Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 3/25/26 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments and drawing amendment has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1, 5-9 have been amended, claims 2-4 have been cancelled, and claims 10-15 are new. Claims 1, 5-15 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
Based on the amendments to drawings submitted in the Response, the drawing objection raised in the non-final office action (hereinafter Office Action) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Based on the amendments to claims submitted in the Response, the 112(b) rejections raised in the Office Action are withdrawn. However, based on the newly introduced claims, new 112 issues are now raised.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “the first end portion side” lacks antecedent basis and thus renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “the second end portion side” lacks antecedent basis and thus renders the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “a continuous arch-like shape” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the meets and bounds of an arch-like shape might be. For example, what shapes would be considered “arch-like” in shape but not also an “arch” in shape?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0334135 A1 to Jung.
Regarding claim 10, Jung discloses an electric power steering device (Fig. 1, Jung Annotated Fig. 2, & Abstract and [0035]), comprising:
an electric motor (165) (Jung Annotated Fig. 2 & [0034]);
a speed reduction mechanism (205a,210,205b/305) configured to reduce a speed of an output (165a) from the electric motor (165) (Fig. 4, Jung Annotated Fig. 2, & [0030] and [0033]-[0035] the motor pulley, belt, nut pulley are interpreted as being a speed reduction
mechanism because based on the size relationship of the nut pulley > motor pulley, the rotation speed of the nut pulley < motor pulley.);
a ball screw mechanism (220/303) configured to convert a rotational motion transmitted from the speed reduction mechanism (205a,210,205b/305) into a linear motion (Fig. 4, Jung Annotated Fig. 2, & [0030] and [0033]-[0035]); and
a rack bar (307) connected to the ball screw mechanism (220/303) (Figs. 1-4 and [0028], [0032]-[0033]); and
a first housing (310) and a second housing (200), the first housing (310) having a first end portion (A) configured to cover a part of the rack bar (307) and a second end portion (B) with a mechanism accommodating portion (B) configured to accommodate at least a part of the speed reduction mechanism (205a,210,205b/305) and the ball screw mechanism (220/303) (Jung Annotated Fig. 2), the electric motor (165) being fixed to the first housing (310) (Jung Annotated Fig. 2, Fig. 3 & [0036]), the second housing (200) being configured to close the mechanism accommodating portion (B) of the first housing (310) (Jung Annotated Fig. 2),
the first housing (310) (Jung Annotated Fig. 2) including:
a rack bar insertion hole portion (E) through which the rack bar (307) is inserted in a longitudinal direction (Jung Annotated Figs. 2&4);
the rack bar insertion hole portion (E) including an annular fastening portion (313) for fixing the ball screw mechanism (220/303) (Jung Annotated Figs. 2&4, Fig. 3, and [0025] and [0041]); and
an electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) having an annular shape on a radially outer side of the rack bar insertion hole portion (E), through which an electric motor shaft (165a) extending from the electric motor (165) is inserted (Jung Annotated Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and [0036]), and the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) including a continuously shaped intermediate portion (I) disposed so as to overlap the fastening portion (313) in the longitudinal direction of the rack bar (307) and formed between the fastening portion (313) and the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) (Jung Annotated Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 10, Jung further discloses wherein the intermediate portion (I) has recessed portions (J) recessed toward the first end portion side (Jung Annotated Figs. 2-4 & [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, depending on claim 11, Jung further discloses wherein each of the recessed portions (J) has a bottom portion, and is arranged along a circumferential direction of the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) (Jung Annotated Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, depending on claim 11, Jung further discloses wherein an inner peripheral surface of the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) extends to such a position as to be opposed to the fastening portion (313) when an axis extending in the longitudinal direction of the rack bar (307) is viewed from the radially outer side, and wherein, on the second end portion side, a length of a first proximity portion (K) at which the rack bar insertion hole portion (E) and the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) are closest to each other is shorter than a length of a third proximity portion (L) located on a recessed portion side in a circumferential direction about the longitudinal axis of the rack bar (307) from the first proximity portion (K), at which the rack bar insertion hole portion (311) and the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (E) are in proximity to each other (Jung Annotated Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 15, depending on claim 10, Jung further discloses wherein the intermediate portion (I) has a continuous arch-like shape (Jung Annotated Fig. 3 depicts the shape of intermediate portion I as being “arch-like” where it interacts with either the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion or where it interacts with the rack bar insertion hole portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102/103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Jung or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jung.
Regarding claim 13, depending on claim 11, Jung further discloses
wherein a length of each of the recessed portions in a circumferential direction (N) of the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) is set larger than a length of each of the recessed portions in a radial direction (M) of the electric motor shaft insertion hole portion (311) (Jung Annotated Figs. 2-4 and 6).
In the alternative, assuming arguendo, that Jung does not disclose the above limitation, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the size and/or shape of the recesses of Jung because modification of the size/shape of the recesses is the result of mere optimization of variables that would result
from routine engineering experimentation and practices and does not itself warrant patentability as there is no clear difference in performance from the change in size and no evidence has been presented that the particular claimed configuration is significant. See MPEP 2144.04.IV.A-B.
Finally, it is noted that Applicant does not positively recite any criticality to the particular dimensions of the recess, therefore such optimization thereof would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Accordingly arriving at the claimed arrangement would result from routine engineering practices and experimentation and is not itself non-obvious absent any criticality to such. MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 5-9 are allowed. See Office Action pp. 11-12 for reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant included no arguments why newly presented claims 10-15 were patentable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611