DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoenberger (US 3909972 A).
Regarding claim 38, Schoenberger discloses an apparatus for retrofitting a watercraft (10) for collection of floating biomass (shrimp) in a body of water, the apparatus comprising:
an attachment structure (50, 45, 45’, 55, 55’);
a plurality of net holders (22, 32) configured to be coupled to the attachment structure during the collection; and
wherein the attachment structure includes attachment elements (bolts, col. 3 lines 56-58, 55, 55’) for transfer of forces from the net holders to structural elements of the watercraft during the collection;
wherein the plurality of net holders includes a first net holder (22) and a second net holder (32), which during collection are disposed at least partially submerged on opposite sides of the watercraft to maintain openings in respective collection nets for collection of the floating biomass during forward motion of the watercraft;
wherein the attachment structure comprises a spanning member (50) for attachment transverse across the watercraft, and two elongated mounting members (45, 45’) for attachment along gunwales of the watercraft to couple the spanning member to the gunwales;
wherein the attachment elements include at least one of a first fastening element (bolts, col. 3 lines 56-58) and a second fastening element (55, 55’);
wherein the first fastening element is for attaching the elongated mounting members (45, 45’) to the gunwales, said first fastening element during collection is configured to oppose torsional forces transmitted via the net holders and the spanning member to the elongated mounting members (45, 45’); and
wherein the second fastening element is for coupling the attachment structure to a central structural element (port and starboard bow sections of the boat, see fig. 1, col. 5 lines 63-65) of the watercraft, said second fastening element during collection is configured to oppose longitudinal forces transmitted through the net holders, spanning member, and elongated mounting members, induced by drag forces acting on the nets (col 5 lines 41-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 8, 10-25, 29-37, 39-41 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The remarks argue that Schoenberger (US 3909972 A) does not disclose a required force flow: longitudinal forces are transmitted through the net holders, spanning member, and elongated mounting members before being opposed at a structural element while torsional forces are opposed at the gunwhales by the first fastening element. However, the claims lack language that require a specific order of how forces generated at the nets are transferred to the various components of the invention, Additionally, longitudinal and torsional forces generated at the nets are at least partially opposed by the various elements of the rest of the apparatus of Schoenberger as the elements are interconnected, and equal and opposite reaction force to the force applied to the net will be generated through interconnected components.
The remarks argue that Schoenberger does not disclose two elongated mounting members extending along the gunwhales, and there is no disclosure of elongated members running along the gunwhales that distribute load over a substantial length of the boat structure. However, elements 45 and 45’, identified as elongated mounting members in the rejection above, are clearly shown to be mounted to the gunwhales of the boat in figures 1-2 and extend along at least part of the length of the boat/gunwhales. The claim language provides no structural limitations drawn to the elongated mounting members and their attachment to the gunwhales that precludes this interpretation of elements 45, 45’ of Schoenberger as elongated mounting members.
The remarks argue that Schoenberger does not disclose coupling a net support structure to any central structural element of the boat for purposes of opposing longitudinal drag forces. However, elements 55, 55’ are identified in the rejection above as the second fastening element and are shown clearly in figure 1 to be coupled to the central bow portion of the boat via clamps 60. The claim lacks language that specifies the central structural element of the boat cannot be the central portion of the bow or that must be the keel of the boat, and therefore lacks structure that precludes this interpretation of Schoenberger.
The remarks argue that Schoenberger does not disclose an attachment structure designed to transfer drag-induced forces into the bulk strength of the boat structure as a whole nor any disclosure addressing the problem of missing, wakened, or unsafe local attachment regions. However, Schoenberger specifically addresses the transfer of forces, cited in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/TARA SCHIMPF/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676