DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant's arguments and amendments filed on 13 October 2025 in which claims 1, 5-6, 9-11, 15-16, 19-20 are currently pending and claims 2-4, 7-8, 12-14, 17-18, 21-31 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US Patent No. 10,547,374 B1) in view of Sadiq et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0015185 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Liu discloses a method, a User Equipment, UE.
a memory and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform (fig. 12):
determining delay information for transmitting a PRACH signal based on a system agreement or according to an instruction obtained from a network side device (“The eNB receives the PRACH burst in the PRACH time slot starting at the scheduled subframe and frame and measures its arrival time against the eNB downlink subframe starting time. Due to the distance between the terminal and the eNB, the PRACH burst arrives at the eNB at a time that is twice the delay between the eNB and the terminal, after the start of the eNB subframe. The eNB sends a message addressed to the specific terminal with the measured two-times delay between the terminal and the eNB, called timing advance (TA) in LTE terminology” col 6 lines 45-54); and
transmitting the PRACH signal at a PRACH signal transmission occasion according to an initial Timing Advance, TA, and the delay information (“The terminal can next apply the TA in its subsequent transmissions to the eNB, by shifting the start of a burst by TA amount of time earlier than the start of the intended subframe, so that the burst arrives at the eNB at start of the intended subframe. The eNB continues to measure terminal burst arrival time variation from eNB subframe boundaries and to continuously feedback the measured timing variation to the terminal, allowing the terminal to maintain its precise timing in transmission to the eNB” col 6 lines 55-63);
the delay information for transmitting the PRACH signal comprises at least one of: a TA offset value indicated by system information; or a guard interval configured before a random access preamble, Preamble, or Cyclic Prefix, CP, in a PRACH signal format; or a transmission guard interval added before transmitting the PRACH signal (“timing advance (TA)” col 6 line 54, “The minimum delay information described above thus fits in the MIB. There are other possible ways to provide the per-beam minimum delay information, such as using a new system information block (SIB)” col 10 lines 38-42).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose the transmitting the PRACH signal at the PRACH signal transmission occasion, comprises: based on that the delay information comprises the TA offset value, determining a final TA value by subtracting the TA offset value from the initial TA, and transmitting the PRACH signal: or based on that the delay information comprises the guard interval, transmitting the PRACH signal based on a PRACH signal format with the guard interval before a Preamble signal or CP and based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA; or based on that the delay information comprises the transmission guard interval, adding the transmission guard interval based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA.
Nevertheless, Sadiq discloses “The time t2′ on timeline 520 is advanced by an amount of the TA from the second time t2 shown on timeline 420 of FIG. 4, or in other words, time t2′ occurs after a time delay of N−TA after time t1 (i.e., the ToA 504a of RS 502 at Node 2)” [0065], “the transmission time t2′ of the TR 506 from Node 2 (e.g., time at which transmission starts) may be the pre-specified delay N minus the timing advance TA (i.e., N−TA) after time t1” [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitting the PRACH signal at the PRACH signal transmission occasion, comprises: based on that the delay information comprises the TA offset value, determining a final TA value by subtracting the TA offset value from the initial TA, and transmitting the PRACH signal: or based on that the delay information comprises the guard interval, transmitting the PRACH signal based on a PRACH signal format with the guard interval before a Preamble signal or CP and based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA; or based on that the delay information comprises the transmission guard interval, adding the transmission guard interval based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA because “Node 2 then applies this timing advance TA to shorten the pre-specified delay N before the transmission of the response signal, timing response (TR) 406, at a second time, time t2′” [0065].
Regarding claims 6, 16, Liu discloses a method, a network side device.
a memory and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory and perform (fig. 12):
determining delay information that a PRACH signal is sent by delay according to a system agreement, or determining delay information that a PRACH signal is sent by delay according to an estimated Timing Advance, TA, error, and indicating the delay information to a User Equipment, UE (“The eNB receives the PRACH burst in the PRACH time slot starting at the scheduled subframe and frame and measures its arrival time against the eNB downlink subframe starting time. Due to the distance between the terminal and the eNB, the PRACH burst arrives at the eNB at a time that is twice the delay between the eNB and the terminal, after the start of the eNB subframe. The eNB sends a message addressed to the specific terminal with the measured two-times delay between the terminal and the eNB, called timing advance (TA) in LTE terminology” col 6 lines 45-54); and
receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE at a PRACH signal transmission occasion according to an initial TA and the delay information (“The terminal can next apply the TA in its subsequent transmissions to the eNB, by shifting the start of a burst by TA amount of time earlier than the start of the intended subframe, so that the burst arrives at the eNB at start of the intended subframe. The eNB continues to measure terminal burst arrival time variation from eNB subframe boundaries and to continuously feedback the measured timing variation to the terminal, allowing the terminal to maintain its precise timing in transmission to the eNB” col 6 lines 55-63);
the delay information for transmitting the PRACH signal comprises at least one of: a TA offset value indicated by system information; or a guard interval configured before a random access preamble, Preamble, or Cyclic Prefix, CP, in a PRACH signal format; or a transmission guard interval added before transmitting the PRACH signal (“timing advance (TA)” col 6 line 54, “The minimum delay information described above thus fits in the MIB. There are other possible ways to provide the per-beam minimum delay information, such as using a new system information block (SIB)” col 10 lines 38-42).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose based on that the delay information comprises the TA offset value, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE with a final TA value determined by subtracting the TA offset value from the initial TA: or based on that the delay information comprises the guard interval, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE based on a PRACH signal format with the guard interval before a Preamble signal or CP and based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA; or based on that the delay information comprises the transmission guard interval, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE when adding the transmission guard interval based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA.
