group may be included in a second serving cell, section 0017 Kim; noted, an index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) (or CORESET group ID) of a CORESET pool configured to a CORESET, section 0219 Kim) that is determined based on one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal (see, TCI-State IE associates one or two DL reference signals (RS) with a corresponding quasi co-location (QCL) type, sections 0181-0198 Kim) indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET (see, a TCI state ID may be indicated in each CORESET configuration to indicate QCL reference information, section 0184 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu and Cirik with the CORESETPoolIndex of Kim. The motivation would have been to improve transmitting, HARQ-ACK information in a wireless communication system comprises receiving first downlink control information (DCI) based on a first control resource set group and second DCI based on a second control resource set group.
Claims 24-26, 28, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 20230028423 A1 (Domestic Priority March 31, 2020) in view of Cirik et al. US 20200260300 A1 (Domestic Priority February 8, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20220140954 A1 (Foreign Priority July 12, 2019), in further view of Matsumura et al, US 20220311577 A1 (Domestic Priority June 6, 2019).
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 24 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine at least one predetermined index that has not been received.
However, Matsumura from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine at least one predetermined index that has not been received (see, beam failure detection (BFD) for a set of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes, section 0177 Matsumura).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with further use of memory and program code to determine the whether a predetermined index has been received of Matsumura. The motivation would have been to merge the failure detection capabilities of Xu with the further use of program code to determine status of a predetermined index.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 25 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determining is performed if the at least one predetermined index does not comprise failureDetectionResources or beamFailureDetectionResourceList.
However, Matsumura from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the determining is performed if the at least one predetermined index does not comprise failureDetectionResources or beamFailureDetectionResourceList (see, an index corresponding to a resource of the RLM-RS such as an index included in “failureDetectionResources” of the higher layer parameter and configuration information for RLM may include resource configuration information for failure detection such as “failureDetectionResourcesToAddModList” of the higher layer parameter, sections 0066 and 0067 Matsumura).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with use or lack of use of failure detection variables regarding a predetermined index of Matsumura. The motivation would have been to determining the usefulness of certain variables regarding a predetermined index.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the received at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes is associated with at least one of candidateBeamRSList and candidateBeamResourceList.
However, Matsumura from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the received at least one set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes (see, the UE can be provided with the set of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes, sections 0114-0117 Matsumura) is associated with at least one of candidateBeamRSList and candidateBeamResourceList (UE can be provided with the set of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes by using a candidate beam RS list such as candidateBeamRSList, section 0177 Matsumura).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with use or lack of use of beam resource list variables regarding a set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes of Matsumura. The motivation would have been to determining the usefulness of certain variables regarding a set of periodic channel state information reference signal resource configuration indexes.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 28 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one predetermined index is associated with at least one of failureDetectionResources and beamFailureDetectionResourceList.
However, Matsumura from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one predetermined index is associated with at least one of failureDetectionResources and beamFailureDetectionResourceList (see, an index corresponding to a resource of the RLM-RS such as an index included in “failureDetectionResources” of the higher layer parameter and configuration information for RLM may include resource configuration information for failure detection such as “failureDetectionResourcesToAddModList” of the higher layer parameter, sections 0066 and 0067 Matsumura).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with use or lack of use of failure detection variables regarding a predetermined index of Matsumura. The motivation would have been to determining the usefulness of certain variables regarding a predetermined index.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 36 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources is associated with at least one cell other than the serving cell.
However, Matsumura from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the at least one set of failure detection resources (UE performs measurement based on the RS resource transmitted by using two beams where the RS may be referred to as an RS for beam failure detection, section 0088 Matsumura) is associated with at least one cell other than the serving cell (UE can be provided with the set of periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes by using the resources for BFD with respect to a serving cell, section 0117 Matsumura).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with the association between aspects of the serving cell of Matsumura. The motivation would have been to merge the failure detection capabilities of Xu with the further use of aspects of the serving cell.
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US 20230028423 A1 (Domestic Priority March 31, 2020) in view of Cirik et al. US 20200260300 A1 (Domestic Priority February 8, 2019), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20220140954 A1 (Foreign Priority July 12, 2019), in further view of.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 32 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein, when the apparatus is configured with more than one higher layer parameter, the apparatus is configured to not include into a set of q0 more than N_lr_max - 1 reference signals indicated by the transmission configuration indication state for the at least one control resource set for the respective higher layer parameter, where the set of q0 comprises at least one failure detection resource and where Nlr_max refers to a maximum number of failure detection resources per TRP or CORESETpoolIndex or BWP.
However, Zhou from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein, when the apparatus (fig. 9B, an example of beam management procedure on a radio network, section 0267 Zhou) is configured with more than one higher layer parameter (fig. 5, a higher layer parameter indicates beam management, section 0244 Zhou), the apparatus is configured to not include into a set of qo more than N_lr_max - 1 reference signals indicated by the transmission configuration indication state (see, the wireless device may determine receiving beams or spatial domain filters for PDCCHs/PDSCHs based on a TCI indication (e.g., DCI), sections 0408- 0410 Zhou) for the at least one control resource set (see, DCI is transmitted from the base station on a control resource set, section 0407) for the respective higher layer parameter (see, the UE being configured by a higher layer parameter, sections 0371-0372 and 0390-0393 Zhou), where the set of q0 comprises at least one failure detection resource (fig. 2B, the uses of RRC regarding detection of and recovery from radio link failure, section 0209 Zhou) and where N_lr_max refers to a maximum number of failure detection resources per TRP or CORESETpoolIndex or BWP (see, a TRP ID of a TRP may comprise a control resource set group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) of a control resource set group, sections 0407, 0294- maximum number of preamble transmission associated with beam failure recovery Zhou).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with the configurations of the transmission of Zhou. The motivation would have been to define the limits of failure detection resources.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 33 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex.
However, Zhou from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the respective CORESET is associated with CORESETPoolIndex (see, a TRP ID of a TRP may comprise a control resource set group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) of a control resource set group, section 0407 Zhou).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with use of CORESETs of Zhou. The motivation would have been to connect the variable CORESETPoolIndex with a respective CORESET.
The combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 34 (Previously Presented), the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell that is determined based on at least the one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal indicated by the TCI state for at least the respective CORESET.
However, Zhou from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the apparatus of claim 33, wherein the CORESETpoolindex is associated with a cell other than serving cell (see, a TRP of multiple TRPs of the base station may be identified by at least one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a cell index, or a reference signal index where a TRP ID of a TRP may comprise a control resource set group (or pool) index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) of a control resource set group from which a DCI is transmitted from the base station on a control resource set, section 0407 Zhou) that is determined based on at least the one quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal (fig. 5, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS and control resource set (coreset) when the downlink CSI-RS and coreset are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS are the outside of PRBs configured for coreset, section 0247 Zhou) indicated by the TCI state (see, a TRP ID of a TRP may comprise a TCI state group index of a TCI state group, section 0407) for at least the respective CORESET (fig. 5, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS and control resource set (coreset) when the downlink CSI-RS and coreset are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS are the outside of PRBs configured for coreset, section 0247 Zhou).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Xu, Cirik, and Kim with use of CORESET groups of Zhou. The motivation would have been to determine cell based on a quasi-colocation source reference signal source reference signal.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473