Nevertheless, Sadiq discloses “The time t2′ on timeline 520 is advanced by an amount of the TA from the second time t2 shown on timeline 420 of FIG. 4, or in other words, time t2′ occurs after a time delay of N−TA after time t1 (i.e., the ToA 504a of RS 502 at Node 2)” [0065], “the transmission time t2′ of the TR 506 from Node 2 (e.g., time at which transmission starts) may be the pre-specified delay N minus the timing advance TA (i.e., N−TA) after time t1” [0066].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have based on that the delay information comprises the TA offset value, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE with a final TA value determined by subtracting the TA offset value from the initial TA; or based on that the delay information comprises the guard interval, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE based on a PRACH signal format with the guard interval before a Preamble signal or CP and based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA; or based on that the delay information comprises the transmission guard interval, receiving the PRACH signal sent by the UE when adding the transmission guard interval based on a signal time sequence advanced by the initial TA because “Node 2 then applies this timing advance TA to shorten the pre-specified delay N before the transmission of the response signal, timing response (TR) 406, at a second time, time t2′” [0065].
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Sadiq in view of Wolff et al. (PG Pub US 2020/0084767 A1).
Regarding claims 10, 20, Liu, Sadiq discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Liu, Sadiq does not explicitly disclose a size of a guard interval or transmission guard interval for delayed transmission of the PRACH signal is determined according to at least one of: user equipment type, user equipment capability, ephemeris algorithm, or accuracy of ephemeris information.
Nevertheless, Wolff discloses “the base station may adjust (e.g., increase and/or decrease) the subframe duration to mitigate multipath propagations based on whether the one or more UEs are indoors and/or outdoors. The base station may estimate whether a UE is indoors or outdoors based on the one or more distance measurements associated with the UE and the one or more signal strength measurements associated with the UE” [0020], “the base station may increase and/or decrease the subcarrier duration, may increase and/or decrease the guard interval, may increase and/or decrease the cyclic prefix values, and/or the like, to mitigate the effects of multipath propagation” [0018].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a size of a guard interval or transmission guard interval for delayed transmission of the PRACH signal be determined according to at least one of: user equipment type, user equipment capability, ephemeris algorithm, or accuracy of ephemeris information because “the base station may take into account characteristics of the terrain of the mobile network when increasing and/or decreasing the subframe duration” [0019].
Claims 5, 9, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Sadiq in view of Koskela et al. (PG Pub US 2022/0386409 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Liu, Sadiq discloses everything claimed as applied above. However, Liu, Sadiq does not explicitly disclose acquiring configuration information of a PRACH transmission occasion or transmission slot indicated by the network side device to be closed; and stopping transmitting the PRACH signal or Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, data in the PRACH transmission occasion or transmission slot or an adjacent slot according to the configuration information.
Nevertheless, Koskela discloses “the network triggers one or more of the pre-configured CFRA PRACH resources with explicit signaling (e.g., a logical index in the set of PRACH preambles e.g. in form of a bitmap or explicit index), where the UE 106 shall trigger the CFRA PRACH” [0095].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to acquire configuration information of a PRACH transmission occasion or transmission slot indicated by the network side device to be closed; and stop transmitting the PRACH signal or Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, data in the PRACH transmission occasion or transmission slot or an adjacent slot according to the configuration information because “the indication to initiate RACH procedure using specific random access preamble resource (either CFRA/CBRA) may be a logical index (based on preconfigured set) or it may be an explicit index of a RACH resource” [0099].
Regarding claims 9, 19, Liu, Sadiq discloses everything claimed as applied above. In addition, Koskela discloses in a case that signal interference occurs at the UE or between UEs due to delayed transmission of the PRACH signal, instructing a corresponding UE to close a part of continuous PRACH transmission occasions or to close transmission slots of a Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, adjacent to PRACH signal transmission occasions (“the network triggers one or more of the pre-configured CFRA PRACH resources with explicit signaling (e.g., a logical index in the set of PRACH preambles e.g. in form of a bitmap or explicit index), where the UE 106 shall trigger the CFRA PRACH” [0095]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 12/29/2025